DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the details of the ideal position [PI], position vector [VP] (claims 2, 4), delay vector, sampling frequency, sampling period, input shaping algorithm (see claim 5), compensation algorithms (fig.2, see spec., para’s [0054] thru [0076], pages 10-13) as described in the specification.
Sampling details (involving ideal position PI, speed, sampling frequency, sampling period, sampling start position, see spec., para’s [0062]-[0063]) mentioned in compensation method step F3 (figs.1-2) is not shown for proper understanding of the invention.
the integrated transduction circuit 10 (see claim 7, spec., page 14, para. [0080]) receiving the movement function [FM] is not shown in the controller 1 of figs.3A-3B.
A computer program, comprising instructions (see claim 11, spec., para. [0093], page 16) for performing the steps of the method according to claim 1 is not shown, where (which device) the computer program comprising instructions is performed or executed.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Method steps F1-F4, F31-F35 shown in blocks (see figs.1-2) needs to be labeled as described in the specification (see spec, para’s [0046] thru [0065], pages 8-11) for proper understanding of the invention.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase, “The first reference signal S1, identifying a finished rotation of the stepping motor is not clear (see spec., para’s [0047]-[0048], page 9). How the finished rotation is identified from the first signal S1? How the second reference signal S2 (direction DIR) is modified is not clear with respect to fgs.1-2.
A position vector and delay vector are mentioned in specification (see spec., para’s [0054] thru [0076], pages 10-13). However, the position vector and delay vector details mentioned (see spec., para’s [0075]-[0076]) are not clear as they are not shown in drawing figs.1-4. Sampling details (involving ideal position, speed, sampling frequency, sampling period, sampling start position, see spec., para’s [0062]-[0063]) mentioned in compensation method step F3 (figs.1-2) is not shown for proper understanding of the invention.
As to claim 5, the phrase, “The method according to claim 1, wherein the compensation step is performed by applying an input shaping algorithm on the first and on the second reference signal” is not clear as the input shaping algorithm for performing said compensation step is not shown in applicant’s relative figs.1-3B (applicant’s spec., para. [0069]-[0070]) mentions input shaping refers to prior art of record EPO433375B1, however input shaping is not clear from applicant’s figs.1-3B, as how input shaping is applied to first and second signals S1, S2. What is meant by input shaping applied to first and second signals S1, S2 for proper understanding of the applicant’s invention?
A computer program, comprising instructions (see claim 11, spec., para. [0093], page 16) for performing the steps of the method according to claim 1 is not shown and referenced, where the computer program comprising instructions is performed or executed is not shown and referenced.
As to claim 7, the phrase, “an integrated transduction circuit programmed for:
-Receiving a movement function” is not clear as to the integrated transduction circuit as applicant’s failed to teach what the transduction circuit means?
the integrated transduction circuit 10 (see spec., page 14, para. [0080]) receiving the movement function [FM] is not shown in the controller 1 of figs.3A-3B.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1 and 7, the phrase, “- processing the movement function and generating a first reference signal, identifying a finished rotation of the stepping motor, and a second reference signal, identifying the direction of the finished rotation controlled by the first reference signal” is not clear as how a first reference signal, identifying a finished rotation of the stepping motor ?
In general position sensor identify (via sensing or detecting) the position of the motor and therefore not clear as to said identification of the finished rotation of the motor from fig.1.
As to claims 1 and 7, the phrase, “- sending a first and a second control signal to an integrated control circuit of the stepping motor (102A), characterised in that it comprises a compensation step, wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal are modified in such a way as to reduce the extent of the vibrations due to a movement of the stepping motor, for generating the first and the second control signal, respectively” is not clear how the second reference signal S2 (direction signal S2, figs.1-2) is modified/compensated?
The above said phrases of claims 1 and 7 are not clear as details are not shown (see objection to drawings and specification) for proper understanding of the invention.
As to claim 5, the phrase, “The method according to claim 1, wherein the compensation step is performed by applying an input shaping algorithm on the first and on the second reference signal” is not clear as the input shaping algorithm for performing said compensation step is not shown in applicant’s relative figs.1-3B.
As to claim 7, the phrase, “an integrated transduction circuit programmed for:
-Receiving a movement function” is not clear as to the integrated transduction circuit as applicant’s failed to teach what the transduction circuit means?
the integrated transduction circuit 10 (see claims 7, 9 and spec., page 14, para. [0080]) receiving the movement function [FM] is not shown in the controller 1 of figs.3A-3B.
As to claim 9, the phrase, “the compensation module is performed in said integrated compensation circuit” is not clear as the compensation module 11’ is not shown and referenced in the compensation circuit 11 (see relative fig.3B).
As to claim 11, A computer program, comprising instructions (see spec., para. [0093], page 16) for performing the steps of the method according to claim 1 is not shown and referenced, where (which device) the computer program comprising instructions is executed is not shown and referenced.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 7, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LADANYI (prior art of record, US PUB.No.: US 2017/0312987 A1) in view of Onodera et al. (US Patent Number 4, 999, 558 and Onodera hereinafter).
As to claim 1(currently amended), A method for controlling a stepping motor including the following steps:
- receiving a movement function, representing a position of the stepping motor over time;
- processing the movement function and generating a first reference signal, identifying a finished rotation of the stepping motor, and a second reference signal, identifying the direction of the finished rotation controlled by the first reference signal;
- sending a first and a second control signal to an integrated control circuit of the stepping motor, characterised in that it comprises a compensation step, wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal are modified in such a way as to reduce the extent of the vibrations due to a movement of the stepping motor, for generating the first and the second control signal, respectively.
(As to claim 1, LADANYI teaches (figs.1-15b, para’s [0005] thru [0010]) a method (figs.1, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13-14, para’s [0028], [0030], [0041] & [0056]) for controlling a stepping motor 26 (70) including the following steps:
- microcontroller/intercept controller 64 (figs.7, 10, 13-14) receiving a movement function [Step pulses/commands] (via main controller 60, figs.7, 10, 13), representing a position (angular movement, see para’s [0054], [0064], [0065], [0066], [0067]-[0068]) of the stepping motor 70 over time;
- processing (via microcontroller/intercept controller 64, figs.7, 10, 13-14) the movement function [Step pulses/commands] and generating a first reference signal [Step], identifying a finished rotation of the stepping motor 70 such as LADANYI teaches microcontroller 64 (fig.13) determines when the target position X/Y via X/Y directional movement (see fig.1) is reached via corresponding encoder feedback 140/142 based on the first signal [step pulses] provided to the motor 70, see fig.13, para’s [0064], [0065], [0066], [0067] & [0068]), and a second reference signal [Dir], identifying the direction (send from main controller 60 and send to stepper motor driver 68, see figs.7, 10, para’s [0066]-[0067]) of the finished rotation [target position X/Y reached, see fig.1] controlled by the first reference signal [Step Pulse] (step pulses control the angular movement of motor, see para’s [0054], [0056]);
- sending a first [Step] and a second control signal [Dir] to an integrated control circuit [Stepper driver 68] (figs.7, 10, 13) of the stepping motor 70, characterised in that it comprises a compensation step [correction step], see fig.14, para’s [0066], [0067], [0068]-[0070]).
LADANYI do not mention the first reference signal and the second reference signal are modified in such a way as to reduce the extent of the vibrations due to a movement of the stepping motor, for generating the first and the second control signal respectively.
Onodera teaches (figs.1-14, para. 5-11) a method (fig.7) of controlling a stepping motor 2 (fig.1), wherein the first reference signal [position command signal t] and the second reference signal [position command signal s] are modified (via corresponding angle adjustment control section 4 and angle compensation control section 6, fig.1) in such a way as to reduce the extent of the vibrations due to a movement of the stepping motor 2 (“suppression of vibration…”, see (col.2, lines 30-68), (col.4, lines 56-68), (col.5, lines 1-21)), for generating the modified first and the second control signal [micro-step current commands Sc, SS] respectively for the stepping motor 2 (fig.1) to be driven stepwise in a certain direction (see fig.1, (col.3, lines 47-68, (col.4, lines 1-68) & (col.5, lines 1-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first reference signal and the second reference signal are modified in such a way as to reduce the extent of the vibrations due to a movement of the stepping motor, for generating the first and the second control signal respectively of Onodera in the system of LADANYI because a position control system having a higher speed and a higher precision for printer devices wherein suppression of vibration to a highest possible degree and a quick response is obtainable and further realize a high position setting accuracy (see Onodera, (col.1, lines 13-18) and (col.2, lines 30-68)).
As to claim 5, (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, wherein the compensation step is performed by applying an input shaping algorithm on the first and on the second reference signal.
(As to claim 5, LADANYI do not mention the method, wherein the compensation step is performed by applying an input shaping algorithm on the first and on the second reference signal.
Onodera teaches the method (figs.1-14), wherein wave shaping 30a, 30b/45 (fig.3/4, (col.6, lines 1-24, 25-68) & (col.7, lines 1-51)) is applied to position signals a, b to produce a smooth current position signal [c], which is applied to the first reference signal [position command signal t] (via control section 11) and second reference signal [position command signal S], which are correspondingly compensated and adjusted (via respective control sections 4, 6, see fig.1, (col.3, lines 47-68, (col.4, lines 1-68) & (col.5, lines 1-20)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method, wherein the compensation step is performed by applying an input shaping algorithm on the first and on the second reference signal of Onodera in the system of LADANYI because a position control system having a higher speed and a higher precision for printer devices wherein suppression of vibration to a highest possible degree and a quick response is obtainable and further realize a high position setting accuracy (see Onodera, (col.1, lines 13-18) and (col.2, lines 30-68)).
As to claim 6 (Currently Amended), A method for controlling a 3D printer, comprising the following steps:
- sending control signals to an extruder, for controlling it in the extrusion of printing material;
- moving a print head, using a stepping motor and one or more motion transmission units;
- stepping motor control,
- wherein the step of controlling the stepping motor is performed according to claim 1.
(As to claim 6, LADANYI teaches (figs.1-15b, para’s [0005] thru [0010]) a method (figs.1, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13-14, para’s [0028], [0030], [0041] & [0056]) for controlling a 3D printer 10 (fig.1) comprising the following steps:
- sending control signals to an extruder (via extruder stepping motor 26 (70), see figs.1, 7, 10, 12, 13 & 14), for controlling it in the extrusion of printing material 30 (see para’s [0005] thru [0010], [0041], [0054]-[0056] thru [0063]);
- moving a print head 16 (fig.1), using a stepping motor 26(70) and one or more motion transmission units 104, 106,108 (fig.1, para. [0034]);
- stepping motor control (shown in figs.7, 10, 13),
- wherein the step (fig.14) of controlling the stepping motor 26(70) is performed according to claim 1).
As to claim 11 (currently amended), A computer program, comprising instructions for performing the steps of the method according to claim 1.
(As to claim 11, LADANYI teaches (see figs. 1, 7, 10, 12, 13-14, para’s [0005], [0006], [0009], [0057]), [0069] & [0072]) microcontroller 64/main controller 60 (fig.7, 10, 13) can be programmed (see para. [0009],[0057], [0072] comprising instructions (control commands via PC 152, see fig.13) for performing the steps of the method (fig.12, 14) according to claim 1).
As to claim 7 (currently amended), A controller for controlling a stepping motor including:
-an integrated transduction circuit, programmed for:
- receiving a movement function, representing a movement of the stepping motor over time;
- processing the movement function;
- generating a first reference signal, identifying a finished rotation of the stepping motor, and a second reference signal, identifying the direction of the finished rotation controlled by the first reference signal;
- an integrated control circuit, connectable to the stepping motor and configured to receive a first and a second control signal, which instruct it to move the stepping motor, wherein the controller comprises a compensation module, programmed for modifying the first reference signal and the second reference signal in such a way as to reduce the extent of the vibrations due to a movement of the stepping motor, for generating the first and the second control signal, starting from the first reference signal and from the second reference signal, respectively.
(As to claim 7, LADANYI teaches (figs.1-15b, para’s [0005] thru [0010]) a controller 60 (figs.1, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13-14, para’s [0028], [0030], [0041] & [0056]) for controlling a stepping motor 26 (70) including:
-an integrated transduction circuit interpreted as a [Microcontroller 64] (connected to transducers such as encoder sensors 140, 142 (fig.13) or sensor module 66 (fig.11), programmed for (see para’s [0056]-[0057]):
- microcontroller/intercept controller 64 (figs.7, 10, 13-14) receiving a movement function [Step pulses/commands] (via main controller 60, figs.7, 10, 13), representing a position (angular movement, see para’s [0054], [0064], [0065], [0066], [0067]-[0068]) of the stepping motor 70 over time;
- processing (via microcontroller/intercept controller 64, figs.7, 10, 13-14) the movement function [Step pulses/commands];
-generating a first reference signal [Step], identifying a finished rotation of the stepping motor 70 such as LADANYI teaches microcontroller 64 (fig.13) determines when the target position X/Y via X/Y directional movement (see fig.1) is reached via corresponding encoder feedback 140/142 based on the first signal [step pulses] provided to the motor 70, see fig.13, para’s [0064], [0065], [0066], [0067] & [0068]), and a second reference signal [Dir], identifying the direction (send from main controller 60 and send to stepper motor driver 68, see figs.7, 10, para’s [0066]-[0067]) of the finished rotation [target position X/Y reached, see fig.1] controlled by the first reference signal [Step Pulse] (step pulses control the angular movement of motor, see para’s [0054], [0056]);
- an integrated control circuit [Stepper driver 68] (figs.7, 10, 13) connectable to the stepping motor 70 and configured to receive a first [Step] and a second control signal [Dir], which command to move the stepping motor 70.
LADANYI teaches compensation such as [correction] (via microcontroller 64, see figs.7, 10, 13-14, para’s [0066], [0067], [0068]-[0070]).
LADANYI do not mention the controller comprises a compensation module, programmed for modifying the first reference signal and the second reference signal in such a way as to reduce the extent of the vibrations due to a movement of the stepping motor, for generating the first and the second control signal, starting from the first reference signal and from the second reference signal, respectively.
Onodera teaches (figs.1-14, para. 5-11) a position control system (fig.1) comprises a compensation module [angle adjusting control section 4, angle compensation control section 6] programmed (via fig.7, (col.3, lines 22-23) or microprocessor 60 executing program from memory 61, fig.6) of controlling a stepping motor 2 (fig.1), wherein the first reference signal [position command signal t] and the second reference signal [position command signal s] are modified (via corresponding angle adjustment control section 4 and angle compensation control section 6, fig.1) in such a way as to reduce the extent of the vibrations due to a movement of the stepping motor 2 (“suppression of vibration…”, see (col.2, lines 30-68), (col.4, lines 56-68), (col.5, lines 1-21)), for generating the modified first and the second control signal [micro-step current commands Sc, SS] respectively for the stepping motor 2 (fig.1) to be driven stepwise in a certain direction (see fig.1, (col.3, lines 47-68, (col.4, lines 1-68) & (col.5, lines 1-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the controller comprises a compensation module, programmed for modifying the first reference signal and the second reference signal in such a way as to reduce the extent of the vibrations due to a movement of the stepping motor, for generating the first and the second control signal, starting from the first reference signal and from the second reference signal, respectively of Onodera in the system of LADANYI because a position control system having a higher speed and a higher precision for printer devices wherein suppression of vibration to a highest possible degree and a quick response is obtainable and further realize a high position setting accuracy (see Onodera, (col.1, lines 13-18) and (col.2, lines 30-68)).
As to claim 10 (currently amended), A 3D printer comprising:
- at least one print head, movable in a printing zone for dispensing printing material;
- at least one extruder, configured for feeding printing material to the print head;
- at least one stepping motor, configured for moving the print head in the printing zone;
- a transmission unit, configured for transmitting the motion of said at least one stepping motor to the movement head;
- a controller, configured for controlling said at least one stepping motor according to claim 7.
(As to claim 10, LADANYI teaches (figs.1-15b, para’s [0005] thru [0010], figs.1, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13-14, para’s [0028], [0030], [0041] & [0056]) a 3D printer 10 comprising:
- at least one print head 16, movable in a printing surface [P] for dispensing printing material 30;
- at least one extruder ((see fig.1, para’s [0005] thru [0010], [0041], [0054]-[0056] thru [0063]), configured for feeding printing material 30 to the print head 16;
- at least one stepping motor 26 (70), configured for moving the print head 16 in the printing surface [P];
- a transmission unit [104, 106 for X positioning system 12 or 124, 128 for Y positioning system, see fig.1, para’s [0034] thru [0036]), configured for transmitting the motion of said at least one stepping motor 26 to the movement head 16;
- a controller 60/64 (figs.7, 10-11, 13), configured for controlling said at least one-stepping motor 26 (70) according to claim 7).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claims 2, 3, 4, and 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2, 3, 4, and 8-9 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record(s) (closest prior arts, LADANYI and Onodera et al.) fails to teach (see claim 2) - sampling an ideal position to generate a position vector, including a plurality of ideal positions adopted by the stepping motor and determined starting from the first reference signal and from the second reference signal;
- calculating a compensated position, on the basis of said position vector;
Claims 3-4 depend on allowable claim 2.
The prior art of record(s) (closest prior arts, LADANYI and Onodera et al.) fails to teach (see claim 8), The controller according to claim 7, wherein the compensation module is integrated in the integrated control circuit and wherein the integrated control circuit is programmed to receive the first and the second reference signal, process it in the compensation module to derive the first and the second control signal. Claim 9 depend on claim 8.
However formal requirements outstanding (see objection to drawings and specification and 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejection of claims 1-11) needs to be corrected and clarified in response to this office action.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
a) Takebayashi et al. (US Pub.No.: US 2007/0040529 A1) teaches (figs.1-16, abstract, para. [0001]) stepping motor control system and method (figs.6-10), wherein controller 138 (fig.4) including compensation control sections 55, 65 (fig.8) performed for modifying the first reference signal [position command signal] (via 10) and second reference signal [current position] (via encoder 112] or Velocity signal via velocity estimator 40] to generate the modified signals [IB, PB, IA, PA] for controlling the stepping motor 100. Velocity signal (fig.7, para’s [0063] thru [0070) shows forward direction [upper trapezoidal section] and reverse rotation direction [lower trapezoidal section] of motor and velocity signal identifies finished rotation at times t4-t5, t8-t9 of motor and teaches vibrations of the motor is suppressed (para. [0006]).
b) Ikawa et al. (Patent Number 5,825,151 teaches (figs.1-39B, abstract, col.1, lines 5-11) apparatus for driving a stepping motor for printer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed on 09/03/2024, with respect to amendment to specification and claims 1-11 are acknowledged.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2837