DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 09/04/2024 in which claims 1-16 and 21-24 are pending. Claims 17-20 were cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/18/2025 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-10, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al., “Procedure of Sensing Measurement Setup”, doc.: IEEE 802.11-21/1735r3, November 2021 (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Jang”.
As to claim 1, Jang teaches a communication method, performed by an initiator (Jang, slide 12, a sensing initiator), comprising:
determining a first radio frame (Jang, slide 12, a sensing initiator transmits a sensing measurement setup request frame), wherein the first radio frame comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates a sensing measurement type of a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing measurement procedure (Jang, slides 8-9, the setup request frame includes information elements that includes operational attributes to be negotiated. For example, a Measurement Instance and Measurement Instance Parameter Set indicating a non-TB or TB measurement instance. Slide 12, the sensing measurement setup request frame. Slide 3, the initiator transmits the request frame to a responder to perform WLAN sensing); and the sensing measurement type comprises a trigger-based (TB) sensing measurement or a non triggered based (non-TB) sensing measurement (Jang, slides 9, the Measurement Instance and Measurement Instance Parameter Set indicating a non-TB or TB measurement instance); and
sending the first radio frame (Jang, slide 12, a sensing initiator transmits the sensing measurement setup request frame to a sensing responder).
As to claim 2, Jang teaches further comprising:
sending a first null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame or a trigger frame in a case that the first indication information indicates that the sensing measurement type is the TB sensing measurement (Jang, slide 9, NDPA Sounding and Trigger frame Sounding in the Measurement Instance Parameter Set of the TB measurement Instance. The NDPA and Trigger frame are transmitted to perform the measurements via sounding);
or,
sending a second NDPA frame in a case that the first indication information indicates that the sensing measurement type is the non-TB sensing measurement (Jang, slide 9, NDPA Sounding in the Measurement Instance Parameter Set of the Non-TB measurement Instance. The NDPA is transmitted to perform the measurements via sounding).
As to claim 4, Jang teaches wherein the first indication information is a subelement of the first radio frame (Jang, slide 9, the setup request frame includes the element Measurement Instance Parameter Set); and
a type sub-field of the subelement indicates parameter information corresponding to the sensing measurement type (Jang, slide 9, the element Measurement Instance Parameter Set includes fields indicating parameters corresponding to the TB or Non-TB measurement type).
As to claim 8, Jang teaches wherein the first radio frame comprises a sensing session setup request frame or a sensing measurement setup request frame (Jang, slide 9, slide 12, the sensing initiator transmits the sensing measurement setup request frame).
As to claim 9, Jang teaches a communication method, performed by a responder (Jang, slide 12, a sensing responder), comprising:
receiving a first radio frame (Jang, slide 12, a sensing initiator transmits a sensing measurement setup request frame to the sensing responder); wherein the first radio frame comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates a sensing measurement type of a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing measurement procedure initiated by an initiator (Jang, slides 8-9, the setup request frame includes information elements that includes operational attributes to be negotiated. For example, a Measurement Instance and Measurement Instance Parameter Set indicating a non-TB or TB measurement instance. Slide 12, the sensing measurement setup request frame. Slide 3, the initiator transmits the request frame to a responder to perform WLAN sensing); and the sensing measurement type comprises a trigger-based (TB) sensing measurement or a non triggered based (non-TB) sensing measurement (Jang, slides 9, the Measurement Instance and Measurement Instance Parameter Set indicating a non-TB or TB measurement instance); and
performing a processing operation according to the first indication information (Jang, slide 12, “The sensing responder, which receives the sensing measurement setup request frame, shall transmit a sensing measurement setup response frame to the sensing initiator which transmitted the sensing measurement setup request frame to accept or reject the sensing measurement setup”. Slide 9, NDPA Sounding and Trigger frame Sounding in the Measurement Instance Parameter Set of the TB measurement Instance, and NDPA Sounding in the Measurement Instance Parameter Set of the Non-TB measurement Instance. The NDPA and Trigger frame are transmitted to perform the measurements via sounding).
As to claim 10, Jang teaches wherein performing the processing operation according to the first indication information comprises:
receiving a first null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame or a trigger frame in a case that the first indication information indicates that the sensing measurement type is the TB sensing measurement (Jang, slide 9, NDPA Sounding and Trigger frame Sounding in the Measurement Instance Parameter Set of the TB measurement Instance. The NDPA and Trigger frame are received to perform the measurements via sounding);
or,
receiving a second NDPA frame in a case that the first indication information indicates that the sensing measurement type is the non-TB sensing measurement (Jang, slide 9, NDPA Sounding in the Measurement Instance Parameter Set of the Non-TB measurement Instance. The NDPA is transmitted to perform the measurements via sounding).
As to claim 12, Jang teaches wherein the first indication information is a subelement of the first radio frame (Jang, slide 9, the setup request frame includes the element Measurement Instance Parameter Set); and
a type sub-field of the subelement indicates parameter information corresponding to the sensing measurement type (Jang, slide 9, the element Measurement Instance Parameter Set includes fields indicating parameters corresponding to the TB or Non-TB measurement type).
As to claim 16, Jang teaches wherein the first radio frame comprises a sensing session setup request frame or a sensing measurement setup request frame (Jang, slide 9, slide 12, the sensing initiator transmits the sensing measurement setup request frame).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al., “Procedure of Sensing Measurement Setup”, doc.: IEEE 802.11-21/1735r3, November 2021 (provided in the IDS) hereinafter “Jang” in view of Yan et al. (US 2022/0417063), hereinafter “Yan”.
Jang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein the first NDPA frame comprises one or more station information (STA info) fields; and
the second NDPA frame comprises one STA info field.
As to claim 3, Yan teaches wherein the first NDPA frame comprises one or more station information (STA info) fields (Yan, Figs. 5-6, [0232]-[0233], in a trigger-based procedure, the NDPA is transmitted. Fig. 7, [0235], the NDPA frame includes a Station information 1…N fields); and
the second NDPA frame comprises one STA info field (Yan, Fig. 4, [0231], a NDPA frame is transmitted in the non-trigger based channel sounding procedure. Fig. 7, [0235], the NDPA frame includes a Station information 1 field).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jang to have the features, as taught by Yan, in order to indicate in advance to a second communication device to prepare for channel sounding, so that the second communication device prepares for channel sounding in a timely manner. Thereby, improving channel sounding efficiency (Yan, [0019]).
Jang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein the first NDPA frame comprises one or more station information (STA info) fields; and
the second NDPA frame comprises one STA info field.
As to claim 11, Yan teaches wherein the first NDPA frame comprises one or more station information (STA info) fields (Yan, Figs. 5-6, [0232]-[0233], in a trigger-based procedure, the NDPA is transmitted. Fig. 7, [0235], the NDPA frame includes a Station information 1…N fields); and
the second NDPA frame comprises one STA info field (Yan, Fig. 4, [0231], a NDPA frame is transmitted in the non-trigger based channel sounding procedure. Fig. 7, [0235], the NDPA frame includes a Station information 1 field).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jang to have the features, as taught by Yan, in order to indicate in advance to a second communication device to prepare for channel sounding, so that the second communication device prepares for channel sounding in a timely manner. Thereby, improving channel sounding efficiency (Yan, [0019]).
As to claim 21, Jang teaches an electronic device (Jang, slide 12, a sensing initiator) configured to:
determine a first radio frame (Jang, slide 12, a sensing initiator transmits a sensing measurement setup request frame), wherein the first radio frame comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates a sensing measurement type of a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing measurement procedure (Jang, slides 8-9, the setup request frame includes information elements that includes operational attributes to be negotiated. For example, a Measurement Instance and Measurement Instance Parameter Set indicating a non-TB or TB measurement instance. Slide 12, the sensing measurement setup request frame. Slide 3, the initiator transmits the request frame to a responder to perform WLAN sensing); and the sensing measurement type comprises a trigger-based (TB) sensing measurement or a non triggered based (non-TB) sensing measurement (Jang, slides 9, the Measurement Instance and Measurement Instance Parameter Set indicating a non-TB or TB measurement instance); and
send the first radio frame (Jang, slide 12, a sensing initiator transmits the sensing measurement setup request frame to a sensing responder).
Jang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 21, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory having a computer program executable by the processor stored thereon, the processor is configured.
However, Yan teaches comprising:
a processor (Yan, [0221], an initiating device is a user station (STA). Fig. 3, [0026], the STA includes a processor); and
a memory having a computer program executable by the processor stored thereon, the processor is configured (Yan, Fig. 3, [0226], the STA includes a memory. Fig. 26, [0348], [0355], [0360], the memory stores instructions executed by the processor to perform the functions of the STA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jang to have the features, as taught by Yan, since it is well known in the art that an electronic device includes a processor and memory. Additionally, in order to indicate in advance to a second communication device to prepare for channel sounding, so that the second communication device prepares for channel sounding in a timely manner. Thereby, improving channel sounding efficiency (Yan, [0019]).
Jang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 22, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with a computer program stored thereon, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, the method according to claim 1 is implemented.
As to claim 22, Yan teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with a computer program stored thereon, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, the method according to claim 1 is implemented (Yan, Fig. 3, [0226], the STA includes a memory. Fig. 26, [0348], [0355], [0360], the memory stores instructions executed by the processor to perform the functions of the STA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jang to have the features, as taught by Yan, since it is well known in the art that an electronic device includes a processor and memory. Additionally, in order to indicate in advance to a second communication device to prepare for channel sounding, so that the second communication device prepares for channel sounding in a timely manner. Thereby, improving channel sounding efficiency (Yan, [0019]).
As to claim 23, Jang teaches an electronic device (Jang, slide 12, a sensing responder) configured to perform the method according to 9 (Jang, slide 9, slide 12, the sensing responder receiving the sensing measurement setup request frame and performing NDPA processing).
Jang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 23, comprising:
a processor, and
a memory having a computer program executable by the processor stored thereon, the processor is configured.
However, Yan teaches comprising:
a processor (Yan, [0221], an responding device is a user station (STA). Fig. 3, [0026], the STA includes a processor. Fig. 2, [0222], the responding device can also be an AP in the WLAN with processor and memory), and
a memory having a computer program executable by the processor stored thereon, the processor is configured (Yan, Fig. 3, [0226], the STA includes a memory. Fig. 26, [0348], [0355], [0360], the memory stores instructions executed by the processor to perform the functions of the STA. Fig. 2, [0222], the responding device can also be an AP in the WLAN with processor and memory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jang to have the features, as taught by Yan, since it is well known in the art that an electronic device includes a processor and memory. Additionally, in order to indicate in advance to a second communication device to prepare for channel sounding, so that the second communication device prepares for channel sounding in a timely manner. Thereby, improving channel sounding efficiency (Yan, [0019]).
Jang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 24, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with a computer program stored thereon, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, the method according to claim 9 is implemented.
As to claim 24, Yan teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with a computer program stored thereon, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, the method according to claim 9 is implemented (Yan, Fig. 3, [0226], the STA includes a memory. Fig. 26, [0348], [0355], [0360], the memory stores instructions executed by the processor to perform the functions of the STA. Fig. 2, [0222], the responding device can also be an AP in the WLAN with processor and memory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jang to have the features, as taught by Yan, since it is well known in the art that an electronic device includes a processor and memory. Additionally, in order to indicate in advance to a second communication device to prepare for channel sounding, so that the second communication device prepares for channel sounding in a timely manner. Thereby, improving channel sounding efficiency (Yan, [0019]).
Claims 5-7 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al., “Procedure of Sensing Measurement Setup”, doc.: IEEE 802.11-21/1735r3, November 2021 (provided in the IDS) hereinafter “Jang” in view of Chitrakar et al. (WO 2022039669 A1) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Chitrakar”.
Jang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 5, further comprising:
sending a second radio frame, the second radio frame comprising at least one of second indication information or third indication information; wherein the second indication information indicates that the initiator supports WLAN sensing, the third indication information indicates a sensing measurement type supported by the initiator.
As to claim 5, Chitrakar teaches further comprising:
sending a second radio frame (Chitrakar, [62], Table 1, various WLAN sensing capabilities indicated in a beacon frame, probe response frame, discovery frame, association request frame, etc.), the second radio frame comprising at least one of second indication information or third indication information (Chitrakar, [62], Table 1, the device advertises multiple WLAN sensing capability information); wherein the second indication information indicates that the initiator supports WLAN sensing (Chitrakar, [62], Table 1, “a sensing requester, i.e. a device capable of requesting another device to transmit sounding PPDUs and providing channel measurements to higher layer application”, “a device capable of performing channel measurements for WLAN sensing”), the third indication information indicates a sensing measurement type supported by the initiator (Chitrakar, [62], Table 1, “unsolicited sounding, i.e. a device capable of providing periodic transmissions of sounding frame in unsolicited manner”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jang to have the features, as taught by Chitrakar, in order to facilitate WLAN sensing across different 802.11 devices (Chitrakar, [8]).
Jang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 6, wherein the second radio frame comprises at least one of a probe request frame, a multi-link (ML) probe request frame, an association request frame, a reassociation request frame, and an authentication request frame.
As to claim 6, Chitrakar teaches wherein the second radio frame comprises at least one of a probe request frame, a multi-link (ML) probe request frame, an association request frame, a reassociation request frame, and an authentication request frame (Chitrakar, [62], Table 1, various WLAN sensing capabilities indicated in a beacon frame, a probe response frame, FILS discovery frame, a probe request frame, an association request frame or other unicast frame).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jang to have the features, as taught by Chitrakar, in order to facilitate WLAN sensing across different 802.11 devices (Chitrakar, [8]).
Jang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 7, wherein the at least one of the second indication information or the third indication information is carried in an extended capabilities element of the second radio frame.
As to claim 7, Chitrakar teaches wherein the at least one of the second indication information or the third indication information is carried in an extended capabilities element of the second radio frame (Chitrakar, [62], “a 11bf device advertises its WLAN sensing capabilities, for example, in extended capabilities elements such as a capability bit in a frame”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jang to have the features, as taught by Chitrakar, in order to facilitate WLAN sensing across different 802.11 devices (Chitrakar, [8]).
Jang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 13, further comprising:
receiving a second radio frame, the second radio frame comprising at least one of second indication information or third indication information; wherein the second indication information indicates that the initiator supports WLAN sensing, the third indication information indicates a sensing measurement type supported by the initiator.
As to claim 13, Chitrakar teaches further comprising:
receiving a second radio frame (Chitrakar, [62], Table 1, various WLAN sensing capabilities indicated in a beacon frame, probe response frame, discovery frame, association request frame, etc. The capabilities are received by another device), the second radio frame comprising at least one of second indication information or third indication information (Chitrakar, [62], Table 1, the device advertises multiple WLAN sensing capability information); wherein the second indication information indicates that the initiator supports WLAN sensing (Chitrakar, [62], Table 1, “a sensing requester, i.e. a device capable of requesting another device to transmit sounding PPDUs and providing channel measurements to higher layer application”, “a device capable of performing channel measurements for WLAN sensing”), the third indication information indicates a sensing measurement type supported by the initiator (Chitrakar, [62], Table 1, “unsolicited sounding, i.e. a device capable of providing periodic transmissions of sounding frame in unsolicited manner”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jang to have the features, as taught by Chitrakar, in order to facilitate WLAN sensing across different 802.11 devices (Chitrakar, [8]).
Jang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 14, wherein the second radio frame comprises at least one of a probe request frame, a multi-link (ML) probe request frame, an association request frame, a reassociation request frame, and an authentication request frame.
As to claim 14, Chitrakar teaches wherein the second radio frame comprises at least one of a probe request frame, a multi-link (ML) probe request frame, an association request frame, a reassociation request frame, and an authentication request frame (Chitrakar, [62], Table 1, various WLAN sensing capabilities indicated in a beacon frame, a probe response frame, FILS discovery frame, a probe request frame, an association request frame or other unicast frame).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jang to have the features, as taught by Chitrakar, in order to facilitate WLAN sensing across different 802.11 devices (Chitrakar, [8]).
Jang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 15, wherein the at least one of the second indication information or the third indication information is carried in an extended capabilities element of the second radio frame.
As to claim 15, Chitrakar teaches wherein the at least one of the second indication information or the third indication information is carried in an extended capabilities element of the second radio frame (Chitrakar, [62], “a 11bf device advertises its WLAN sensing capabilities, for example, in extended capabilities elements such as a capability bit in a frame”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jang to have the features, as taught by Chitrakar, in order to facilitate WLAN sensing across different 802.11 devices (Chitrakar, [8]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Luo et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0187905 – Wireless communication method and device.
Lim et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0049135 – Improved sensing procedure.
Wei et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0073352 – Device, method, and system for periodic wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing.
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473