DETAILED ACTION
Cross Reference to Related Applications
2. The present Application is a 371 national phase filing of International PCT Application No. PCT/CN2022/088800 by YUAN et at., entitled "UNIFIED TRANSMISSION CONFIGURATION INDICATOR STATE INDICATION FOR SINGLE-FREQUENCY NETWORKS," filed April 24, 2022, which is assigned to the assignee, and which is expressly incorporated by reference in its entirety.
Claims status
3. This office action is a response to an application filed on June 22, 2026 in which claims 1-35 are pending for examination.
Drawings
4. The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on September 04, 2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statements submitted on September 04, 2024; February 23, 2026 and June 18, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-17 and 20-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (US 2024/0267175 A1), hereinafter “Matsumura” in view of Cirik et al. (US 2023/0209538 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosure of provisional application numbers 63/294708, 63/294705, 63/294711 and 36/294716, field on December 29, 2021), hereinafter “Cirik”.
Regarding claim 1, Matsumura discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Figs. 1, 14-15, a disclosure relates to a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station in next-generation mobile communication systems) comprising:
receiving a first control message (paragraphs [0233]-[0234], [0236], [0239], RRC IE) comprising a parameter (paragraphs [0233]-[0234], [0236], [0239], specific parameter) that indicates a single-frequency network communication scheme (paragraphs [0233]-[0234], [0236], [0239], SFM scheme) applicable to both (paragraphs [0233]-[0234], [0236], [0239], when the configuration of the SFN scheme for the PDCCH and the PDSCH is the same) a first physical downlink channel (paragraphs [0233]-[0234], [0236], [0239], physical downlink control channel ) and a second physical downlink channel (paragraphs [0233]-[0234], [0236], [0239], physical downlink shared channel);
receiving a second control message (paragraphs [0251], [0252], downlink control information) indicating a set of one or more transmission configuration indicator states from a plurality of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraphs [0251], [0252], DCI for indicating one or two TCI states for CORESET) ; and
receiving the first physical downlink channel and the second physical downlink channel (paragraphs [0251], [0252], DCI applied to PDCCH and PDSCH) using a subset of one or more transmission configuration indicator states (paragraphs [0251], [0252], one or two TCI states indicated by DCI).
While Matsumura implicitly refers to “the subset of one or more transmission configuration indicator states selected from the set of one or more transmission configuration indicator states based at least in part on the single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the parameter”, Cirik from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses receiving the first physical downlink channel and the second physical downlink channel (paragraphs [0593], [0698], [0708], [0712], [0899], PDCCH/PDSCH based TCI states) using a subset of one or more transmission configuration indicator states (paragraphs [0593], [0698], [0708], [0712], [0899], first TCI state of at least two TCI states and/or second TCI state of at least two TCI states), the subset of one or more transmission configuration indicator states selected from the set of one or more transmission configuration indicator states (paragraphs [0593], [0698], [0708], [0712], [0899], first TCI state( first value 00) and/or second TCI state( second value 01)) based at least in part on the single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the parameter (paragraphs [0593], [0698], [0708], [0712], [0899], based on configuration parameters indicating SFN scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the subset of one or more transmission configuration indicator states selected from the set of one or more transmission configuration indicator states based at least in part on the single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the parameter” as taught by Cirik, in the system of Matsumura, so that it would provide reduction of throughput applied to a state in a downlink signal/channel or an uplink signal/channel expressed as spatial relation (Cirik, paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 2, Matsumura in view of Cirik disclose the method according to claim 1.
Cirik further discloses the single-frequency network communication scheme corresponds to a first single-frequency network communication scheme of a plurality of single-frequency network communication schemes, and wherein receiving the first physical downlink channel and the second physical downlink channel comprises: receiving both the first physical downlink channel and the second physical downlink channel using each transmission configuration indicator state of the set of one or more transmission configuration indicator states indicated by the second control message based at least in part on the first single-frequency network communication scheme (paragraphs [0593], [0698], [0708], [0712], [0899], based on configuration parameters indicating SFN scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the single-frequency network communication scheme corresponds to a first single-frequency network communication scheme of a plurality of single-frequency network communication schemes, and wherein receiving the first physical downlink channel and the second physical downlink channel comprises: receiving both the first physical downlink channel and the second physical downlink channel using each transmission configuration indicator state of the set of one or more transmission configuration indicator states indicated by the second control message based at least in part on the first single-frequency network communication scheme” as taught by Cirik, in the system of Matsumura, so that it would provide reduction of throughput applied to a state in a downlink signal/channel or an uplink signal/channel expressed as spatial relation (Cirik, paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, Matsumura in view of Cirik disclose the method according to claim 2.
Cirik further discloses a codepoint indicated by the second control message comprises two transmission configuration indicator states from the plurality of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraphs [0692], [0694], TCI codepoint of one or more TCI codepoints).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “a codepoint indicated by the second control message comprises two transmission configuration indicator states from the plurality of transmission configuration indicator states” as taught by Cirik, in the system of Matsumura, so that it would provide reduction of throughput applied to a state in a downlink signal/channel or an uplink signal/channel expressed as spatial relation (Cirik, paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, Matsumura discloses the single-frequency network communication scheme corresponds to a second single-frequency network communication scheme of a plurality of single-frequency network communication schemes, and wherein receiving the first physical downlink channel and the second physical downlink channel comprises: receiving both the first physical downlink channel and the second physical downlink channel using a first set of quasi co-location parameters associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state of the set of one or more transmission configuration indicator states and a second set of one or more quasi co-location parameters associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state of the set of one or more transmission configuration indicator states based at least in part on the second single-frequency network communication scheme, wherein the second set of one or more quasi co-location parameters excludes one or more quasi co-location parameters (paragraphs [0176]-[0179], [0212], quasi co-location (QCL) parameter in a plurality of QCL parameters included in a specific TCI state; when QCL assumption method B is used, QCL type A is configured for one of the two TCI states associated with the codepoint indicated by DCI, and QCL type B is configured for the other, the UE may ignore the specific QCL parameter in the TCI state of QCL type A).
Regarding claim 5, Matsumura discloses the first set of quasi co-location parameters comprises a doppler shift parameter, a doppler spread parameter, a delay shift parameter, a delay spread parameter, or any combination thereof; and the second set of one or more quasi co-location parameters excludes one or more parameters of the first set of quasi co-location parameters (paragraphs [0176]-[0179], [0212], [QCL Assumption Method A] One of the two TCI states is associated with {average delay, delay spread}, and the other is associated with {average delay, delay spread, Doppler shift, Doppler spread} (that is, QCL-TypeA); [QCL Assumption Method B] One of the two TCI states is associated with {average delay, delay spread}, and the other is associated with {Doppler shift, Doppler spread} (that is, QCL-TypeB); [QCL Assumption Method C] One of the two TCI states is associated with {delay spread}, and the other is associated with {average delay, delay spread, Doppler shift, Doppler spread} (that is, QCL-TypeA)).
Regarding claim 6, Matsumura in view of Cirik disclose the method according to claim 4.
Cirik further discloses a codepoint indicated by the second control message comprises two transmission configuration indicator states from the plurality of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraphs [0692], [0694], TCI field indicating at least two TCI states).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “a codepoint indicated by the second control message comprises two transmission configuration indicator states from the plurality of transmission configuration indicator states” as taught by Cirik, in the system of Matsumura, so that it would provide reduction of throughput applied to a state in a downlink signal/channel or an uplink signal/channel expressed as spatial relation (Cirik, paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 7, Matsumura discloses receiving the first physical downlink channel and the second physical downlink channel comprises: receiving both the first physical downlink channel and the second physical downlink channel using a single transmission configuration indicator state based at least in part on the second control message indicating the single transmission configuration indicator state (paragraphs [0251], [0252], SFN scheme configured and the number of TCI states associated with CORESET; TCI states indicated by DCI applied to PDCCH and PDSCH).
Regarding claim 8, Matsumura discloses transmitting a capability message indicating a capability of the UE to support single-frequency network communications with multiple transmission and reception points, wherein the second control message indicates a codepoint that comprises one or more transmission configuration indicator states from the plurality of transmission configuration indicator states based at least in part on the capability message (paragraphs [0110], [0129], [0166], [0167], [0260], [0264], reported specific UE capability information using new SFN scheme (scheme 1/Doppler pre-compensation scheme)).
Regarding claim 9, Matsumura in view of Cirik disclose the method according to claim 1.
Cirik further discloses the first control message comprises a radio resource control message and the second control message comprises downlink control information (paragraphs [0592], [0688], control message (DCI, MAC-CE) indicating activation of : first TCI state and/or second TCI state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the first control message comprises a radio resource control message and the second control message comprises downlink control information” as taught by Cirik, in the system of Matsumura, so that it would provide reduction of throughput applied to a state in a downlink signal/channel or an uplink signal/channel expressed as spatial relation (Cirik, paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 10, Matsumura discloses receiving the first physical downlink channel and the second physical downlink channel comprises: receiving both the first physical downlink channel and the second physical downlink channel from two or more transmission and reception points in accordance with the single-frequency network communication scheme (paragraphs [0151], [0161], PDSCH/PDCCH using an SFN in multi-TRP, a PDSCH/PDCCH based on a SFN, and an SFN PDSCH/PDCCH).
Regarding claim 11, Matsumura discloses the first physical downlink channel comprises a physical downlink control channel and the second physical downlink channel comprises a physical downlink shared channel (paragraphs [0233]-[0234], [0236], [0239], SFN scheme for PDCCH/PDSCH).
Regarding claim 12, Matsumura discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Figs. 1, 14-15, disclosure relates to a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station in next-generation mobile communication systems), comprising:
receiving a first control message indicating a first parameter (paragraphs [0233], [0240], [0242], [0245], specific parameter (RRC IE)) associated with a first single-frequency network communication scheme applicable to a first physical downlink channel, or a second parameter associated with a second single-frequency network communication scheme applicable to a second physical downlink channel, or both (paragraphs [0233], [0240], [0242], [0245], SFN scheme for PDSCH and SFN scheme for PDCCH are separately configured);
receiving a second control message (paragraphs [0251], [0252], downlink control information) that indicates one or more transmission configuration indicator states from a set of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraphs [0251], [0252], DCI for indicating one or two TCI states for CORESET); and
receiving each of the first physical downlink channel and the second physical downlink channel (paragraphs [0251], [0252], DCI applied to PDCCH and PDSCH) using at least one transmission configuration indicator state of the one or more transmission configuration indicator states (paragraphs [0251], [0252], one or two TCI states indicated by DCI).
While Matsumura implicitly refers to “at least one transmission configuration indicator state of the one or more transmission configuration indicator states based at least in part on the first single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the first parameter, the second single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the second parameter, or both”, Cirik from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses receiving each of the first physical downlink channel and the second physical downlink channel using at least one transmission configuration indicator state of the one or more transmission configuration indicator states (paragraphs [0593], [0698], [0708], [0712], [0899], PDCCH/PDSCH based TCI states) based at least in part on the first single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the first parameter, the second single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the second parameter, or both (paragraphs [0593], [0698], [0708], [0712], [0899], based on configuration parameters indicating SFN scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “at least one transmission configuration indicator state of the one or more transmission configuration indicator states based at least in part on the first single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the first parameter, the second single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the second parameter, or both” as taught by Cirik, in the system of Matsumura, so that it would provide reduction of throughput applied to a state in a downlink signal/channel or an uplink signal/channel expressed as spatial relation (Cirik, paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 13, Matsumura discloses the first control message indicates the first parameter and the second parameter, and wherein receiving each of the first physical downlink channel and the second physical downlink channel comprises:
receiving the first physical downlink channel using all of the one or more transmission configuration indicator states based at least in part on the first single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the first parameter (paragraphs [0170], [0172]-[0173], [0175], [0240], PDCCH configuration information (PDCCH-Config) may include the specific parameter); and
receiving the second physical downlink channel using all of the one or more transmission configuration indicator states based at least in part on the second single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the second parameter (paragraphs [0170], [0173]-[0174], [0242], PDSCH configuration information (PDSCH-Config) may include the specific parameter).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, Matsumura in view of Cirik disclose the method according to claim 1.
Cirik further discloses receiving the first physical downlink channel using all of the one or more transmission configuration indicator states based at least in part on the first single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the first parameter; and receiving the second physical downlink channel using a subset of the one or more transmission configuration indicator states based at least in part on the second single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the second parameter and a transmission configuration indicator state selection parameter, wherein the second control message indicates the transmission configuration indicator state selection parameter (paragraphs [0593], [0698], [0708], [0712], [0899], TCI state of at least two TCI states and/or second TCI state of at least two TCI states and based on configuration parameters indicating SFN scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “receiving the first physical downlink channel using all of the one or more transmission configuration indicator states based at least in part on the first single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the first parameter; and receiving the second physical downlink channel using a subset of the one or more transmission configuration indicator states based at least in part on the second single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the second parameter and a transmission configuration indicator state selection parameter, wherein the second control message indicates the transmission configuration indicator state selection parameter” as taught by Cirik, in the system of Matsumura, so that it would provide reduction of throughput applied to a state in a downlink signal/channel or an uplink signal/channel expressed as spatial relation (Cirik, paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 16, Matsumura in view of Cirik disclose the method according to claim 15.
Cirik further discloses a codepoint indicated by the second control message comprises two transmission configuration indicator states from the set of transmission configuration indicator states; and the subset comprises one or both of the two transmission configuration indicator states (paragraphs [0692], [0694], TCI codepoint of one or more TCI codepoints).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “a codepoint indicated by the second control message comprises two transmission configuration indicator states from the set of transmission configuration indicator states; and the subset comprises one or both of the two transmission configuration indicator states” as taught by Cirik, in the system of Matsumura, so that it would provide reduction of throughput applied to a state in a downlink signal/channel or an uplink signal/channel expressed as spatial relation (Cirik, paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 17, Matsumura in view of Cirik disclose the method according to claim 15.
Cirik further discloses the transmission configuration indicator state selection parameter indicates a single transmission configuration indicator state or two transmission configuration indicator states to be applied for receipt of the second physical downlink channel (paragraphs [0593], [0698], [0708], [0712], [0899], first TCI state of at least two TCI states and/or second TCI state of at least two TCI states; based on configuration parameters indicating SFN scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the transmission configuration indicator state selection parameter indicates a single transmission configuration indicator state or two transmission configuration indicator states to be applied for receipt of the second physical downlink channel” as taught by Cirik, in the system of Matsumura, so that it would provide reduction of throughput applied to a state in a downlink signal/channel or an uplink signal/channel expressed as spatial relation (Cirik, paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 20, Matsumura discloses receiving the first physical downlink channel using all of the one or more transmission configuration indicator states indicated by the second control message based at least in part on the first single-frequency network communication scheme indicated by the first parameter; and receiving the second physical downlink channel using a subset of transmission configuration indicator states based at least in part on exclusion of the second parameter from the first control message (paragraphs [0233]-[0234],[0236], [0239], [0252], UE may receive DCI for indicating one or two TCI states for the CORESET; the UE that has received the DCI may ignore the specific QCL parameter of the specific TCI state for the CORESET in reception of the PDCCH in the CORESET later than a specific timing; the specific timing may be a time point after a specific time has elapsed since end of ACK transmission indicated by the DCI. The specific time may be defined in specifications, may be configured by an RRC IE, or may be reported as UE capability information; the specific time may be K symbols; the one or two TCI states indicated by the DCI may be applied to the PDCCH and the PDSCH; the one or two TCI states indicated by the DCI may be unified TCI state (s) (common TCI state (s)).
Regarding claim 21, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1 (from perspective of a network entity).
Regarding claim 27, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2 (from perspective of the network entity).
Regarding claim 28, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 12 (from perspective of a network entity).
Regarding claim 29, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 13 (from perspective of the network entity).
Regarding claim 30, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 31, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 32, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 33, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 34, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 35, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 18 and 19 would be allowable contingent upon or subject to the following conditions: (1) that the subject limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, and (2) that all independent claims were amended with similar features and the amendments were submitted in a formal response. [Note: In a case of given the scope of the claimed amendments and/or the arguments would require further consideration or search may result in new ground(s) of rejection. The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.]
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 18 and19, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior arts of record (pertinent prior art as stated below) fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “determining that a time period between a first time at which the second control message is received and a current time is greater than or equal to the threshold time period, wherein the subset of transmission configuration indicator states comprises the one or more transmission configuration indicator states indicated by the transmission configuration indicator state selection parameter based at least in part on the time period being greater than or equal to the threshold time period” and “determining that a time period between a first time at which the second control message is received and a current time is less than the threshold time period, wherein the subset of transmission configuration indicator states comprises one or more default transmission configuration indicator states based at least in part on the time period being less than the threshold time period, the one or more default transmission configuration indicator states configured for the second physical downlink channel”.
Conclusion
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414