Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 3-10, 12-14, 16, and 18; as well as the cancellation of claim 17.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and thus are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a dewatering means for” in claim 6.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof: Page 6 lines 22-23 of the instant application recites, “the dewatering means comprises at least one of an evaporator, a pressing means and a disposable filter,” thus claim 6 will be interpreted as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "at least one washing machine" in lines 4-5. There is already antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, thus it is unclear whether this limitation is in reference back to the initial basis, or if the Applicant intended on a separate, new limitation. The examiner believes the Applicant intended this limitation to be in reference back to the initial recitation of this limitation, and thus will interpret the claim as such.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "microparticles MP" in line 9. There is already antecedent basis for this limitation earlier in claim 1, thus it is unclear whether this limitation is in reference back to the prior basis, or if the Applicant intended on a separate, new limitation. The examiner believes the Applicant intended this limitation to be in reference back to the prior recitation of this limitation, and thus will interpret the claim as such.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the dewatered microparticles" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the operation" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites an actual “connection” to the at least one washing machine, however claim 1 doesn’t positively recite a washing machine, thus there can be no “connection” as the washing machine has not been positively recited. The examiner suggests the applicant to amend to the claim to conform to the format in the other system claims such as, “the control unit configured to connect to the at least one washing machine.”
Regarding claim 16, it is unclear whether “the overflow drain allows” is reciting a function of the drain or is a positive recitation of a structural feature.
Regarding claim 16, it is unclear of the scope or meaning of “uncontrollable overflow or blockage” as there is no further information regarding which portion is overflowing (reservoir, debris receptacle, ?) and which portion is being blocked (inlet to the reservoir, connection means, ?).
Claims 2-7, 9-13, and 18 are rejected to their dependency on the above-rejected claims.
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 attempts to further limit the dewatering means, initially recited in claim 6. However, due to the invocation of 112(f) in claim 6, claim 7 no longer recites any additional limitation to further limit claim 6. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-13, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koski (US20210039024A1).
Regarding claim 1, Koski teaches a filtration unit configured to remove microparticles from a water stream from at least one washing machine (WM), {[0034] re. filter system (filtration unit) removing microfibers from a washing machine & [0039] re. aspects of where the filtration unit is utilized} Note this portion of the claim is interpreted as not including the “at least one washing machine” in itself, but rather only a filtration unit to purify water from the machine.
the filtration unit comprising: an inlet configured to deliver a water stream (WS) from at least one washing machine (WM); {[0036] re. waste water discharged from appliance to an inlet}
a water reservoir configured to receive the water stream (WS) from the inlet; {[0036] re. housing (water reservoir)}
a separator module fluidly connected to the water reservoir, wherein the separator module is configured to separate microparticles (MP) from the water stream (WS) {[0015] re. filter assembly & [0036] re. fluid directed to housing then to filter} creating a filtered water stream (FWS); {[0036] re. filtered wastewater}
and an outlet configured to allow the filtered water stream (FWS) to leave the filtration unit; {[0036] re. filtered wastewater directed through the outlet of the housing and system after passing through the filter media}
and a sensor configured to measure a water level in at least one of the water reservoir and the separator module. {[0045] re. water flow sensor 215 which can monitor the water level within the filter and housing}
Regarding claim 3, Koski teaches a coarse filter arranged upstream from the separator module for filtering the water stream (WS). {[0057] re. first filter 312}
Regarding claim 5, Koski teaches a debris unit configured to receive the microparticles from the separator module. {[0071] re. catch filter 426}
Regarding claim 6, Koski teaches wherein the debris unit comprises a dewatering means for removing excess water from the microparticles (MP). {[0071] re. catch filter 426, where fibers are concentrated further and dewatered by gravity}
Regarding claim 7, Koski teaches wherein the dewatering means comprises a disposable filter. {[0071] re. catch filter 426 being easily removable and disposable}
Regarding claim 8, Koski teaches wherein the debris unit further comprises a debris receptacle configured to receive the dewatered microparticles. {[0071] re. how catch filter 426 can be a cup (debris receptacle)}
Regarding claim 9, Koski teaches a motor configured to drive at least one component of the filtration unit. {[0008] re. filter system can be motorized}
Regarding claim 10, Koski teaches wherein the separator module comprises a microparticle filter arranged for filtrating microparticles from the water stream (WS). {[0058] re. second filter 314}
Regarding claim 11, Koski teaches wherein the microparticle filter comprises a rotating part configured to clean the microparticle filter in order to prevent clogging. {[0008] re. rotatable with rotation of drive shaft to remove particles}
Regarding claim 12, Koski teaches wherein the microparticle filter comprises a centrifuge configured to remove microparticles from the water stream (WS). {[0008] re. rotatable with rotation of drive shaft to remove particles by centrifugal force}
Regarding claim 13, Koski teaches wherein the water stream (WS) flows through the separator module by gravity. {[0012] re. filter device may be a gravity filter}
Regarding claim 16, Koski teaches an overflow drain in connection with the water reservoir, wherein the overflow drain allows the water stream (WS) to leave the filtration unit in order to prevent an uncontrollable overflow or blockage. {[0060] re. overflow/bypass feature at the top of the filter ring in case of filter plug
Regarding claim 18, Koski teaches a method for removing microparticles from a water stream using a filtration unit according to claim 1, the method comprising steps of: {Abstract re. method of filtering wastewater & [0005] re. removing particles}
receiving (S1) a water stream from at least one washing machine at a water reservoir, {[0036] re. waste water discharged from appliance (washing machine) to an inlet of the housing (reservoir)}
moving (S2) water from the water reservoir to a separator module, {[0036] re. fluid directed to housing then to filter}
separating (S3) microparticles from the water stream using the separator module {[0034] re. filter system (filtration unit) removing microfibers and particles} creating a filtered water stream, {[0036] re. filtered wastewater}
gathering (S4) the microparticles in a suitable receptacle, {[0071] re. catch filter 426}
and allowing (S5) the filtered water stream to leave the filtration unit. {[0036] re. filtered wastewater directed through the outlet of the housing and system after passing through the filter media}
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koski (US20210039024A1), as applied to the claims above.
Regarding claim 2, Koski teaches wherein the at least one washing machine (WM) is a set of two or more washing machines. {[0035] re. commercial facilities}
Koski is silent to two or more washing machines. However, Koski states in [0035] that commercial facilities are required by code to include filtration systems, and that the current system would be beneficial in those commercial settings.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to infer that commercial laundry sites have two or more washing machines, and one would be motivated to include the filtration system on these multiple machines, per code requirements as stated above.
Regarding claim 4, Koski teaches a connection means fluidly connecting the water reservoir and the separator module. {[0036] re. waste water directed into the housing and through the inlet to pass into the filter}
While Koski is silent to a connection means, Koski teaches in the above mentioned quotation, wherein the housing must be in fluid connection with the filter.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a connection means, as this connection must inherently exist to transport the fluid to teach of the components.
Koski further teaches a pump configured to move the water stream (WS) through the connection means from the water reservoir to the separator module. {[0067] re. discharge pump}
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koski (US20210039024A1), as applied to the claims above, in view of Zupan (WO2020200453A1).
Regarding claims 14-15, Koski fails to teach a control unit configured to control at least the operation of one component of the filtration unit; (Claim 14) wherein the control unit is connected to the at least one washing machine (WS) as well as the filtration unit. (Claim 15)
Zupan, directed to a laundry machine appliance filter, teaches a control unit configured to control at least the operation of one component of the filtration unit; (Claim 14) {Page 18 lines 21-25 re. micro-controller} wherein the control unit is connected to the at least one washing machine (WS) as well as the filtration unit. {Page 18 line 25 - Page 19 line 5 re. the micro-controller connected to the filter unit which is inserted and in communication with the washing drum} (Claim 15)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add to the system of Koski with the Zupan’s teachings of a control unit configured to control at least the operation of one component of the filtration unit; (Claim 14) wherein the control unit is connected to the at least one washing machine (WS) as well as the filtration unit (Claim 15) as Zupan, similar to Koski, teaches a filtration device used to remove particles from the effluent of washing machine. {Zupan, Page 6 lines 6-12}. Doing so would increase the efficiency of the device through automation. Additionally, Zupan teaches their device can be controlled remotely through the micro-controller connected to a phone of similar device, improving the experience of the user as they do not have to be close by to monitor and control operations. {Zupan, Page 19 lines 1-3}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Koski (US20180290082A1), drawn to a laundry filtration device containing sensors, reservoirs, multi-step filters, and other aspects of the base invention; Pattee (US6299779B1), drawn to a recycling system for the filtration and reuse of laundry fluid; and Arguello (US20050056581A1), drawn to a washing machine filter that utilities controllers for automation.
/CONNOR J ROTONDI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1773 /JOSEPH W DRODGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773