Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I- claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 09/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 uses the phrase “applying an adhesive to an exposed inner side of after the sensor is positioned in the pocket”. It is entirely unclear to the Examiner what is being claimed, and therefore this statement is indefinite. It appears as if some words were deleted.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites the limitation "the adhesive" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Weinstein et al. (US 2023/0082672; hereafter Weinstein).
Regarding claim 1, Weinstein teaches a method for forming an intraoral monitor (Abstract) comprising providing a first base mold corresponding in shape to at least a portion of a set of teeth (mold- shown in Figure 37A) and then thermoforming an inner retainer around the first base mold ([0315]). After the inner retainer is formed, at least one sensor is attached to the inner retainer ([0318]; see Figure 38). Following the attachment of the sensor, an outer retainer is formed on the inner retainer ([0324]; noted as accomplished by “vacuum forming” in [0321]), then the outer retainer is then coupled to the inner retainer (an additional curing step- [0324]). The combination of the mold, inner retainer, and sensor can be interpreted as the second base mold, and in so doing takes the shape of the first base mold, which is noted as having the topography of the user’s teeth ([0317]) and thus corresponds to a set of teeth and the presence of the sensor corresponds to the sensor. This gives the outer retainer the ability to mount the set of teeth and the overall shape of teeth, and thus the outer surface comprises an occlusal side, a buccal side, and a lingual side just like teeth. The sensor is positioned on the buccal side of the retainer ([0323]; see also Figure 41). As the outer retainer is thermoformed, its inner side makes contact by positioning with the sensor, which makes the shape of a pocket or opening in the outer retainer. The positioning and pocket forming step occur at the same time. Following the coupling step, a portion of the outer retainer proximate to the sensor is removed to form an opening in the outer retainer ([0325]).
Regarding claim 2, Weinstein teaches to trim a perimeter portion of the inner retainer ([0328]).
Regarding claim 3, Weinstein teaches to trim a perimeter portion of the outer retainer ([0325]).
Regarding claim 4, Weinstein teaches to apply adhesive to the sensor ([0323]). This is done before the formation of the outer retainer ([0324]), and thus would be relevant to the positioning step.
Regarding claim 5, Weinstein teaches that the adhesive is applied to any present sides of the sensor ([0323]). The Examiner is unsure what is being claimed by claim 5, but this broad teaching of applying adhesive to multiple sides of the sensor would appear relevant to what is sought by Applicant.
Regarding claim 6, Weinstein teaches that coupling the outer retainer to the inner retainer includes curing the adhesive via exposure to ultraviolet light ([0324]).
Regarding claim 7, Weinstein teaches that removing a portion of the outer retainer proximate the sensor includes cutting a portion of the outer retainer away from the sensor, and that this also exposes other electrical components ([0325]). This can include a transducer ([0071]).
Regarding claim 8, Weinstein teaches of applying an adhesive to a seam formed between the outer retainer and the sensor ([0323]-[0324]).
Regarding claim 10, Weinstein teaches that the manufactured product can be around a singular tooth ([0188]), in which case the sensor would be positioned adjacent to a single tooth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinstein as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Thomas (NPL Webpage- “The Advantages of Laser Cutting”; posted 1/27/2019; PDF included with Office Action).
Regarding claim 9, in applying Weinstein as in claim 1, Weinstein does not teach exposing an overlapping area formed by the outer retainer and the inner retainer to a laser beam, but does teach that an overlapping area formed by the outer retainer and the inner retainer is trimmed ([0325]). Thomas teaches that laser cutting is a preferred cutting technique due to its high precision and accuracy (Paragraph 1 under “Benefits of Laser Cutting” Section of page 2). Trimming by laser would be exposing the overlapping area to a laser beam. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to apply the laser cutting technique in the trimming step of Weinstein for the advantage of having highly precise, accurate cuts.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER S WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745