DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
There are numerous elements which do not have corresponding numbers in the Specification, including but not limited to:
8e, 8b, 8c.
Specification
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
There are numerous elements which do not have corresponding numbers in the Specification, including but not limited to:
8e, 8b, 8c.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
There are numerous minor informalities in the claims. A few are listed below. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 11, 12, and 15 use the term “operator”, while claims 1, 2, and 4 use the term “user”. It is assumed these are the same. It is suggested the term be changed.
Claim 1 line 4 “the cold water” should state “cold water”.
Claim 1 line 4-5 “the hot water” should state “hot water”.
Claim 1 line 5 “the mixed water” should state “mixed water”.
Claim 2 line 3 “a user” should state “the user”.
Claim 5 line 7 “the same position” should state “a same position”.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations include: “shutter means” Claim 1; “first actuating means” Claim 1; “Second actuating means” claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nobili EP 2865929B1 (“Nobili”).
Regarding Claim 1, Nobili discloses an adjusting device for water-dispensing units, comprising: a valve body (ann. fig. 2) that extends along a longitudinal axis (X) and is provided with a first inlet (9) for the cold water (para 0059), with a second inlet (9b) for the hot water (para 0059) and with an outlet (8) for the mixed water (para 0059), shutter means (2) movable along said longitudinal axis (X) configured to control a flow of water from said first (9) and second (9b) inlets to said outlet (8)(para 0051), a mixing chamber (5b) suitable for receiving and mixing the water coming from said first inlet (9) and from said second inlet (9b) so as to supply an outgoing flow of water at a desired temperature (para 0020 and 0045), first actuating means (7c) operationally connected to said shutter means (2) and configured to arrange said shutter means (2) in an open position (fully open flow is illustrated in ann. fig. 2) and in a closed position (fully closure of flow is illustrated in fig. 3) to respectively enable/disable the transit of said flow of water towards said outlet (8), said first actuating means (7c) being further configured to arrange said shutter means (2) in an intermediate adjustable position between said total open position and said closed position to adjust an outgoing water flow rate (para 0020 and 0061), second actuating means (11) operationally connected to said mixing chamber (5b) and configured to adjust a temperature (para 0058) of said flow of water , a first control member (7 and 7b) para 0039, 0040, 0050, 0051) made of a single piece configured to couple with said first actuating means (7c) and configured to receive a manual action from a user to open, close dispensing of water and to adjust the flow rate (para 0051) of the outgoing water, wherein said first control member (7 and 7b) is translatable along said longitudinal axis (X) to open and close dispensing of water and is rotatable (para 0051) around said longitudinal axis (X) to vary the flow rate of the outgoing water (para 0051), a second control member (10, para 0058) coupling with said second actuating means (11) and configured to receive a manual action from said user to vary the temperature of said flow of water (0051), wherein said second control member (10) comprises a hollow body (see fig. 2) that surrounds at least partially said first control member (shaft 7b, second control member 10 surrounds the first control member shaft 7b, see ann. fig. 2 and fig. 3) and extends around said longitudinal axis (X), wherein said second control member (10) is rotatable around said longitudinal axis (X) to vary the temperature of said flow of water (para 0058), said second control member (10) being provided with an outer surface intended to be grasped by said user to rotate said second control member (para 0032).
ANNOTATED FIGURES 2 AND 3
Regarding Claim 2, Nobili discloses said second control member (10) is configured as a sleeve body that defines a tubular dial intended to be handled by a user (para 0032).
Regarding Claim 3, Nobili discloses said first control member (7b) is at least partially inserted (see ann. fig. 2) along said longitudinal axis (X) into said second control member (10).
Regarding Claim 4, Nobili discloses said mixing chamber (5b) is rotatable (disk 400 in chamber 5b is rotatable, para 0058) with respect to said valve body (ann. fig. 2) around said longitudinal axis (X) together with said second actuating means (11) with a rotation action imposed by the user on said second control member (10).
Regarding Claim 5, Nobili discloses said second control member (10) comprises a coupling portion configured to connect (para 0032) to said second actuating means (11), and an engaging portion (teeth 55b, 10b, and recesses 66b, 11b, see para 0032) configured to engage with a portion of said valve body (para 0032), and wherein the engaging portion (teeth 55b, 10b, and recesses 66b, 11b, see para 0032) is housed in a circumferential seat zone of said valve body (formed on peripheral parts, para 0032) such that said second control member (10) always maintains in operation the same position (see ann. fig. 2 and fig. 3 for position of second control member 10) along said longitudinal axis (X), whatever the rotation imposed on said second control member (10).
Regarding Claim 6, Nobili discloses said second actuating means (11) comprise a movable part (11b) arranged for engaging (teeth 10b and 11b engage) with said second control member (10) and a fixed part (11b) that is rotatably fixed (teeth 11b and 66b engage) to said mixing chamber (5b), said movable part and said fixed part being reciprocally movable longitudinally but rotatably integral with one another (para 0032).
Regarding Claim 7, Nobili discloses said movable part of said second actuating means (11) comprise a further coupling portion shaped (teeth 10b and 11b act as a pen actuator) to couple slidingly with said coupling portion of said second control member (10) to permit reciprocal axial movement thereof (para 0032).
Regarding Claim 8, Nobili discloses said mixing chamber (5b) is provided with at least one transit opening (3d) arranged for reducing a flow of water coming from said first inlet (9) and/or from said second inlet (9b) on the basis of a relative position between said mixing chamber (5b) and said valve body to impose a desired temperature of said flow of outgoing water (para 0048 and 0049).
Regarding Claim 9, Nobili discloses said shutter means comprise a shutter element (2) which is movable and arranged for interacting with a diaphragm element (3a) to position said diaphragm element at a set height on said longitudinal axis (X) to impose a desired flow rate on said flow of outgoing water (para 0046-0048).
Regarding Claim 10, Nobili discloses said first actuating member (7c) comprises a magnetic interaction element (4) and said shutter means (2) comprise a further magnetic interaction element, said first actuating member (7c) and said shutter means (2) being connected magnetically (para 0020, 0022, 0030-0036).
Regarding Claim 11, Nobili discloses said first control member (7b) comprises a coupling surface (teeth on 7b, see fig. 1) configured to contact axially (teeth on 7c) said first actuating means (7c)(para 0055), and by an action of an operator to enable or prevent the transit of said flow of outgoing water (para 0056), and a further engaging portion (20) configured to engage slidably longitudinally (tab 77 passing through the threaded ring 20, para 0053-0054) with said first actuating means (7c), and by an action of an operator, to transmit a rotation to said first actuating means (7c) so as to adjust said outgoing flow rate (para 0053-0056).
Regarding Claim 12, Nobili discloses said first actuating means (7b) comprise a screw-nut mechanism (20) configured to convert a rotation caused by an operator on said first control member (7b) into a movement along said longitudinal axis of said shutter means (2) so as to vary said outgoing fluid flow rate (para 0053-0054).
Regarding Claim 13, Nobili discloses said first actuating means (7c) comprise a bistable positioning mechanism (para 0041 -0042) configured to project along said longitudinal axis (X) said first control member (7b) externally with respect to said second control member (10) in said open position (ann. fig. 2) of said shutter means (2) and to insert at least partially, said first control member (7b) into said second control member (11) in said closed position (fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 14, Nobili discloses in said closed position (fig. 3) said first control member (7b) is inserted completely (see fig. 3into said second control member (10), and wherein an upper surface of said first control member (7b) is flush with an upper edge of said second control member (10), so that said upper surface and said upper surface lie on the same plane (see fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 15, Nobili discloses in said open position (ann. fig. 2), said first control member (7b) protrudes outside said second control member (10), so as to make accessible a peripheral control surface (outer surface of second control member 10) of said first control member (7b) to an operator thus permitting the rotation of said first control member (7b) to adjust said outgoing flow rate.
Regarding Claim 16, Nobili discloses a housing chamber (7a) inserted into said valve body (ann. fig. 2) and shaped to contain at least partially said mixing chamber (5b), between said mixing chamber (5b) and said housing chamber a gap being arranged for being filled, in use, with water so that a manual action of the user on said second control member (10) to vary the temperature of the flow of water is damped by the friction between said mixing chamber and the water contained in said gap (para 0048 describes the easy displacement and the dimensions of the elements).
Conclusion
/DAPHNE M BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753