DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the 371 application entering national stage from PCT/KR2023/003285 filed on March 10, 2023.
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claims 1-11 are rejected.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the Instant Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 2, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 and 8 use the acronym/abbreviation “NWDAF”. These acronyms/abbreviations
should be spelled out and/or defined the first time recited in the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1 and 8, Claims 1 and 8 recites the limitation "the NWDAF" in Line 10 and Line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 and 8 are independent claims directed to a session management function. It is not clear what the NWDAF corresponds.
Claims 2-7 are also rejected since they depend upon indicated rejected base claim.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 recites “should be maintained for other UE” in Line 3. It is not clear what the other UE is referring to. Claim 7 depends upon Claim 1 and 6 which discuss a first UE or a second UE but it is not clear to what other UE corresponds to.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 recites “…based on a service or an operation based on Artificial Intelligence (AI)/Machine Learning (ML)…”. It is not clear what is based on a service or AI/ML. Claim 10 depends upon independent claim 9, Claim 9 recites various limitations of determining, transmitting and receiving but the claim does not appear to recite a transitional phrase it is not clear what limitation of the method is based on a service or an operation based on AI/ML.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Feng et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0276197, hereinafter Feng.
Regarding Claim 9, Feng discloses a method for performing a communication related to analytics information, the method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Abstract; Figure 3, 7 and 10-12) and comprising:
determining whether it is necessary to obtain analytics information from a 5G core (5GC) (Paragraph [0084-0092 and 0104-0105] Application of NWDAF for a terminal connecting to a 5G core);
transmitting a PDU session establishment request message to a session management function (SMF) (S701 of Figure 7; Paragraph [0249-0250] A UE sends a PDU session establishment request message to the SMF. The PDU session establishment request message includes indication information, and the indication information indicates that the UE sends analytics subscription information via a user plane. For more descriptions of the indication information, refer to S210).
wherein the PDU session establishment request message includes request information for activation of analytics information exposure, an analytics ID, and input parameters (Paragraph [0117-0119] The information about the analytics type requested by the terminal device may also be referred to as information about an analytics type (Configured Analytics ID) configured by the terminal device. The analytics type requested by the terminal device may be replaced by the configured analytics type, and details are not described again; The first information may include identification information of the terminal device, for example, a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), a permanent equipment identifier (PEI), or a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of the terminal device. The first information may further include a first analytics identifier, and the first analytics identifier is used to identify the information about the analytics type requested by the terminal device. For example, the first information may further include analytics result filtering information. For example, the first information includes information about an area of interest (AOI) of the terminal device. In other words, the terminal device requests a data analytics result in the AOI. The information about the AOI may include one or more of the following: a tracking area identifier (TAI), a cell identifier (cell ID), a geographical area identifier, a network code (NC), a country code (CC), a city code, and a county code.);
and receiving a PDU session establishment acceptance message from the SMF (S703 of Figure 7A; Paragraph [0254]);
and receiving analytics information based on the analytics ID from the SMF (S770 of Figure 7B; (S753 of Figure 7B; Paragraph [0265-0272] The SMF may obtain, via an NRF, the analytics type supported by the NWDAF (including step S751a and step S752a). This step is similar to S531 and S532. Alternatively, the SMF may directly request, from the NWDAF, the information about the analytics type supported by the NWDAF (including step S753 and step S754). This step is similar to S531 to S534, and details are not described herein again; S760: The SMF determines information about an analytics type (Allowed Analytics ID) that is allowed to be requested by the terminal device. This step is similar to S240, and details are not described herein again. S770: The SMF sends, to the terminal device, the information about the analytics type that is allowed to be requested by the terminal device; In the communication method shown in FIG. 7A and FIG. 7B, after receiving the user plane uplink data packet, the UPF forwards the user plane uplink data packet or the parsed information about the analytics type requested by the terminal device to the SMF, and the SMF or the NRF determines the information about the analytics type that is allowed to be requested by the terminal device. For example, after receiving the user plane uplink data packet, the UPF may alternatively parse the data packet independently, and determine the information about the analytics type that is allowed to be requested by the terminal device).
Regarding Claim 10, as best understood, Feng discloses the method of Claim 9. Feng further disclose based on a service or an operation based on Artificial Intelligence (AI)/Machine Learning (ML), wherein it is determined that it is necessary to obtain the analytical information (Feng Paragraph [0104] The model training function refers to performing analytics and training based on related input data to obtain a model. The model feedback function refers to sending a trained machine learning model to a network element that supports an inference function. The analytics result inference function determines a data analytics result based on the trained machine learning model and the inference data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2, 6, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0276197, hereinafter Feng, in view of Marquezan et all. WIPO Publication WO 2022/032487, hereinafter Marquezan.
Regarding Claim 1, Feng discloses a method for performing communication related to analytics information, the method performed by a Session Management Function (SMF) (Abstract; Figure 3, 7 and 10-12), comprising:
receiving a first PDU session establishment request message from a first User Equipment (UE) (S701 of Figure 7; Paragraph [0249-0250] A UE sends a PDU session establishment request message to the SMF. The PDU session establishment request message includes indication information, and the indication information indicates that the UE sends analytics subscription information via a user plane. For more descriptions of the indication information, refer to S210),
wherein the first PDU session establishment request message includes activation request information of an analytics information exposure, a first analytics ID, and a first input parameter (Paragraph [0117-0119] The information about the analytics type requested by the terminal device may also be referred to as information about an analytics type (Configured Analytics ID) configured by the terminal device. The analytics type requested by the terminal device may be replaced by the configured analytics type, and details are not described again; The first information may include identification information of the terminal device, for example, a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), a permanent equipment identifier (PEI), or a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of the terminal device. The first information may further include a first analytics identifier, and the first analytics identifier is used to identify the information about the analytics type requested by the terminal device. For example, the first information may further include analytics result filtering information. For example, the first information includes information about an area of interest (AOI) of the terminal device. In other words, the terminal device requests a data analytics result in the AOI. The information about the AOI may include one or more of the following: a tracking area identifier (TAI), a cell identifier (cell ID), a geographical area identifier, a network code (NC), a country code (CC), a city code, and a county code.);
transmitting a first subscription request message related to analytics information based on the first analytics ID to the NWDAF (S753 of Figure 7B; Paragraph [0265-0272] The SMF may obtain, via an NRF, the analytics type supported by the NWDAF (including step S751a and step S752a). This step is similar to S531 and S532. Alternatively, the SMF may directly request, from the NWDAF, the information about the analytics type supported by the NWDAF (including step S753 and step S754). This step is similar to S531 to S534, and details are not described herein again; S760: The SMF determines information about an analytics type (Allowed Analytics ID) that is allowed to be requested by the terminal device. This step is similar to S240, and details are not described herein again. S770: The SMF sends, to the terminal device, the information about the analytics type that is allowed to be requested by the terminal device.).
Prior art reference Feng discloses reception of different PDU session establishment request messages from UEs but may not explicitly disclose a second UE and receiving a second PDU session establishment request message from a second UE, wherein the second PDU session establishment request message includes activation request information of the analytics information exposure, a second analytics ID, and a second input parameter; and determining whether to transmit a second subscription request message related to analytics information based on the second analytics ID to the NWDAF.
However, Marquezan more specifically teaches a second UE and receiving a second PDU session establishment request message from a second UE, wherein the second PDU session establishment request message includes activation request information of the analytics information exposure, a second analytics ID, and a second input parameter; and determining whether to transmit a second subscription request message related to analytics information based on the second analytics ID to the NWDAF (Page 53-55 Based on the received request from the third entity, the first entity may use the ASI request fields from the received request to identify whether there is a matching ASI based on any combination of the following; analytics IDs, identification of UEs, identification of group of UEs, identification of NF consumer analytics ID (e.g., by NF type of NF instance); In the case the third entity received one or more ASIs with allowed analytics ID for specific UEs or group of UEs, the third entity may for each received ASI, use the analytics ID and associated specific UEs or group of UEs to subscribe or request the analytics ID for the Analytic Function (e.g. NWDAF); It is possible that the third entity modifies existing subscriptions for analytics ID (matching the same analytics IDs from the ASI) at the Analytics Function including the specific UEs or group of UEs, instead of creating a new subscription request to the analytics function. At 606 step 5b In case the third entity received one or more ASls with restricted analytics ID for specific UEs or group of UEs, the third entity might not trigger any new subscription or request to the analytics IDs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Feng with the teachings of Marquezan. Marquezan provides a solution which reduces the changes of wrong actions or waste of operator’s resources to specific UEs or group of UEs. The method effectively coordinates the access to the analytics information from the network data analytics function consumed by the network functions of the communication network. The method may may reduce the changes of misconfiguration of analytics IDs associated with UEs and/or group of UEs in different NFs that can lead to different treatment of UEs or group of UEs by different NFs (e.g., third entity) in the communication network (Marquezan Abstract; Page 11-20).
Regarding Claim 2, Feng in view of Marquezan disclose the method of Claim 1. Feng in view of Marquezan further disclose wherein the determining is performed based on whether the second analytics ID and the first analytics ID are the same and/or whether the first input parameter and the second input parameter are the same (Marquezan Page 53-55 Based on the received request from the third entity, the first entity may use the ASI request fields from the received request to identify whether there is a matching ASI based on any combination of the following; analytics IDs, identification of UEs, identification of group of UEs, identification of NF consumer analytics ID (e.g., by NF type of NF instance); In the case the third entity received one or more ASIs with allowed analytics ID for specific UEs or group of UEs, the third entity may for each received ASI, use the analytics ID and associated specific UEs or group of UEs to subscribe or request the analytics ID for the Analytic Function (e.g. NWDAF); It is possible that the third entity modifies existing subscriptions for analytics ID (matching the same analytics IDs from the ASI) at the Analytics Function including the specific UEs or group of UEs, instead of creating a new subscription request to the analytics function. At 606 step 5b In case the third entity received one or more ASls with restricted analytics ID for specific UEs or group of UEs, the third entity might not trigger any new subscription or request to the analytics IDs).
Regarding Claim 6, Feng in view of Marquezan disclose the method of Claim 1. Feng in view of Marquezan further disclose receiving a message including information requesting disabling exposure of the analytics information, from the first UE or the second UE (Marquezan Page 16 and 51-55 The processor being further configured to provide a subscription or a request or an unsubscribe request or a cancelation request to the fourth entity, for one or more third analytics information for the UE or the group of UEs based on the one or more obtained ASI, where one or more third analytics information are based on the analytics information of the one or more obtained ASI, and is used in the interactions between the third entity and fourth entity or vice-versa; That is a determination whether to cancel and stop analytics IDs for specific UEs or group of UEs).
Regarding Claim 7, Feng in view of Marquezan disclose the method of Claim 6. Feng in view of Marquezan further disclose determining whether a subscription to the analytics ID related to the disabling of the exposure of the analytics information should be maintained for other UE (Marquezan Page 16 and 51-55 The processor being further configured to provide a subscription or a request or an unsubscribe request or a cancelation request to the fourth entity, for one or more third analytics information for the UE or the group of UEs based on the one or more obtained ASI, where one or more third analytics information are based on the analytics information of the one or more obtained ASI, and is used in the interactions between the third entity and fourth entity or vice-versa; That is a determination whether to cancel and stop analytics IDs for specific UEs or group of UEs).
Regarding Claim 8, Feng discloses a Session Management Function (SMF) for performing communication related to analytics information, comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations (Abstract; Figure 3, 7 and 10-12) comprising:
receiving a first PDU session establishment request message from a first User Equipment (UE) (S701 of Figure 7; Paragraph [0249-0250] A UE sends a PDU session establishment request message to the SMF. The PDU session establishment request message includes indication information, and the indication information indicates that the UE sends analytics subscription information via a user plane. For more descriptions of the indication information, refer to S210),
wherein the first PDU session establishment request message includes activation request information of an analytics information exposure, a first analytics ID, and a first input parameter (Paragraph [0117-0119] The information about the analytics type requested by the terminal device may also be referred to as information about an analytics type (Configured Analytics ID) configured by the terminal device. The analytics type requested by the terminal device may be replaced by the configured analytics type, and details are not described again; The first information may include identification information of the terminal device, for example, a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), a permanent equipment identifier (PEI), or a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of the terminal device. The first information may further include a first analytics identifier, and the first analytics identifier is used to identify the information about the analytics type requested by the terminal device. For example, the first information may further include analytics result filtering information. For example, the first information includes information about an area of interest (AOI) of the terminal device. In other words, the terminal device requests a data analytics result in the AOI. The information about the AOI may include one or more of the following: a tracking area identifier (TAI), a cell identifier (cell ID), a geographical area identifier, a network code (NC), a country code (CC), a city code, and a county code.);
transmitting a first subscription request message related to analytics information based on the first analytics ID to the NWDAF (S753 of Figure 7B; Paragraph [0265-0272] The SMF may obtain, via an NRF, the analytics type supported by the NWDAF (including step S751a and step S752a). This step is similar to S531 and S532. Alternatively, the SMF may directly request, from the NWDAF, the information about the analytics type supported by the NWDAF (including step S753 and step S754). This step is similar to S531 to S534, and details are not described herein again; S760: The SMF determines information about an analytics type (Allowed Analytics ID) that is allowed to be requested by the terminal device. This step is similar to S240, and details are not described herein again. S770: The SMF sends, to the terminal device, the information about the analytics type that is allowed to be requested by the terminal device.).
Prior art reference Feng discloses reception of different PDU session establishment request messages from UEs but may not explicitly disclose a second UE and receiving a second PDU session establishment request message from a second UE, wherein the second PDU session establishment request message includes activation request information of the analytics information exposure, a second analytics ID, and a second input parameter; and determining whether to transmit a second subscription request message related to analytics information based on the second analytics ID to the NWDAF.
However, Marquezan more specifically teaches a second UE receiving a second PDU session establishment request message from a second UE, wherein the second PDU session establishment request message includes activation request information of the analytics information exposure, a second analytics ID, and a second input parameter; and determining whether to transmit a second subscription request message related to analytics information based on the second analytics ID to the NWDAF (Page 53-55 Based on the received request from the third entity, the first entity may use the ASI request fields from the received request to identify whether there is a matching ASI based on any combination of the following; analytics IDs, identification of UEs, identification of group of UEs, identification of NF consumer analytics ID (e.g., by NF type of NF instance); In the case the third entity received one or more ASIs with allowed analytics ID for specific UEs or group of UEs, the third entity may for each received ASI, use the analytics ID and associated specific UEs or group of UEs to subscribe or request the analytics ID for the Analytic Function (e.g. NWDAF); It is possible that the third entity modifies existing subscriptions for analytics ID (matching the same analytics IDs from the ASI) at the Analytics Function including the specific UEs or group of UEs, instead of creating a new subscription request to the analytics function. At 606 step 5b In case the third entity received one or more ASls with restricted analytics ID for specific UEs or group of UEs, the third entity might not trigger any new subscription or request to the analytics IDs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Feng with the teachings of Marquezan. Marquezan provides a solution which reduces the changes of wrong actions or waste of operator’s resources to specific UEs or group of UEs. The method effectively coordinates the access to the analytics information from the network data analytics function consumed by the network functions of the communication network. The method may may reduce the changes of misconfiguration of analytics IDs associated with UEs and/or group of UEs in different NFs that can lead to different treatment of UEs or group of UEs by different NFs (e.g., third entity) in the communication network (Marquezan Abstract; Page 11-20).
Regarding Claim 11, Feng discloses the method of Claim 9. Feng fails to disclose transmitting a message comprising information requesting disabling of the analytics information exposure to the SMF.
However, Marquezan more specifically teaches transmitting a message comprising information requesting disabling of the analytics information exposure to the SMF (Marquezan Page 16 and 51-55 The processor being further configured to provide a subscription or a request or an unsubscribe request or a cancelation request to the fourth entity, for one or more third analytics information for the UE or the group of UEs based on the one or more obtained ASI, where one or more third analytics information are based on the analytics information of the one or more obtained ASI, and is used in the interactions between the third entity and fourth entity or vice-versa; That is a determination whether to cancel and stop analytics IDs for specific UEs or group of UEs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Feng with the teachings of Marquezan. Marquezan provides a solution which reduces the changes of wrong actions or waste of operator’s resources to specific UEs or group of UEs. The method effectively coordinates the access to the analytics information from the network data analytics function consumed by the network functions of the communication network. The method may may reduce the changes of misconfiguration of analytics IDs associated with UEs and/or group of UEs in different NFs that can lead to different treatment of UEs or group of UEs by different NFs (e.g., third entity) in the communication network (Marquezan Abstract; Page 11-20).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of Marquezan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V17.0.0 “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on enablers for network automation for the 5G System (5GS); Phase 2 (Release 17)” (2020-12), hereinafter 3GPP.
Regarding Claim 3, Feng in view of Marquezan disclose the method of Claim 2. Feng in view of Marquezan disclose matching a same analytics ID between different already existing subscriptions in which a new subscription is not triggered (Marquezan page 53-55) but may not explicitly disclose based on that the second analytics ID and the first analytics ID are the same, and the first input parameter and the second input parameter are the same, wherein the second subscription request message is determined to not to be transmitted.
However, 3GPP more specifically teaches based on that the second analytics ID and the first analytics ID are the same, and the first input parameter and the second input parameter are the same, wherein the second subscription request message is determined to not to be transmitted (Page 110-111 and 119-120 The NWDAF only creates an Analytics Instance ID, if no existing Analytics Instance ID can support the new Analytics subscription request. For example, a new Analytics subscription request with the same Analytics filter information is already subscribed by one Analytics consumer and an Analytics Instance ID is already created, the new Analytics subscription request can be mapped with the existing Analytics Instance ID. The same concept is applied to the Event instance ID(s) for the subscription/request of data collection. For example, a new Analytics subscription request with the same Analytics filter information is already subscribed by one Analytics consumer and an Analytics Instance ID is already created, the new Analytics subscription request can be mapped with the existing Analytics Instance ID. The same concept is applied to the Event instance ID(s) for the subscription/request of data collection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Feng in view of Marquezan with the teachings of 3GPP. 3GPP provides mutually agreed upon standards and provides for simplicity and coordination of reduction of signaling for triggering subscriptions when a same subscription to analytics ID already exist (3GPP Section 1 page 17 and Page 110-111).
Regarding Claim 4, Feng in view of Marquezan disclose the method of Claim 1. Feng in view of Marquezan disclose matching a same analytics ID between different already existing subscriptions in which a new subscription is not triggered (Marquezan page 53-55) but may not explicitly disclose receiving analytics information based on the first analytics ID from the NWDAF; and transmitting the analytics information to the second UE, based on that the second subscription request message is determined to not to be transmitted.
However, 3GPP more specifically teaches receiving analytics information based on the first analytics ID from the NWDAF; and transmitting the analytics information to the second UE, based on that the second subscription request message is determined to not to be transmitted (Page 110-111 and 119-120 The NWDAF only creates an Analytics Instance ID, if no existing Analytics Instance ID can support the new Analytics subscription request. For example, a new Analytics subscription request with the same Analytics filter information is already subscribed by one Analytics consumer and an Analytics Instance ID is already created, the new Analytics subscription request can be mapped with the existing Analytics Instance ID. The same concept is applied to the Event instance ID(s) for the subscription/request of data collection. For example, a new Analytics subscription request with the same Analytics filter information is already subscribed by one Analytics consumer and an Analytics Instance ID is already created, the new Analytics subscription request can be mapped with the existing Analytics Instance ID. The same concept is applied to the Event instance ID(s) for the subscription/request of data collection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Feng in view of Marquezan with the teachings of 3GPP. 3GPP provides mutually agreed upon standards and provides for simplicity and coordination of reduction of signaling for triggering subscriptions when a same subscription to analytics ID already exist (3GPP Section 1 page 17 and Page 110-111).
Regarding Claim 5, Feng in view of Marquezan disclose the method of Claim 2. Feng in view of Marquezan disclose matching a same analytics ID between different already existing subscriptions in which a new subscription is not triggered (Marquezan page 53-55) but may not explicitly disclose based on that the second analytics ID and the first analytics ID are the same, and the first input parameter and the second input parameter are different, wherein the second subscription request message is determined to be transmitted, and wherein the second subscription request includes information for further subscribing the second UE to analytics information based on the first analytics ID.
However, 3GPP more specifically teaches based on that the second analytics ID and the first analytics ID are the same, and the first input parameter and the second input parameter are different, wherein the second subscription request message is determined to be transmitted, and wherein the second subscription request includes information for further subscribing the second UE to analytics information based on the first analytics ID (Page 110-111 and 119-120 The NWDAF only creates an Analytics Instance ID, if no existing Analytics Instance ID can support the new Analytics subscription request. For example, a new Analytics subscription request with the same Analytics filter information is already subscribed by one Analytics consumer and an Analytics Instance ID is already created, the new Analytics subscription request can be mapped with the existing Analytics Instance ID. The same concept is applied to the Event instance ID(s) for the subscription/request of data collection. For example, a new Analytics subscription request with the same Analytics filter information is already subscribed by one Analytics consumer and an Analytics Instance ID is already created, the new Analytics subscription request can be mapped with the existing Analytics Instance ID. The same concept is applied to the Event instance ID(s) for the subscription/request of data collection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Feng in view of Marquezan with the teachings of 3GPP. 3GPP provides mutually agreed upon standards and provides for simplicity and coordination of reduction of signaling for triggering subscriptions when a same subscription to analytics ID already exist (3GPP Section 1 page 17 and Page 110-111).
Conclusion
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409