DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 09/04/2024, said application claims a priority date of 03/18/2022.
Claims 1-10 are pending in the case.
Claim 1 is the only independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9:
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the customer" in line . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10:
Claim 10 is rejected for fully incorporating the deficiency of its base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Piepenbrink et al. (US 2010/0146607 A1, published 06/10/2010, hereinafter “Piepenbrink”).
Independent Claims 1 and Claim 9:
Piepenbrink discloses an apparatus and method comprising:
management circuitry configured to manage a plurality of user devices associated with customer identification information for identifying a customer and a plurality of users associated with the customer identification information (A main account is issued to the household and sub accounts are assigned under the main account to each of the family members, Piepenbrink: Fig. 4, ¶ [0022]-[0023], [0027], [0034], [0046], [0054].);
first acquisition circuitry configured to acquire use history information relating to a use history of each of the plurality of user devices (The system tracks and reports end user activity data for each of the end user devices assigned to a sub account, Piepenbrink: ¶ [0035]. A first set of activity includes, phone calls, web surfing, emailing, etc., Piepenbrink: ¶ [0030]-[0032], [0049]);
second acquisition circuitry configured to acquire transaction history information relating to a transaction history of each of the plurality of users (The system tracks and reports end user activity data for each of the end user devices assigned to a sub account, Piepenbrink: ¶ [0035]. A second set of activity includes purchases associated with particular user accounts, Piepenbrink: ¶ [0025], [0043], [0049].); and
specification circuitry configured to;
specify at least one user device corresponding to particular customer identification information identifying a particular customer, from among the customer identification information (A particular end user device associated with a sub account can be specified from the main account, Piepenbrink: ¶ [0027], [0030]-[0035], [0054]);
specify at least one user corresponding to the particular customer identification information (A particular sub account can be specified from the main account, Piepenbrink: Fig. 2, ¶ [0034]-[0035]); and
specify an introduction object based on the use history information of the at least one user device, the transaction history information of the at least one user, and a recommendation condition for recommending the introduction object to the customer (The sub-account profile is built by the device activity data, Piepenbrink: ¶ [0030]. The type of device activity data that is specifically named as inputs to the profiling module includes the internet profiling database 304 (use history information) and purchase history 316 (transaction history), Piepenbrink: ¶ [0049]. The system provides advertisements based on the profile, Piepenbrink: Fig. 2, ¶ [0035]. The advertisement can be for a product such as a ringtone or video game that the user can buy and download to the device (introduction object) and can be selected by further considering a product interest score (recommendation condition), Piepenbrink: ¶ [0038], [0047]-[0048], [0050].).
Claim 5:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Piepenbrink further discloses an apparatus further comprising:
calculation circuitry configured to calculate a predetermined period on the use history basis or on the transaction history basis (The history is used to determine a preferred end user time of day (predetermined period), Piepenbrink: ¶ [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0055]).
Claim 6:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Piepenbrink further discloses an apparatus further comprising a transmitter to transmit information relating to the specified introduction object to a destination associated with the customer identification information (Piepenbrink: ¶ [0024], [0035], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0059]).
Claim 7:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Piepenbrink further teaches a recommendation management system, comprising:
the recommendation apparatus of claim 1 configured to manage information relating to an introduction object to be introduced by a customer (Piepenbrink: ¶ [0038], [0042]-[0043], [0050]); and
a communication terminal configured to display the information relating to the introduction object transmitted by the recommendation management apparatus (Figs. 1-4, ¶ [0013], [0038], [0047], [0056] ),
wherein the recommendation management apparatus further includes a transmitter configured to transmit information relating to the specified introduction object to the communication terminal (Piepenbrink: Figs. 2 and 4, ¶ [0035], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0059]), and
wherein the communication terminal includes a receiver configured to receive information relating to the introduction object from the transmitter (Piepenbrink: ¶ [0004], [0038], [0042], [0059]).
Claim 8:
The rejection of claim 7 is incorporated. Piepenbrink further discloses a system wherein the user device includes at least one of a multifunction peripheral, a scanner, a facsimile apparatus, an electronic whiteboard, a projector, a personal computer, a smartphone, and an interactive voice operation apparatus (Piepenbrink: ¶ [0013].).
Claim 10:
The rejection of claim 9 is incorporated. Piepenbrink further discloses a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing computer readable code for controlling a computer system to perform the method of claim 9 (Piepenbrink: Fig. 4, ¶ [0016], [0057], [0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piepenbrink et al. (US 2010/0146607 A1, published 06/10/2010, hereinafter “Piepenbrink”) in view of Hoctor et al. (US 2015/012630 A1, published 10/29/2015, hereinafter “Hoctor”).
Claim 2:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Piepenbrink further discloses an apparatus wherein:
the usage history information includes use headings (The system track device usage by activity type and data format (use headings), Piepenbrink: ¶ [0031]);
the transaction history includes transaction headings (The system tracks purchases made via the internet on the cell phone and through brick and mortar stores, (transaction headings), Piepenbrink: ¶ [0048], [0049].).
Piepenbrink does not appear to expressly teach an apparatus wherein the specification circuitry is configured to specify the introduction object in a case where a number of uses per data corresponding to use heading included in the use history information accumulated in a predetermined period included in the recommendation condition and a number of transactions per transaction heading included in the transaction history information accumulated in the predetermined period satisfy the recommendation condition.
However, Hoctor teaches an apparatus wherein the specification circuitry is configured to specify the introduction object in a case where a number of uses per data corresponding to use heading included in the use history information accumulated in a predetermined period included in the recommendation condition and a number of transactions per transaction heading included in the transaction history information accumulated in the predetermined period satisfy the recommendation condition (The system provides an advertisement (introduction object) to the user based on a score satisfying a threshold, Hoctor: ¶ [0188]. The system comprises a viewing history comprising different use headings (series and premium channel content viewed) and a rate of content consumed for each heading within a certain period of time (recommendation condition), Hoctor: ¶ [0060]-[0062], [0118], [0120], [0189]. The system comprises a purchase history comprising headings (service or media asset series) and a number of assets from a heading that were purchased within a certain period of time, Hoctor: ¶ [0014]-[0016], [0144], [0191]-[0193]. The time period (limitation) for the consumption and purchases can be the same, since Hoctor teaches that the features and limitations described in any one embodiment may be applied to any other embodiment, Hoctor: ¶ [0194]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Piepenbrink wherein the specification circuitry is configured to specify the introduction object in a case where a number of uses per data corresponding to use heading included in the use history information accumulated in a predetermined period included in the recommendation condition and a number of transactions per transaction heading included in the transaction history information accumulated in the predetermined period satisfy the recommendation condition, as taught by Hoctor.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to more effectively determine the appropriate advertisements for a target user at specific times thus avoiding unnecessary or no-longer-relevant advertisements (Hoctor: ¶ [0013], [0017], [0050], [0119]).
Claim 3:
The rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Piepenbrink in view of Hoctor further teaches an apparatus wherein; the specification circuitry means is configured to specify the introduction object in a case where a change rate of the number of uses and a change rate of the number of transactions in the predetermined period satisfy the recommendation condition (The system can determine that the rate at which a user consumes media assets from the service has decreased (changed) in a particular period of time and based on the decreased rate, the system provides the recommended content, Hoctor: ¶ [0119]-[0120]. The rate of purchases are also considered within a particular period of time, Hoctor: ¶ [0014]. The change rate analysis of [0019] of Hoctor may be applied to the rate of purchases of [0014], since “the features and limitations described in any one embodiment may be applied to any other embodiment”, Hoctor: ¶ [0193].).
Claim 4:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Piepenbrink further teaches an apparatus wherein:
the transaction history information representing the transaction history includes purchase history information representing a purchase history relating to a purchase of the at least one user device (Piepenbrink: ¶ [0025], [0043], [0049]), and
the specification circuitry is configured to specify the introduction object based on the use history and the transaction history including at least one of the purchase history, the contract history, and the research history (The sub-account profile is built by the device activity data, Piepenbrink: ¶ [0030]. The type of device activity data that is specifically named as inputs to the profiling module includes the internet profiling database 304 (use history information) and purchase history 316 (transaction history), Piepenbrink: ¶ [0049]. The system provides advertisements based on the profile, Piepenbrink: Fig. 2, ¶ [0035]. The advertisement can be for a product such as a ringtone or video game that the user can buy and download to the device (introduction object) and can be selected by further considering a product interest score (recommendation condition), Piepenbrink: ¶ [0038], [0047]-[0048], [0050].).
Piepenbrink does not appear to expressly teach an apparatus wherein the transaction history information representing the transaction history includes contract history information representing a contract history relating to a contract of the at least one user device, and research history information representing a research history relating to a research on the at least one user device.
However, Hoctor teaches an apparatus wherein the transaction history information representing the transaction history includes contract history information representing a contract history relating to a contract of the at least one user device, and research history information representing a research history relating to a research on the at least one user device (The system stores subscription (contract) data for users, Hoctor: ¶ [0106]. The system can also monitor and store the brain state or attentiveness of the user (research of the user) for making determinations on when to present recommendations to the user, Hoctor: ¶ [0106], [0122]-[0123]. The history also includes user responses to queries regarding his or her likes or dislikes (research history), Hoctor: ¶ [0064].).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Piepenbrink wherein the transaction history information representing the transaction history includes contract history information representing a contract history relating to a contract of the at least one user device, and research history information representing a research history relating to a research on the at least one user device, as taught by Hoctor.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to more effectively determine the appropriate time to provide advertisements for a target user (Hoctor: ¶ [0106], [0122]-[0123].).
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular columns and line and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure.
Lee et al., US 2022/0100809 A1 (Recommendations are given based on usage history data and transaction history data, ¶ [0046])
Yamada et al., US 2023/0117726 A1 (Recommendations are given based on purchase history and use history, ¶ [0067])
/DANIEL RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178