DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/843,820 filed on September 4, 2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
The amended claims submitted October 2, 2026, in response to the office action mailed August 4, 2026 are under examination. Claims 30, 33-42 and 44-49 are pending. Claims 1-29, 31-32 and 43 are cancelled.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The 35 USC §112 rejections of the previous office action have been overcome by the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30, 33-34, 36-39, 42 and 44-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ijzerman et al. US 20080204872 A1 (hereafter Ijzerman) in view of Fattal WO 2020219400 A1 (hereafter Fattal) and Alpaslan et al. US 2013/0141895 A1 (hereafter Alpaslan).
Regarding claim 30, Ijzerman teaches “A 2D/multiview (e.g. paragraph [0035]: “in the device of FIG. 5, a pixel layout for a 3 view system is shown where groups of three subsequent rows 501 502, 503 and 506-508 of sub-pixels are used for the creation of 3D information together with single rows 504 and 509 which are used for presentation of 2D information” and paragraph [0019]: “an N view multi-view display.” See also paragraph [0011]: “the display can be used in two modes, a 2D-mode and a 3D-mode, with an arbitrary number of three dimensional windows and fully two dimensional with improved resolution.”) switchable lenticular (e.g. paragraph [0030]: “switchability of the lenticular means 416”) display (display devices 104, 200, 301 see paragraph [0028]) comprising:
a display panel (at least light source 302 and LC display 303) configured to provide pixels (e.g. paragraph [0028]: “an LC display 303 having a plurality of pixels”) of a composite image comprising both multiview image content and two-dimensional (2D) image content (e.g. paragraph [0018]: “display documents containing both 2D text and 3D images.” also paragraph [0035]: “Specifically, in the device of FIG. 5, a pixel layout for a 3 view system is shown where groups of three subsequent rows 501 502, 503 and 506-508 of sub-pixels are used for the creation of 3D information together with single rows 504 and 509 which are used for presentation of 2D information.” See also paragraph [0011]: “the display can be used in two modes, a 2D-mode and a 3D-mode, with an arbitrary number of three dimensional windows and fully two dimensional with improved resolution.”);
a switchable lenticular (e.g. paragraph [0030]: “switchability of the lenticular means 416”) lens array (e.g. paragraph [0008] or [0038]: “lenticular means comprising an array of birefringent lenticular elements”) configured to form the composite image from the pixels (paragraphs [0017]-[0018]: “By selecting the sub-pixels, it is possible to select the mode of the display and, accordingly, an arbitrary number of 2D and 3D windows can be produced simultaneously. For instance, it will be possible to display documents containing both 2D text and 3D images.” See also paragraph [0011]: “the display can be used in two modes, a 2D-mode and a 3D-mode, with an arbitrary number of three dimensional windows and fully two dimensional with improved resolution.”), the switchable lenticular lens array having switchable lenticular lenses that are switchable between an ON state (paragraphs [0030]-[0033]: “a lens effect is caused when voltage is applied”) to provide the multiview image content from corresponding pixels of the composite image (see paragraphs [0030]-[0033] the lack of a lensing effect in Fig. 4b creates the two-dimensional image, thus Fig. 4a corresponds to the multiview image content) and an OFF state (paragraph [0033]: “a lens effect is… cancelled when no voltage is applied.”) to provide the 2D image content (paragraph [0032]: “In FIG. 4b, … the birefringent lens effect of the lenses 408 is cancelled … and, hence, full resolution of the display in the two dimensional mode is achieved.” See also paragraph [0011]: “the display can be used in two modes, a 2D-mode and a 3D-mode, with an arbitrary number of three dimensional windows and fully two dimensional with improved resolution.”) from corresponding pixels of the composite image (see paragraphs [0017]-[0018], [0035] and Fig. 5); and
a lens controller (paragraph [0026]: “a processor 102, memory 103, a display device 104, a control unit 105 as well as an input/output unit 106”) configured to provide the composite image by:
time-multiplexing the ON state and the OFF state of the switchable lenticular lenses (see paragraph [0011]: “the display can be used in two modes, a 2D-mode and a 3D-mode, with an arbitrary number of three dimensional windows and fully two dimensional with improved resolution.” The switching between operation in 2D-mode and 3-D mode is temporal mixing in that the two modes can be operated at different times.) … the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image (e.g. paragraph [0035]: “Specifically, in the device of FIG. 5, a pixel layout for a 3 view system is shown where groups of three subsequent rows 501 502, 503 and 506-508 of sub-pixels are used for the creation of 3D information together with single rows 504 and 509 which are used for presentation of 2D information.”).”
However, Ijzerman fails to explicitly teach “a rate that is higher than a response rate of a human eye to superimpose the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image.” Note however, that the switchable lenses are of a LC material see paragraphs [0030]-[0033], thus are configured to be switched at a rate faster than the flicker-fusion rate, such that the 2D and 3D content are superimposed.
Fattal teaches “A 2D/multiview switchable… display (paragraph [0022]: “According to various embodiments, the multiview mode of a time- multiplexed multiview display may provide so-called‘glasses-free’ or autostereoscopic images, while the 2D mode may facilitate presenting of 2D information or content at a relatively higher native resolution” and paragraph [0027]: “the term‘multiview’ explicitly includes more than two different views”) comprising:
a display panel (light valves 106) configured to provide pixels of a composite image comprising both multiview image content and two-dimensional (2D) image content (see Fig. 3B and paragraphs [0074]-[0075])…
a … controller (mode controller 240) configured to provide the composite image by time-multiplexing (paragraph [0096]: “[0096] In particular, the mode controller 240 may time-multiplex the 2D and multiview modes of the broad-angle backlight 210 and the multiview backlight 220 and simultaneously control modulation of the emitted light by the light valve array to produce the composite image”)… at a rate that is higher than a response rate of a human eye to superimpose the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image (paragraph [0097]: “the two sets of images may be time-interlaced in connection with operating light valves of the light valve array 230 to display respective 2D or multiview images, so that it appears as if both images are being displayed simultaneously.” That it appears to the viewer as if both images are being displayed simultaneously necessitates that the rate of the time-multiplexing is higher than the response rate of the viewer.).”
Fattal further teaches (paragraph [0022]): “According to various embodiments, the multiview mode of a time- multiplexed multiview display may provide so-called‘glasses-free’ or autostereoscopic images, while the 2D mode may facilitate presenting of 2D information or content at a relatively higher native resolution than is available in the multiview mode, especially where the 2D information or content that does not include or benefit from a third dimension. As such, the composite image provided by time-multiplexing the 2D and multiview modes may provide both high resolution 2D and somewhat lower resolution, multiview or 3D content simultaneously in the same image or on the same display. Uses of time-multiplexed backlighting in time-multiplexed multiview displays described herein include, but are not limited to, mobile telephones (e.g., smart phones), watches, tablet computes, mobile computers (e.g., laptop computers), personal computers and computer monitors, automobile display consoles, camera displays, and various other mobile as well as substantially non-mobile display applications and devices.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to time-multiplex the 2D and multiview states at a rate high enough to appear simultaneous by the viewer as taught by Fattal in the device of Ijzerman for the purpose of providing both high resolution 2D and somewhat lower resolution, multiview or 3D content simultaneously in the same image or on the same display with application to mobile telephones (e.g., smart phones), watches, tablet computes, mobile computers (e.g., laptop computers), personal computers and computer monitors, automobile display consoles, camera displays, and various other devices as taught by Fattal (paragraph [0022]).
However, Ijzerman also fails to teach “varying a duty cycle of the time-multiplexing to vary relative intensities of the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image.”
Alpaslan teaches a 2D/3D display (paragraph [0044]: “It is also possible for the light modulator of this invention to be switched from 2D to 3D display modes”) comprising:
a display panel (emissive QPI display device see paragraphs [0027]-[0029]) configured to provide pixels (Fig. 4, paragraphs [0029] and [0042]) of a composite image comprising both [3D] image content and two-dimensional (2D) image content (paragraph [0044]: “It is also possible for the light modulator of this invention to be switched from 2D to 3D display modes”)…
and a … controller (paragraph [0042] “FIG. 10 illustrates exemplary embodiment of the data processing block diagram of the spatio-optical directional light modulator of this invention.”) configured to provide … the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image (paragraph [0044]: “It is also possible for the light modulator of this invention to be switched from 2D to 3D display modes”); and
varying a duty cycle … to vary relative intensities of the [3D] image content and the 2D image content within the composite image (paragraph [0043]: “The light intensity and color modulation may be, by way of example, pulse width modulation of the on/off times of the multi color pixels to control the average intensity of the light and to control the intensity of each color component making up the resulting color”. Thus the intensities within any displayed image are a function of the pulse width modulation on/off duty cycles. Therefor the relative intensities of the 3D and 2D content are also a function of the duty-cycles thereof.).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ pulse-width modulation as taught by Alpaslan in the device of the Ijzerman – Fattal combination in order to control the average intensity of the light and to control the intensity of each color component making up the resulting color as taught by Alpaslan (paragraph [0043]).
However, given that Alpaslan does not explicitly teach time-multiplexing of the 2D and 3D modes at a rate high enough to appear simultaneous, it cannot be said that Alpaslan teaches “varying a duty cycle of the time-multiplexing to vary relative intensities of the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image.”
However, it is a well-established proposition that in certain instances it would have been obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. See MPEP §2143(I)(C).
To reject a claim based on this rationale, Office personnel must resolve the Graham factual inquiries. Then, Office personnel must articulate the following:
(1) a finding that the prior art contained a "base" device (method, or product) upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an "improvement;"
(2) a finding that the prior art contained a "comparable" device (method, or product that is not the same as the base device) that has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention;
(3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known "improvement" technique in the same way to the "base" device (method, or product) and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; and
(4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
In the instant case, (1) Ijzerman teaches a base device that presents both 2D and multiview images, using LC based lenticular lenses that are capable of high switching speeds, see paragraphs [0030]-[0033] (2) Alpaslan teaches a comparable device where the relative average intensities from frame to frame and the relative intensities within any frame are determined by pulse-width modulation control of the on/off duty cycle (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would be familiar with the concept of pulse-width modulation such that they could have applied this known improvement to the relative duty cycles of the superimposed 2D and multiview images with the predictable result of being able to control their relative intensities (4) the other Graham factual inquiries have been outlined above.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known improvement of varying the relative duty-cycles to obtain the desired relative intensities as evidenced by Alpaslan to the improve the similar device of the Ijzerman – Fattal combination in the same way and the results thereof would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 33, the Ijzerman - Fattal - Alpaslan combination teaches “The 2D/multiview switchable lenticular display of claim 30,” and Ijzerman further teaches “wherein the display panel includes a backlight (light source 201) configured to emit light (paragraph [0027]: “The light from the light source 201”) and an array of light valves (a matrix LC display 202) configured to modulate the light emitted by the backlight to provide the pixels (paragraph [0027]: “The light from the light source 201 that illuminates the LC display 202 is modulated in the individual pixels 205”).”
Regarding claim 34, the Ijzerman - Fattal - Alpaslan combination teaches “The 2D/multiview switchable lenticular display of claim 30,” and Ijzerman further teaches “wherein the switchable lenticular lens array comprises:
a first material layer having a fixed refractive index and comprising fixed lenses of the switchable lenticular lens array (e.g. paragraph [0028]: “the remainder of the space between the glass plates 308 and 309 is filled with a plastic material 311” and paragraph [0030]: “A negative lens 408 of plastic or any other suitable material is further situated between the glass plates 403 and 404.” The plastic is not being electrically controlled and thus has a fixed refractive index.); and
a second material layer (e.g. paragraph [0028]: “The lenticular elements 307 and 317 comprise an LC material 310” and paragraph [0030]: “the space resulting between the lens 408 and the first glass plate 403 is filled with a liquid crystal (LC) material 410.”) having an electrically controllable refractive index (See paragraph [0012]: “Preferably, the lenticular means comprise electro-optic material with refractive index switchable by selective application of an electrical potential difference” and paragraphs [0031]-[0033]: “a birefringent lens effect.. the birefringent lens effect of the lenses 408 is cancelled… a lens effect is caused when voltage is applied and cancelled when no voltage is applied”. The phenomenon of birefringence requires differing refractive indices. Thus an electrically controllable birefringent lens effect involves an electrically controllable refractive index as explained in paragraph [0012].), the second material layer contacting the first material layer and filling in shapes of the fixed lenses of the switchable lenticular lens array (see Figs. 3 and 4 and paragraphs [0028] and [0030] “filled”), the electrically controllable refractive index having a first controllable state that matches the fixed refractive index (paragraph [0032]: “the birefringent lens effect of the lenses 408 is cancelled as is indicated by the unrefracted light beams 414 allowing any light in any polarization state to effectively pass through” that light is not refracted by the combination of LC material 310/410 and plastic 311/408 requires that the refractive indices thereof match or that the difference therebetween is negligible, otherwise lensing would occur.) and a second controllable state that differs from the fixed refractive index (paragraphs [0031]-[0033]: “a birefringent lens effect.. a lens effect is caused when voltage is applied”).”
Regarding claim 36, the Ijzerman - Fattal - Alpaslan combination teaches “The 2D/multiview switchable lenticular display of claim 34,” and Ijzerman further teaches “wherein:
the second material layer is disposed between the first material layer and the display panel (the second material layer 310/410 is disposed between the first material layer 311/408 and the display panel 303/403); and
a fixed lens of the first material layer is a negative lens (see Figs. 3 and 4 and paragraph [0030]: “A negative lens 408 of plastic”).”
Regarding claim 37, the Ijzerman - Fattal - Alpaslan combination teaches “The 2D/multiview switchable lenticular display of claim 34,” and Ijzerman further teaches “wherein the switchable lenticular lens array includes electrodes (405,406 paragraph [0031]: “The first 405 and second 406 conductive layers act as electrodes”) configured to deliver at least one of a voltage or a current (see paragraphs [0030]-[0033] and V in Figs. 4a,4b “voltage is applied and cancelled when no voltage is applied.”) to switch switchable lenticular lenses of the switchable lenticular lens array (paragraphs [0030]-[0033]: “a lens effect is caused when voltage is applied and cancelled when no voltage is applied”) independently of other switchable lenticular lenses of the switchable lenticular lens array (paragraph [0017]: “By selecting the sub-pixels, it is possible to select the mode of the display and, accordingly, an arbitrary number of 2D and 3D windows can be produced simultaneously.” paragraph [0027]: “The light from each pixel 205 then enters the lenticular elements 204 where its direction is changed or remains unchanged according to the orientation of the birefringent material in the lenticular elements.” Thus the switchability of the lenses must be independent so that the 2D/3D windows can be arbitrarily arranged. See also paragraph [0011]: “the birefringent lenticular elements are switchable”, i.e. the elements themselves are independently switchable.).”
Regarding claim 38, the Ijzerman - Fattal - Alpaslan combination teaches “The 2D/multiview switchable lenticular display of claim 34,” and Ijzerman further teaches “wherein the switchable lenticular lens array includes electrodes (405,406 paragraph [0031]: “The first 405 and second 406 conductive layers act as electrodes”)configured to deliver at least one of a voltage or a current (see paragraphs [0030]-[0033] and V in Figs. 4a,4b “voltage is applied and cancelled when no voltage is applied.”) to switch the switchable lenticular lenses (paragraphs [0030]-[0033]: “a lens effect is caused when voltage is applied and cancelled when no voltage is applied”) in a region of the switchable lenticular lens array corresponding to a zone of the composite image independent of switchable lenticular lenses in regions of the switchable lenticular lens array corresponding to other zones of the composite image (See paragraph [0017]: “By selecting the sub-pixels, it is possible to select the mode of the display and, accordingly, an arbitrary number of 2D and 3D windows can be produced simultaneously”; paragraph [0027]: “The light from each pixel 205 then enters the lenticular elements 204 where its direction is changed or remains unchanged according to the orientation of the birefringent material in the lenticular elements.” and paragraph [0035] “a pixel layout for a 3 view system is shown where groups of three subsequent rows 501 502, 503 and 506-508 of sub-pixels are used for the creation of 3D information together with single rows 504 and 509 which are used for presentation of 2D information”. In the case of 2D/3D windows that are arbitrarily arranged, the lenses in the 2D windows are switchable independently from the lenses in the 3D windows, in the sense that they take opposite states thereof. In the case of Fig. 5, the lenses corresponding to the 501-503 and 506-508 rows are switched independently from the 504,509 rows, in the sense that they take opposite states thereof. Not being independent is taken as necessitating being in the same state at the same time. See also paragraph [0011]: “the birefringent lenticular elements are switchable”, i.e. the elements themselves are independently switchable.).”
Regarding claim 39, the Ijzerman - Fattal - Alpaslan combination teaches “The 2D/multiview switchable lenticular display of claim 34,” and Ijzerman further teaches “wherein the lens controller (paragraph [0026]: “a processor 102, memory 103, a display device 104, a control unit 105 as well as an input/output unit 106”) is configured to:
control the electrically controllable refractive index of the second material layer to have a refractive index that differs from the fixed refractive index to provide the ON state (paragraphs [0031]-[0033]: “a birefringent lens effect.. a lens effect is caused when voltage is applied” see also paragraph [0012]); and
control the electrically controllable refractive index of the second material layer to have a refractive index that matches the fixed refractive index to provide the OFF state (paragraph [0032]: “the birefringent lens effect of the lenses 408 is cancelled as is indicated by the unrefracted light beams 414 allowing any light in any polarization state to effectively pass through” that light is not refracted by the combination of LC material 310/410 and plastic 311/408 requires that the refractive indices thereof match or that the difference therebetween is negligible, otherwise lensing would occur.).”
Regarding claim 42, Ijzerman teaches “A method of operating (see steps below) a 2D/multiview (e.g. paragraph [0035]: “in the device of FIG. 5, a pixel layout for a 3 view system is shown where groups of three subsequent rows 501 502, 503 and 506-508 of sub-pixels are used for the creation of 3D information together with single rows 504 and 509 which are used for presentation of 2D information” and paragraph [0019]: “an N view multi-view display.” See also paragraph [0011]: “the display can be used in two modes, a 2D-mode and a 3D-mode, with an arbitrary number of three dimensional windows and fully two dimensional with improved resolution.”) switchable lenticular (e.g. paragraph [0030]: “switchability of the lenticular means 416”) display (display devices 104, 200, 301 see paragraph [0028]), the method comprising:
providing pixels (e.g. paragraph [0028]: “an LC display 303 having a plurality of pixels”) of a composite image (e.g. paragraph [0018]: “display documents containing both 2D text and 3D images.”) using a display panel (at least light source 302 and LC display 303 see Fig. 5), the composite image comprising both multiview image content and two-dimensional (2D) image content (e.g. paragraph [0035]: “Specifically, in the device of FIG. 5, a pixel layout for a 3 view system is shown where groups of three subsequent rows 501 502, 503 and 506-508 of sub-pixels are used for the creation of 3D information together with single rows 504 and 509 which are used for presentation of 2D information.” See also paragraph [0011]: “the display can be used in two modes, a 2D-mode and a 3D-mode, with an arbitrary number of three dimensional windows and fully two dimensional with improved resolution.”); and
using a switchable lenticular (e.g. paragraph [0030]: “switchability of the lenticular means 416”) lens array (e.g. paragraph [0008] or [0038]: “lenticular means comprising an array of birefringent lenticular elements”) to form the composite image from the pixels (paragraphs [0017]-[0018]: “By selecting the sub-pixels, it is possible to select the mode of the display and, accordingly, an arbitrary number of 2D and 3D windows can be produced simultaneously. For instance, it will be possible to display documents containing both 2D text and 3D images.”),
switchable lenticular lenses of the switchable lenticular lens array being switchable between an ON state (paragraphs [0030]-[0033]: “a lens effect is caused when voltage is applied”) to provide the multiview image content from corresponding pixels of the composite image (see paragraphs [0030]-[0033] the lack of a lensing effect in Fig. 4b creates the two-dimensional image, thus Fig. 4a corresponds to the multiview image content) and an OFF state (paragraph [0033]: “a lens effect is… cancelled when no voltage is applied.”) to provide the 2D image content (paragraph [0032]: “In FIG. 4b, … the birefringent lens effect of the lenses 408 is cancelled … and, hence, full resolution of the display in the two dimensional mode is achieved.”) from corresponding pixels of the composite image (see paragraphs [0017]-[0018], [0035] and Fig. 5);
time-multiplexing the ON state and the OFF state of the switchable lenticular lenses (see paragraph [0011]: “the display can be used in two modes, a 2D-mode and a 3D-mode, with an arbitrary number of three dimensional windows and fully two dimensional with improved resolution.” The switching between operation in 2D-mode and 3-D mode is temporal mixing in that the two modes can be operated at different times.) … the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image (e.g. paragraph [0035]: “Specifically, in the device of FIG. 5, a pixel layout for a 3 view system is shown where groups of three subsequent rows 501 502, 503 and 506-508 of sub-pixels are used for the creation of 3D information together with single rows 504 and 509 which are used for presentation of 2D information.”).”
However, Ijzerman fails to explicitly teach “a rate that is higher than a response rate of a human eye to superimpose the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image.” Note however, that the switchable lenses are of a LC material see paragraphs [0030]-[0033], thus are configured to be switched at a rate faster than the flicker-fusion rate, such that the 2D and 3D content are superimposed.
Fattal teaches “A method of operating (see steps below) a 2D/multiview switchable lenticular display (paragraph [0022]: “According to various embodiments, the multiview mode of a time- multiplexed multiview display may provide so-called‘glasses-free’ or autostereoscopic images, while the 2D mode may facilitate presenting of 2D information or content at a relatively higher native resolution” and paragraph [0027]: “the term‘multiview’ explicitly includes more than two different views”), the method comprising:
providing pixels (see Fig. 3B and paragraphs [0074]-[0075]) of a composite image (paragraph [0096]: “[0096] In particular, the mode controller 240 may time-multiplex the 2D and multiview modes of the broad-angle backlight 210 and the multiview backlight 220 and simultaneously control modulation of the emitted light by the light valve array to produce the composite image”) using a display panel (light valves 106), the composite image comprising both multiview image content and two-dimensional (2D) image content (paragraph [0097]: “the two sets of images may be time-interlaced in connection with operating light valves of the light valve array 230 to display respective 2D or multiview images, so that it appears as if both images are being displayed simultaneously.”)…
time-multiplexing… at a rate that is higher than a response rate of a human eve to superimpose the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image (paragraph [0097]: “the two sets of images may be time-interlaced in connection with operating light valves of the light valve array 230 to display respective 2D or multiview images, so that it appears as if both images are being displayed simultaneously.” That it appears to the viewer as if both images are being displayed simultaneously necessitates that the rate of the time-multiplexing is higher than the response rate of the viewer.).”
Fattal further teaches (paragraph [0022]): “According to various embodiments, the multiview mode of a time- multiplexed multiview display may provide so-called‘glasses-free’ or autostereoscopic images, while the 2D mode may facilitate presenting of 2D information or content at a relatively higher native resolution than is available in the multiview mode, especially where the 2D information or content that does not include or benefit from a third dimension. As such, the composite image provided by time-multiplexing the 2D and multiview modes may provide both high resolution 2D and somewhat lower resolution, multiview or 3D content simultaneously in the same image or on the same display. Uses of time-multiplexed backlighting in time-multiplexed multiview displays described herein include, but are not limited to, mobile telephones (e.g., smart phones), watches, tablet computes, mobile computers (e.g., laptop computers), personal computers and computer monitors, automobile display consoles, camera displays, and various other mobile as well as substantially non-mobile display applications and devices.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to time-multiplex the 2D and multiview states at a rate high enough to appear simultaneous by the viewer as taught by Fattal in the device of Ijzerman for the purpose of providing both high resolution 2D and somewhat lower resolution, multiview or 3D content simultaneously in the same image or on the same display with application to mobile telephones (e.g., smart phones), watches, tablet computes, mobile computers (e.g., laptop computers), personal computers and computer monitors, automobile display consoles, camera displays, and various other devices as taught by Fattal (paragraph [0022]).
However, Ijzerman also fails to teach “varying a duty cycle of the time-multiplexing to vary relative intensities of the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image.”
Alpaslan teaches “A method of operating (see steps below) a [2D/3D] switchable display (paragraph [0044]: “It is also possible for the light modulator of this invention to be switched from 2D to 3D display modes”), the method comprising:
providing pixels (see pixels in Fig. 4, paragraphs [0029] and [0042]) of a composite image (paragraph [0044]: “It is also possible for the light modulator of this invention to be switched from 2D to 3D display modes”) using a display panel (emissive QPI display device see paragraphs [0027]-[0029]), the composite image comprising both [3D] image content and two-dimensional (2D) image content (paragraph [0044]: “It is also possible for the light modulator of this invention to be switched from 2D to 3D display modes”)…
and
varying a duty cycle… to vary relative intensities of the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image (paragraph [0043]: “The light intensity and color modulation may be, by way of example, pulse width modulation of the on/off times of the multi color pixels to control the average intensity of the light and to control the intensity of each color component making up the resulting color”. Thus the intensities within any displayed image are a function of the pulse width modulation on/off duty cycles. Therefor the relative intensities of the 3D and 2D content are also a function of the duty-cycles thereof.).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ pulse-width modulation as taught by Alpaslan in the device of the Ijzerman – Fattal combination in order to control the average intensity of the light and to control the intensity of each color component making up the resulting color as taught by Alpaslan (paragraph [0043]).
However, given that Alpaslan does not explicitly teach time-multiplexing of the 2D and 3D modes at a rate high enough to appear simultaneous, it cannot be said that Alpaslan teaches “varying a duty cycle of the time-multiplexing to vary relative intensities of the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image.”
However, it is a well-established proposition that in certain instances it would have been obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. See MPEP §2143(I)(C).
To reject a claim based on this rationale, Office personnel must resolve the Graham factual inquiries. Then, Office personnel must articulate the following:
(1) a finding that the prior art contained a "base" device (method, or product) upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an "improvement;"
(2) a finding that the prior art contained a "comparable" device (method, or product that is not the same as the base device) that has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention;
(3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known "improvement" technique in the same way to the "base" device (method, or product) and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; and
(4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
In the instant case, (1) Ijzerman teaches a base device that presents both 2D and multiview images, using LC based lenticular lenses that are capable of high switching speeds, see paragraphs [0030]-[0033] (2) Alpaslan teaches a comparable device where the relative average intensities from frame to frame and the relative intensities within any frame are determined by pulse-width modulation control of the on/off duty cycle (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would be familiar with the concept of pulse-width modulation such that they could have applied this known improvement to the relative duty cycles of the superimposed 2D and multiview images with the predictable result of being able to control their relative intensities (4) the other Graham factual inquiries have been outlined above.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known improvement of varying the relative duty-cycles to obtain the desired relative intensities as evidenced by Alpaslan to the improve the similar device of the Ijzerman – Fattal combination in the same way and the results thereof would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 44, the Ijzerman - Fattal - Alpaslan combination teaches “The method of operating a 2D/multiview switchable lenticular display of claim 42,” and Ijzerman further teaches “wherein:
the switchable lenticular lens array comprises:
a first material layer having a fixed refractive index and comprising fixed lenses of the switchable lenticular lens array (e.g. paragraph [0028]: “the remainder of the space between the glass plates 308 and 309 is filled with a plastic material 311” and paragraph [0030]: “A negative lens 408 of plastic or any other suitable material is further situated between the glass plates 403 and 404.” The plastic is not being electrically controlled and thus has a fixed refractive index.); and a second material layer (e.g. paragraph [0028]: “The lenticular elements 307 and 317 comprise an LC material 310” and paragraph [0030]: “the space resulting between the lens 408 and the first glass plate 403 is filled with a liquid crystal (LC) material 410.”) having an electrically controllable refractive index (See paragraph [0012]: “Preferably, the lenticular means comprise electro-optic material with refractive index switchable by selective application of an electrical potential difference” and paragraphs [0031]-[0033]: “a birefringent lens effect.. the birefringent lens effect of the lenses 408 is cancelled… a lens effect is caused when voltage is applied and cancelled when no voltage is applied”. The phenomenon of birefringence requires differing refractive indices. Thus an electrically controllable birefringent lens effect involves an electrically controllable refractive index as explained in paragraph [0012].), the second material layer contacting the first material layer and filling in shapes of the fixed lenses of the switchable lenticular lens array (see Figs. 3 and 4 and paragraphs [0028] and [0030] “filled”);
switching a switchable lenticular lens of the switchable lenticular lens array to the ON state comprises controlling the electrically controllable refractive index of the second material layer to have a refractive index that differs from the fixed refractive index (paragraphs [0031]-[0033]: “a birefringent lens effect.. a lens effect is caused when voltage is applied”); and
switching a switchable lenticular lens of the switchable lenticular lens array to the OFF state comprises controlling the electrically controllable refractive index of the second material layer to have a refractive index that matches the fixed refractive index (paragraph [0032]: “the birefringent lens effect of the lenses 408 is cancelled as is indicated by the unrefracted light beams 414 allowing any light in any polarization state to effectively pass through” that light is not refracted by the combination of LC material 310/410 and plastic 311/408 requires that the refractive indices thereof match or that the difference therebetween is negligible, otherwise lensing would occur.).”
Regarding claim 45, Ijzerman teaches “A 2D/multiview (e.g. paragraph [0035]: “in the device of FIG. 5, a pixel layout for a 3 view system is shown where groups of three subsequent rows 501 502, 503 and 506-508 of sub-pixels are used for the creation of 3D information together with single rows 504 and 509 which are used for presentation of 2D information” and paragraph [0019]: “an N view multi-view display.” See also paragraph [0011]: “the display can be used in two modes, a 2D-mode and a 3D-mode, with an arbitrary number of three dimensional windows and fully two dimensional with improved resolution.”) switchable lenticular (e.g. paragraph [0030]: “switchability of the lenticular means 416”) system (see elements below) comprising:
a switchable lenticular (e.g. paragraph [0030]: “switchability of the lenticular means 416”) display (display devices 104, 200, 301 see paragraph [0028]) configured to provide a composite image comprising both multiview image content and two-dimensional (2D) image content (e.g. paragraph [0018]: “display documents containing both 2D text and 3D images.” also paragraph [0035]: “Specifically, in the device of FIG. 5, a pixel layout for a 3 view system is shown where groups of three subsequent rows 501 502, 503 and 506-508 of sub-pixels are used for the creation of 3D information together with single rows 504 and 509 which are used for presentation of 2D information.” See also paragraph [0011]: “the display can be used in two modes, a 2D-mode and a 3D-mode, with an arbitrary number of three dimensional windows and fully two dimensional with improved resolution.”),
the switchable lenticular display including a switchable lenticular (e.g. paragraph [0030]: “switchability of the lenticular means 416”) lens array (e.g. paragraph [0008] or [0038]: “lenticular means comprising an array of birefringent lenticular elements”) having switchable lenticular lenses (see Figs. 4a and 4b and descriptions thereof) that are switchable between an ON state and an OFF state (paragraph [0033]: “a lens effect is caused when voltage is applied and cancelled when no voltage is applied”); and
a lens controller (paragraph [0026]: “a processor 102, memory 103, a display device 104, a control unit 105 as well as an input/output unit 106”) configured to (paragraph [0026]: “The general features regarding how these units communicate and operate are known to the person skilled in the art and is therefore not discussed further.”) provide the composite image by time-multiplexing the ON state and the OFF state of the switchable lenticular lenses… the multiview image content and 2D image content within the composite image (see paragraph [0011]: “the display can be used in two modes, a 2D-mode and a 3D-mode, with an arbitrary number of three dimensional windows and fully two dimensional with improved resolution.” The switching between operation in 2D-mode and 3-D mode is temporal mixing in that the two modes can be operated at different times. The switchable lenses are of a LC material see paragraphs [0030]-[0033], thus are configured to be switched at a rate faster than the flicker-fusion rate, such that the 2D and 3D content are superimposed.).”
However, Ijzerman fails to explicitly teach “to superimpose the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image.” Note however, that the switchable lenses are of a LC material see paragraphs [0030]-[0033], thus are configured to be switched at a rate faster than the flicker-fusion rate, such that the 2D and 3D content are superimposed.
Fattal teaches “A 2D/multiview switchable … system (paragraph [0022]: “According to various embodiments, the multiview mode of a time- multiplexed multiview display may provide so-called‘glasses-free’ or autostereoscopic images, while the 2D mode may facilitate presenting of 2D information or content at a relatively higher native resolution” and paragraph [0027]: “the term‘multiview’ explicitly includes more than two different views”) comprising:
a switchable… display configured to provide a composite image comprising both multiview image content and two-dimensional (2D) image content (paragraph [0097]: “the two sets of images may be time-interlaced in connection with operating light valves of the light valve array 230 to display respective 2D or multiview images, so that it appears as if both images are being displayed simultaneously.”)… and
a… controller (mode controller 240) configured to provide the composite image by time-multiplexing… to superimpose the multiview image content and 2D image content within the composite image (paragraph [0097]: “the two sets of images may be time-interlaced in connection with operating light valves of the light valve array 230 to display respective 2D or multiview images, so that it appears as if both images are being displayed simultaneously.” That it appears to the viewer as if both images are being displayed simultaneously necessitates that the rate of the time-multiplexing is higher than the response rate of the viewer.).”
Fattal further teaches (paragraph [0022]): “According to various embodiments, the multiview mode of a time- multiplexed multiview display may provide so-called‘glasses-free’ or autostereoscopic images, while the 2D mode may facilitate presenting of 2D information or content at a relatively higher native resolution than is available in the multiview mode, especially where the 2D information or content that does not include or benefit from a third dimension. As such, the composite image provided by time-multiplexing the 2D and multiview modes may provide both high resolution 2D and somewhat lower resolution, multiview or 3D content simultaneously in the same image or on the same display. Uses of time-multiplexed backlighting in time-multiplexed multiview displays described herein include, but are not limited to, mobile telephones (e.g., smart phones), watches, tablet computes, mobile computers (e.g., laptop computers), personal computers and computer monitors, automobile display consoles, camera displays, and various other mobile as well as substantially non-mobile display applications and devices.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to time-multiplex the 2D and multiview states at a rate high enough to appear simultaneous by the viewer as taught by Fattal in the device of Ijzerman for the purpose of providing both high resolution 2D and somewhat lower resolution, multiview or 3D content simultaneously in the same image or on the same display with application to mobile telephones (e.g., smart phones), watches, tablet computes, mobile computers (e.g., laptop computers), personal computers and computer monitors, automobile display consoles, camera displays, and various other devices as taught by Fattal (paragraph [0022]).
However, Ijzerman also fails to teach “varying a duty cycle of the time-multiplexing to vary relative intensities of the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image.”
Alpaslan teaches “A [2D/3D] switchable… system (paragraph [0044]: “It is also possible for the light modulator of this invention to be switched from 2D to 3D display modes”) comprising:
a switchable… display (paragraph [0044]: “It is also possible for the light modulator of this invention to be switched from 2D to 3D display modes”) configured to provide a composite image comprising both [3D] image content and two-dimensional (2D) image content (paragraph [0044]: “It is also possible for the light modulator of this invention to be switched from 2D to 3D display modes”)…
and
a… controller (paragraph [0042] “FIG. 10 illustrates exemplary embodiment of the data processing block diagram of the spatio-optical directional light modulator of this invention.”) configured to provide the composite image (paragraph [0044]: “It is also possible for the light modulator of this invention to be switched from 2D to 3D display modes”)…
and varying a duty cycle… to vary relative intensities of the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image (paragraph [0043]: “The light intensity and color modulation may be, by way of example, pulse width modulation of the on/off times of the multi color pixels to control the average intensity of the light and to control the intensity of each color component making up the resulting color”. Thus the intensities within any displayed image are a function of the pulse width modulation on/off duty cycles. Therefor the relative intensities of the 3D and 2D content are also a function of the duty-cycles thereof.).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ pulse-width modulation as taught by Alpaslan in the device of the Ijzerman – Fattal combination in order to control the average intensity of the light and to control the intensity of each color component making up the resulting color as taught by Alpaslan (paragraph [0043]).
However, given that Alpaslan does not explicitly teach time-multiplexing of the 2D and 3D modes at a rate high enough to appear simultaneous, it cannot be said that Alpaslan teaches “varying a duty cycle of the time-multiplexing to vary relative intensities of the multiview image content and the 2D image content within the composite image.”
However, it is a well-established proposition that in certain instances it would have been obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. See MPEP §2143(I)(C).
To reject a claim based on this rationale, Office personnel must resolve the Graham factual inquiries. Then, Office personnel must articulate the following:
(1) a finding that the prior art contained a "base" device (method, or product) upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an "improvement;"
(2) a finding that the prior art contained a "comparable" device (method, or product that is not the same as the base device) that has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention;
(3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known "improvement" technique in the same way to the "base" device (method, or product) and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; and
(4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
In the instant case, (1) Ijzerman teaches a base device that presents both 2D and multiview images, using LC based lenticular lenses that are capable of high switching speeds, see paragraphs [0030]-[0033] (2) Alpaslan teaches a comparable device where the relative average intensities from frame to frame and the relative intensities within any frame are determined by pulse-width modulation control of the on/off duty cycle (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would be familiar with the concept of pulse-width modulation such that they could have applied this known improvement to the relative duty cycles of the superimposed 2D and multiview images with the predictable result of being able to control their relative intensities (4) the other Graham factual inquiries have been outlined above.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known improvement of varying the relative duty-cycles to obtain the desired relative intensities as evidenced by Alpaslan to the improve the similar device of the Ijzerman – Fattal combination in the same way and the results thereof would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 46, the Ijzerman - Fattal - Alpaslan combination teaches “The 2D/multiview switchable lenticular system of claim 45,” and Ijzerman further teaches “wherein the switchable lenticular lens array comprises:
a first material layer having a fixed refractive index and comprising fixed lenses of the switchable lenticular lens array (e.g. paragraph [0028]: “the remainder of the space between the glass plates 308 and 309 is filled with a plastic material 311” and paragraph [0030]: “A negative lens 408 of plastic or any other suitable material is further situated between the glass plates 403 and 404.” The plastic is not being electrically controlled and thus has a fixed refractive index.); and
a second material layer (e.g. paragraph [0028]: “The lenticular elements 307 and 317 comprise an LC material 310” and paragraph [0030]: “the space resulting between the lens 408 and the first glass plate 403 is filled with a liquid crystal (LC) material 410.”) having an electrically controllable refractive index (See paragraph [0012]: “Preferably, the lenticular means comprise electro-optic material with refractive index switchable by selective application of an electrical potential difference” and paragraphs [0031]-[0033]: “a birefringent lens effect.. the birefringent lens effect of the lenses 408 is cancelled… a lens effect is caused when voltage is applied and cancelled when no voltage is applied”. The phenomenon of birefringence requires differing refractive indices. Thus an electrically controllable birefringent lens effect involves an electrically controllable refractive index as explained in paragraph [0012].), the second material layer contacting the first material layer and filling in shapes of the fixed lenses of the switchable lenticular lens array (see Figs. 3 and 4 and paragraphs [0028] and [0030] “filled”), the electrically controllable refractive index having a first controllable state that matches the fixed refractive index (paragraph [0032]: “the birefringent lens effect of the lenses 408 is cancelled as is indicated by the unrefracted light beams 414 allowing any light in any polarization state to effectively pass through” that light is not refracted by the combination of LC material 310/410 and plastic 311/408 requires that the refractive indices thereof match or that the difference therebetween is negligible, otherwise lensing would occur.) and a second controllable state that differs from the fixed refractive index (paragraphs [0031]-[0033]: “a birefringent lens effect.. a lens effect is caused when voltage is applied”).”
Regarding claim 47, the Ijzerman - Fattal - Alpaslan combination teaches “The 2D/multiview switchable lenticular system of claim 46,” and Ijzerman further teaches “wherein the switchable lenticular lens array includes electrodes (405,406 paragraph [0031]: “The first 405 and second 406 conductive layers act as electrodes”) configured to deliver at least one of a voltage or a current (see paragraphs [0030]-[0033] and V in Figs. 4a,4b “voltage is applied and cancelled when no voltage is applied.”) to switch switchable lenticular lenses of the switchable lenticular lens array (paragraphs [0030]-[0033]: “a lens effect is caused when voltage is applied and cancelled when no voltage is applied”) independent of other switchable lenticular lenses of the switchable lenticular lens array (paragraph [0017]: “By selecting the sub-pixels, it is possible to select the mode of the display and, accordingly, an arbitrary number of 2D and 3D windows can be produced simultaneously.” paragraph [0027]: “The light from each pixel 205 then enters the lenticular elements 204 where its direction is changed or remains unchanged according to the orientation of the birefringent material in the lenticular elements.” Thus the switchability of the lenses must be independent so that the 2D/3D windows can be arbitrarily arranged. See also paragraph [0011]: “the birefringent lenticular elements are switchable”, i.e. the elements themselves are independently switchable.).”
Regarding claim 48, the Ijzerman - Fattal - Alpaslan combination teaches “The 2D/multiview switchable lenticular system of claim 46,” and Ijzerman further teaches “wherein the switchable lenticular lens array includes electrodes (405,406 paragraph [0031]: “The first 405 and second 406 conductive layers act as electrodes”)configured to deliver at least one of a voltage (see paragraphs [0030]-[0033] and V in Figs. 4a,4b “voltage is applied and cancelled when no voltage is applied.”) to switch the switchable lenticular lenses (paragraphs [0030]-[0033]: “a lens effect is caused when voltage is applied and cancelled when no voltage is applied”) in a region of the switchable lenticular lens array corresponding to a zone of the composite image independent of switchable lenticular lenses in regions of the switchable lenticular lens array corresponding to other zones of the composite image (See paragraph [0017]: “By selecting the sub-pixels, it is possible to select the mode of the display and, accordingly, an arbitrary number of 2D and 3D windows can be produced simultaneously”; paragraph [0027]: “The light from each pixel 205 then enters the lenticular elements 204 where its direction is changed or remains unchanged according to the orientation of the birefringent material in the lenticular elements.” and paragraph [0035] “a pixel layout for a 3 view system is shown where groups of three subsequent rows 501 502, 503 and 506-508 of sub-pixels are used for the creation of 3D information together with single rows 504 and 509 which are used for presentation of 2D information”. In the case of 2D/3D windows that are arbitrarily arranged, the lenses in the 2D windows are switchable independently from the lenses in the 3D windows, in the sense that they take opposite states thereof. In the case of Fig. 5, the lenses corresponding to the 501-503 and 506-508 rows are switched independently from the 504,509 rows, in the sense that they take opposite states thereof. Not being independent is taken as necessitating being in the same state at the same time. See also paragraph [0011]: “the birefringent lenticular elements are switchable”, i.e. the elements themselves are independently switchable.).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35, 40-41 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ijzerman et al. US 20080204872 A1 (hereafter Ijzerman) as applied to claims 30, 34 and 46 above, and further in view of Battersby US 6,069,650 A (hereafter Battersby, which is the US family member of Battersby WO 9821620, cited in an IDS and in Ijzerman).
Regarding claim 35, the Ijzerman - Fattal - Alpaslan combination teaches “The 2D/multiview switchable lenticular display of claim 34,” However, Ijzerman fails to explicitly teach “wherein:
the first material layer is disposed between the second material layer and the display panel; and
a fixed lens of the first material layer is a positive lens.”
Battersby is the US family member of International Patent Application WO 98/21620, cited by Ijzerman paragraphs [0004]-[0005].
Battersby teaches a 2D-3D switchable lenticular display (e.g. col. 1 line 64 -col. 2 line 16 the lenticular means comprises electro-optic material whose refractive index is switchable by selective application of an electrical potential thereto between a first value whereby the light output directing action of the lenticular means is provided and a second value whereby the light output directing action is removed. By switching the electro-optic material, therefore, the lens action of the lenticular means can be cancelled. In effect, the lenticular means can be switched "on" and "off". In one setting, the "on" mode, the lenticular means is operable to perform a lens action in the usual manner to direct the light outputs from groups of pixels appropriately and enable a stereoscopic image to be perceived when suitable stereoscopic sub-images are displayed on the image display device. In the other setting, the "off" mode, this lens action is removed and the lenticular means behaves like a simple sheet of transparent material thereby allowing the same display information to be received by both eyes of a viewer as in the case of a conventional two-dimensional display.). Battersby is also teaching an explicitly multi-view display (see col. 4 lines 32-53: “FIG. 2 illustrates, in plan view, the operation of the apparatus in producing, in this example, a four view display output… with the viewer's eyes situated as shown a stereoscopic image comprised of views 2 and 3 will be seen. By moving sideways the viewer will see two other stereoscopic images composed of views 1 and 2 and views 3 and 4. Of course, the number of views provided can be varied from just two views giving a single stereoscopic image to more than four views, for example seven views providing six stereoscopic images.”
Battersby further teaches (claim 34) “wherein the switchable lenticular lens array comprises:
a first material layer having a fixed refractive index (col. 5 lines 11-17: “a lenticular sheet 30… molded (or machined) from optically transparent polymeric material”) and comprising fixed lenses of the switchable lenticular lens array (col. 5 lines 11-17: “parallel lenticular elements 16 in the form of convex cylindrical lenses”); and
a second material layer (electro-optic material 38) having an electrically controllable refractive index (col. 5 lines 27-31: “An electro-optic material 38 whose refractive index can be altered by the selective application of electrical potential thereacross”), the second material layer contacting the first material layer and filling in shapes of the fixed lenses of the switchable lenticular lens array (col. 5 lines 32-34: “The space between the sheet 30 and the plate 36 is completely filled by this material so that the material 38 is contiguous with the profiled surface of the sheet 30”), the electrically controllable refractive index having a first controllable state that matches the fixed refractive index (col. 5 lines 57-61: “the liquid crystal is oriented such that its refractive index in the direction of view is changed and substantially matches that of the sheet 30”) and a second controllable state that differs from the fixed refractive index (col. 5 lines 54-57: “the liquid crystal material 38 is oriented such that its refractive index, in the direction of view, differs from, and more particularly is lower than, that of the material used for the sheet 30”).”
(claim 35) “wherein:
the first material layer is disposed between the second material layer and the display panel (see Fig. 4A, the convex lenses of lenticular sheet 30 are between display panel 10 and second material 38); and
a fixed lens of the first material layer is a positive lens (col. 5 lines 11-17: “parallel lenticular elements 16 in the form of convex cylindrical lenses”).”
Battersby also teaches in Fig. 6, that the first material could be formed as concave negative lenses (col. 7 lines 11-13: “(col. 5 lines 11-17: “parallel lenticular elements 16 in the form of convex cylindrical lenses.”) and that the orientation of the lenticular means could be inverted (col. 6 line 64 to col. 7 line 4: “With regard to the embodiment of FIG. 3, it will be appreciated that the lenticular means 15 could be arranged inverted such that the LC layer 38 rather than the sheet 30 is adjacent the LC display panel and so that the flat outer surface of the sheet 30 becomes the output side of the lenticular means rather than the plate 36.”). Such alternative configurations are similar to that depicted in Ijzerman Fig. 4a, with the first material being formed as negative lenses, and the second material being disposed between the display and the first material.
Ijzerman discloses the claimed invention except that a switchable lenticular array wherein the second material layer is disposed between the first material layer and the display panel; and a fixed lens of the first material layer is a negative lens is used instead of a switchable lenticular array wherein the first material layer is disposed between the second material layer and the display panel; and a fixed lens of the first material layer is a positive lens.
Battersby shows that a switchable lenticular array wherein the first material layer is disposed between the second material layer and the display panel; and a fixed lens of the first material layer is a positive lens is an equivalent structure in the art. Therefore, because these two switchable lenticular lens arrangements were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a switchable lenticular array wherein the first material layer is disposed between the second material layer and the display panel; and a fixed lens of the first material layer is a positive lens for a switchable lenticular array wherein the second material layer is disposed between the first material layer and the display panel; and a fixed lens of the first material layer is a negative lens, and the results thereof would have been predictable. See MPEP §2144.06 and 2143 (I)(B).
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Battersby teaches (col. 6 line 64 to col. 7 line 7): “With regard to the embodiment of FIG. 3, it will be appreciated that the lenticular means 15 could be arranged inverted such that the LC layer 38 rather than the sheet 30 is adjacent the LC display panel and so that the flat outer surface of the sheet 30 becomes the output side of the lenticular means rather than the plate 36… It will also be appreciated the profile of the adjoining surfaces of the sheet 30 and the LC layer 38 could be opposite to that shown”, in other words Battersby teaches that such modifications are within ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 40, the Ijzerman - Fattal - Alpaslan combination teaches “The 2D/multiview switchable lenticular display of claim 30,” and Ijzerman further teaches “wherein:… the… lenses … are configured to direct light into a plurality of views of the multiview image (e.g. paragraph [0019]: “an N view multi-view display.”);
the views are horizontally adjacent to one another (e.g. paragraph [0008]: “an array of birefringent lenticular elements configured to direct the light output… so as to enable a stereoscopic perception of the displayed image.” In order to produce autostereoscopic perception the views must be horizontally adjacent to each other relative to the left and right eyes of the viewer); and
the… lens in the ON state has a focal length (paragraphs [0030]-[0033]: “birefringent lens” see Figs. 3 and 4. Such a lens has a focal length) selected such that at a specified viewing plane, the views have a center-to-center spacing that corresponds to an average interpupillary distance of a human (e.g. paragraph [0008]: “an array of birefringent lenticular elements configured to direct the light output of at least one of said groups of pixels such that the respective light output of said groups of pixels is emitted in mutually different directions so as to enable a stereoscopic perception of the displayed image.” In order to produce autostereoscopic perception the center-to-center spacing has to correspond to the interpupillary distance of the viewer, and thus “corresponds to” an average interpupillary distance of a human.).”
However, Ijzerman fails to explicitly teach “the switchable lenticular lens array comprises a one-dimensional array of cylindrical lenses that are arranged parallel to one another;
the cylindrical lenses are elongated in a vertical direction.”
Such features are strongly suggested by Ijzerman see:
(1) paragraphs [0004]-[0005] “Another example of an autostereoscopy technique is the use of lenses in front of a display device. One example of such a device is described in International Patent Application WO 98/21620. International Patent Application WO98/21620 discloses an array of lenticular elements at the output side of a display device. Different groups of pixels, forming one or more stereoscopic pairs, are seen by respective eyes of a viewer through the lenticular elements.”
(2) paragraph [0014]: “Additionally, in one embodiment of the invention the lenticular lenses are oriented with a slant angle with respect to the direction of the columns of matrix pixels.” and
(3) the vertical line indications of lenticular elements 204 in Fig. 2.
Battersby is the US family member of International Patent Application WO 98/21620, cited by Ijzerman.
Battersby teaches a 2D-3D switchable lenticular display (e.g. col. 1 line 64 -col. 2 line 16 the lenticular means comprises electro-optic material whose refractive index is switchable by selective application of an electrical potential thereto between a first value whereby the light output directing action of the lenticular means is provided and a second value whereby the light output directing action is removed. By switching the electro-optic material, therefore, the lens action of the lenticular means can be cancelled. In effect, the lenticular means can be switched "on" and "off". In one setting, the "on" mode, the lenticular means is operable to perform a lens action in the usual manner to direct the light outputs from groups of pixels appropriately and enable a stereoscopic image to be perceived when suitable stereoscopic sub-images are displayed on the image display device. In the other setting, the "off" mode, this lens action is removed and the lenticular means behaves like a simple sheet of transparent material thereby allowing the same display information to be received by both eyes of a viewer as in the case of a conventional two-dimensional display.). Battersby is also teaching an explicitly multi-view display (see col. 4 lines 32-53: “FIG. 2 illustrates, in plan view, the operation of the apparatus in producing, in this example, a four view display output… with the viewer's eyes situated as shown a stereoscopic image comprised of views 2 and 3 will be seen. By moving sideways the viewer will see two other stereoscopic images composed of views 1 and 2 and views 3 and 4. Of course, the number of views provided can be varied from just two views giving a single stereoscopic image to more than four views, for example seven views providing six stereoscopic images.”
Battersby further teaches (claim 40) “wherein:
the switchable lenticular lens array comprises a one-dimensional array of cylindrical lenses that are arranged parallel to one another (col. 3 line 64 to col. 4 line 5: "The lenticular elements 16 comprise optically cylindrically converging lenticules, for example formed as convex cylindrical lenses which extend parallel to the pixel columns");
the cylindrical lenses are elongated in a vertical direction (col. 3 line 64 to col. 4 line 5: "The lenticular elements 16 comprise… convex cylindrical lenses which extend parallel to the pixel columns… in a vertically interleaved fashion") and are configured to direct light into a plurality of views (col. 3 line 64 to col. 4 line 5: "The lenticular elements 16 … serve in known manner to provide separate images… to the two eyes of a viewer… so as to produce a stereoscopic display.")…
the views are horizontally adjacent to one another (col. 3 line 64 to col. 4 line 5: "The lenticular elements 16 … serve in known manner to provide separate images… in a vertically interleaved fashion to the two eyes of a viewer… so as to produce a stereoscopic display."); and
the cylindrical lens in the ON state has a focal length selected such that at a specified viewing plane, the views have a center-to-center spacing that corresponds to an average interpupillary distance of a human (col. 2 lines 6-9: “In one setting, the "on" mode, the lenticular means is operable to perform a lens action in the usual manner to direct the light outputs from groups of pixels appropriately and enable a stereoscopic image to be perceived…” In order to produce autostereoscopic imaging the center-to-center spacing has to correspond to the interpupillary distance of the viewer, and thus “corresponds to” an average interpupillary distance of a human).”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to array of cylindrical lenses, parallel to one another and elongated in a vertical direction as taught by Battersby in the device of Ijzerman, because Ijzerman does not explicitly explain the details of the arrangement of the switchable lenticular, but is an improvement of the device of Battersby (see Ijzerman paragraphs [0004]-[0005]), such that it stands to reason that features which are not explicitly taught as differing from the prior art cited, are likely to not have changed, and further because Battersby teaches that such a vertical arrangement of elongated lenticular lenses can achieve a stereoscopic display.
Regarding claim 41, the Ijzerman - Fattal - Alpaslan combination teaches “The 2D/multiview switchable lenticular display of claim 30,” however, Ijzerman fails to explicitly teach “wherein:
the switchable lenticular lens array comprises a two-dimensional array of lenses; and
a switchable lenticular lens in the switchable lenticular lens array is a rotationally symmetric lens.”
Battersby is the US family member of International Patent Application WO 98/21620, cited by Ijzerman.
Battersby teaches a 2D-3D switchable lenticular display (e.g. col. 1 line 64 -col. 2 line 16 the lenticular means comprises electro-optic material whose refractive index is switchable by selective application of an electrical potential thereto between a first value whereby the light output directing action of the lenticular means is provided and a second value whereby the light output directing action is removed. By switching the electro-optic material, therefore, the lens action of the lenticular means can be cancelled. In effect, the lenticular means can be switched "on" and "off". In one setting, the "on" mode, the lenticular means is operable to perform a lens action in the usual manner to direct the light outputs from groups of pixels appropriately and enable a stereoscopic image to be perceived when suitable stereoscopic sub-images are displayed on the image display device. In the other setting, the "off" mode, this lens action is removed and the lenticular means behaves like a simple sheet of transparent material thereby allowing the same display information to be received by both eyes of a viewer as in the case of a conventional two-dimensional display.). Battersby is also teaching an explicitly multi-view display (see col. 4 lines 32-53: “FIG. 2 illustrates, in plan view, the operation of the apparatus in producing, in this example, a four view display output… with the viewer's eyes situated as shown a stereoscopic image comprised of views 2 and 3 will be seen. By moving sideways the viewer will see two other stereoscopic images composed of views 1 and 2 and views 3 and 4. Of course, the number of views provided can be varied from just two views giving a single stereoscopic image to more than four views, for example seven views providing six stereoscopic images.”
Battersby further teaches (claim 41) “wherein:
the switchable lenticular lens array comprises a two-dimensional array of lenses (col. 7 lines 24-31: “While in the above described embodiments a lenticular sheet having an array of elongate, cylindrical, lenticular elements has been used, it will be understood that the lenticular sheet could instead comprise an array of spherical microlens elements” emphasis added. In contrast to the 1-D array of elongated cylindrical elements, an array of spherical microlens elements is necessarily 2-D in order to cover the display.); and
a switchable lenticular lens in the switchable lenticular lens array is a rotationally symmetric lens (col. 7 lines 24-31: “an array of spherical microlens elements” where spherical microlens elements are rotationally symmetric about the center of the sphere thereof.).”
Battersby further teaches (col. 7 lines 24-31): “While in the above described embodiments a lenticular sheet having an array of elongate, cylindrical, lenticular elements has been used, it will be understood that the lenticular sheet could instead comprise an array of spherical microlens elements instead, such spherical lens elements lenticular sheets already being known in the field of autostereoscopic display apparatus.”
Ijzerman discloses the claimed invention except that standard switchable lenticular array is used instead of a 2-D array of rotationally symmetric lenses. Battersby teaches that an array of spherical microlens elements and an array of elongate, cylindrical, lenticular elements are equivalent structures in the art for providing stereoscopic display capability. Therefore, because these two choices for stereoscopic lenticular arrays were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a lenticular sheet comprising an array of spherical microlens elements for an array of elongate, cylindrical, lenticular elements, and the results thereof would have been predictable. See MPEP §2144.06 and 2143 (I)(B).
Regarding claim 49, the Ijzerman - Fattal - Alpaslan combination teaches “The 2D/multiview switchable lenticular system of claim 46,” and Ijzerman further teaches “wherein:
a switchable lenticular lens in the switchable lenticular lens array is… configured to direct light in directions corresponding to a plurality of views of the multiview image (e.g. paragraph [0019]: “an N view multi-view display.”), the views being horizontally adjacent to one another (e.g. paragraph [0008]: “an array of birefringent lenticular elements configured to direct the light output… so as to enable a stereoscopic perception of the displayed image.” In order to produce autostereoscopic perception the views must be horizontally adjacent to each other relative to the left and right eyes of the viewer),
wherein the… lens in the ON state has a focal length (paragraphs [0030]-[0033]: “birefringent lens” see Figs. 3 and 4. Such a lens has a focal length) selected such that at a specified viewing plane, the views have a center-to-center spacing that corresponds to an average interpupillary distance of a human (e.g. paragraph [0008]: “an array of birefringent lenticular elements configured to direct the light output of at least one of said groups of pixels such that the respective light output of said groups of pixels is emitted in mutually different directions so as to enable a stereoscopic perception of the displayed image.” In order to produce autostereoscopic perception the center-to-center spacing has to correspond to the interpupillary distance of the viewer, and thus “corresponds to” an average interpupillary distance of a human.).”
However, Ijzerman fails to explicitly teach “a switchable lenticular lens in the switchable lenticular lens array is a cylindrical lens, the cylindrical lens being elongated in a vertical direction.”
Such features are strongly suggested by Ijzerman see:
(1) paragraphs [0004]-[0005] “Another example of an autostereoscopy technique is the use of lenses in front of a display device. One example of such a device is described in International Patent Application WO 98/21620. International Patent Application WO98/21620 discloses an array of lenticular elements at the output side of a display device. Different groups of pixels, forming one or more stereoscopic pairs, are seen by respective eyes of a viewer through the lenticular elements.”
(2) paragraph [0014]: “Additionally, in one embodiment of the invention the lenticular lenses are oriented with a slant angle with respect to the direction of the columns of matrix pixels.” and
(3) the vertical line indications of lenticular elements 204 in Fig. 2.
Battersby is the US family member of International Patent Application WO 98/21620, cited by Ijzerman.
Battersby teaches a 2D-3D switchable lenticular display (e.g. col. 1 line 64 -col. 2 line 16 the lenticular means comprises electro-optic material whose refractive index is switchable by selective application of an electrical potential thereto between a first value whereby the light output directing action of the lenticular means is provided and a second value whereby the light output directing action is removed. By switching the electro-optic material, therefore, the lens action of the lenticular means can be cancelled. In effect, the lenticular means can be switched "on" and "off". In one setting, the "on" mode, the lenticular means is operable to perform a lens action in the usual manner to direct the light outputs from groups of pixels appropriately and enable a stereoscopic image to be perceived when suitable stereoscopic sub-images are displayed on the image display device. In the other setting, the "off" mode, this lens action is removed and the lenticular means behaves like a simple sheet of transparent material thereby allowing the same display information to be received by both eyes of a viewer as in the case of a conventional two-dimensional display.). Battersby is also teaching an explicitly multi-view display (see col. 4 lines 32-53: “FIG. 2 illustrates, in plan view, the operation of the apparatus in producing, in this example, a four view display output… with the viewer's eyes situated as shown a stereoscopic image comprised of views 2 and 3 will be seen. By moving sideways the viewer will see two other stereoscopic images composed of views 1 and 2 and views 3 and 4. Of course, the number of views provided can be varied from just two views giving a single stereoscopic image to more than four views, for example seven views providing six stereoscopic images.”
Battersby further teaches (claim 49) “wherein:
a switchable lenticular lens in the switchable lenticular lens array is a cylindrical lens (col. 3 line 64 to col. 4 line 5: "The lenticular elements 16 comprise optically cylindrically converging lenticules, for example formed as convex cylindrical lenses which extend parallel to the pixel columns"), the cylindrical lens being elongated in a vertical direction (col. 3 line 64 to col. 4 line 5: "The lenticular elements 16 comprise… convex cylindrical lenses which extend parallel to the pixel columns… in a vertically interleaved fashion") and are configured to direct light into a plurality of views (col. 3 line 64 to col. 4 line 5: "The lenticular elements 16 … serve in known manner to provide separate images… to the two eyes of a viewer… so as to produce a stereoscopic display.")…
the views being horizontally adjacent to one another (col. 3 line 64 to col. 4 line 5: "The lenticular elements 16 … serve in known manner to provide separate images… in a vertically interleaved fashion to the two eyes of a viewer… so as to produce a stereoscopic display."),
wherein the cylindrical lens in the ON state has a focal length selected such that at a specified viewing plane, the views have a center-to-center spacing that corresponds to an average interpupillary distance of a human (col. 2 lines 6-9: “In one setting, the "on" mode, the lenticular means is operable to perform a lens action in the usual manner to direct the light outputs from groups of pixels appropriately and enable a stereoscopic image to be perceived…” In order to produce autostereoscopic imaging the center-to-center spacing has to correspond to the interpupillary distance of the viewer, and thus “corresponds to” an average interpupillary distance of a human).”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to array of cylindrical lenses, parallel to one another and elongated in a vertical direction as taught by Battersby in the device of Ijzerman, because Ijzerman does not explicitly explain the details of the arrangement of the switchable lenticular, but is an improvement of the device of Battersby (see Ijzerman paragraphs [0004]-[0005]), such that it stands to reason that features which are not explicitly taught as differing from the prior art cited, are likely to not have changed, and further because Battersby teaches that such a vertical arrangement of elongated lenticular lenses can achieve a stereoscopic display.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 9 of 14 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant first explains where support can be found for the amendments to the claims. The examiner agrees, the amended claims do not introduce new matter.
Next on page 9 of 14 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant notes that the 35 USC §112 rejection of the previous office action has been overcome by the amendments to the claims. The examiner agrees, the 35 USC §112 rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 30, 42 and 45 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Urey et al. US 2011/0001804 A1 “Apparatus For Displaying 3D Images” paragraph [0052]: “The LEDs are driven by pulse width modulation (PWM) method. N bit depth level PWM provides 2N different intensity levels. A counter is synthesized within FPGA whose output value is compared with a reference value for each single output pin and produces PWM LED drive signal. N-bit video input determines the LED drive pulse width” pertinent to the benefits of utilizing pulse width modulation for controlling the intensities within an image.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARA E RAKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872