DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetzman (US 3975182).
Regarding claim 1, Goetzman teaches coated iron ore pellets for use in direct reduction (Abstract). The pellets comprise:
A raw material comprising iron oxide (Abstract, Col. 4 Ln. 20)
A coating on the ore surface comprising CaO (Col. 4 Ln. 20-25)
Particularly, the coating comprises particles with a size of -65 mesh (equivalent to a particle size of less than 0.210 mm), which reads on the claimed particle size ranges of no smaller than 0.010 mm (Col. 4 Ln. 23-25). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(1).
Regarding claim 2, the coating comprises particles with a size of -65 mesh (equivalent to a particle size of less than 0.210 mm), which reads on the claimed particle size ranges of no smaller than 0.050 mm (Col. 4 Ln. 23-25). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(1).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, in one embodiment, Goetzman teaches that the CaO particles comprise 0.7 wt% of the resultant coated pellets (Col. 4 Ln. 32-33). This value is converted to a particle adhesion amount of about 0.704 mass% based on the raw material, which reads on the claimed particle adhesion amount of 0.10-3.00 mass%.
Regarding claims 4 and 10-12, as discussed above, the coating comprises CaO (Col. 4 Ln. 20-25).
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Goetzman teaches a method for producing coated iron ore pellets. The coating comprises particles with a size of -65 mesh (equivalent to a particle size of less than 0.210 mm), which reads on the claimed particle size ranges of no smaller than 0.010 mm (Col. 4 Ln. 23-25). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(1).
The method comprises coating iron oxide ore pellets with a coating comprising CaO. The coating is applied by metering coating particles and spray water in a snow-balling process (Col. 3 Ln. 32-37). Due to the use of spray water, Goetzman’s method reads on the claimed spray method limitation. Additionally, the snow-balling process would in effect create a particle slurry that coats the iron oxide pellets. Goetzman then goes on to dry the coated iron ore particles via heating (Col. 3 Ln. 40-42; Col. 4 Ln. 28).
Regarding claim 6, as discussed above, the coating comprises particles with a size of -65 mesh (equivalent to a particle size of less than 0.210 mm), which reads on the claimed particle size ranges of no smaller than 0.050 mm (Col. 4 Ln. 23-25). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(1).
Regarding claim 7 and 13, as discussed above, the coating comprises CaO (Col. 4 Ln. 20-25).
Regarding claims 14-16, as discussed above, due to the use of spray water, Goetzman’s method reads on the claimed spray method limitation.
Claims 8 and 14-16 are rejected rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetzman (US 3975182), as applied to claims 5-7 and 13 above, and in further view of Ashie (EP 0207779 A2).
Regarding claims 8 and 14-16, as discussed above, Goetzman teaches a snowballing coating method that reads on the claimed spray-coating limitation (Col. 3 Ln. 32-37). However, they do not exemplify coating the iron ore pellets with an immersion process.
Ashie teaches a method for reducing iron ore, wherein iron ore pellets are coated with cement (Abstract). Particularly, Ashie coats their iron ore pellets with an aqueous cement solution using immersion- or spray-based methods (Figs. 1 & 2). Additionally, it is noted that Ashie’s method achieves a similar particle adhesion amount (0.05-1.0% of the weight of the iron ore (Ashie Clm. 3, pg. 7 ln. 5-30)) compared to Goetzman’s method (about 0.704% of the weight of the iron ore (Goetzman Col. 4 Ln. 32-33)). In all, Ashie’s method produces the same end-product (i.e. a coated iron ore pellet) with similar coating adhesion amounts. Additionally, Ashie teaches that the spray-coating and immersion-coating processes are equivalent methods known in the art. Therefore, because the two methods were art recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the spray coating method of Goetzman for the immersion coating method of Ashie.
Therefore, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to substitute Goetzman’s coating method with Ashie’s coating method because both methods ultimately result in coated iron ore pellets with similar particle adhesion amounts.
It is noted that Ashie’s slurry suspension and spray coating limitations read on the applicant’s teachings, as per their specification. If the snowballing treatment of Goetzman is determined to not meet the slurry suspension and spray-coating limitations, then the above teachings of Ashie are applied.
Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Mizutani (US 2016/0153061 A1). Mizutani teaches a direct reduction material comprising an ore comprising iron oxide coated in at least one of calcium oxide, magnesium oxide, calcium hydroxide, magnesium hydroxide, and cement hydrate (Clms. 1-3). The iron ore is coated in via an immersion process and then dried via heating (Clm. 4, [0044]). It is noted that Mizutani characterizes their coating particles in terms of a Blaine surface area rather than a particle size.
Contact Information
/J.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735