DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt (US pat. App. Pub. 20230284013) and in view of DORFMAN et al hereafter DORFMAN (US pat. App. Pub. 20140282961) and further in view of Cook et al hereinafter Cook (US pat. app. Pub. 20150379253).
4. As per claim 1, Schmidt discloses a system for authenticating an individual subscriber to access a network-based on-line system platform from a computing system including an installed software module for controlling an instruction session, comprising a unique hardware verification component paired with an individual subscriber in a one-to-one manner and co-located with the computing system having the installed software module, the unique hardware verification component including a camera for capturing a digital verification code displayed on a computer monitor of the computing system (paragraphs: 32-33, wherein it emphasizes a user uses a computing system to access the network resources and a mobile device (a unique hardware verification component) belongs to the user that is located close to the display screen of the computing system. This mobile device where a software app is running and installed with a camera that captures an image of the QR-code being displayed on the display screen), and a communication interface for transmitting the captured digital verification code (paragraph: 29, wherein it elaborates that server receives the QR-code from the device); and a network-based on-line system platform comprising: at least one memory including instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions and cause the network-based on-line system platform to perform an authentication process for the individual subscriber including (paragraph: 30, wherein it discusses that server receives the QR-cod and performs an authentication for the user): accessing a subscriber database to retrieve authentication information associated with the individual subscriber; comparing retrieved information to a decrypted version of a verification code captured by the hardware verification component and communicated to the network-based system platform from computing (paragraphs: 34, wherein it describes comparing the QR-code to the extracted code to verify the authenticity of the user); and: if matching, transmitting a command to individual computing system to render the displayed image and permit access to the network-based system platform (paragraphs: 36-38, wherein it deliberates if the comparison result is positive then the user is permitted to access the network resource); otherwise, transmitting a “denial of access” response to the individual computing system (paragraph: 35, wherein it describes the if the comparison result is negative then No message occurs). Schmidt does not specifically disclose a communication interface for receiving data communications from the computing system of the individual subscriber. However, in the same field of endeavor, DORFMAN discloses a communication interface for receiving data communications from the computing system of the individual subscriber (paragraphs: 19, 26, 31-32, and 40).
Accordingly, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network security art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated DORFMAN’s teachings of communication interface for receiving data communications from the computing system of the individual subscriber with the teachings of Schmidt, for the purpose of effectively authenticating the user identity by a remote communication system.
Schmidt does not specifically disclose authenticating an individual subscriber to access a network-based on-line learning system platform from a computing system. However, in the same field of endeavor, Cook discloses authenticating an individual subscriber to access a network-based on-line learning system platform from a computing system (paragraphs: 8, 44, 45).
Accordingly, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network security art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Cook’s teachings of authenticating an individual subscriber to access a network-based on-line learning system platform from a computing system with the teachings of Schmidt, for the purpose of effectively validating a subscriber to access the on-line courses.
5. As per claim 2, Schmidt discloses the system, wherein the combination of the at least one memory including instructions and the at least one processor are further configured to execute accessibility instructions and cause the network-based on-line system platform to perform processes related to controlling access to at the platform (paragraphs: 24-27). Schmidt does not specifically disclose the system, wherein the network-based on-line learning system platform to perform processes related to controlling access to individual learning modules at the platform. However, in the same field of endeavor, Cook discloses wherein the network-based on-line learning system platform to perform processes related to controlling access to individual learning modules at the platform (paragraphs: 22, 44-45, and 48).
Accordingly, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network security art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Cook’s teachings of wherein the network-based on-line learning system platform to perform processes related to controlling access to individual learning modules at the platform with the teachings of Schmidt, for the purpose of effectively allowing to access different learning modules of an on-line course.
6. As per claim 3, Schmidt discloses the system, where the hardware verification component is used to read this unique verification code to create an access response that is sent to the network-based system platform for use in determining if the subscribed individual has a proper permission to access a selected module (paragraphs: 32-34). Schmidt does not specifically disclose wherein each learning module contains a unique verification code on an initial page, where the hardware verification component is used is sent to the network-based learning system platform for use in determining if the subscribed individual has a proper permission to access a selected learning module. However, in the same field of endeavor, Cook discloses wherein each learning module contains a unique verification code on an initial page, where the hardware verification component is used is sent to the network-based learning system platform for use in determining if the subscribed individual has a proper permission to access a selected learning module (paragraphs: 25, 54, 57).
Accordingly, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network security art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Cook’s teachings of each learning module contains a unique verification code on an initial page, where the hardware verification component is used is sent to the network-based learning system platform for use in determining if the subscribed individual has a proper permission to access a selected learning module with the teachings of Schmidt, for the purpose of effectively protecting the each on-line learning module.
7. As per claim 4, Schmidt discloses the system, wherein the at least one memory including instructions; the at least one processor configured to execute the instructions and cause the network-based on-line learning system platform to perform an authentication process for the individual subscriber are located within a service management component at the network-based learning system platform (paragraphs: 17, and 26).
8. As per claim 5, Schmidt discloses the system wherein the service management component further comprises a module for maintaining a history of an individual subscriber's use of different learning modules (paragraphs: 28-30).
9. As per claims 6, Schmidt discloses a method for authenticating an individual subscriber to access a network-based system platform, comprising providing a unique hardware verification component to an individual subscriber, the unique hardware verification component including a camera and a communication interface coupled to a computing system associated with the individual subscriber; displaying, on a computer monitor associated with the individual subscriber, an access page associated with the network-based on-line instructional system, the access page including a unique verification code associated with the individual subscriber and embedded within the displayed access page; using the camera of the unique hardware verification component, capturing an image of the embedded code (paragraphs: 32-33); comparing the captured image to the unique verification code (paragraph: 34), and if matching, transmitting a command to the computing system associated with the individual subscriber to authenticate the subscribed individual and permit access to the network-based system platform (paragraphs: 36-38); otherwise, transmitting a “denial of access” response to the computing system of the individual subscriber (paragraph: 35). Schmidt does not specifically disclose authenticating an individual subscriber to access a network-based learning system platform. However, in the same field of endeavor, Cook discloses authenticating an individual subscriber to access a network-based learning system platform (8, 44-45).
Accordingly, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network security art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Cook’s teachings of authenticating an individual subscriber to access a network-based learning system platform with the teachings of Schmidt, for the purpose of effectively validating a subscriber to access the on-line courses.
10. As per claim 7, Schmidt discloses the method, wherein the step of displaying an access page further comprises displaying an inactive version of the access page until authentication is completed (paragraphs: 17, and 22).
11. As per claims 8, and 11, Schmidt discloses, the method and apparatus further comprising the steps of: in using the camera of the unique hardware verification component, capturing an image of the lesson module embedded code; decoding the captured image to determine the subscription associations for the selected lesson module; and accessing the subscribed individual's subscription profile and, if a permission is present to access the selected module (paragraphs: 24-27, and 36-38), otherwise, transmitting a “denial of selected lesson module access” response to the computing system of the individual subscriber (paragraph: 35). Schmidt does not specifically disclose response to additional requests from the subscribed individual to access certain lesson modules from the learning system platform, transmitting an initial lesson module access page to the individual subscriber, the lesson module access page including a unique embedded verification code; transmitting a command to the computing system associated with the individual subscriber to permit access to the selected lesson module. However, in the same field of endeavor, Cook discloses response to additional requests from the subscribed individual to access certain lesson modules from the learning system platform, transmitting an initial lesson module access page to the individual subscriber, the lesson module access page including a unique embedded verification code (paragraphs: 25, and 44-45); transmitting a command to the computing system associated with the individual subscriber to permit access to the selected lesson module (paragraphs: 28-29).
Accordingly, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network security art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Cook’s teachings of response to additional requests from the subscribed individual to access certain lesson modules from the learning system platform, transmitting an initial lesson module access page to the individual subscriber, the lesson module access page including a unique embedded verification code with the teachings of Schmidt, for the purpose of effectively permitting the particular lesson module of the access page.
12. As per claim 9, Schmidt discloses the method, further comprising steps of: transmitting lesson module verification codes at selected time intervals; and confirming continued accessibility to the selected lesson module (paragraphs: 33-34).
13. As per claim 10, Schmidt discloses the method, further comprising the steps of: creating a lesson history record for the individual subscriber; and Recording each log-in to individual lesson modules by the individual subscriber (paragraphs: 35-37).
14. Claims 12-14 are listed all the same elements of claims 7-10. Therefore, the supporting rationales of the rejection to claims 7-10 apply equally as well to claims 12-14.
Citation of References
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are cited but not been replied upon for this office action:
ETWARU et al (US pat. app. Pub. 20220353079): discusses establishing a video connection between the apparatus and a first device, in response to establishing the video connection, transmitting a token to a second device equipped with a display, the token being displayed on the display of the second device, receiving visual data comprising the token displayed on the display of the second device, the visual data being generated by the first device, that includes a camera, capturing the token displayed on the display of the second device, accessing a frame buffer of a graphics processing unit (GPU), analyzing, in the frame buffer of the GPU, a frame representing a section of the visual data to detect the token, and in response to the token being detected in the visual data, generating an authentication to authenticate the video connection between the apparatus and the first device.
Sabin et al (US pat. App. Pub. 20130111208): elaborates that a mobile device are provided. A mobile device is pre-registered for website authentication services. A user encounters a website displaying an embedded code as an image alongside a normal login process for that website. The image is identified by the mobile device, encrypted and signed by the mobile device and sent to a proxy. The proxy authenticates the code and associates it with the website. Credentials for the user are provided to the website to automatically authenticate the user for access to the website bypassing the normal login process associated with the website.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Cathy Thiaw can be reached on 571-270-1138. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/MOHAMMAD W REZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407