DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references (i.e., US 2021/0025080; US 2014/0000784; US 2021/0146606; US 2019/0084196; US 10,696,034; and US 2011/0130063) have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
[AltContent: rect]This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claims 1-11, 14-15 and 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waatti et al. (US 2017/0129176; herein referred to as Waatti) in view of Hamberger et al. (WO 2022/117416; citations taken from the translated version provided herewith; herein referred to as Hamberger).
As to claim 1: Waatti discloses the claimed system (Waatti at [0031], FIGs. 1-2), comprising:
an extrusion assembly (EA), which is configured to melt granules of one or more substances and to output the molten granules onto a substrate (Waatti at [0038], [0057], [0067], FIGs. 1-2);
a motion assembly, which is configured to move the EA relative to the substrate along a first axis (Waatti at [0063], [0065], FIGs. 2-3, FIG. 10, FIG. 17), and
a processor, which is configured to control the EA and the motion assembly to dispose the filament on a predefined region of the substrate (Waatti at [0036], [0048]-[0050], [0056], FIG. 1).
Waatti discloses printing device 102 including provisions to retain or hold a printed object or an object onto which printed material is being applied, specifically tray 112; and tray 112 can be fixed in place, or tray 112 can be configured to translate within housing 110 in a horizontal direction as well as a vertical direction so that print material can be delivered to a target area on tray 112 (Waatti at [0035], [0036]). Though, Waatti fails to explicitly disclose the motion assembly being configured to vibrate the substrate along a second axis, different from the first axis, while the EA outputs the molten granules so as to produce a line of a filament on the substrate.
However, Hamberger teaches a build platform arrangement for the extrusion-based production of at least one three-dimensional object (Hamberger at [0003], [0005], [0009]-[0011]). Hamberger further teaches a construction platform having a functional device designed as a drive device for generating a driving force that sets the construction platform in motion in at least one degree of freedom; a suitable drive device including a vibration generation device used to generate a vibration on the construction platform (Hamberger at [0037], [0079], Fig. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the vibration generation device used to generate a vibration on the construction platform as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Hamberger above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 2: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the system of claim 1. Waatti further discloses the claimed wherein the EA is configured to produce, along the line, one or more puddles of the molten granules (Waatti at [0081], FIG. 17).
As to claim 3: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the system of claim 2. Waatti further discloses the claimed wherein the EA is configured to produce a section of the line by pulling a portion of the molten granules from the puddle and disposing the pulled portion on the substrate along the first axis (Waatti at [0081], [0088], FIG. 17).
As to claim 4: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the system of claim 1. Waatti, modified by Hamberger, further discloses the claimed wherein the processor is configured to determine the predefined region by controlling: (i) a first movement profile for moving the EA along the first axis, and a second moving profile for vibrating the substrate in the second axis (Waatti at [0036], [0048]-[0050], [0056], FIG. 1; and Hamberger at [0037], [0079], Fig. 1), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 5: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the system of claim 1. Waatti further discloses the claimed wherein the processor is configured to control the motion assembly to move the EA in an opposite direction along the first axis, so as to dispose an additional filament on an additional predefined region of the substrate (Waatti at [0036], [0048]-[0050], [0056], [0063], [0065], FIGs. 2-3, FIG. 10, FIG. 17, FIGs. 19-20).
As to claim 6: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the system of claim 5. Waatti further discloses the claimed wherein at least a portion of the predefined region overlaps at least a portion of the additional predefined region (Waatti at [0036], [0048]-[0050], [0056], [0063], [0065], FIGs. 2-3, FIG. 10, FIG. 17, FIGs. 19-20).
As to claim 7: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the system of claim 6. Waatti further discloses the claimed wherein the processor is configured to control the motion assembly and the EA to produce a plurality of the filaments and the additional filaments, and to produce a first array of one or more bundles by coupling, in each of the bundles, between two or more of the filaments and the additional filaments (Waatti at [0036], [0048]-[0050], [0056], [0063], [0065], FIGs. 2-3, FIG. 10, FIG. 17, FIGs. 19-20).
As to claim 8: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the system of claim 7. Waatti further discloses the claimed wherein the processor is configured to control the motion assembly and the EA to produce at least one of the bundles by intertwining between one or more of the filaments and one or more of the additional filaments (Waatti at [0036], [0048]-[0050], [0056], [0063], [0065], FIGs. 2-3, FIG. 10, FIG. 17, FIGs. 19-20).
As to claim 9: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the system of claim 7. Waatti further discloses the claimed wherein the processor is configured to control the motion assembly and the EA to produce at least one of the bundles by coupling, two or more of the filaments and the additional filaments, to a puddle of the molten granules (Waatti at [0036], [0048]-[0050], [0056], [0063], [0065], FIGs. 2-3, FIG. 10, FIG. 17, FIGs. 19-20).
As to claim 10: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the system of claim 7. Waatti further discloses the claimed wherein the motion assembly is configured to rotate the substrate about a rotation axis, and wherein the processor is configured to control: (i) the motion assembly to rotate the substrate at a predefined rotation angle, and (ii) the motion assembly and the EA to produce, on the substrate, a second array of one or more of the bundles (Waatti at [0035], [0036], [0048]-[0050], [0056], [0063], [0065], FIG. 10, FIG. 17, FIGs. 19-20).
As to claim 11: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the system of claim 10. Waatti further discloses the claimed wherein the processor is configured to control the motion assembly and the EA to produce a layer comprising at least two of the bundles of the first and second arrays intertwined with one another (Waatti at [0036], [0048]-[0050], [0056], [0063], [0065], FIGs. 2-3, FIG. 10, FIG. 17, FIGs. 19-20).
As to claim 14: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the system of claim 11. Waatti further discloses the claimed wherein the processor is configured to control the motion assembly and the EA to produce one or more reinforcement points (RPs) between one or more pairs of the intertwined bundles (Waatti at [0105], FIG. 9, FIG. 17, FIG. 18).
As to claim 15: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the system of claim 14. Waatti further discloses the claimed wherein the processor is configured to control the motion assembly and the EA to produce at least one of the RPs by welding at least one of the pairs to one another (Waatti at [0105], FIG. 9, FIG. 17, FIG. 18).
As to claim 43: Waatti discloses the claimed method (Waatti at [0001], [0027], [0031], FIGs. 1-2), comprising:
melting, in an extrusion assembly (EA), granules of one or more substances and outputting the molten granules onto a substrate (Waatti at [0036], [0038], [0057], [0067], FIGs. 1-2); and
moving the EA relative to the substrate along a first axis (Waatti at [0063], [0065], FIGs. 2-3, FIG. 10, FIG. 17).
Waatti discloses printing device 102 including provisions to retain or hold a printed object or an object onto which printed material is being applied, specifically tray 112; and tray 112 can be fixed in place, or tray 112 can be configured to translate within housing 110 in a horizontal direction as well as a vertical direction so that print material can be delivered to a target area on tray 112 (Waatti at [0035], [0036]). Though, Waatti fails to explicitly disclose the vibrating the substrate along a second axis, different from the first axis, while the EA outputs the molten granules so as to produce a line of a filament on the substrate.
However, Hamberger teaches a build platform arrangement for the extrusion-based production of at least one three-dimensional object (Hamberger at [0003], [0005], [0009]-[0011]). Hamberger further teaches a construction platform having a functional device designed as a drive device for generating a driving force that sets the construction platform in motion in at least one degree of freedom; a suitable drive device including a vibration generation device used to generate a vibration on the construction platform (Hamberger at [0037], [0079], Fig. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the vibration generation device used to generate a vibration on the construction platform as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Hamberger above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 44: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the method of claim 43. Waatti further discloses the claimed method comprising producing, along the line, one or more puddles of the molten granules (Waatti at [0081], FIG. 17).
As to claim 45: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the method of claim 44. Waatti further discloses the claimed method comprising producing a section of the line by pulling a portion of the molten granules from the puddle and disposing the pulled portion on the substrate along the first axis (Waatti at [0081], [0088], FIG. 17).
[AltContent: rect]
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waatti and Hamberger as applied to claim 1 and claim 11 above, and further in view of Reimer et al. (US 2021/0045868; herein referred to as Reimer).
As to claim 12: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the system of claim 11. Waatti, modified by Hamberger, fails to explicitly disclose the claimed wherein the processor is configured to control the motion assembly and the EA to produce the intertwined bundles in a crisscross configuration.
However, Reimer teaches a method for the manufacture of a stabilized fabric composed of a woven fabric, where the techniques used to form a woven fabric include 3D printing (Reimer at Abstract, [0202]). Reimer further teaches utilizing a plan weave pattern in which a single filling fiber is passed over and under each warp fiber, with the pattern inn adjacent rows alternating (i.e., crisscross configuration) (Reimer at [0027], [0202], FIG. 8).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a crisscross configuration as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Reimer above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
As to claim 13: Waatti, Hamberger and Reimer disclose the system of claim 12. Reimer further reads on the claimed wherein the processor is configured to control the motion assembly and the EA to produce the intertwined bundles at first and second orientations, respectively, wherein the first and second orientations define a given angle between the intertwined bundles (Reimer at [0027], [0202], FIG. 8), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 12.
[AltContent: rect]
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waatti and Hamberger as applied to claim 1 and claim 11 above, and further in view of Mark (US 2017/0232674; herein referred to as Mark).
As to claim 33: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the system of claim 1. Waatti further discloses the claimed wherein the EA comprises an air curtain, which is configured to perform one or both of: (i) shaping the line of the filament produced on the substrate, and (ii) improving an attachment of the line of the filament to the substrate.
However, Mark teaches a multi-element printer head 1500 which includes an air nozzle 1508; and the air nozzle 1508 being used to enable rapid cooling of the extruded feature to aid in forming structures (i.e., wherein the EA comprises an air curtain, which is configured to perform one or both of: (i) shaping the line of the filament produced on the substrate, and (ii) improving an attachment of the line of the filament to the substrate) (Mark at [0093], FIG. 2H).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the multi-element print head having an air nozzle as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Mark above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of the air nozzle being used to enable rapid cooling of the extruded feature to aid in forming structures (as recognized by Mark at [0093], FIG. 2H).
[AltContent: rect]
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waatti and Hamberger as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shnell et al. (US 2023/0321908; herein referred to as Shnell).
As to claim 36: Waatti and Hamberger disclose the system of claim 1. Waatti, modified by Hamberger, fails to disclose the claimed system comprising a machine learning (ML) engine, which is configured receive an input comprising one or more attributes of one or more physical properties of a fabric, and to output a mechanical structure of the fabric.
However, Shnell teaches a 3D printing system which includes a modularized control system, and the modularized control system including a printer control board and a machine learning processor (Shnell at [0009]). Moreover, Shnell teaches the onboard processor of the 3D printing system including one or more sensor fusion machine learning algorithms and is used to edit the 3D printed parts during and after the print process (Shnell at [0012], [0075]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a machine learning engine to input attributes of physical properties to output a mechanical structure as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Shnell above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of doing so increasing the quality of the finished parts due to increased quality control during printing (as recognized by Shnell at [0075]).
Conclusion
/BAILEIGH KATE DARNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1743