DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed after the mailing date. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 13-15, 17-21, 25, 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (“Lee”) (US 20230328770 A1, effective filing date of provisional 63/330,207 filed April 12, 2022).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches:
An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: memory; a transceiver; and at least one processor of a user equipment (UE), the at least one processor coupled with the memory and the transceiver, and the at least one processor configured to: receive, via the transceiver, channel state information reference signals from a plurality of transmission reception points [¶0219, UE configured with CSI resource sets for measuring N TRPs, ¶0377-3787, states correspond to subsets of TRPs e.g. (TRP#1, TRP#2) etc., and UE may report CSI for a state as well as the selected subset of states in report]; transmit, via the transceiver, a channel state information report based at least in part on receiving the channel state information reference signals, the channel state information report indicating a subset of transmission reception points selected from the plurality of transmission reception points for communications with the UE [¶0219, UE configured with CSI resource sets for measuring N TRPs, ¶0377-3787, states correspond to subsets of TRPs e.g. (TRP#1, TRP#2) etc, and UE may report CSI for a state as well as the selected subset of states in report]; and communicate with the subset of transmission reception points based at least in part on transmitting the channel state information report [figure 11, communication with RRH and UE, based on CSI reporting for spatial multiplexing gain ¶0104, see also ¶0073 PDSCH, Figure 6-7].
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, in the channel state information report, a bitmap indicating the subset of transmission reception points for communications with the UE, wherein a size of the bitmap is proportional to a quantity of the plurality of transmission reception points [¶0269 bitmap representing RRHs].
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches:
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the bitmap indicates a common subset of transmission reception points for communications with the UE on a plurality of layers [¶0187-188 RRH selection performed based on layers either common or respective].
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches:
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the bitmap indicates a respective subset of transmission reception points for communications with the UE on each layer of a plurality of layers [¶0188 specific (respective) layers reported].
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches:
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an indication of a configuration for indicating, in the bitmap, a common subset of transmission reception points for communications with the UE on a first plurality of layers or a respective subset of transmission reception points for communications with the UE on each layer of a second plurality of layers [¶0186, RRC signaling configures TRP selection, ¶0187 TRP selection includes common layer selection either common or respective ¶0187-188].
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein a quantity of spatial domain bases indicated in the channel state information report for a transmission reception point of the subset of transmission reception points is based at least in part on the transmission reception point [¶0317 a spatial domain basis set with a quantity e.g. 1 reported for each TRP thus based on each TRP].
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, in the channel state information report, selected non-zero coefficients for precoding for a first polarization at a first transmission reception point of the subset of transmission reception points, wherein the first polarization is stronger than a second polarization at the first transmission reception point [¶0156-166 teaches NZ coefficients for stronger polarization, for other polarizations send the differential values see ¶0168, wherein amplitude components combined with individual TRP selection feedback ¶0194]; transmit, in the channel state information report, first two or more differential amplitudes between the selected non-zero coefficients and coefficients for precoding for a second polarization at each transmission reception point of the subset of transmission reception points [for other polarizations send the differential amplitudes being two or more see ¶0168 “For each polarization, differential amplitudes p.sub.l,i,f.sup.(2) of the coefficients calculated relative to the associated polarization-specific reference amplitude and quantized to 3 bits” wherein amplitude components combined with individual TRP selection ¶0194 thus considered pertaining to each TRP]; and transmit, in the channel state information report, second one or more differential amplitudes between the selected non-zero coefficients and coefficients for precoding at each transmission reception point of the subset of transmission reception points excluding the first transmission reception point [¶0156 amplitude components, and sent for each TRP see ¶0191-192 with indicator of TRP being selected, wherein any second differential amplitudes pertaining to other TRPs are considered those that exclude the first TRP].
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches:
The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, in the channel state information report, an indication of whether the first polarization or the second polarization is stronger for each transmission reception point of the subset of transmission reception points [¶0159 -166 strongest coefficient for polarization is indicated implicitly via coefficient, “For the polarization associated with the strongest coefficient c.sub.l,i*,f*=1, since the reference amplitude p.sub.l,i,f.sup.(1)>=1, it is not reported [0165] ii. For the other polarization, reference amplitude p.sub.l,i,f.sup.(1) is quantized to 4 bits ”].
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, in the channel state information report for a first transmission reception point of the subset of transmission reception points, selected non-zero coefficients for precoding for a first polarization at the first transmission reception point; and transmit, in the channel state information report for the first transmission reception point, one or more differential amplitudes between the selected non-zero coefficients and coefficients for precoding for a second polarization at the first transmission reception point [¶0156-166 teaches coefficients for stronger polarization, for other polarizations send the differential amplitudes between sets of coefficients see ¶0168].
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: memory; a transceiver; and at least one processor of the network entity, the at least one processor coupled with the memory and the transceiver [¶0037-38 gNB], and the at least one processor configured to: transmit channel state information reference signals [¶0219, UE configured with CSI resource sets for measuring N TRPs, ¶0377-3787, states correspond to subsets of TRPs e.g. (TRP#1, TRP#2) etc., and UE may report CSI for a state as well as the selected subset of states in report]; receive a channel state information report based at least in part on transmitting the channel state information reference signals, the channel state information report indicating a subset of transmission reception points selected from a plurality of transmission reception points for communications with a user equipment (UE) [¶0219, UE configured with CSI resource sets for measuring N TRPs, ¶0377-3787, states correspond to subsets of TRPs e.g. (TRP#1, TRP#2) etc, and UE may report CSI for a state as well as the selected subset of states in report]; and communicate with the UE based at least in part on receiving the channel state information report [figure 11, communication with RRH and UE, based on CSI reporting for spatial multiplexing gain ¶0104, see also ¶0073 PDSCH, Figure 7].
Regarding claim 18-21, 25, see the rejections for claims 2-5, 9 respectively as these show the same contents of the CSI report sent back by the UE.
Regarding claims 29-30, see similar rejections for claims 1 and 17 respectively which teaches the physical structure performing the corresponding step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8, 11-12, 22-24, 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (“Lee”) (US 20230328770 A1, effective filing date of provisional 63330207 filed April 12, 2022) in view of Lee et al. (US 20220286178 A1, hereinafter ‘178).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, in the channel state information report, a selection of spatial domain bases for each transmission reception point of the subset of transmission reception points to use for communications with the UE [[¶0317 SD basis vectors are reported for the TRP selection (common)].
Lee teaches sending SD but is not clear on the commonality and for each layer.
‘178 teaches transmit, in the channel state information report, a common selection of spatial domain bases for each transmission reception point of the subset of transmission reception points to use for communications with the UE on a plurality of layers [¶0104-105, ¶0156, for given layers, report common SD basis].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the common SD basis being reported as in ‘178 as this “allows the UE to report different channel coefficients for different panels or RRHs under the common SD and FD vector pairs” see ¶0105.
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, in the channel state information report, a selection of spatial domain bases for each transmission reception point of the subset of transmission reception points to use for communications with the UE on each layer of a plurality of layers [¶0317 SD basis vectors are reported for each TRP (respective selection)].
Lee teaches sending SD but is not clear on the commonality or independence and for each layer.
‘178 teaches transmit, in the channel state information report, a respective selection of spatial domain bases for each transmission reception point of the subset of transmission reception points to use for communications with the UE on a plurality of layers [¶0143, ¶151-156, SD basis independently indicated for RRHs104-105, for given layers, report common SD basis].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the respective SD basis being reported as in ‘178 as this allows for reporting SD basis with beam vectors that are not included in the common SD basis for the RRHs ¶0143.
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1. Lee teaches reporting SD basis vectors but does not indicate a quantity of bases being constant.
‘178 teaches wherein a quantity of spatial domain bases indicated in the channel state information report is constant for each transmission reception point of the subset of transmission reception points [¶0140, CSI contains SD basis (quantity of one) for each of multiple panels, thus constant for each, in addition to the common SD bases for all, thus being a same number for each TRP].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the respective SD basis being reported as in ‘178 as this allows for reporting SD basis with beam vectors that are not included in the common SD basis for the RRHs ¶0143.
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, in the channel state information report, a respective number of selected frequency domain bases for each layer of a plurality of layers [¶0173-174 report M FD basis vectors in CSI report, 317 FD basis vectors are reported for each layer, TRP (respective selection)].
Lee teaches sending FD but is not clear this is based on the quantity of TRPS.
‘178 teaches transmit, in the channel state information report, a respective number of selected frequency domain bases for each layer of a plurality of layers based at least in part on a quantity of transmission reception points selected for communications with the UE on the layer [¶0104-105, ¶0156 FD basis reported for a given layer of each layer, based on the number of RRHs as the FD bases pertain to a number of TRPs].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the FD bases sent based on the number of TRPs as in ‘178 ¶0105 “This allows the UE to report different channel coefficients for different panels or RRHs under the common SD and FD vector pairs. In this case, the CSI feedback overhead for the channel coefficients will (almost) linearly increase with respect to the number of RRHs/panels.”
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, in the channel state information report, a common selection of spatial domain bases for each transmission reception point of the subset of transmission reception points to use for communications with the UE [[¶0317 SD basis vectors are reported for the TRP selection (common)].
Lee teaches sending SD but is not clear on the commonality and for each layer.
‘178 teaches transmit, in the channel state information report for each layer of a plurality of layers, a common selection of spatial domain bases for each transmission reception point of the subset of transmission reception points to use for communications with the UE [¶0104-105, ¶0156, for given layers, report common SD basis].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the common SD basis being reported as in ‘178 as this “allows the UE to report different channel coefficients for different panels or RRHs under the common SD and FD vector pairs” see ¶0105.
Regarding claim 22-24, 27-28, see the rejections for claims 6-8, 11-12 respectively as these show the same contents of the CSI report sent back by the UE.
Claim(s) 10, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (“Lee”) (US 20230328770 A1, effective filing date of provisional 63330207 filed April 12, 2022) in view of Gao et al. (“Gao”) (US 20220038145 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, in the channel state information report, a quantity of spatial domain bases included in the channel state information report for each transmission reception point of the subset of transmission reception points [¶0317 SD basis vectors reported for each TRP].
Lee teaches reporting SD basis for each TRP and thus a quantity but does not teach receiving a configuration of the quantity.
Gao teaches receive an indication of a configuration of a total quantity of spatial domain bases to indicate in the channel state information report [¶0126 “It should be further noted that, for a transmission layer, the quantity L of spatial-domain basis vectors, the quantity M of frequency-domain basis vectors, and a maximum quantity K.sub.0 of space-frequency combination coefficients that need to be reported may be configured by a network device by using higher layer signaling”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the respective SD basis quantity that needs to be reported in a configuration as in Gao who teaches this allows for reducing overhead ¶0004.
Regarding claim 26, see the rejection for claim 10 which pertains to the same contents of the message indicated to the UE and the same report sent back by the UE.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (“Lee”) (US 20230328770 A1, effective filing date of provisional 63330207 filed April 12, 2022) in view of Zhang et al. (“Zhang”) (US 20250080176 A1, effective filing date of provisional 63318834 filed March 11, 2022).
Lee teaches The apparatus of claim 1.
Lee teaches CSI reporting but not joint transmission.
Zhang teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a coherent joint transmission from the subset of transmission reception points, wherein phases of a plurality of transmissions forming the coherent joint transmission are controlled and coordinated by the subset of transmission reception points [Figure 23 shows joint transmission to a device, based on reported CSI from device, for CJT, with phase de-rotation ¶0212].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the coherent transmission as in Zhang. Lee teaches communication based on CSI reporting and it would have been obvious to specify the coherent transmission with delay coordination as in Zhang for applying a delay pre-compensation between the different TRPs with timing differences ¶0212.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230239029 A1
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478