DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 19-21, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Distasio (EP 0595134 A1), hereinafter Distasio.
Regarding claim 16, Distasio discloses a control element for a cooktop, the control element comprising:
a handling section (Upper and outer surface of 23);
a base section designed to cover at least part of an opening in a plate (Inner and lower surface of 23); and
a coupling section attached to the base section and designed to protrude from the base section (20), the coupling section comprising a magnetic element for generating a magnetic pull (“a magnetic annular piece 55 is associated with the part 20 of said knob” column 4, line 14) and designed to include a recess for receiving a corresponding protrusion and/or to include a protrusion for engaging with a corresponding recess (“socket part 20 of the knob 2” column 4, line 7).
Regarding claim 19, Distasio discloses the control element of claim 16, wherein the recess is an elongated recess (“recess 20A in the part 20” column 4, line 9), and wherein the protrusion is an elongated protrusion (“a pin 52 arranged to cooperate with the socket part 20” column 4, line 6).
Regarding claim 20, Distasio discloses the control element of claim 19, wherein the elongated recess is a gap, a slit or a notch (Recess 20A may at least be characterized as a gap or notch).
Regarding claim 21, Distasio discloses the control element of claim 19, wherein the elongated protrusion is an index, a rib, a fin or a ridge (52 is indexed to 20 and/or may at least be characterized as a fin or ridge).
Regarding claim 23, Distasio discloses the control element of claim 16, wherein at least one of the base section and the coupling section has a flat cylindric form (“the knob comprises a usual body 23 of known shape (cylindrical) to facilitate its gripping” column 2, line 43).
Regarding claim 25, Distasio discloses a coupling element for a control element for a cooktop, the coupling element comprising a coupling section (11) designed to mechanically couple a control shaft (3), the coupling section comprising:
a protrusion for engaging with a corresponding recess in the control element and/or a recess for receiving a corresponding protrusion of the control element (“projections 33 and 34 fit into recesses 37 and 38 provided in the bottom 39 of the knob 2” column 3, line 43); and
a magnetic element for generating a magnetic pull (“magnetic insert 31” column 3, line 37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 18, 22, and 27-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Distaso, in view of Bach (US 20180299135 A1), hereinafter Bach.
Regarding claims 17, 18, and 22, Distasio discloses the control element of claim 16.
Distasio does not disclose:
wherein the magnetic element is designed to generate an asymmetric magnetic field with respect to a center axis of the control element;
wherein the coupling section comprises a receptacle designed to accommodate the magnetic element;
wherein the coupling section comprises at least two of said magnetic element arranged next to each other in a plane perpendicular to an axis of the control element, the at least two of said magnetic element having an opposite polarity with respect to the axis of the control element.
However, Bach teaches:
wherein the magnetic element is designed to generate an asymmetric magnetic field with respect to a center axis of the control element (Figure 5);
wherein the coupling section comprises a receptacle designed to accommodate the magnetic element (“Each magnetic element 44 of first magnetic assembly 34 may be disposed at a discrete angular position within knob body 32” paragraph [0038]);
wherein the coupling section comprises at least two of said magnetic element arranged next to each other in a plane perpendicular to an axis of the control element, the at least two of said magnetic element having an opposite polarity with respect to the axis of the control element (“the polarity or pole direction of magnetic elements 44, 46 may further establish the predetermined mounting orientation. As illustrated in FIGS. 5 and 6, magnetic elements 44 of first magnetic assembly 34 may have opposing north (N) and south (S) poles. The north pole (N) of one or more of the radial magnetic elements 44 of first magnetic assembly 34 are directed toward the control panel 22 (e.g., downward along the central axis A) while the south pole (S) of one or more other radial magnetic elements 44 of first magnetic assembly 34 are directed toward control panel 22. Radial magnets 46 of the second magnetic assembly 36 may be disposed in a complementary mirrored formation. In other words, the north pole (N) of one or more of the radial magnetic elements 46 of second magnetic assembly 36 are directed toward the control panel 22 (e.g., upward along the central axis A) while the south pole (S) of one or more other radial magnetic elements 46 of second magnetic assembly 36 are directed toward control panel 22. Advantageously, the predefined mounting orientation and polarity of magnetic elements 44, 46 may ensure proper rotational alignment of control knob 16 relative to attractor plate 28” paragraph [0043]).
In view of Bach’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include magnetic arrangement as is taught in Bach, in the control device disclosed by Distasio because Bach states that the arrangement will ensure proper alignment of the control knob and attractor plate. Therefore, including asymmetric magnets in the first and second coupling section of Distasio will ensure proper alignment between the two. For example, this would prevent the knob of Distasio from being attached upside down.
Regarding claim 27, Distasio discloses a control device for a cooktop, the control device comprising:
a control element comprising a handling section (Upper and outer surface of 23), a base section designed to cover at least part of an opening in a plate (Inner and lower surface of 23), a first coupling section attached to the base section and designed to protrude from the base section (20), the first coupling section comprising a magnetic element for generating a magnetic pull (“a magnetic annular piece 55 is associated with the part 20 of said knob” column 4, line 14) and designed to include a recess for receiving a corresponding protrusion and/or to include a protrusion for engaging with a corresponding recess (“socket part 20 of the knob 2” column 4, line 7); and
a coupling element comprising a second coupling section designed to mechanically couple a control shaft, the coupling section comprising a protrusion for engaging with a corresponding recess and/or a recess for receiving a corresponding protrusion (“the end 11 of the shaft 3 comprises a widened portion 50 from which a diametrical crosspiece 51 rises. From this crosspiece there rises a pin 52 arranged to cooperate with the socket part 20 of the knob 2. The pin 52 is preferably of semicircular cross-section as is the recess 20A in the part 20. Torsional coupling between the parts is therefore achieved when they are in mutual cooperation” column 4, line 3), and a magnetic element (“body 10 of the shaft 3 is preferably of ferromagnetic metal” column 4, line 12),
wherein the first coupling section and the second coupling section are magnetically coupled to one another (“by using a magnetic piece 55 generating a relatively large magnetic force, the knob 2 can be separated from the shaft 3 only by exerting a certain force” column 4, line 26).
Distasio does not disclose the second coupling section comprising a magnetic element for generating a magnetic pull.
However, Bach teaches the second coupling section comprising a magnetic element for generating a magnetic pull (“the polarity or pole direction of magnetic elements 44, 46 may further establish the predetermined mounting orientation. As illustrated in FIGS. 5 and 6, magnetic elements 44 of first magnetic assembly 34 may have opposing north (N) and south (S) poles. The north pole (N) of one or more of the radial magnetic elements 44 of first magnetic assembly 34 are directed toward the control panel 22 (e.g., downward along the central axis A) while the south pole (S) of one or more other radial magnetic elements 44 of first magnetic assembly 34 are directed toward control panel 22. Radial magnets 46 of the second magnetic assembly 36 may be disposed in a complementary mirrored formation. In other words, the north pole (N) of one or more of the radial magnetic elements 46 of second magnetic assembly 36 are directed toward the control panel 22 (e.g., upward along the central axis A) while the south pole (S) of one or more other radial magnetic elements 46 of second magnetic assembly 36 are directed toward control panel 22. Advantageously, the predefined mounting orientation and polarity of magnetic elements 44, 46 may ensure proper rotational alignment of control knob 16 relative to attractor plate 28” paragraph [0043]).
In view of Bach’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the second coupling section comprising a magnetic element for generating a magnetic pull as is taught in Bach, in the control device disclosed by Distasio because Bach states that providing both upper and lower magnetically pulling elements will ensure proper alignment of the control knob and attractor plate. Therefore, including magnetically pulling elements in the first and second coupling section of Distasio will ensure proper alignment between the two. For example, this would prevent the knob of Distasio from being attached upside down.
Regarding claim 28, Distasio, as modified by Bach, discloses the control device of claim 27, wherein a bottom side of the first coupling section faces to a top side of the second coupling section (Figure 7 for example).
Regarding claim 29, Distasio, as modified by Bach, discloses the control device of claim 27, wherein the magnetic element in the first coupling section and the magnetic element in the second coupling section are positioned such that a magnetic force pushes the recess into an engagement orientation with respect to the corresponding protrusion and/or such that a magnetic force pushes the protrusion into an engagement orientation with respect to the corresponding recess (“The knob can be easily fitted onto the shaft 3 again by virtue of the magnetic cooperation between the piece 30 and the magnetic insert 31” column 3, line 54).
Regarding claim 30, Distasio, as modified by Bach, discloses the cooktop comprising:
a top plate having an opening (“The knob 2 is located on the upper face 5A of the control panel 5” column 2, line 19); and
the control device set forth in claim 27,
wherein the opening is covered by the base section of the control element (Figure 7 for example).
Regarding claim 31, Distasio, as modified by Bach, discloses the cooktop of claim 30.
Distasio, as modified by Bach, does not disclose wherein the top plate is arranged between the base section of the control element and the second coupling section of the coupling element. In the present case, Distasio discloses wherein the second coupling section extends through the opening such that the second coupling section is between the base section of the control element and the top plate. A reversal of this arrangement would be to have the first coupling section extend through the opening such that the top plate is arranged between the base section of the control element and the second coupling section of the coupling element. The court has held that mere reversal to be an obvious modification In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the top plate is arranged between the base section of the control element and the second coupling section of the coupling element.
Regarding claim 32, Distasio, as modified by Bach, discloses the cooktop of claim 30, further comprising a gas valve including a valve shaft, the valve shaft being coupled to the second coupling section in a rotationally locked fashion (“an actuator shaft 3 usually connected to an actuator 4 (for example for a solenoid valve in a gas pipe)” column 2, line 15).
Claims 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Distaso.
Regarding claim 24, Distasio discloses the control element of claim 16, wherein the base section and the handling section have a combined height along an axis of the control element, and a radial extension (Figure 7 for example).
Distasio does not explicitly disclose wherein the radial extension is at least three times the combined height. However, it has been held that “[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP §2144.05(II)(A) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Although, it has been further held that "[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result, before determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. Refer to MPEP §2144.05(II)(B)(quoting In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In this case, Distasio discloses a radial distance that appears considerably more than the height, but does not specifically recite at least three times. Achieving at least three times is a results-effective variable because greater radial distance equates to a wider control element which will be simpler to grasp and manipulate. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the radial distance, because the selection of radial distance to achieve improved grip and manipulation constitutes the optimization of design parameters, which fails to distinguish the claim.
Regarding claim 26, Distasio discloses the coupling element of claim 25.
Distasio further teaches a sleeve section designed to enclose the coupling section and being at least partially inserted into an opening of a top plate (“A usual protection insert 7 is provided in the aperture 6” column 2, line 25. The examiner notes that figures 7 and 8 depict a separate embodiment to that of figures 5 and 6. Figures 5 and 6 do not bother to illustrate the connection to the control panel 5).
In view of Distasio’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a sleeve section designed to enclose the coupling section and being at least partially inserted into an opening of a top plate as is taught in Distasio, in the coupling element disclosed by Distasio because including a sleeve section as taught by Distasio will provide a more robust connection to the control panel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Westermann (DE 10063693 C1) discloses a handling section, a base section, and a coupling section attached to the base section and designed to protrude from the base section, the coupling section comprising a magnetic element for generating a magnetic pull
Baur (US 20090125024 A1) “magnets 71, 71', 81, 81', 81'' should be fixed to the setting devices 30, 40 in such a way, with respect to their polarity, as to enable magnetic coupling” paragraph [0046]
Karunasiri (US 20130343588 A1) “magnet carrier 150 includes a pair of magnets 178 and 180 and the rotatable portion 170 includes a pair of magnets 182 and 184” paragraph [0057]
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762