DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 07/20/2026.
Claims 1-12 have been presented for examination.
Claims 1-12 are currently rejected.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0175301) in view of Krekel et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0086852), further in view of Suzuki et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0298835).
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 103
The Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Remarks, filed on 07/20/2026, with respect to the claim objections, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections have been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. 103
The Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Remarks, filed on 07/20/2026 appear to be primarily directed to the amended claim language. The Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because amendments shift the scope of claims and necessitate a new ground of rejection, which is made in view of Krekel et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0086852).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0175301) in view of Krekel et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0086852), further in view of Suzuki et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0298835).
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses a control device for a moving object that includes an opening and closing body, the control device comprising:
a control unit (Song Fig. 1 controller 140) configured to perform automated movement control for moving the moving object to a target movement position that is a parking position (Song ¶ 47 discloses that the “controller 140 may control ... traveling of the vehicle 100,” such that “the controller 140 may ... control the travelling device 170 so that the vehicle 100 returns to a location where the vehicle 100 was parked,” see ¶ 53) or an exit position from a start position that is a position of the moving object,
wherein, the control unit is configured to, ... determine ... whether the opening and closing reservation of the opening and closing body is performed or not in the automated movement control, (Song ¶ 49 discloses “receive a command for opening and closing the tailgate from a user” and ¶ 20 discloses “when an opening signal for the tailgate is received while the vehicle is parked, determining a distance to an obstacle located at a rear of the vehicle based on an output of the object detection sensor, when the distance is greater than or equal to a predetermined dangerous distance, controlling the opening and closing device to open the tailgate” and receiving a closing signal “after the tailgate is opened,” see ¶ 21, thereby determining that the opening and closing reservation of the opening and closing body has been performed.)
in response to an opening and closing reservation of the opening and closing body being performed, move the moving object from the start position, stop the moving object at an opening and closing position different from the target movement position after the automated movement control is started, (Song ¶ 21 discloses “the opening attempt,” such as a “manual opening attempt of a vehicle trunk by the user,” can be “detected by dedicated electronics or sensors and transferred to the control unit. The control unit evaluates (verifies) the user command and eventually stops the vehicle (cancels the autonomous parking or driving operation)”)
perform opening and closing of the opening and closing body, and (Song ¶ 92 discloses that “the vehicle 100 may open the tailgate 165 (823),” also see Fig. 8A)
resume movement of the moving object toward the target movement position after the opening and closing are completed, and (Song ¶ 93 discloses that “when the determined distance d is less than the set dangerous distance d.sub.r (Yes in operation 805), the vehicle 100 may output a warning message warning of a movement of the vehicle 100 (807). When a set period of time elapses (Yes in operation 809), the vehicle 100 may move in a reverse direction [i.e., resume movement] of a parking path (813),” also see Fig. 8A and 8B. Also see at least ¶ 26, “controlling the travelling device so that the vehicle resumes moving in the reverse direction of the parking path, when a movement resumption command is received from a user after the vehicle is stopped,” which is further described in at least ¶ 96)
Song does not expressly disclose:
before the automated movement control is started, receive, from a user of the moving object, an operation of an opening and closing reservation as well as an operation to start the automated movement control,
determine, based on whether or not the operation of the opening and closing reservation and the operation to start the automated movement control are received, whether the opening and closing reservation of the opening and closing body is performed or not in the automated movement control
in response to an opening and closing reservation of the opening and closing body being not performed, move the moving object from the start position to the target movement position.
However, Krekel discloses:
before the automated movement control is started, receive, from a user of the moving object, an operation of an opening and closing reservation as well as an operation to start the automated movement control, (Krekel ¶ 32 discloses that “the operator may select one or more seats that correspond to doors which the operator of the vehicle wishes to have open to minimum open door angle prior to completing remote parking operation,” which is determined in block 404, see ¶ 66 “receiving input at the user interface indicating which seats are occupied by a passenger” indicating the corresponding doors to be opened, which occurs before initiating execution of remote parking operation in block 410. See Fig. 4 reproduced below.)
determine, based on whether or not the operation of the opening and closing reservation and the operation to start the automated movement control are received, whether the opening and closing reservation of the opening and closing body is performed or not in the automated movement control (Krekel ¶ 47 discloses that “The remote parking operation then continues until a processor of vehicle 200 determines that vehicle 200 should pause to allow first door 202A to open to the first minimum open door angle 206A [i.e., determining that the opening and closing reservation is performed]. Also see ¶¶ 15 and 32.)
in response to an opening and closing reservation of the opening and closing body being performed, move the moving object from the start position, stop the moving object at an opening and closing position different from the target movement position after the automated movement control is started, (Krekel ¶ 37 discloses that “for each door determined to correspond to an occupant, or for which the operator wishes to have open prior to completion of the remote parking operation, the processor may determine whether the door can open,” and “pausing execution a short time before the door is prevented from opening to the minimum open door angle.,” see ¶ 39, including “an alert to the occupant that the remote parking operation has been paused, and that the occupant should exit the vehicle before the remote parking operation will continue,” see ¶ 42. Also see Fig. 4) perform opening and closing of the opening and closing body, and resume movement of the moving object toward the target movement position after the opening and closing are completed, and (Krekel ¶ 13 discloses “The vehicle may then pause to allow the occupant to exit through the door, and resume execution of the remote parking operation after the door has been closed and/or a continue command has been received.” Also see ¶¶ 46-48.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the movement suspension command received from the user of Song with receiving the command before the automated movement control is started, as disclosed by Krekel, with reasonable expectation of success, to enable a vehicle occupant to maximize his or her time inside the vehicle during a remote parking operation (Krekel ¶ 64), rendering the limitation to be an obvious modification.
Suzuki discloses:
in response to an opening and closing reservation of the opening and closing body being not performed, move the moving object from the start position to the target movement position. (Suzuki ¶ 70 discloses that “When the vehicle V1 makes a stop at a position at which at least part of the vehicle V1 belongs to the target parking space, it is highly possible to fall into a state that cannot be handled, such as a state in which it is not possible to enter the parking space, get on the vehicle V1, or access an opening part such as a door or a trunk of the vehicle V1 when the vehicle V1 is stopped,” such that a “second route is calculated when the possibility of the occurrence of such a state that cannot be handled is high,” in which the “the vehicle V1 is moved along the second route RT2 for the vehicle V1 to leave from the target parking space P” to an “evacuation space,” see ¶ 76. Also see Fig. 6B).
Song discloses determining that a distance from a vehicle tailgate to an obstacle is less than a predetermined dangerous distance, and controlling the vehicle to move in a reverse direction, and opening the tailgate after the vehicle moves by the predetermined movement distance (see Song in at least ¶ 20). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the dangerous distance of Song, of the combination of Song and Krekel, to expressly disclose that the opening and closing is not performed, as disclosed by Suzuki, and to have modified the reverse direction of Song to instead be moving from the start position to the target movement position, as disclosed by Suzuki, with reasonable expectation of success, to ensure safety (Suzuki ¶ 68), and so as to be able to ensure the longest predetermined distance (a clearance having the widest width, the widest clearance) (Suzuki ¶ 64), rendering the limitation to be an obvious modification.
Regarding claim 2, Song in combination with Krekel and Suzuki discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein:
the opening and closing position is a position midway along a route to the target movement position. (Song ¶ 72 dislcoses that “the vehicle 100 moves by a predetermined movement distance ... in a reverse direction of a parking path, and after the vehicle 100 moves by the predetermined movement distance [i.e., a position midway], control the opening and closing device 160 to open the tailgate 165,” also see Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 3, Song in combination with Krekel and Suzuki discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein:
the opening and closing position is set based on a detection result of an obstacle around the moving object. (Song ¶ 51 discloses “when receiving the tailgate opening signal ... the controller 140 may determine a distance to a rear obstacle based on an output of the object detection sensor no, and when the distance to the rear obstacle is greater than or equal to a dangerous distance, control the opening and closing device 160 to open the tailgate.”)
Regarding claim 4, Song in combination with Krekel and Suzuki discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein:
in response to the moving object being stopped at the opening and closing position, the control unit performs notification to prompt a user of the moving object to open and close the opening and closing body. (Song ¶ 60 discloses that when “the obstacle exists on the movement path of the vehicle 100, the user interface 150 may output the warning message under control of the controller 140,” such that “when the distance d to the rear obstacle O.sub.1 is greater than or equal to the dangerous distance d.sub.r, and so no risk of collision between the tailgate 165 and the rear obstacle 01 is determined, the vehicle wo may control the opening and closing device 160 to immediately open the tailgate 165,” see ¶ 71)
Regarding claim 5, Song in combination with Krekel and Suzuki discloses the control device according to claim 4, wherein:
in response to an instruction to open and close the opening and closing body being received from a user of the moving object after the notification, the control unit causes the opening and closing body to open and close. (Song ¶ 47 discloses a controller 140 and an inputter 120, wherein the inputter 120 that may “receive a user input, and the communicator 130 may perform [i.e., after receiving an instruction] communication with a smart key (key fob) and a user terminal (smartphone),” such that “the inputter 120 may receive a command for opening and closing the tailgate from a user,” see ¶ 49, wherein the control is performed after the notification, see Fig. 8A and 8B.)
Regarding claim 6, Song in combination with Krekel and Suzuki discloses the control device according claim 1, wherein:
the moving object includes a plurality of the opening and closing bodies, and (Song in at least Fig. 2 depicts a vehicle with doors and a tail gate, wherein the tail gate is an opening and closing body as depicted in at least Fig. 3. One having ordinary skill in the art would also recognize that a passenger door of a vehicle is an opening and closing body.)
the control unit performs the opening and closing on an opening and closing body for which the opening and closing reservation is performed among the plurality of opening and closing bodies. (Song in at least ¶ 47 discloses that “The controller 140 may control opening and closing of a tailgate” and “automatically moves the vehicle 100 according to the tailgate opening signal and the tailgate closing signal,” see ¶ 59)
Regarding claim 7, Song in combination with Krekel and Suzuki discloses the control device according to claims 1, wherein:
the movement control and reception of the opening and closing reservation are performed based on an input operation on an information terminal carried by a user of the moving object. (Song in at least ¶ 50 discloses that “the communicator 130 may communicate with a smart key or a user terminal through wireless communication, and receive a tailgate opening signal or a tailgate closing signal from the smart key or the user terminal, such that “When receiving a movement resumption command from the user after the vehicle 100 is stopped, the vehicle 100 may control the travelling device 170 so that the vehicle 100 resumes the movement in the reverse direction of the parking path,” see ¶ 79)
Regarding claim 8, Song in combination with Krekel and Suzuki discloses the parallel limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. Song further discloses causing a processor to perform the limitations of claim 1 (Song in at least ¶ 56).
Regarding claim 9, Song in combination with Krekel and Suzuki discloses the parallel limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. Song further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a control program causing a processor to perform the limitations of claim 1 (Song in at least ¶¶ 56 and 103).
Regarding claim 10, Song in combination with Krekel and Suzuki discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein:
in a case where the opening and closing reservation is made and the opening and closing of the opening and closing body are performed, the control unit is configured to delete the opening and closing reservation. (Song ¶ 97 discloses “returning to a parking location after closing a tailgate in a control method of the vehicle wo according to an embodiment” and “when the vehicle wo returns to the parking location of the vehicle 100 (Yes in operation 913), the vehicle 100 may end [i.e., delete] operations,” see ¶ 101).
Regarding claim 11, Song in combination with Krekel and Suzuki discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein:
the moving object includes a plurality of the opening and closing bodies, (Song in at least Fig. 3 depicts the opening and closing body to be the tailgate; one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a vehicle further includes passenger doors, as depicted, which are a plurality of opening and closing bodies) and the control unit is configured to perform the opening and closing of the opening and closing body for the opening and closing body for which a user performed the opening and closing reservation among the plurality of the opening and closing bodies. (Song in at least ¶¶ 49-51 discloses that “the inputter 120 may receive a command for opening and closing the tailgate from a user” such that “when receiving the tailgate opening signal while the vehicle wo is parked, the controller 140 may determine a distance to a rear obstacle” and “control the opening and closing device 160 to open the tailgate.”)
Regarding claim 12, Song in combination with Krekel and Suzuki discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein:
the control unit is configured to set the opening and closing position based on the position of a user. (Song ¶ 49 discloses that “inputter 120 may receive a command for opening and closing the tailgate from a user. For example, the inputter 120 may include a button provided on a driver's seat side of the vehicle 100, a button provided on the tailgate,” indicating the location of the user to actuate the button (e.g., the user is in or around the driver’s seat side of the vehicle to initiate the command for the opening and closing). Also see Fig. 3.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kimura (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0291706) discloses a vehicle opening and closing body control device according to an aspect of this disclosure includes a control unit configured to control an opening and closing body drive device that drives an opening and closing body of a vehicle to open and close the opening and closing body based on an operation request.
/STEPHANIE T SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662