DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I, directed to claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 10th August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10th August 2026.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant' s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, ‘wherein the processing unit issue an…’, should likely read ‘wherein the processing unit issues an…’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6, ‘the test’ there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 & 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 110811552 A to Wei et al. (hereinafter, Wei).
Regarding Claim 1, Wei discloses an information processing device (Wei: Para. [0020-0022], [0048]) comprising
a processing unit that identifies information regarding an odor component to be released (Wei: Para. [0022-0023], [0061-0069]) and
controls release of the odor component on a basis of information associated with a user (Wei: Para. [0049], [0060], [0064]).
Regarding Claim 2, Wei discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, Wei further discloses wherein the information regarding the odor component to be released includes any one or more pieces of information selected from the group consisting of a type of the odor component, a mixing ratio of the odor component, a concentration of the odor component, a release time of the odor component, and a time until start of the release of the odor component (Wei: Para. [0064-0069] ‘concentrations of olfactory agents’; Note: As claimed, only one of the selections are required, any other selection is optional and will be considered optional in every dependent claim that recites these options, thus is not required to be taught by the prior art).
Regarding Claim 3, Wei discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, Wei further discloses wherein the processing unit further identifies a concentration of the odor component to be released (Wei: Para. [0068-0069] ‘concentrations of olfactory agents’) or
a release time of the odor component on a basis of the information regarding the odor component identified and the information associated with the user (Wei: Para. [0060], [0062; Note: The limitation is considered optional and thus not required to be taught by the prior art).
Regarding Claim 4, Wei discloses the information processing device according to claim 3, Wei further discloses wherein the information associated with the user includes any one or more pieces of information selected from the group consisting of biological information regarding the user, physical information regarding the user, and information regarding an answer from the user (Wei: Para. [0058], [0060]; Note: As claimed, only one of the selections are required, any other selection is optional and will be considered optional in every dependent claim that recites these options, thus is not required to be taught by the prior art).
Regarding Claim 5, Wei discloses the information processing device according to claim 4, Wei further discloses wherein the information regarding the answer from the user includes a result of any one or more tests selected from the group consisting of an identification test, a threshold test, and a discrimination test (Wei: Para. [0061-0062]).
Regarding Claim 6, Wei discloses the information processing device according to claim 5, Wei further discloses wherein the processing unit issue an instruction to output the result of the test (Wei: Para. [0025-0026], [0060]).
Regarding Claim 8, Wei discloses the information processing device according to claim 4, Wei further discloses wherein the processing unit adjusts a concentration of the odor component to be released on a basis of the information regarding the answer from the user (Wei: Para. [0064]).
Regarding Claim 9, Wei discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, Wei further discloses wherein the processing unit controls the release of the odor component on a basis of environmental information that affects the release of the odor component (Wei: Para. [0011-0014], [0051], [0055-0056], [0060] ).
Regarding Claim 10, Wei discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, Wei further discloses further comprising a storage unit that stores the information associated with the user and/or the information regarding the odor component identified (Wei: Para. [0023-0026]).
Regarding Claim 11, Wei discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, Wei further discloses wherein the processing unit determines a physical function of the user on a basis of the information associated with the user displayed in time series (Wei: Para. [0007] ‘discrimination ability’ via [0062-0065] ‘discrimination test’).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei in view of Akazawa et al. (hereinafter, Akazawa) Influence of an Olfactory Term Table on the Odor Recognition Threshold in T&T Olfactometer, January 2019, Nihon Bika Gakkai Kaishi (Japanese Journal of Rhinology) 58(2):159-166 DOI:10.7248/jjrhi.58.159.
Regarding Claim 7, Wei discloses the information processing device according to claim 5, Wei further discloses wherein the result of the threshold test includes any one or more results selected from the group consisting of a detection threshold, a recognition threshold (Wei: Para. [0069-0070]).
Wei is silent on a difference between the detection threshold and the recognition threshold.
However, Akazawa teaches a difference between the detection threshold and the recognition threshold (Akazawa: Pg. 159, “The results of recognition threshold, detection threshold, and the difference between detection and recognition thresholds with T&T olfactometer, as well an alinamin test and self-administered odor questionnaire were retrospectively compared. Results: The olfactory term table usage and non-usage groups consisted of 37 and 23 patients, recpectively. The recognition threshold was significantly lower in the usage group than that in non-usage group (p = 0.003). The difference between detection and recognition thresholds was significantly lower in the usage group than that in non-usage group (p = 0.048). The detection threshold and SAOQ score were not significantly different between the groups. Therefore, we assumed that although olfactory function was similar, the recognition threshold was improved after using an olfactory term table over that when not using an olfactory term table”).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the analysis steps of Wei to include a difference between the detection threshold and the recognition threshold as taught by Akazawa to compare results with modified vs control groups to make determinations on potential improvements such as the improvement to the recognition threshold (Akazawa: Pg. 159)
Conclusion
/SHAWN CURTIS BROUGHTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/PATRICK FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791