DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the Mounting Element must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hochman et al. (US. 9,477,438 B1).
In Regards to Claim 12:
Hochman teaches a device (200) comprising:
means for transmitting and receiving data and power; and one or more connectors in signal communication with the means for transmitting data and power (Col 11, line 49-53, each waiting to be operatively (here, electrically) connected to another display tile (not shown) or other component (not shown) of an overall video display system, such as a video controller, data source, and/or power source, among others), the one or more connectors (212/208) each comprising:
a mounting element (304/308); a first set of terminals (312) supported by the mounting element (304/308), each of the first set of terminals (312) being equidistant from a center point of the connector (212), the first set of terminals (304/308) configured to transmit and receive data; and a second set of terminals (312) supported by the mounting element (304/308), each of the second set of terminals (312) being equidistant from the center point of the connector (212), at least two among the second set of terminals (312) configured to transmit and receive power; the connector (212) configured to connect to another of the connector (208) such that the first set of terminals (312) electrically connects to a corresponding first set of terminals (312) of the other connector (208) and the second set of terminals (312) electrically connects to a corresponding second set of terminals (312) of the other connector (208).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest these limitation as substantially described in claims 13-20, these limitations, in combination with remaining limitations of claims 13-20, are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claims 1-11 are allowed.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance with regard to claim 1 Hochman et al. (US. 9,477,438 B1) teaches “A connector for connecting multiple electronic devices each having at least one of the connector, the connector comprising:
a plurality of terminals including: a pair of terminals electrically connected to a processing unit of the corresponding electronic device, comprising one data transmitting terminal that is configured to facilitate outbound data transmission from the processing unit and one data receiving terminal that facilitates inbound data reception by the processing unit, each of the first pair of terminals being equidistant from a center point of the connector; and two ground terminals electrically connected to a local electrical ground, wherein the two ground terminals are located equidistant from the center point of the connector; and two voltage terminals electrically connected to a voltage relative to ground, the voltage supply connected to a voltage source of the corresponding electronic device, wherein the two voltage terminals are located equidistant from the center point of the connector; wherein one of the pair of terminals, and one of the ground terminals, and one of the voltage terminals are each connected to a corresponding pin of a plurality of spring-loaded pins, and another of the pair of terminals, and another of the ground terminals, and another of the voltage terminals are each connected to a corresponding contact of a plurality of exposed contacts, the connector configured such that, when corresponding connectors of a first and a second of the electronic devices are connected to each other:
the data transmitting terminal among the pair of terminals of the connector corresponding to the first electronic device electrically connects to data receiving terminal of the connector corresponding to the second electronic device, wherein one of the connecting terminals is a spring-loaded pin and one is an exposed contact; and the data receiving terminal among the pair of terminals of the connector corresponding to the first electronic device electrically connects to data transmitting terminal of the connector corresponding to the second electronic device, wherein one of the connecting terminals is a spring-loaded pin and one is an exposed contact; and both of the two ground pins among the set of terminals of the connector corresponding to the first electronic device electrically connects to both of the two ground pins among the set of terminals of the connector corresponding to the second electronic device.”(Device 200, Mounting element 304/308, terminals 312, connectors 212/208)
Hochman et al. (US. 9,477,438 B1) does not teach “wherein one of the connecting terminals is a spring-loaded pin and one is an exposed contact; and both of the two voltage pins among the set of terminals of the connector corresponding to the first electronic device electrically connects to both of the two voltage pins among the set of terminals of the connector corresponding to the second electronic device, wherein one of the connecting terminals is a spring-loaded pin and one is an exposed contact.”
The prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest these limitation as substantially described in claim 1, these limitations, in combination with remaining limitations of claim 1, are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record, therefore claim 1 is allowable.
Claims 2-3 are dependent on claim 1 and are therefore allowable for the same reasons.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance with regard to claim 4 Hochman et al. (US. 9,477,438 B1) teaches “A connector for connecting multiple electronic devices each having at least one of the connector, the connector comprising:
a plurality of terminals with an even count, wherein one half of the plurality of terminals comprise pogo terminals and the other half of the plurality of terminals comprise flat terminals, and for each pogo terminal disposed at a corresponding first location, the connector configured such that, when corresponding connectors of a first and a second of the electronic devices are connected to each other, each pogo terminal on the connector corresponding to the first electronic device is connected to a flat contact on the connector corresponding to the second electronic device, and flat contact on the connector corresponding to the first electronic device is connected to a pogo terminal on the connector corresponding to the second electronic device, wherein electrical contact is established by the force of the spring-loaded pins comprising the pogo terminals.” (Device 200, Mounting element 304/308, terminals 312, connectors 212/208)
Hochman et al. (US. 9,477,438 B1) does not teach “a flat terminal is disposed at a second location opposing, relative to the center of the connector, the first location; a plurality of spring-loaded pins each electrically connected to a corresponding one of the pogo terminals; and a plurality of exposed contacts each electrically connected to a corresponding one of the flat terminals.”
The prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest these limitation as substantially described in claim 4, these limitations, in combination with remaining limitations of claim 4, are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record, therefore claim 4 is allowable.
Claims 5-11 are dependent on claim 4 and are therefore allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/NADER J ALHAWAMDEH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831