DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on 03/06/2026. Currently claims 9-16 are pending in the application; with claims 15-16 withdrawn from consideration.
ELECTION / RESTRICTION
Applicant's election of Group I, claims 9-14, drawn to a method in the reply filed on 03/06/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Robin (US Patent Number 3,767,742), hereafter, referred to as “Robin”, in view of Wang et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2008/0130305 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Wang”.
Regarding claim 9, Robin teaches (column 1, lines 62-70; column 3, lines 20-36; column 7, lines 7-27; Figs. 6 and 7) a process for producing a component assembly (suitable) for a vehicle (Figs. 6 and 7; component assembly of "plastic film 27" and "thermoplastic foam"; page 1, lines 31-61; column 7, lines 7-27; Figs. 6 and 7) comprising the steps of:
providing a film having a film outer side and a film inner side (column 7, lines 7-27; Figs. 6 and 7),
providing an injection molding tool (die) having an injection element and a mold element, wherein the injection element and the mold element can be moved relative to one another (Figs. 6 and 7, reference signs 23 and 26),
positioning the injection element in an injection position at a spacing from the film inner side (column 7, lines 7-27),
positioning the mold element on the film inner side (column 7, lines 7-27),
injection molding a foaming carrier material onto the film inner side to form a carrier integrally bonded to the film inner side (column 1, lines 62-70; column 3, lines 20-36; column 7, lines 7-27; figures 6 and 7), and
after the injection molding operation, moving the injection element out of the injection position and away from the film inner side into a molding end position, wherein the mold element remains positioned on the film inner side to form at least a gap in the support material (column 1, lines 62-70; column 3, lines 20-36; column 7, lines 7-27; Figs. 6 and 7).
But Robin fails to explicitly teach that the film materials is translucent. However, Wang teaches that the use of interior lighting arrangement for automotive use comprises an array of light emitting diodes (LEDs) encapsulated in a light diffusing material disposed in a frame with a lens overlying the light diffusing material, the array of LEDs and the frame (para. [0003]) to reduce harsh glare and improve aesthetics. Wang also teaches in one aspect of the lighting arrangement, that the light diffusing material is translucent epoxy material (para. [004]). Wang further teaches in another aspect of the lighting arrangement, that the lens is configured as a light diffuser (para. [0005]), which is essentially a translucent material (film). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Wang, and combine the feature of translucent film material for an automobile application, because that would allow the light from LEDs to diffuse, and create desired appearance by reducing harsh glare and improving aesthetics (KSR Rationale A, MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 10, Robin teaches that the method is carried out as an injection molding-integral foam method; by teaching an “one-shot process" (page 1, lines 31-61; column 3, lines 20-36; column 7, lines 7-27; figures 6 and 7), with solid compact surface layers and a foamed core as a result of withdrawing the injection element.
Regarding claim 11, Robin teaches a process for producing a component assembly that is suitable for a vehicle. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to implement the increase in wall thickness which is to be achieved during thermoplastic-foam injection molding in accordance with the structural specification by routine optimization. Therefore, the determination that the final molding position is between 50% and 150% further away from the film inner side than the injection position; would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation to achieve desired thickness.
Regarding claim 12, Robin teaches in Figs. 6-7, that the method comprises of a step, wherein the molding body loads the translucent film with pressure during the injection molding in order to hold the translucent film in a predefined position (column 7, lines 7-27).
Regarding claim 13, Robin teaches a process, wherein the foaming carrier material comprises an agent for releasing carbon dioxide and water; by teaching to use blowing agents which decompose on heating to yield a gas, for example, solids such as sodium bicarbonate which yields carbon dioxide and water on heating (column 4, lines 8-44).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being directly or indirectly dependent upon rejected base claim 9, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitation of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indication of allowable subject
matter:
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of references (of record) does not teach or fairly suggest the (by themselves or in combination) a process comprising “the step of applying a laminating layer on the film outer side” for a process as defined by the independent claim 9.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M AMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742