DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the 371 application entering national stage from PCT/CN2022/090293 filed on 4/29/2022. Claims 1-30 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "…wherein the configuration is…" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "…wherein the configuration is…" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-10, 13, 15-16, 24-25, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0232415, hereinafter Kim) in view of Muruganathan et al. (US 2024/0098740, hereinafter Muruganathan).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to [Kim Figure 11 discloses a wireless system comprising a first and a second device (100 and 200) comprising one or more processors, one or more memories, transceivers, etc. A memory may be connected to a processor and may store a variety of information related to an operation of a processor. For example, a memory may store a software code including commands for performing all or part of processes controlled by a processor or for performing description, functions, procedures, proposals, methods and/or operation flow charts included in the present disclosure (Kim Figure 11, paragraphs 0324-0326). The UE may correspond to a first wireless device, the network side may correspond to a second wireless device (Kim paragraph 0320)]:
Receive radio resource control signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a physical uplink shared channel and a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) configuration, the PT-RS configuration indicating a number of PT-RS ports for transmitting one or more PT-RSs [Kim discloses that the maximum number of PTRS ports may be configured through RRC signaling (i.e. PTRS configuration indicating a number of PTRS ports). The number of PTRS ports may be determined according to the type of UL transmission mode (i.e. an indication of a transmission mode for an uplink shared channel) (Kim paragraph 0245)];
Receive downlink control information comprising an indication of a first association between a first PT-RS port and a first set of demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) ports and a second association between a second PT-RS port and a second set of DM-RS ports, the first association and the second association based at least in part on the indicated number of PT-RS ports [Kim discloses that the base station may indicate to the UE which DMRS port is associated with the PTRS through the PTRS-DMRS association of the DCI (see Kim tables 6 and 7, paragraph 0194). The association between the DMRS port and PTRS port correspond to the maximum number of PTRS ports as received through higher layer signaling (Kim paragraphs 0195 and 0196). Kim further discloses that he PTRS-DMRS association field may include information indicating an association relationship between a PTRS port and a DMRS port for each resource group. For example, the PTRS-DMRS related field may include first information related to the association between the PTRS port and the DMRS port for the first resource group and second information related to the association between the PTRS port and the DMRS port for the second resource group (Kim paragraph 0203). This indicates a first and a second association between PTRS and DMRS ports, and the association is based on the number of PTRS ports];
Determine a first time density associated with the first PT-RS port and a second time density associated with the second PT-RS port [Kim discloses that time/frequency density for the PTRS port is determined according to the MCS and the number of allocated RBs (Kim paragraph 0193). Kim further discloses that the PUSCH transmission may be applied toward two or more TRPs; and the number and density of ports for each of the N PTRSs may be configured differently (indicating a first and a second time density associated with the first and the second PTRS port) (Kim paragraph 0261. Also see Kim paragraphs 0236 and 0248)]; and
Transmit, via the physical uplink shared channel according to the transmission mode, the one or more PT-RSs corresponding to at least one of the first PT-RS port, or the second PT-RS port, or a combination thereof based at least in part on a UE capability for supporting multiple PT-RS time densities [Kim discloses the UE may use a non-codebook or codebook based method for the uplink PUSCH (i.e. PUSCH according to the transmission mode) (Kim paragraphs 0182-0184). Further, the UE may transmit the PTRS associated with a specific PUSCH DMRS port when transmitting the PUSCH; and the number of PTRS ports or time/frequency density, etc. may be determined according to various values such as an uplink rank, MCS, number of allocated RBs, etc. (Kim paragraph 0193). The PTRS ports are configured according to codebook or non-codebook transmission method for uplink transmission (Kim paragraphs 0196 and 0197)].
Although Kim discloses that the number of PTRS ports may be determined according to the type of UL transmission mode (Kim paragraph 0245); Kim does not expressly disclose the feature of receiving radio resource control signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a physical uplink shared channel.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Muruganathan discloses regarding two PUSCH transmission schemes – codebook based and non-codebook based (Muruganathan paragraph 0017. Codebook based PUSCH may be enabled based on a higher layer parameter set to codebook (Muruganathan paragraph 0019). In another example, for non-codebook based PUSCH, the maximum number of PT-RS ports in the uplink is configured to the UE via the PTRS-UplinkConfig information element in RRC (indicating RRC signaling with an indication of a transmission mode for a PUSCH) (Muruganathan paragraph 0045). The example in Muruganathan Figure 5 disclose that the UE may be configured with SRS resource sets with indication of non-codebook (Muruganathan paragraphs 0104-0106). Thus, Muruganathan discloses the feature of receiving RRC signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a PUSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Muruganathan to have the feature of receiving radio resource control signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a physical uplink shared channel and a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) configuration, the PT-RS configuration indicating a number of PT-RS ports for transmitting one or more PT-RSs. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve the performance of OTT services and improve data rate, latency, power consumption, etc. (Muruganathan paragraphs 0154 and 0065-0067).
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Muruganathan disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Kim and Muruganathan further disclose wherein the UE capability comprises a capability to support a single PT-RS time density, and the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine that the first time density is different from the second time density; and select one of the first PT-RS port or the second PT-RS port for transmitting the one or more PT-RSs [Kim discloses that the UE may transmit the PTRS associated with a specific PUSCH DMRS port when transmitting the PUSCH; and the number of PTRS ports or time/frequency density, etc. may be determined according to various values such as an uplink rank, MCS, number of allocated RBs, etc. (Kim paragraph 0193). Kim further discloses that the for TRP 1, the PTRS density may be determined according to the number of MCS/scheduled RBs used; and the number of PTRS ports/density/RE positions may be independently determined for each TRP (Kim paragraph 0248). This indicates that the first time density is different from the second time density; and a PTRS port is selected for transmitting the PTRS]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Muruganathan disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Kim and Muruganathan further disclose wherein the UE capability comprises a capability to support at least two PT-RS time densities, and the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine that the first time density is different from the second time density; and select the first PT-RS port and the second PT-RS port for transmitting the one or more PT-RSs [Kim discloses that the UE may transmit the PTRS associated with a specific PUSCH DMRS port when transmitting the PUSCH; and the number of PTRS ports or time/frequency density, etc. may be determined according to various values such as an uplink rank, MCS, number of allocated RBs, etc. (Kim paragraph 0193). Kim further discloses that the for TRP 1, the PTRS density may be determined according to the number of MCS/scheduled RBs used; and the number of PTRS ports/density/RE positions may be independently determined for each TRP (Kim paragraph 0248). In an example, for a PUSCH transmission method toward N TRPs, N PTRSs for each of the N TRPs may be associated with different DMRS ports. In addition, the number and density of ports for each of the N PTRSs may be configured differently depending on the TO in which each PTRS is transmitted (Kim paragraph 0261). This indicates that the first time density is different from the second time density; and the first and the second PTRS ports may be selected for transmitting the one or more PTRSs]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to [Kim Figure 11 discloses a wireless system comprising a first and a second device (100 and 200) comprising one or more processors, one or more memories, transceivers, etc. A memory may be connected to a processor and may store a variety of information related to an operation of a processor. For example, a memory may store a software code including commands for performing all or part of processes controlled by a processor or for performing description, functions, procedures, proposals, methods and/or operation flow charts included in the present disclosure (Kim Figure 11, paragraphs 0324-0326). The UE may correspond to a first wireless device, the network side may correspond to a second wireless device (Kim paragraph 0320)]:
Transmit radio resource control signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a physical uplink shared channel and a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) configuration, the PT-RS configuration indicating a number of PT-RS ports for transmitting one or more PT-RSs [Kim discloses that the maximum number of PTRS ports may be configured through RRC signaling (i.e. PTRS configuration indicating a number of PTRS ports). The number of PTRS ports may be determined according to the type of UL transmission mode (i.e. an indication of a transmission mode for an uplink shared channel) (Kim paragraph 0245)];
Transmit downlink control information comprising an indication of a first association between a first PT-RS port and a first set of DM-RS ports and a second association between a second PT-RS port and a second set of demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) ports, the first association and the second association based at least in part on the indicated number of PT-RS ports [Kim discloses that the base station may indicate to the UE which DMRS port is associated with the PTRS through the PTRS-DMRS association of the DCI (see Kim tables 6 and 7, paragraph 0194). The association between the DMRS port and PTRS port correspond to the maximum number of PTRS ports as received through higher layer signaling (Kim paragraphs 0195 and 0196). Kim further discloses that he PTRS-DMRS association field may include information indicating an association relationship between a PTRS port and a DMRS port for each resource group. For example, the PTRS-DMRS related field may include first information related to the association between the PTRS port and the DMRS port for the first resource group and second information related to the association between the PTRS port and the DMRS port for the second resource group (Kim paragraph 0203). This indicates a first and a second association between PTRS and DMRS ports, and the association is based on the number of PTRS ports]; and
Receive, via the physical uplink shared channel according to the transmission mode, the one or more PT-RSs corresponding to at least one of the first PT-RS port, or the second PT-RS port, or a combination thereof based at least in part on a UE capability for supporting multiple PT-RS time densities [Kim discloses the UE may use a non-codebook or codebook based method for the uplink PUSCH (i.e. PUSCH according to the transmission mode) (Kim paragraphs 0182-0184). Further, the UE may transmit the PTRS associated with a specific PUSCH DMRS port when transmitting the PUSCH; and the number of PTRS ports or time/frequency density, etc. may be determined according to various values such as an uplink rank, MCS, number of allocated RBs, etc. (Kim paragraph 0193). The PTRS ports are configured according to codebook or non-codebook transmission method for uplink transmission (Kim paragraphs 0196 and 0197)].
Although Kim discloses that the number of PTRS ports may be determined according to the type of UL transmission mode (Kim paragraph 0245); Kim does not expressly disclose the feature of transmitting radio resource control signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a physical uplink shared channel.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Muruganathan discloses regarding two PUSCH transmission schemes – codebook based and non-codebook based (Muruganathan paragraph 0017. Codebook based PUSCH may be enabled based on a higher layer parameter set to codebook (Muruganathan paragraph 0019). In another example, for non-codebook based PUSCH, the maximum number of PT-RS ports in the uplink is configured to the UE via the PTRS-UplinkConfig information element in RRC (indicating RRC signaling with an indication of a transmission mode for a PUSCH) (Muruganathan paragraph 0045). The example in Muruganathan Figure 5 disclose that the UE may be configured with SRS resource sets with indication of non-codebook (Muruganathan paragraphs 0104-0106). Thus, Muruganathan discloses the feature of transmitting RRC signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a PUSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Muruganathan to have the feature of transmitting radio resource control signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a physical uplink shared channel and a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) configuration, the PT-RS configuration indicating a number of PT-RS ports for transmitting one or more PT-RSs. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve the performance of OTT services and improve data rate, latency, power consumption, etc. (Muruganathan paragraphs 0154 and 0065-0067).
Regarding claim 15, Kim and Muruganathan disclose the apparatus of claim 13. Kim and Muruganathan further disclose wherein the configuration is transmitted via the radio resource control signaling [Kim discloses that the maximum number of PTRS ports may be configured through RRC signaling (Kim paragraph 0245)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 13.
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving radio resource control signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a physical uplink shared channel and a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) configuration, the PT-RS configuration indicating a number of PT-RS ports for transmitting one or more PT-RSs [Kim discloses that the maximum number of PTRS ports may be configured through RRC signaling (i.e. PTRS configuration indicating a number of PTRS ports). The number of PTRS ports may be determined according to the type of UL transmission mode (i.e. an indication of a transmission mode for an uplink shared channel) (Kim paragraph 0245)];
Receiving downlink control information comprising an indication of a first association between a first PT-RS port and a first set of demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) ports and a second association between a second PT-RS port and a second set of DM-RS ports, the first association and the second association based at least in part on the indicated number of PT-RS ports [Kim discloses that the base station may indicate to the UE which DMRS port is associated with the PTRS through the PTRS-DMRS association of the DCI (see Kim tables 6 and 7, paragraph 0194). The association between the DMRS port and PTRS port correspond to the maximum number of PTRS ports as received through higher layer signaling (Kim paragraphs 0195 and 0196). Kim further discloses that he PTRS-DMRS association field may include information indicating an association relationship between a PTRS port and a DMRS port for each resource group. For example, the PTRS-DMRS related field may include first information related to the association between the PTRS port and the DMRS port for the first resource group and second information related to the association between the PTRS port and the DMRS port for the second resource group (Kim paragraph 0203). This indicates a first and a second association between PTRS and DMRS ports, and the association is based on the number of PTRS ports];
Determining a first time density associated with the first PT-RS port and a second time density associated with the second PT-RS port [Kim discloses that time/frequency density for the PTRS port is determined according to the MCS and the number of allocated RBs (Kim paragraph 0193). Kim further discloses that the PUSCH transmission may be applied toward two or more TRPs; and the number and density of ports for each of the N PTRSs may be configured differently (indicating a first and a second time density associated with the first and the second PTRS port) (Kim paragraph 0261. Also see Kim paragraphs 0236 and 0248)]; and
Transmitting, via the physical uplink shared channel according to the transmission mode, the one or more PT-RSs corresponding to at least one of the first PT-RS port, or the second PT-RS port, or a combination thereof based at least in part on a UE capability for supporting multiple PT-RS time densities [Kim discloses the UE may use a non-codebook or codebook based method for the uplink PUSCH (i.e. PUSCH according to the transmission mode) (Kim paragraphs 0182-0184). Further, the UE may transmit the PTRS associated with a specific PUSCH DMRS port when transmitting the PUSCH; and the number of PTRS ports or time/frequency density, etc. may be determined according to various values such as an uplink rank, MCS, number of allocated RBs, etc. (Kim paragraph 0193). The PTRS ports are configured according to codebook or non-codebook transmission method for uplink transmission (Kim paragraphs 0196 and 0197)].
Although Kim discloses that the number of PTRS ports may be determined according to the type of UL transmission mode (Kim paragraph 0245); Kim does not expressly disclose the feature of receiving radio resource control signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a physical uplink shared channel.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Muruganathan discloses regarding two PUSCH transmission schemes – codebook based and non-codebook based (Muruganathan paragraph 0017. Codebook based PUSCH may be enabled based on a higher layer parameter set to codebook (Muruganathan paragraph 0019). In another example, for non-codebook based PUSCH, the maximum number of PT-RS ports in the uplink is configured to the UE via the PTRS-UplinkConfig information element in RRC (indicating RRC signaling with an indication of a transmission mode for a PUSCH) (Muruganathan paragraph 0045). The example in Muruganathan Figure 5 disclose that the UE may be configured with SRS resource sets with indication of non-codebook (Muruganathan paragraphs 0104-0106). Thus, Muruganathan discloses the feature of receiving RRC signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a PUSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Muruganathan to have the feature of receiving radio resource control signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a physical uplink shared channel and a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) configuration, the PT-RS configuration indicating a number of PT-RS ports for transmitting one or more PT-RSs. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve the performance of OTT services and improve data rate, latency, power consumption, etc. (Muruganathan paragraphs 0154 and 0065-0067).
Regarding claim 24, Kim and Muruganathan disclose the method of claim 16. Kim and Muruganathan further disclose wherein the UE capability comprises a capability to support a single PT-RS time density, the method further comprising: determining that the first time density is different from the second time density; and selecting one of the first PT-RS port or the second PT-RS port for transmitting the one or more PT-RSs [Kim discloses that the UE may transmit the PTRS associated with a specific PUSCH DMRS port when transmitting the PUSCH; and the number of PTRS ports or time/frequency density, etc. may be determined according to various values such as an uplink rank, MCS, number of allocated RBs, etc. (Kim paragraph 0193). The PTRS ports are configured according to codebook or non-codebook transmission method for uplink transmission (Kim paragraphs 0196 and 0197). Kim further discloses that the for TRP 1, the PTRS density may be determined according to the number of MCS/scheduled RBs used; and the number of PTRS ports/density/RE positions may be independently determined for each TRP (Kim paragraph 0248). This indicates that the first time density is different from the second time density; and a PTRS port is selected for transmitting the PTRS]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 25, Kim and Muruganathan disclose the method of claim 16. Kim and Muruganathan further disclose wherein the UE capability comprises a capability to support at least two PT-RS time densities, the method further comprising: determining that the first time density is different from the second time density; and selecting the first PT-RS port and the second PT-RS port for transmitting the one or more PT-RSs [Kim discloses that the UE may transmit the PTRS associated with a specific PUSCH DMRS port when transmitting the PUSCH; and the number of PTRS ports or time/frequency density, etc. may be determined according to various values such as an uplink rank, MCS, number of allocated RBs, etc. (Kim paragraph 0193). Kim further discloses that the for TRP 1, the PTRS density may be determined according to the number of MCS/scheduled RBs used; and the number of PTRS ports/density/RE positions may be independently determined for each TRP (Kim paragraph 0248). In an example, for a PUSCH transmission method toward N TRPs, N PTRSs for each of the N TRPs may be associated with different DMRS ports. In addition, the number and density of ports for each of the N PTRSs may be configured differently depending on the TO in which each PTRS is transmitted (Kim paragraph 0261). This indicates that the first time density is different from the second time density; and the first and the second PTRS ports may be selected for transmitting the one or more PTRSs]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 28, Kim discloses a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: transmitting radio resource control signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a physical uplink shared channel and a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) configuration, the PT-RS configuration indicating a number of PT-RS ports for transmitting one or more PT-RSs [Kim discloses that the maximum number of PTRS ports may be configured through RRC signaling (i.e. PTRS configuration indicating a number of PTRS ports). The number of PTRS ports may be determined according to the type of UL transmission mode (i.e. an indication of a transmission mode for an uplink shared channel) (Kim paragraph 0245)];
Transmitting downlink control information comprising an indication of a first association between a first PT-RS port and a first set of DM-RS ports and a second association between a second PT-RS port and a second set of demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) ports, the first association and the second association based at least in part on the indicated number of PT-RS ports [Kim discloses that the base station may indicate to the UE which DMRS port is associated with the PTRS through the PTRS-DMRS association of the DCI (see Kim tables 6 and 7, paragraph 0194). The association between the DMRS port and PTRS port correspond to the maximum number of PTRS ports as received through higher layer signaling (Kim paragraphs 0195 and 0196). Kim further discloses that he PTRS-DMRS association field may include information indicating an association relationship between a PTRS port and a DMRS port for each resource group. For example, the PTRS-DMRS related field may include first information related to the association between the PTRS port and the DMRS port for the first resource group and second information related to the association between the PTRS port and the DMRS port for the second resource group (Kim paragraph 0203). This indicates a first and a second association between PTRS and DMRS ports, and the association is based on the number of PTRS ports]; and
Receiving, via the physical uplink shared channel according to the transmission mode, the one or more PT-RSs corresponding to at least one of the first PT-RS port, or the second PT-RS port, or a combination thereof based at least in part on a UE capability for supporting multiple PT-RS time densities [Kim discloses the UE may use a non-codebook or codebook based method for the uplink PUSCH (i.e. PUSCH according to the transmission mode) (Kim paragraphs 0182-0184). Further, the UE may transmit the PTRS associated with a specific PUSCH DMRS port when transmitting the PUSCH; and the number of PTRS ports or time/frequency density, etc. may be determined according to various values such as an uplink rank, MCS, number of allocated RBs, etc. (Kim paragraph 0193). The PTRS ports are configured according to codebook or non-codebook transmission method for uplink transmission (Kim paragraphs 0196 and 0197)].
Although Kim discloses that the number of PTRS ports may be determined according to the type of UL transmission mode (Kim paragraph 0245); Kim does not expressly disclose the feature of transmitting radio resource control signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a physical uplink shared channel.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Muruganathan discloses regarding two PUSCH transmission schemes – codebook based and non-codebook based (Muruganathan paragraph 0017. Codebook based PUSCH may be enabled based on a higher layer parameter set to codebook (Muruganathan paragraph 0019). In another example, for non-codebook based PUSCH, the maximum number of PT-RS ports in the uplink is configured to the UE via the PTRS-UplinkConfig information element in RRC (indicating RRC signaling with an indication of a transmission mode for a PUSCH) (Muruganathan paragraph 0045). The example in Muruganathan Figure 5 disclose that the UE may be configured with SRS resource sets with indication of non-codebook (Muruganathan paragraphs 0104-0106). Thus, Muruganathan discloses the feature of transmitting RRC signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a PUSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Muruganathan to have the feature of transmitting radio resource control signaling comprising an indication of a transmission mode for a physical uplink shared channel and a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) configuration, the PT-RS configuration indicating a number of PT-RS ports for transmitting one or more PT-RSs. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve the performance of OTT services and improve data rate, latency, power consumption, etc. (Muruganathan paragraphs 0154 and 0065-0067).
Regarding claim 30, Kim and Muruganathan disclose the method of claim 28. Kim and Muruganathan further disclose wherein the configuration is transmitted via the radio resource control signaling [Kim discloses that the maximum number of PTRS ports may be configured through RRC signaling (Kim paragraph 0245)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 28.
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0035992, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 2, Kim and Muruganathan disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Kim and Muruganathan do not expressly disclose wherein the downlink control information schedules a first codeword having a first modulation and coding scheme and associated with the first set of DM-RS ports and the downlink control information schedules a second codeword having a second modulation and coding scheme and associated with the second set of DM-RS ports, and the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine that the first modulation and coding scheme is associated with a first range of values and the second modulation and coding scheme is associated with a second range of values different from the first range of values.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhang discloses that selection of codeword to layer mapping may be configured by RRC or DCI signaling (Zhang paragraphs 0059 and 0060). Zhang discloses regarding determining time domain density for PTRSs transmitted by N-ports and selecting associated DMRS port when M codewords/MCS are indicated (Zhang paragraph 0065). For each PTRS port, the PTRS time domain density may be determined by an MCS for the layer for the associated DMRS port. In another example, a first PTRS port is mapped to a first set of one or more codewords/MCSs and a second PTRS port is mapped to a second set of one or more codewords/MCSs (Zhang paragraphs 0072-0074); also indicating that the first set of codewords/MCSs and the second set of codewords/MCSs are different.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim, Muruganathan and Zhang to have the features of wherein the downlink control information schedules a first codeword having a first modulation and coding scheme and associated with the first set of DM-RS ports and the downlink control information schedules a second codeword having a second modulation and coding scheme and associated with the second set of DM-RS ports, and the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine that the first modulation and coding scheme is associated with a first range of values and the second modulation and coding scheme is associated with a second range of values different from the first range of values. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve system performance by using more than one codeword and mapping different layers to different codewords (Zhang paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 17, Kim and Muruganathan disclose the method of claim 16. Kim and Muruganathan do not expressly disclose wherein the downlink control information schedules a first codeword having a first modulation and coding scheme and associated with the first set of DM-RS ports and the downlink control information schedules a second codeword having a second modulation and coding scheme and associated with the second set of DM-RS ports, the method further comprising: determining that the first modulation and coding scheme is associated with a first range of values and the second modulation and coding scheme is associated with a second range of values different from the first range of values.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhang discloses that selection of codeword to layer mapping may be configured by RRC or DCI signaling (Zhang paragraphs 0059 and 0060). Zhang discloses regarding determining time domain density for PTRSs transmitted by N-ports and selecting associated DMRS port when M codewords/MCS are indicated (Zhang paragraph 0065). For each PTRS port, the PTRS time domain density may be determined by an MCS for the layer for the associated DMRS port. In another example, a first PTRS port is mapped to a first set of one or more codewords/MCSs and a second PTRS port is mapped to a second set of one or more codewords/MCSs (Zhang paragraphs 0072-0074); also indicating that the first set of codewords/MCSs and the second set of codewords/MCSs are different.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim, Muruganathan and Zhang to have the features of wherein the downlink control information schedules a first codeword having a first modulation and coding scheme and associated with the first set of DM-RS ports and the downlink control information schedules a second codeword having a second modulation and coding scheme and associated with the second set of DM-RS ports, the method further comprising: determining that the first modulation and coding scheme is associated with a first range of values and the second modulation and coding scheme is associated with a second range of values different from the first range of values. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve system performance by using more than one codeword and mapping different layers to different codewords (Zhang paragraph 0034).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 11-12, 14, 18-23, 26-27 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3 and 18 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of determining a reference modulation and coding scheme based at least in part on the first modulation and coding scheme being associated with the first range of values different from the second range of values, wherein transmitting the one or more PT-RSs is based at least in part on the reference modulation and coding scheme; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11 and 26 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of transmitting an indication of the UE capability for supporting multiple PT-RS time densities; and receiving a configuration for supporting multiple PT-RS time densities, wherein transmitting the one or more PT-RSs corresponding to at least one of the first PT-RS port, or the second PT-RS port, or a combination thereof is based at least in part on the configuration; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14 and 29 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of receiving an indication of the UE capability for supporting multiple PT-RS time densities; and transmitting a configuration for supporting multiple PT-RS time densities, wherein receiving the one or more PT-RSs corresponding to at least one of the first PT- RS port, or the second PT-RS port, or a combination thereof is based at least in part on the configuration; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414