DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/4/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the random alloy" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purpose of examination, it was presumed applicant intended to disclose --a random alloy--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Julien et al (US 2012/0120478 A1) in view of Ryu et al (WO 2007/067166 A1) and further in view of Zhang et al (CN 101811659 A).
In regard to claim 1, Julien discloses a semiconductor optical modulator (page 5, section [0107]-[0126], Figures 2-4, “2”) that is formed by stacking a plurality of semiconductor layers (page 5, sections [0116]-[0120], Figure 3, “22, 23, 24”) including an optical modulation layer (Figure 3 & 4, “23”) on a semiconductor substrate (Figure 3, “21,” re: AlN) and emits light by modulating an intensity (page 1, section [0015]) or a phase of light incident on the optical modulation layer (page 1, section [0019], page 3, section [0073], Claim 6), the semiconductor optical modulator comprising the optical modulation layer (Figures 4 & 5, “23”), wherein the optical modulation layer is formed by alternately stacking a quantum well layer (page 5, sections [0122]-[0126], Figure 4, re: quantum well layers “QW1, QW2, QW3”) and a barrier layer (Figure 4, re: barrier layers “BL0, BL1, BL2, BL3”), and the quantum well layer is formed in which the semiconductor layers having a layer thickness of two or more atomic layers (page 5, section [0124], re: quantum wells, each with a thickness of 4 to 6 monoatomic layers) are alternately and repeatedly stacked (page 5, sections [0122]-[0126], Figure 4, re: quantum well layers “QW1, QW2, QW3”), but does not specifically disclose wherein the barrier layers have a band gap larger than that of the quantum well layer or wherein the quantum well layer is formed using a digital alloy in which the semiconductor layers have different constituent elements or composition ratios.
Within the same field of endeavor, Ryu teaches that it is well known for quantum well structures to comprise a set of more than one quantum well layers and intervening barrier structures comprised of one or a multiplicity of layers with the energy band gap of the barrier structures larger than the energy band gap values of associated quantum well layers such that a multiplicity of quantum wells are formed with each well containing one or more discrete energy levels (page 9, lines 10-16) and Zhang et al teaches wherein it is desirable for quantum well layers to be formed using a digital alloy having different constituent elements for the purpose of introducing a larger degree of freedom to the design of the quantum structure and function and brings advantages on the control of the strain and interface of the quantum structure (Abstract and sections [0005]-[0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the barrier layers of Julien et al to have a band gap larger than that of the quantum well layer since Ryu teaches that it is well known for quantum well structures to comprise as claimed so that a multiplicity of quantum wells are formed with each well containing one or more discrete energy levels and for the quantum well layer of Julien et al to be formed using a digital alloy in which the semiconductor layers have different constituent elements or composition ratios since Zhang et al teaches wherein it is desirable for the purpose of introducing a larger degree of freedom to the design of the quantum structure and function and brings advantages on the control of the strain and interface of the quantum structure.
Regarding claim 2, Julien et al discloses wherein the semiconductor optical modulator is an electro-absorption type or a Mach-Zehnder type (pages 2-3, section [0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang et al further teaches wherein the barrier layer is formed of a digital alloy for the purpose of improving the structure quality (section [0008]).
Regarding claim 7, Julien et al discloses as set forth above, but does not specifically disclose wherein the optical modulation layer has a thickness of 20 nm or more and 500 nm or less.
However, Julien et al discloses wherein the optical modulation layer has a thickness of about 16.5 nm (page 5, sections [0122]-[0126], Figure 4, “23”) and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the optical modulation layer of Julien et al to have a thickness of 20 nm or more and 500 nm or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 10, modified Julien et al discloses as set forth above, but does not specifically disclose wherein the layer thickness of the digital alloy is equal to or less than 8 atomic layers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the layer thickness of the digital alloy of modified Julien et al to be equal to or less than 8 atomic layers since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claims 11-16: a semiconductor optical modulator as claimed, specifically wherein the optical modulation layer is a semiconductor layer that is not formed with a quantum well and has a thickness of 20 nm or more and 500 nm or less and is formed using a digital alloy in which the semiconductor layers having a layer thickness of two or more atomic layers and having different constituent elements or composition ratios are alternately and repeatedly stacked.
Claims 5, 8, and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 5: a semiconductor optical modulator as claimed, specifically wherein the optical modulation layer is a single quantum well layer formed of a quantum well layer having a thickness of 20 nm or more and 500 nm or less and the barrier layer.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 8: a semiconductor optical modulator as claimed, specifically wherein the digital alloy is formed by stacking a plurality of types of layers having different repetition periods.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 9: a semiconductor optical modulator as claimed, specifically wherein, among the plurality of semiconductor layers, a semiconductor layer closer to the optical modulation layer than an end portion in a stacking direction is formed of the digital alloy.
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, taking into account the presumption(s) made in the examination of the claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 4: a semiconductor optical modulator as claimed, specifically wherein the quantum well layer is formed by stacking the digital alloy and the random alloy.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 June 22, 2026