DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 7, 9, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claims 3, 5, and 7, the limitations regarding X and Y are indefinite, because the value of these variables are unknown and therefore applicant is attempting to set forth a ratio/value based on unknown quantities. Furthermore, the claims do not establish particularly what is the “combination” of the values (e.g. how the values are combined or calculated) and how these values effect performance of the bike and/or system.
As to claim 9, the phrase "or other media" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or other media"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
As to Claim 16, it is unclear as to whether or not the tilt angle and steering angle sensors are part of or in addition to the “at least one sensor” set forth in Claim 15.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the sensing system" in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further regarding Claim 17, the last limitation set forth in Lines 7-8 doubly recites the at least one sensor being arranged/configured to measure a tilt angle and steering angle of the bike (Previously set forth in Lines 3-4 of the Claim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-10, 12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simmonds (WO 2021/222970).
1. Simmonds discloses an exercise bike comprising:
a base (150);
a frame (100; Fig 1);
a handlebar (29);
a tilt angle sensor (Par. 0040);
a steering angle sensor (Par. 0034); and
a processor (160), wherein:
the frame is rotatably mounted to the base, and wherein the tilt angle sensor is configured to measure a tilt angle of the frame relative to the base (Par. 0040: “a sensor is configured to generate a signal referred to herein as a “tilt signal” 141. The tilt signal 141 is representative of tilt of bicycle 100 relative to a vertical plane”);
the handlebar is mounted to the frame, and wherein the steering angle sensor is configured to measure a steering angle of the handlebar (Par. 0033-0035); and
the processor is configured to provide an output based on a combination of the measured tilt angle and steering angle (Par. 0042: “control unit 160 processes the steering signal and the tilt signal thereby to provide a single combined steering signal to simulator system 170”).
2. Simmonds discloses the exercise bike of claim 1 wherein:
the tilt angle sensor is configured to measure the tilt angle relative to a frame datum position in which the frame is arranged substantially perpendicular relative to the base (Par. 0040: “ The tilt signal 141 is representative of tilt of bicycle 100 relative to a vertical plane”); and
the steering angle sensor is configured to measure the steering angle relative to a handlebar datum position in which the handlebar is arranged substantially perpendicular to the frame (Par. 0034: “A sensor which is configured to directly measure rotation of a steerer tube relative to the frame”).
3. Simmonds discloses the exercise bike of claim 1,wherein the output is based on a combination of X% of the measured tilt angle and Y% of the measured steering angle (Par. 0036: “ steering simulation via simulation system 170 is controlled by way of a combination of monitoring steering and bicycle tilt”, Par. 0042: “control unit 160 processes the steering signal and the tilt signal thereby to provide a single combined steering signal to simulator system 170, this combines signal being in the form of a steering or turning input in a format required by the simulator system (for example representative of an angle of turn or the like)”, and Par. 0044: “the steering and tilting input are combined into a single turning metric”).
4. Simmonds discloses the exercise bike of claim 1, wherein the combination is based on the value(s) of the measured tilt angle and/or the measured steering angle (Par. 0036: “ steering simulation via simulation system 170 is controlled by way of a combination of monitoring steering and bicycle tilt”, Par. 0042: “control unit 160 processes the steering signal and the tilt signal thereby to provide a single combined steering signal to simulator system 170, this combines signal being in the form of a steering or turning input in a format required by the simulator system (for example representative of an angle of turn or the like)”, and Par. 0044: “the steering and tilting input are combined into a single turning metric”).
5. Simmonds discloses the exercise bike of claim 1,wherein the output is based on a combination of X% of the measured tilt angle and Y% of the measured steering angle, wherein the value of X is based on the measured tilt angle and/or the value of Y is based on the measured steering angle (Par. 0036: “ steering simulation via simulation system 170 is controlled by way of a combination of monitoring steering and bicycle tilt”, Par. 0042: “control unit 160 processes the steering signal and the tilt signal thereby to provide a single combined steering signal to simulator system 170, this combines signal being in the form of a steering or turning input in a format required by the simulator system (for example representative of an angle of turn or the like)”, and Par. 0044: “the steering and tilting input are combined into a single turning metric”).
8. Simmonds discloses the exercise bike of claim 1,wherein the processor is further configurable in use such that the combination of the measured tilt angle and the measured steering angle are configurable by the user (Par. 0047).
9. Simmonds discloses the exercise bike of claim 1,wherein the output is configured for controlling a graphic, simulation program, video game or other media (180; Par. 0032).
10. Simmonds discloses the exercise bike of claim 1,wherein the frame further comprises a head tube and a steering stem rotatably received in the head tube; the handlebar mounted to the steering stem such that the user may apply a torque to the steering stem by rotating the handlebar (Fig 1).
12. Simmonds discloses the exercise bike of claim 1,wherein the handlebar is removably mounted to the frame (Examiner considers the handlebar to be capable of being removed from the frame).
14. Simmonds discloses the exercise bike of claim 1,further comprising a drive mechanism (110) and/or flywheel.
15. Simmonds discloses a sensing system for use with a bike comprising:
at least one sensor, for attachment to the bike in use and configured to measure a tilt angle and a steering angle of the bike; and
a processor configured to provide an output based on a combination of the measured tilt angle and steering angle (Par. 0036: “ steering simulation via simulation system 170 is controlled by way of a combination of monitoring steering and bicycle tilt”, Par. 0042: “control unit 160 processes the steering signal and the tilt signal thereby to provide a single combined steering signal to simulator system 170, this combines signal being in the form of a steering or turning input in a format required by the simulator system (for example representative of an angle of turn or the like)”, and Par. 0044: “the steering and tilting input are combined into a single turning metric”)..
16. Simmonds discloses the sensing system according to claim 15, comprising a tilt angle sensor configured to measure a tilt angle of the bike, and a steering angle sensor configured to measure a steering angle of a handlebar of the bike (Par. 0036: “ steering simulation via simulation system 170 is controlled by way of a combination of monitoring steering and bicycle tilt”, Par. 0042: “control unit 160 processes the steering signal and the tilt signal thereby to provide a single combined steering signal to simulator system 170, this combines signal being in the form of a steering or turning input in a format required by the simulator system (for example representative of an angle of turn or the like)”, and Par. 0044: “the steering and tilting input are combined into a single turning metric”)..
17. Simmonds discloses an arrangement comprising:
a bike (100) configured to tilt, the bike comprising a rotatable handlebar (29); and
the sensing system comprising
at least one sensor, for attachment to the bike in use and configured to measure a tilt angle and a steering angle of the bike, and
a processor configured to provide an output based on a combination of the measured tilt angle and steering angle, the sensing system mounted to the bike, wherein the at least one sensor is arranged to measure a tilt angle and a steering angle of the bike (Par. 0036: “ steering simulation via simulation system 170 is controlled by way of a combination of monitoring steering and bicycle tilt”, Par. 0042: “control unit 160 processes the steering signal and the tilt signal thereby to provide a single combined steering signal to simulator system 170, this combines signal being in the form of a steering or turning input in a format required by the simulator system (for example representative of an angle of turn or the like)”, and Par. 0044-0045: “the steering and tilting input are combined into a single turning metric”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmonds.
As to Claims 6 and 7, Simmonds does not explicitly disclose wherein the combination is based on the relative difference between the measured tilt angle and the measured steering angle or wherein the output is based on a combination of X% of the tilt angle (theta) and Y% of the steering angle (alpha),wherein:
However, Simmonds does disclose the following:
steering simulation via simulation system 170 is controlled by way of a combination of monitoring steering and bicycle tilt
a sensor which is configured to directly measure rotation of a steerer tube relative to the frame
a sensor is configured to generate a signal referred to herein as a “tilt signal” 141. The tilt signal 141 is representative of tilt of bicycle 100 relative to a vertical plane
control unit 160 processes the steering signal and the tilt signal thereby to provide a single combined steering signal to simulator system 170, this combines signal being in the form of a steering or turning input in a format required by the simulator system (for example representative of an angle of turn or the like
there are various approaches for configuring a software program to process steering and tilting signals thereby to provide a simulation that accounts for counter steering. These include:
• Conventional programming techniques, whereby to simulator is programmed manually by experienced programmers, tested, and refined.
• An Al approach, whereby data is collected from bicycles being ridden in real-life situations, and processed thereby to train an algorithm to convert signals representative of any combination of steering angle, tilt angle and velocity into a steering simulation signal.
As best understood, through routine optimization and experimentation (testing and refinement) by experienced programmers and/or using and AI based approach, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination/output of the measured tilt and steering angles to have the claimed relationship as this is merely application of ordinary skill in the art to provide the most realistic simulation for a user.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmonds in view of Silcock et al (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0238130).
As to Claims 11 and 13, Simmonds discloses the exercise bike significantly as claimed, but does not disclose wherein the handlebar has a resilient mounting configured to bias the handlebar towards the handlebar datum position.
Silcock et al teach a similar interactive exercise bike having a computing device configured to receive directional inputs from a drivetrain sensor and a handlebar sensor to generate visual information on a display based partially upon the directional inputs. Particularly Silcock et al disclose that the handlebar has biasing elements (252) which provide a restorative force back to a center point about any rotational axis as a user moves a yoke of the handlebars (Par. 0063-0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify he handlebar of Simmonds to include a resilient mounting as taught by Silcock et al to enhance the haptic and tactile feel of the interactive ride.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hawkins III et al, Airmet et al, Anderson et al, and Badarneh all disclose similar exercise bicycle systems having sensors to measure tilt angle of the frame and steering angle of the handlebar of the bicycle.
/JOSHUA T KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784 1/30/2026