DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakurano et al., US 2021/0270939.
In regard to claim 1, Sakurano et al., US 2021/0270939, discloses a light-receiving element comprising a plurality of pixels, wherein
each of the plurality of pixels (see figures 2, 8, and 9, element 21 and para 36 and 69) includes
a sensing circuit (see figure 8, element R (R0-R15)) that allows detection of incidence of a photon (see para 32, 69-72, and 76), and
a counter circuit (seer figure 8, element TFF (TFF0-TFF15)) that counts a pulse output from the sensing circuit (see para 36-40 and 69-73), and
in a first mode, at least one first counter circuit among a plurality of counter circuits included in the plurality of pixels counts on a basis of an output value of a second counter circuit different from the first counter circuit among the plurality of counter circuits (see para 66-67 and 78-86).
In regard to claim 2, Sakurano et al., US 2021/0270939, discloses the light-receiving element according to claim 1, wherein, in a second mode, the first counter circuit counts a pulse signal of a first sensing circuit corresponding among a plurality of the sensing circuits included in the plurality of pixels (see para 66).
In regard to claim 22, Sakurano et al., US 2021/0270939, discloses an electronic apparatus comprising:
the light-receiving element according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above); and
an optical system (see figure 1, element 13 and 14) that supplies return light to the light-receiving element (see para 25-30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 11,856,302, discloses an imaging device with multiple in-pixel counters. US 2023/0142762, discloses an imaging system with a plurality of counter that count pulses. US 2023/0124286, discloses an image sensor with high speed photon counters.
/GEVELL V SELBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638
gvs