DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 11/5/2025.
Claims 7-11 are pending with claims 1-6 being cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 9/4/2024 and 3/11/2026 have been considered by Examiner.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are “a reception section” and “a control section” in claim 7 and “a control section” and “a transmission section” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini (USPAN 2022/0182130) in view of Islam (USPAN 2022/0311503).
Consider claims 7 and 11, Abedini discloses a repeater (see figure 3, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said repeater element 204), and a corresponding communication method (see paragraph 150, wherein disclosed is said method), comprising:
a reception section that receives beam identification information via a radio resource control message (see paragraph 150: RU unit 320 within the repeater 204 can use multiple TDD patterns to determine the repeater function, wherein each of the multiple TDD patterns can be determined by the DU or CU within the base station 102, and each of the multiple TDD patterns can be indicated using a message that can be sent as an RRC message or MAC-CE); and
a control section that determines a beam of a signal to be forwarded, based on the beam identification information (see paragraph 150: the repeater 204 uses the TDD patterns to determine the repeater function, and each TDD pattern can be associated with a cell identifier, TRP identifier, or beam identifier), wherein
the reception section receives control information via a Medium Access Control (MAC) layer (see paragraph 150: the repeater can receive said data via a MAC-CE message).
Abedini does not specifically disclose that a control section changes the beam of the signal based on beam identification information included in control information.
Islam discloses that a control section changes the beam of the signal based on beam identification information included in control information (see figure 4, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said changing of the beam, which would require said beam identification information in order to change the beam; also, see paragraphs 13, 15, and 19: the beam change instruction is included in a MAC-CE message or a RRC signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Abedini and combine it with the noted teachings of Islam. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for relaying data using a repeater and performing a beam change operation in an efficient manner (see paragraphs 4-9 of Islam).
Consider claim 9, Abedini discloses a base station (see figure 3, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said base station 102), comprising:
a control section that determines beam identification information related to a beam for a repeater to forward a signal; and a transmission section that transmits the beam identification information to the repeater via a radio resource control message (see paragraph 150: RU unit 320 within the repeater 204 can use multiple TDD patterns to determine the repeater function, wherein each of the multiple TDD patterns can be determined by the DU or CU within the base station 102, and each of the multiple TDD patterns can be indicated using a message that can be sent as an RRC message or MAC-CE); wherein
the transmission section transmits control information including beam identification information, to the repeater via a Medium Access Control (MAC) layer (see paragraph 150: the repeater can receive said data via a MAC-CE message).
Abedini does not specifically disclose that a control section determines to change the beam.
Islam discloses that a control section determines to change the beam (see figure 4, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said changing of the beam, which would require said beam identification information in order to change the beam; also, see paragraphs 13, 15, and 19: the beam change instruction is included in a MAC-CE message or a RRC signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Abedini and combine it with the noted teachings of Islam. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for relaying data using a repeater and performing a beam change operation in an efficient manner (see paragraphs 4-9 of Islam).
Consider claim 10, Abedini discloses a radio system, comprising: a base station; and a repeater (see figure 3, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said radio system comprising said base station 102 and said repeater 204),
the base station including:
a control section that determines beam identification information related to a beam for a repeater to forward a signal; and a transmission section that transmits the beam identification information to the repeater via a radio resource control message (see paragraph 150: RU unit 320 within the repeater 204 can use multiple TDD patterns to determine the repeater function, wherein each of the multiple TDD patterns can be determined by the DU or CU within the base station 102, and each of the multiple TDD patterns can be indicated using a message that can be sent as an RRC message or MAC-CE); wherein
the transmission section transmits control information including beam identification information, to the repeater via a Medium Access Control (MAC) layer (see paragraph 150: the repeater can receive said data via a MAC-CE message).
the repeater including:
a reception section that receives beam identification information via a radio resource control message (see paragraph 150: RU unit 320 within the repeater 204 can use multiple TDD patterns to determine the repeater function, wherein each of the multiple TDD patterns can be determined by the DU or CU within the base station 102, and each of the multiple TDD patterns can be indicated using a message that can be sent as an RRC message or MAC-CE); and
a control section that determines a beam of a signal to be forwarded, based on the beam identification information (see paragraph 150: the repeater 204 uses the TDD patterns to determine the repeater function, and each TDD pattern can be associated with a cell identifier, TRP identifier, or beam identifier), wherein
the reception section receives control information via a Medium Access Control (MAC) layer (see paragraph 150: the repeater can receive said data via a MAC-CE message).
Abedini does not specifically disclose that a control section determines to change the beam.
Islam discloses that a control section determines to change the beam (see figure 4, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said changing of the beam, which would require said beam identification information in order to change the beam; also, see paragraphs 13, 15, and 19: the beam change instruction is included in a MAC-CE message or a RRC signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Abedini and combine it with the noted teachings of Islam. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for relaying data using a repeater and performing a beam change operation in an efficient manner (see paragraphs 4-9 of Islam).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412