DETAILED ACTION
Cross Reference to Related Applications
2. The present Application is a 371 national stage filing of International PCT Application No. PCT/CN2022/088984 by Zhang et al. entitled "GROUP-COMMON BANDWIDTH PART SWITCHING," filed April 25, 2022, which is assigned to the assignee hereof, and which is expressly incorporated by reference.
Claims status
3. This office action is a response to an application filed on September 03, 2024 in which claims 1-30 are pending for examination.
Drawings
4. The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on September 03, 2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statements submitted on September 03, 2024; January 15, 2026 and March 13, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, 10, 15, 17, 18, 23, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abdelghaffar (US 2022/0014345 A1; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated September 03, 2024), hereinafter “Abdelghaffar”.
Regarding claim 1, Abdelghaffar discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Figs. 7, 9, 11, wireless communications including resource format indicators in bandwidth part management), comprising:
a processor; memory coupled with the processor (Figs. 12-19, apparatus including a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
communicate with a network entity on a first bandwidth part (Figs. 9, 11, paragraphs [0246], [0233], operating BWP 905 and/or operating BWP (active BWP) including a first set of frequency resources in carrier bandwidth);
receive a group-common downlink control information message (Figs. 9, 11, paragraphs [0111], [0220], [0235], [0247], GC-DCI message including RFI) indicating that the UE is to communicate with the network entity (Figs. 9, 11, paragraphs [0111], [0220], [0235], [0247], RFI indicating second set of resources) on a second bandwidth part (Figs. 9, 11, paragraphs [0111], [0220], [0235], [0247], BWP 905-a and/or modified BWP), the group-common downlink control information message being for a plurality of UEs including the UE (Fig. 11, paragraphs [0111], [0220], [0235], [0247], GC-DCI message for a plurality of UEs including the UE); and
communicate with the network entity on the second bandwidth part (Figs. 9, 11, paragraphs [0147], [0235], [0249], [0250], using modified BWP) based at least in part on receiving the group-common downlink control information message (Figs. 9, 11, paragraphs [0147], [0235], [0249], [0250], according to modified operating BWP).
Regarding claim 2, Abdelghaffar discloses the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify, in the group-common downlink control information message, a UE-specific field for the UE indicating the second bandwidth part on which to communicate with the network entity (paragraphs [0146], [0175], [0224], GC-DCI message may be an example of any DCI message transmitted to multiple recipients; the message may include control information for multiple UEs 115, such that a UE 115 receiving the GC-DCI message may determine a portion of the control information intended for the UE 115; UE specific information from DCI).
Regarding claim 7, Abdelghaffar discloses the UE communicates with the network entity on the first bandwidth part using frequency division duplexing in a full- duplex mode, and the UE communicates with the network entity on the second bandwidth part using time-division duplexing in a half-duplex mode (Fig. 9, paragraphs [0233], [0235], SFI indicating a set of frequency resources 915 (e.g., frequency resources 915-a), modify the operating BWP 905 based on the set of frequency resources 915, and communicate with the base station using the modified BWP).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1 from perspective of a network entity.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2 from perspective of the network entity.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7 from perspective of the network entity.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1 from perspective of a network entity.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2 from perspective of the network entity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 3, 4, 5, 11, 12, 13, 19, 20, 21, 27, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar (US 2022/0014345 A1; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated September 03, 2024), hereinafter “Abdelghaffar” in view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0075579 A1), hereinafter “Liu”.
Regarding claim 3, Abdelghaffar discloses the apparatus according to claim 1.
Abdelghaffar does not explicitly disclose “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify, in the group-common downlink control information message, a common field for the plurality of UEs indicating the second bandwidth part on which to communicate with the network entity”.
However, Liu from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify, in the group-common downlink control information message, a common field for the plurality of UEs indicating the second bandwidth part on which to communicate with the network entity (Fig.6, paragraphs [0100], [0104], [0154], frequency hopping pattern via group common signaling or group-DCI (G-DCI) signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify, in the group-common downlink control information message, a common field for the plurality of UEs indicating the second bandwidth part on which to communicate with the network entity” as taught by Liu, in the system of Abdelghaffar, so that it would provide spectrum sharing to extend the benefit of NR technologies to operating entities to avoiding collisions when communicating in a shared spectrum or an unlicensed spectrum (Liu, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Abdelghaffar discloses the apparatus according to claim 1.
Abdelghaffar does not explicitly disclose “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify the second bandwidth part on which to communicate with the network entity based at least in part on an implicit indication of the second bandwidth part in the group-common downlink control information message”.
However, Liu from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify the second bandwidth part on which to communicate with the network entity based at least in part on an implicit indication of the second bandwidth part in the group-common downlink control information message (Figs.3, 6, 8, 16, paragraphs [0100], [0104], [0152], one or more BWP hopping patterns (e.g., the frequency hopping patterns 604 and 804) for a plurality of BWPs; each BWP may be within a subband (e.g., the subbands 310) of a shared frequency band or an unlicensed band (e.g., the frequency band 301)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify the second bandwidth part on which to communicate with the network entity based at least in part on an implicit indication of the second bandwidth part in the group-common downlink control information message” as taught by Liu, in the system of Abdelghaffar, so that it would provide spectrum sharing to extend the benefit of NR technologies to operating entities to avoiding collisions when communicating in a shared spectrum or an unlicensed spectrum (Liu, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Abdelghaffar discloses the apparatus according to claim 1.
Abdelghaffar does not explicitly disclose “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify the second bandwidth part on which to communicate with the network entity based at least in part on a bandwidth part switching pattern”.
However, Liu from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify the second bandwidth part on which to communicate with the network entity based at least in part on a bandwidth part switching pattern (Figs.3, 6, 8, 16, paragraphs [0100], [0104], [0152], one or more BWP hopping patterns (e.g., the frequency hopping patterns 604 and 804) for a plurality of BWPs; each BWP may be within a subband (e.g., the subbands 310) of a shared frequency band or an unlicensed band (e.g., the frequency band 301)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify the second bandwidth part on which to communicate with the network entity based at least in part on a bandwidth part switching pattern” as taught by Liu, in the system of Abdelghaffar, so that it would provide spectrum sharing to extend the benefit of NR technologies to operating entities to avoiding collisions when communicating in a shared spectrum or an unlicensed spectrum (Liu, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3 from perspective of the network entity.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4 from perspective of the network entity.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5 from perspective of the network entity.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3 from perspective of the network entity.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4 from perspective of the network entity.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5 from perspective of the network entity.
11. Claims 6, 8, 14, 16, 22, 24 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar (US 2022/0014345 A1; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated September 03, 2024), hereinafter “Abdelghaffar” in view of ABOTABL et al. (US 2022/0022209 A1), hereinafter “Abotabl”.
Regarding claim 6, Abdelghaffar discloses the apparatus according to claim 1.
Abdelghaffar does not explicitly disclose “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the group-common downlink control information message indicating that the UE is to communicate with the network entity on the second bandwidth part based at least in part on the UE being restricted from communicating on the first bandwidth part”.
However, Abotabl from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the group-common downlink control information message indicating that the UE is to communicate with the network entity on the second bandwidth part based at least in part on the UE being restricted from communicating on the first bandwidth part (Figs. 13, 15, paragraph [0147], the second BWP is designated as a new BWP for the UE based on the active BWP being deactivated; the second BWP is designated as a new BWP for the UE when the active BWP is deactivated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the group-common downlink control information message indicating that the UE is to communicate with the network entity on the second bandwidth part based at least in part on the UE being restricted from communicating on the first bandwidth part” as taught by Abotabl, in the system of Abdelghaffar, so that it would provide configuring bandwidth parts for a scheduled entity in networks supporting full duplex slot formats relate to wireless communication systems (Abotabl, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 8, Abdelghaffar discloses the apparatus according to claim 1.
Abdelghaffar does not explicitly disclose “the UE communicates with the network entity on the first bandwidth part using time-division duplexing in a half- duplex mode, and the UE communicates with the network entity on the second bandwidth part using frequency-division duplexing in a full-duplex mode”.
However, Abotabl from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the UE communicates with the network entity on the first bandwidth part using time-division duplexing in a half- duplex mode, and the UE communicates with the network entity on the second bandwidth part using frequency-division duplexing in a full-duplex mode (Figs. 10, 15, paragraphs [0121], [0147], UE may switch from an anchor BWP (e.g., 1014) to the complementary BWP (e.g., 1016) and back when the UE transitions from a HD to a FD slot, and then back to HD again).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the UE communicates with the network entity on the first bandwidth part using time-division duplexing in a half- duplex mode, and the UE communicates with the network entity on the second bandwidth part using frequency-division duplexing in a full-duplex mode” as taught by Abotabl, in the system of Abdelghaffar, so that it would provide configuring bandwidth parts for a scheduled entity in networks supporting full duplex slot formats relate to wireless communication systems (Abotabl, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6 from perspective of the network entity.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8 from perspective of the network entity.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6 from perspective of the network entity.
Conclusion
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414