CTNF 18/843,552 CTNF 92043 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-19 and 23 are subject to examination and rejected. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MolavianJazi (US PGPub 2023/0283348) . Regarding claims 1, 11 and 23, MolavianJazi teaches a method of operating an apparatus in a wireless communication system (MolavianJazi, see abstract, Apparatuses and methods for beam management for repeaters) , the method comprising: performing an initial access procedure with a network (MolavianJazi, see paragraph 0203, An NCR-MT can report NCR capabilities to the gNB, wherein the NCR capabilities include those of the NCR-MT or those of the corresponding NCR-RU) ; receiving control information from the network (MolavianJazi, see paragraph 0180, The NCR-MT is defined as a functional entity to communicate with a gNB via a Control link (C-link) to enable exchange of control information (e.g., side control information at least for the control of NCR-Fwd)) ; and performing at least one of a first forwarding operation in which a first signal received from a user equipment (UE) based on the control information is amplified and forwarded to the network, or a second forwarding operation in which a second signal received from the network is amplified and forwarded to the UE (MolavianJazi, see paragraph 0181, The NCR-Fwd is defined as a functional entity to perform the amplify-and-forwarding of UL/DL RF signal between gNB and UE via backhaul link and access link. The behaviour of the NCR-Fwd will be controlled according to the received side control information from gNB) , wherein both a first operating frequency of the first forwarding operation and a second operating frequency of the second forwarding operation are controlled by the control information (MolavianJazi, see paragraph 0247, the NCR-RU determines, for a first T/F resource, a first beam from the first set for operation on the gNB-side and determines a second beam from the second set for operation on the UE-side, based on the first and second beam indication messages). Regarding claims 2 and 12, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the apparatus comprises a mobile terminal (MT) and a remote unit (RU) (MolavianJazi, see abstract, an NCR mobile termination (NCR-MT) entity and an NCR forwarding (NCR-Fwd) entity), and wherein the MT controls the RU by receiving the control information from the network (MolavianJazi, see paragraph 0180, The NCR-MT is defined as a functional entity to communicate with a gNB via a Control link (C-link) to enable exchange of control information (e.g., side control information at least for the control of NCR-Fwd)). Regarding claims 3 and 13, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the RU performs at least one of the first forwarding operation and the second forwarding operation (MolavianJazi, see paragraph 0181, The NCR-Fwd is defined as a functional entity to perform the amplify-and-forwarding of UL/DL RF signal between gNB and UE via backhaul link and access link. The behaviour of the NCR-Fwd will be controlled according to the received side control information from gNB). Regarding claims 4 and 14, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the control information comprises information relating to a starting physical resource block (PRB) and a number of contiguous PRBs (MolavianJazi, see paragraph 0244, the first beam indication message includes only one beam from the multiple beams for each time resource, such as each symbol/slot. For example, the NCR-Fwd uses a first indicated beam for a first symbol/slot in all corresponding RBs (such as all RBs within a pass band of the NCR-Fwd) or in an indicated set of RBs for the first symbol/slot, while the NCR-Fwd performs no transmission/reception in remaining RBs for the first symbol/slot). Regarding claims 5 and 15, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the MT determines that as many PRBs as the number of contiguous PRBs from the starting PRB are the first operating frequency (MolavianJazi, see paragraph 0401, PDCCH repetitions for NCR-MT can be in different RBs of a same slot, such as in N = 2 or 4 consecutive or non-consecutive RB sets, wherein the information of RB sets, such as a first RB for the RB set or a number of RBs within the RB set or a gap between two adjacent RB sets are provided by higher layer information). Regarding claims 6 and 16, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the MT determines that as many PRBs as the number of contiguous PRBs from the starting PRB are the second operating frequency (MolavianJazi, see paragraph 0401, PDCCH repetitions for NCR-MT can be in different RBs of a same slot, such as in N = 2 or 4 consecutive or non-consecutive RB sets, wherein the information of RB sets, such as a first RB for the RB set or a number of RBs within the RB set or a gap between two adjacent RB sets are provided by higher layer information). Regarding claims 7 and 17, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the control information informs a number of PRBs (MolavianJazi, see paragraph 0244, the first beam indication message includes only one beam from the multiple beams for each time resource, such as each symbol/slot. For example, the NCR-Fwd uses a first indicated beam for a first symbol/slot in all corresponding RBs (such as all RBs within a pass band of the NCR-Fwd) or in an indicated set of RBs for the first symbol/slot, while the NCR-Fwd performs no transmission/reception in remaining RBs for the first symbol/slot). Regarding claims 8 and 18, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the MT determines that as many PRBs as the number of PRBs from a PRB with a lowest index of a system band are operating frequency resources of the RU (MolavianJazi, see paragraph 0401, PDCCH repetitions for NCR-MT can be in different RBs of a same slot, such as in N = 2 or 4 consecutive or non-consecutive RB sets, wherein the information of RB sets, such as a first RB for the RB set or a number of RBs within the RB set or a gap between two adjacent RB sets are provided by higher layer information). Regarding claims 9 and 19, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the MT determines that as many PRBs as the number of PRBs from a PRB with a highest index of a system band are operating frequency resources of the RU (MolavianJazi, see paragraph 0401, PDCCH repetitions for NCR-MT can be in different RBs of a same slot, such as in N = 2 or 4 consecutive or non-consecutive RB sets, wherein the information of RB sets, such as a first RB for the RB set or a number of RBs within the RB set or a gap between two adjacent RB sets are provided by higher layer information). Regarding claim 10, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the control information includes additional information informing whether the PRBs are counted from a PRB with a lowest index or a PRB with a highest index of a system band (MolavianJazi, see paragraph 0401, PDCCH repetitions for NCR-MT can be in different RBs of a same slot, such as in N = 2 or 4 consecutive or non-consecutive RB sets, wherein the information of RB sets, such as a first RB for the RB set or a number of RBs within the RB set or a gap between two adjacent RB sets are provided by higher layer information). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHONG G KIM whose telephone number is (571)270-0619. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri @ 9am - 5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nicholas R. Taylor can be reached at 571-272-3889. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHONG G KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2443 /CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443 Application/Control Number: 18/843,552 Page 2 Art Unit: 2443 Application/Control Number: 18/843,552 Page 3 Art Unit: 2443