DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 9/4/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 1-48 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/4/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 4 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the fourth set of one or more PRS” in Line 4. However, fourth set of PRS has not been recited prior in the claims. In fact, recited prior is the limitation “fourth set of symbols allocated to third set of PRS” which is not the same as fourth set of PRS. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the fourth set of one or more PRS” in Line 4. However, fourth set of PRS has not been recited prior in the claims. In fact, recited prior is the limitation “fourth set of symbols allocated to third set of PRS” which is not the same as fourth set of PRS. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. US 20230319857 hereafter Zhou (Note: Provisional US 63/325,919 filed 2022-03-31 describes Methods of NR sidelink Positioning in the whole disclosure in particular pgs. 4-9, 15-24, etc. therefore includes support for disclosure relied herein).
As to Claim 1. Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first sidelink device [i.e. First UE-106/First User Equipment-UE], comprising [Fig. 1, Sections 0006, 0045: Solutions are provided for SL-PRS (sidelink positioning reference signal) in a frequency/time domain pattern, and a UE procedure for transmitting and receiving the SL-PRS. FIG. 1 illustrate a communication system, a first UE 106, and a second UE 108 with SL (sidelink) between the first UE and the second UE]:
receiving a sidelink transmission having a configured sidelink slot format [Section 0055, 0072: Time and frequency multiplexed within slot and there may be different slot formats. The UE receives SCI (sidelink information) format in slot], wherein the configured sidelink slot format includes an allocated sidelink slot bandwidth spanning a set of one or more contiguous subchannels [Figs. 3-4 (Diagrams of Slot Formats), Sections 0009, 0081, 0197: UE receives positioning slot including resource pool spanning subcarriers bandwidth of the slot. The bandwidth of the PRS considered for SL positioning and in 3GPP Rel-16, SL resource pool consist of SL-NumSubchannel contiguous sub-channels. In resource pool configuration for SL-PRS and PSCCH, there are symbols in slot and the SCI is in slot and schedules (i.e. allocate/assign) the resources including subchannel],
a first set of symbols allocated to at least a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) [Sections 0009, 0058: The positioning slot includes first resources of one or more symbols for a physical SL control channel (PSCCH). For both slot structures, stage SCI carried in the PSCCH with 2 or 3 symbols with SCI format and number of PSCCH symbols explicitly configured per Tx/Rx resource pool when herein UE is using multiple consecutive subchannels for SL (sidelink) transmission],
and a second set of symbols [i.e. SL-PRS symbols/time symbols/resources or Symbols following those of PSCCH] allocated to a first set of one or more positioning reference signals (PRS) [Sections 0088, 0099, 0200: Parameters defining SL-PRS may be implicit in which starting symbol is immediately after the PSCCH. The symbols following PSCCH are used for SL-PRS and the resource allocation for SL-PRS different than the resource allocation for PSSCH. For example, an SL-PRS may occupy all available time symbols],
wherein the first set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink [i.e. SL] slot bandwidth [Sections 0082, 0165, 0203: For resource allocation (i.e. assign) in SL positioning, the allocated PRS resources cover bandwidth. For PRS resource allocation the candidate resource set cover available bandwidth (i.e. sub-channels) for SL positioning. The resource pool configured to allow multiple SL-PRS indices and span the bandwidth by resource pool configuration in specific slots];
and transmitting or measuring one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS [Sections 0085, 0132, 0167, 0208: The UE configured to transmit the PRS on bands for SL positioning. The UE determines when and where to transmit the PRS with resource selection procedure on the SL-PRS resource pool. There may be at least two PRS/CSI-RS resource sets for SL positioning and UE measures the PRS/CSI-RS. The UE may perform measurements on the SL-PRSs].
As to Claim 2. Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the configured sidelink slot format further comprises [Figs. 3-4 (Diagrams of Slot Formats), Sections 0055: Time and frequency multiplexed within slot and there may be different slot formats]:
a third set of symbols allocated to a second set of one or more PRS of a second sidelink device [i.e. Second UE/UE-108], wherein the second set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink slot bandwidth [Figs. 1, 10 10 (Depicts SL-PRSs locations with two UEs including symbols, and frequency/time resources), Sections 0109, 0203: The second SL-PRSs are used by a second UE in an SL-PRS symbol(s) based on resource pool configuration. The resource pool configured to allow multiple SL-PRS indices and span bandwidth by resource pool configuration in specific slots].
As to Claim 3. Zhou discloses the method of claim 2, wherein: the transmitting or measuring the one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS comprises transmitting the one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS; and the method further comprises measuring one or more PRS of the second set of one or more PRS [Sections 0085, 0132, 0167, 0208: The UE configured to transmit the PRS on bands for SL positioning. The UE determines when and where to transmit the PRS with resource selection procedure on the SL-PRS resource pool. There may be at least two PRS/CSI-RS resource sets for SL positioning and UE measures the PRS/CSI-RS. The UE may perform measurements on the SL-PRSs].
As to Claim 4. Zhou discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the configured sidelink slot format further comprises [Figs. 3-4 (Diagrams of Slot Formats), Sections 0055: Time and frequency multiplexed within slot and there may be different slot formats]:
a fourth set of symbols allocated to a third set of one or more PRS of a third sidelink device [i.e. Note there are at least four UEs which includes the third UE each with allocated symbols of SL-PRSs, see 0107], wherein the fourth set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink slot bandwidth [Sections 0095, 0099, 0107: RS resource pool when carrier bandwidth is used includes three positioning slots. The SL-PRS resources indicated by a comb factor and symbols. Additionally, the SCI include an SL-PRS index, SL-PRS with comb factor of 4 would allow SL-PRS signals from four (i.e. 4) different UEs, whereby each UE uses the REs indicated by comb index for transmitting the SL-PRS within the symbols used to carry the SL-PRS transmission; the four UEs spread the bandwidth and a comb 4 is configured per resource pool].
As to Claim 5. Zhou discloses the method of claim 2, wherein: locations of the first set of one or more PRS and the second set of one or more PRS are based, at least in part, on destination identifiers of the first sidelink device and a second sidelink device associated with the second set of one or more PRS [Figs. 10 (Depicts SL-PRSs locations in slot for two UEs), Sections 0109, 0145, 0198: Two UEs are transmitting SL-PRSs, first SL-PRSs used by first UE and second SL-PRSs used by second UE, and each of the two UEs has indicated a specific SL-PRS index (i.e. identifier), UE-1 indicates index 1 and UE-2 indicates index 2. With respect to pre-configuration, the UEs pre-configured to transmit on slots based on its UE ID. To avoid collision between multiple UEs there is a 1:1 mapping between SL-PRS ID (i.e. identifier) and each UE; for example, each UE is configured to be associated with a unique SL-PRS ID].
As to Claim 6. Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein locations of the first set of one or more PRS are indicated in: a pre-configuration of the configured sidelink slot format at the first sidelink device; control information in the PSCCH; first-stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in the PSCCH; second-stage sidelink control information (SCI-2) in a PSSCH; a medium access control layer control element (MAC-CE); PC5 radio resource control (PC5-RRC) information; higher layer messaging; a radio transmission standard; or any combination thereof [Fig. 10 (Depicts SL-PRSs locations in slot for two UEs), Sections 0077-0078, 0131, 0169: The PRS configured by a location management function and the PRS signals triggered by SCI or medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) carried by PSSCH. The UE expect that it will be configured with SL-PRS IDs associated with multiple SL-PRS resource sets included in SCI (e.g., second stage SCI) or a MAC CE. UE obtain the SL-PRS transmission parameters through, for example, PC5 RRC. Accordingly, for SL positioning (i.e. locations) in FR2, may be included in the SCI (i.e., first stage SCI or second stage SCI)].
As to Claim 7. Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the configured sidelink slot format further comprises [Figs. 3-4 (Diagrams of Slot Formats), Sections 0055: Time and frequency multiplexed within slot and there may be different slot formats]:
a fifth set of symbols allocated to a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), wherein locations of the first set of one or more PRS are indicated, at least in part, in second-stage sidelink control information (SCI-2), MAC-CE, higher layer messaging, or any combination thereof [Sections 0053, 0058, 0123: In NR SL (sidelink) slot consists of at least 14 OFDM symbols. The number of PSCCH symbols explicitly configured/pre-configured per Tx/Rx resource pool by a higher layer parameter. The UE obtain PSSCH configuration by RRC signaling (i.e. higher layer signaling) to obtain the PSCCH and know the number of time symbols, the number of frequency resources, and/or the size of a resource, etc].
As to Claim 8. Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting or measuring one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS comprises [Sections 0085, 0167, 0208: The UE configured to transmit the PRS on bands for SL positioning. There may be at least two PRS/CSI-RS resource sets for SL positioning and UE measures the PRS/CSI-RS. The UE may perform measurements on the SL-PRSs].
transmitting the one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS; and receiving a measurement report including information corresponding to measurements made of the one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS by a second sidelink device [Sections 0090, 0166-0167: In SL communications, the Tx UE (i.e. first sidelink UE) configure aperiodic SL CSI (i.e. Channel State Info Measurement) reporting from the Rx UE (i.e. second sidelink UE) through the PSSCH transmission; CSI-RS in SL may also be used for positioning purposes. For SL positioning during the measurement of PRS at least 2 (or more) PRS resource sets and/or CSI-RS resource sets may be provided per UE. Accordingly, there may be at least two PRS/CSI-RS resource sets for SL positioning; the UE measures the QCL source PRS/CSI-RS resources].
As to Claim 9. Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to a bandwidth of: a carrier used by the first sidelink device; a bandwidth part (BWP) used by the first sidelink device; or a sidelink resource pool used by the first sidelink device [Sections 0081, 0082, 0096: The bandwidth of the PRS considered for SL positioning and in 3GPP Rel-16, SL resource pool consist of sl-NumSubchannel contiguous sub-channels. For resource allocation (i.e. assigned) in SL positioning, the allocated PRS resources cover bandwidth. When carrier aggregation is used, SL-PRS to occupy all of the available bandwidth, the RS resource pool slots may be aligned and include a list of carriers that the RS resource pool occupies].
As to Claim 10. Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first sidelink device [i.e. First UE-106/First User Equipment-UE], comprising [Fig. 1, Sections 0006, 0045: Solutions are provided for SL-PRS (sidelink positioning reference signal) in a frequency/time domain pattern, and a UE procedure for transmitting and receiving the SL-PRS. FIG. 1 illustrate a communication system, a first UE 106, and a second UE 108 with SL (sidelink) between the first UE and the second UE]:
receiving a sidelink transmission having a configured sidelink slot format [Section 0055, 0072: Time and frequency within slot and there may be different slot formats. The UE receives SCI (sidelink information) format in slot], wherein the configured sidelink slot format includes an allocated sidelink slot bandwidth spanning a plurality of contiguous subchannels [Figs. 3-4 (Diagrams of Slot Formats), Sections 0009, 0081, 0197: UE receives positioning slot including resource pool spanning subcarriers bandwidth of the slot. The bandwidth of the PRS considered for SL positioning and in 3GPP Rel-16, SL resource pool consist of SL-NumSubchannel contiguous sub-channels. In resource pool configuration for SL-PRS and PSCCH, there are symbols in slot and the SCI is in slot and schedules (i.e. allocate/assign) the resources including subchannel],
a first set of symbols allocated to at least a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) [Sections 0009, 0058: The positioning slot includes first resources of one or more symbols for a physical SL control channel (PSCCH). For both slot structures, stage SCI carried in the PSCCH with 2 or 3 symbols with SCI format and number of PSCCH symbols explicitly configured per Tx/Rx resource pool when herein UE is using multiple consecutive subchannels for SL (sidelink) transmission],
a second set of symbols [i.e. SL-PRS symbols/time symbols/resources or Symbols following those of PSCCH] allocated to a first set of one or more positioning reference signals (PRS) by the first sidelink device [Sections 0088, 0099, 0200: Parameters defining SL-PRS may be implicit in which starting symbol is immediately after the PSCCH. The symbols following PSCCH are used for SL-PRS and the resource allocation for SL-PRS different than the resource allocation for PSSCH. For example, an SL-PRS may occupy all available time symbols],
wherein the first set of one or more PRS are frequency division multiplexed with the first set of symbols allocated to the PSCCH [Fig. 20 (Slot structure of SL-PRS with PSCCH interlacing (multiplex) mapped to Frequency and time), Sections 0186, 0190, 0199: Slot structure for SL-PRS with PSCCH mapped in an frequency division multiplexing (FDM). SL-PRS in the case of UE multiplexing, symbols of the slot carrying the PSCCH in the frequency domain interlaced such that the bandwidth occupied by the PSCCH matches that of SL-PRS. In multiplexing SL-PRS with data, the PSCCH symbols corresponds to an SL-PRS],
and a third set of symbols allocated to a second set of one or more PRS from a second sidelink device [i.e. Second UE/UE-108], wherein the second set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink slot bandwidth [Figs. 1, 10 (Depicts SL-PRSs locations with two UEs including symbols, and frequency/time resources), Sections 0109, 0203: The second SL-PRSs are used by a second UE in an SL-PRS symbol(s) based on resource pool configuration. The resource pool configured to allow multiple SL-PRS indices and span bandwidth by resource pool configuration in specific slots];
transmitting or measuring one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS; and transmitting or measuring one or more PRS of the second set of one or more PRS [Sections 0132, 0166, 0167, 0208: The UE determines when and where to transmit the PRS with resource selection procedure on the SL-PRS resource pool. For SL positioning during the measurement of PRS at least 2 (or more) PRS resource sets and/or CSI-RS resource sets may be provided per UE. There may be at least two PRS/CSI-RS resource sets for SL positioning and UE measures the PRS/CSI-RS. The UE may perform measurements on the SL-PRSs].
As to Claim 11. Zhou discloses the method of claim 10, wherein: the transmitting or measuring the one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS comprises transmitting the one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS; and the transmitting or measuring the one or more PRS of the second set of PRS comprises measuring the one or more PRS of the second set of one or more PRS [Sections 0085, 0132, 0167, 0208: The UE configured to transmit the PRS on bands for SL positioning. The UE determines when and where to transmit the PRS with resource selection procedure on the SL-PRS resource pool. There may be at least two PRS/CSI-RS resource sets for SL positioning and UE measures the PRS/CSI-RS. The UE may perform measurements on the SL-PRSs].
As to Claim 12. Zhou discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the second set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to a bandwidth of: a carrier used by the first sidelink device; a bandwidth part (BWP) used by the first sidelink device; or a sidelink resource pool used by the first sidelink device [Sections 0081, 0082, 0096, 0109: The bandwidth of the PRS considered for SL positioning and in 3GPP Rel-16, SL resource pool consist of sl-NumSubchannel contiguous sub-channels. For resource allocation (i.e. assigned) in SL positioning, the allocated PRS resources cover bandwidth. When carrier aggregation is used, SL-PRS to occupy all of the available bandwidth, the RS resource pool slots may be aligned and include a list of carriers that the RS resource pool occupies. The second SL-PRSs are used by a second UE in an SL-PRS symbol(s) based on resource pool configuration].
As to Claim 13. Zhou discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the configured sidelink slot format further comprises [Figs. 3-4 (Diagrams of Slot Formats), Sections 0055: Time and frequency multiplexed within slot and there may be different slot formats]:
a fourth set of symbols allocated to a third set of one or more PRS [i.e. for third device] wherein the third set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink slot bandwidth [Sections 0095, 0099, 0107: RS resource pool when carrier bandwidth is used includes three positioning slots. The SL-PRS resources indicated by a comb factor and symbols. Additionally, the SCI include an SL-PRS index, SL-PRS with comb factor of 4 would allow the multiplexing (i.e., interlacing) of SL-PRS signals from four (i.e. 4) different UEs, whereby each UE uses the REs indicated by its comb index for transmitting the SL-PRS within the symbols used to carry the SL-PRS transmission; the four UEs spread the bandwidth and a comb 4 is configured per resource pool].
As to Claim 14. Zhou discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: measuring one or more PRS of the third set of one or more PRS [Sections 0138, 0166, 0167: A comb structure allow two or more UEs to transmit their PRS signals and SL PRSs associated with RSRP thresholds (i.e. RSRP measured see 0156). For SL positioning during the measurement of PRS at least 2 (or more) PRS resource sets and/or CSI-RS resource sets may be provided per UE. Accordingly, at least two (or more) PRS/CSI-RS resource sets for SL positioning may be introduced, in which the UE measures the PRS/CSI-RS resource set for the wide beams and another for narrow beams].
As to Claim 15. The method of claim 10, wherein: locations of the first set of one or more PRS and the second set of one or more PRS are based, at least in part, on destination identifiers of the first sidelink device and a second sidelink device associated with the second set of one or more PRS [See Claim 5 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 16. The method of claim 10, wherein locations of the first set of PRS are indicated in: a pre-configuration of the configured sidelink slot format at the first sidelink device; control information in the PSCCH; first-stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in the PSCCH; second-stage sidelink control information (SCI-2) in a PSSCH; a medium access control layer control element (MAC-CE); PC5 radio resource control (PC5-RRC) information; higher layer messaging; a radio transmission standard; or any combination thereof [See Claim 6 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 17. Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first sidelink device [i.e. First UE-106/First User Equipment-UE], comprising [Fig. 1, Sections 0006, 0045: Solutions are provided for SL-PRS (sidelink positioning reference signal) in a frequency/time domain pattern, and a UE procedure for transmitting and receiving the SL-PRS. FIG. 1 illustrate a communication system, a first UE 106, and a second UE 108 with SL (sidelink) between the first UE and the second UE]:
receiving a sidelink transmission having a configured sidelink slot format [Section 0055, 0072: Time and frequency within slot and there may be different slot formats. The UE receives SCI (sidelink information) format in slot], wherein the configured sidelink slot format includes an allocated sidelink slot bandwidth spanning a set of one or more contiguous subchannels [Figs. 3-4 (Diagrams of Slot Formats), Sections 0009, 0081, 0197: UE receives positioning slot including resource pool spanning subcarriers bandwidth of the slot. The bandwidth of the PRS considered for SL positioning and in 3GPP Rel-16, SL resource pool consist of SL-NumSubchannel contiguous sub-channels. In resource pool configuration for SL-PRS and PSCCH, there are symbols in slot and the SCI is in slot and schedules (i.e. allocate/assign) the resources including subchannel],
a first set of symbols allocated to a first set of one or more positioning reference signals (PRS), a second set of symbols allocated to a second set of one or more PRS [Sections 0109, 0197, 0203: First SL-PRSs and second SL-PRSs uses symbols based on resource pool configuration associated with subchannels. In resource pool configuration for SL-PRS, there are symbols allocated/assigned in slot. The resource pool configured to allow multiple SL-PRS indices and span bandwidth by resource pool configuration in specific slots],
wherein the first set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink slot bandwidth, the second set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink slot bandwidth, or a combination thereof [Sections 0165, 0203: For SL PRS resource allocation the candidate resource set by UE should cover the available bandwidth or all the sub-channels for SL positioning. Additionally, the resource pool configured to allow multiple SL-PRS allowed to span the bandwidth by resource pool configuration in specific slots];
transmitting or measuring one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS; and transmitting or measuring one or more PRS of the second set of one or more PRS [Sections 0132, 0166, 0167, 0208: The UE determines when and where to transmit the PRS with resource selection procedure on the SL-PRS resource pool. For SL positioning during the measurement of PRS at least 2 (or more) PRS resource sets and/or CSI-RS resource sets may be provided per UE. There may be at least two PRS/CSI-RS resource sets for SL positioning and UE measures the PRS/CSI-RS. The UE may perform measurements on the SL-PRSs].
As to Claim 18. Zhou discloses the method of claim 17, wherein: the first set of one or more PRS are allocated to the first sidelink device; and the second set of one or more PRS are allocated to a second sidelink device [Figs. 1, 10 (Depicts SL-PRSs locations with two UEs including symbols, and frequency/time resources), Sections 0109: The first SL-PRSs are used by first UE and the second SL-PRSs are used by a second UE in an SL-PRS symbol(s) based on resource pool configuration].
As to Claim 19. Zhou discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the configured sidelink slot format further comprises [Figs. 3-4 (Diagrams of Slot Formats), Sections 0055: Time and frequency multiplexed within slot and there may be different slot formats]:
a third set of symbols allocated to a third set of one or more PRS, wherein the third set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink slot bandwidth [Sections 0107, 0138: Additionally, each of four UE uses the REs indicated by comb index for SL-PRS within the symbols used to carry the SL-PRS transmission; the four UEs spread the bandwidth configured per resource pool. A comb structure allow two or more UEs to share the bandwidth and transmit their PRS signals].
As to Claim 20. The method of claim 17, wherein: the transmitting or measuring the one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS comprises transmitting the one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS; and the transmitting or measuring the one or more PRS of the second set of one or more PRS comprises measuring the one or more PRS of the second set of one or more PRS [See Claim 11 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 21. Zhou discloses the method of claim 20, further comprising: receiving a first measurement report including information corresponding to measurements made of the first set of one or more PRS by a second sidelink device; transmitting a measurement report including information corresponding to measurements made of the second set of one or more PRS; or a combination thereof [Sections 0090, 0166-0167: In SL communications, the Tx UE (i.e. first sidelink UE) configure aperiodic SL CSI (i.e. Channel State Info Measurement) reporting from the Rx UE (i.e. second sidelink UE) through the PSSCH transmission; CSI-RS in SL may also be used for positioning purposes. For SL positioning during the measurement of PRS at least 2 (or more) PRS resource sets and/or CSI-RS resource sets may be provided per UE. Accordingly, there may be at least two PRS/CSI-RS resource sets for SL positioning; the UE measures the QCL source PRS/CSI-RS resources].
As to Claim 22. Zhou discloses the method of claim 17, wherein locations of the first set of one or more PRS and the second set of one or more PRS are indicated in: a pre-configuration of the configured sidelink slot format at the first sidelink device; control information in a PSCCH of a prior sidelink slot; first-stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in the PSCCH of the prior sidelink slot; second-stage sidelink control information (SCI-2) in a PSSCH; a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE); PC5 radio resource control (PC5-RRC) information of the prior sidelink slot; higher layer messaging; a radio transmission standard; or any combination thereof [Fig. 10 (Depicts SL-PRSs locations in slot for two UEs), Sections 0077-0078, 0131, 0169: The PRS configured by a location management function and the PRS signals triggered by SCI or medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) carried by PSSCH. The UE expect that it will be configured with SL-PRS IDs associated with multiple SL-PRS resource sets included in SCI (e.g., second stage SCI) or a MAC CE. UE obtain the SL-PRS transmission parameters through, for example, PC5 RRC. Accordingly, for SL positioning (i.e. locations) in FR2, may be included in the SCI (i.e., first stage SCI or second stage SCI)].
As to Claim 23. The method of claim 17, wherein: locations of the first set of one or more PRS and the second set of one or more PRS are based, at least in part, on destination identifiers of the first sidelink device and a second sidelink device associated with the second set of one or more PRS [See Claim 5 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 24. The method of claim 17, wherein the first set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to a bandwidth of: a carrier used by the first sidelink device; a bandwidth part (BWP) used by the first sidelink device; or a sidelink resource pool used by the first sidelink device [See Claim 9 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 25. Zhou discloses a first sidelink device [i.e. First UE-106/First User Equipment-UE], comprising [Fig. 1, Sections 0006, 0045: Solutions are provided for SL-PRS (sidelink positioning reference signal) in a frequency/time domain pattern, and a UE procedure for transmitting and receiving the SL-PRS. FIG. 1 illustrate a communication system, a first UE 106, and a second UE 108 with SL (sidelink) between the first UE and the second UE]:
a memory; at least one transceiver [Communication Module-2490]; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to [Fig. 24, Sections 0211, 0213: The electronic device (i.e. UE see 0210) include a processor-2420, a memory-2430, and a communication module-2490. The processor load command or data received from the communication module 2490 in memory 2432]:
receive, via the at least one transceiver [Communication Module-2490, Fig. 24], a sidelink transmission having a configured sidelink slot format [Section 0055, 0072: Time and frequency within slot and there may be different slot formats. The UE receives SCI (sidelink information) format in slot], wherein the configured sidelink slot format includes an allocated sidelink slot bandwidth spanning a set of one or more contiguous subchannels [Figs. 3-4 (Diagrams of Slot Formats), Sections 0009, 0081, 0197: UE receives positioning slot including resource pool spanning subcarriers bandwidth of the slot. The bandwidth of the PRS considered for SL positioning and in 3GPP Rel-16, SL resource pool consist of SL-NumSubchannel contiguous sub-channels. In resource pool configuration for SL-PRS and PSCCH, there are symbols in slot and the SCI is in slot and schedules (i.e. allocate/assign) the resources including subchannel],
a first set of symbols allocated to at least a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) [Sections 0009, 0058: The positioning slot includes first resources of one or more symbols for a physical SL control channel (PSCCH). For both slot structures, stage SCI carried in the PSCCH with 2 or 3 symbols with SCI format and number of PSCCH symbols explicitly configured per Tx/Rx resource pool when herein UE is using multiple consecutive subchannels for SL (sidelink) transmission],
and a second set of symbols [i.e. SL-PRS symbols/time symbols/resources or Symbols following those of PSCCH] allocated to a first set of one or more positioning reference signals (PRS) [Sections 0088, 0099, 0200: Parameters defining SL-PRS may be implicit in which starting symbol is immediately after the PSCCH. The symbols following PSCCH are used for SL-PRS and the resource allocation for SL-PRS different than the resource allocation for PSSCH. For example, an SL-PRS may occupy all available time symbols],
wherein the first set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink [i.e. SL] slot bandwidth [Sections 0082, 0165, 0203: For resource allocation (i.e. assign) in SL positioning, the allocated PRS resources cover bandwidth. For PRS resource allocation the candidate resource set cover available bandwidth (i.e. sub-channels) for SL positioning. The resource pool configured to allow multiple SL-PRS indices and span the bandwidth by resource pool configuration in specific slots];
and transmitting or measuring, via the at least one transceiver [Communication Module-2490, Fig. 24], one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS [Sections 0085, 0132, 0167, 0208: The UE configured to transmit the PRS on bands for SL positioning. The UE determines when and where to transmit the PRS with resource selection procedure on the SL-PRS resource pool. There may be at least two PRS/CSI-RS resource sets for SL positioning and UE measures the PRS/CSI-RS. The UE may perform measurements on the SL-PRSs].
As to Claim 26. The first sidelink device of claim 25, wherein the configured sidelink slot format further comprises: a third set of symbols allocated to a second set of one or more PRS of a second sidelink device, wherein the second set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink slot bandwidth [See Claim 2 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 27. Zhou discloses the first sidelink device of claim 26, wherein the at least one processor [processor-2420] is further configured to: transmit, via the at least one transceiver [Communication Module-2490], the one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS; and measure one or more PRS of the second set of one or more PRS [Fig. 24, Sections 0085, 0132, 0167, 0208: The UE configured to transmit the PRS on bands for SL positioning. The UE determines when and where to transmit the PRS with resource selection procedure on the SL-PRS resource pool. There may be at least two PRS/CSI-RS resource sets for SL positioning and UE measures the PRS/CSI-RS. The UE may perform measurements on the SL-PRSs].
As to Claim 28. The first sidelink device of claim 26, wherein the configured sidelink slot format further comprises: a fourth set of symbols allocated to a third set of one or more PRS of a third sidelink device, wherein the fourth set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink slot bandwidth [See Claim 4 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 29. The first sidelink device of claim 26, wherein: locations of the first set of one or more PRS and the second set of one or more PRS are based, at least in part, on destination identifiers of the first sidelink device and a second sidelink device associated with the second set of one or more PRS [See Claim 5 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 30. The first sidelink device of claim 25, wherein locations of the first set of PRS are indicated in: a pre-configuration of the configured sidelink slot format at the first sidelink device; control information in the PSCCH; first-stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in the PSCCH; second-stage sidelink control information (SCI-2) in a PSSCH; a medium access control layer control element (MAC-CE); PC5 radio resource control (PC5-RRC) information; higher layer messaging; a radio transmission standard; or any combination thereof [See Claim 6 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 31. The first sidelink device of claim 25, wherein the configured sidelink slot format further includes: a fifth set of symbols allocated to a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), wherein locations of the first set of one or more PRS are indicated, at least in part, in second-stage sidelink control information (SCI-2), MAC-CE, higher layer messaging, or any combination thereof [See Claim 7 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 32. The first sidelink device of claim 25, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit the one or more PRS of the first set of PRS; and receive a measurement report including information corresponding to measurements made of the one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS by a second sidelink device [See Claim 8 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 33. The first sidelink device of claim 25, wherein the first set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to a bandwidth of: a carrier used by the first sidelink device; a bandwidth part (BWP) used by the first sidelink device; or a sidelink resource pool used by the first sidelink device [See Claim 9 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 34. Zhou discloses a first sidelink device [i.e. First UE-106/First User Equipment-UE], comprising [Fig. 1, Sections 0006, 0045: Solutions are provided for SL-PRS (sidelink positioning reference signal) in a frequency/time domain pattern, and a UE procedure for transmitting and receiving the SL-PRS. FIG. 1 illustrate a communication system, a first UE 106, and a second UE 108 with SL (sidelink) between the first UE and the second UE]:
a memory; at least one transceiver [Communication Module-2490]; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to [Fig. 24, Sections 0211, 0213: The electronic device (i.e. UE see 0210) include a processor-2420, a memory-2430, and a communication module-2490. The processor load command or data received from the communication module 2490 in memory 2432]:
receive, via the at least one transceiver [Communication Module-2490]; a sidelink transmission having a configured sidelink slot format [Section 0055, 0072: Time and frequency within slot and there may be different slot formats. The UE receives SCI (sidelink information) format in slot], wherein the configured sidelink slot format includes an allocated sidelink slot bandwidth spanning a plurality of contiguous subchannels [Figs. 3-4 (Diagrams of Slot Formats), Sections 0009, 0081, 0197: UE receives positioning slot including resource pool spanning subcarriers bandwidth of the slot. The bandwidth of the PRS considered for SL positioning and in 3GPP Rel-16, SL resource pool consist of SL-NumSubchannel contiguous sub-channels. In resource pool configuration for SL-PRS and PSCCH, there are symbols in slot and the SCI is in slot and schedules (i.e. allocate/assign) the resources including subchannel],
a first set of symbols allocated to at least a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) [Sections 0009, 0058: The positioning slot includes first resources of one or more symbols for a physical SL control channel (PSCCH). For both slot structures, stage SCI carried in the PSCCH with 2 or 3 symbols with SCI format and number of PSCCH symbols explicitly configured per Tx/Rx resource pool when herein UE is using multiple consecutive subchannels for SL (sidelink) transmission],
a second set of symbols [i.e. SL-PRS symbols/time symbols/resources or Symbols following those of PSCCH] allocated to a first set of one or more positioning reference signals (PRS) by the first sidelink device [Sections 0088, 0099, 0200: Parameters defining SL-PRS may be implicit in which starting symbol is immediately after the PSCCH. The symbols following PSCCH are used for SL-PRS and the resource allocation for SL-PRS different than the resource allocation for PSSCH. For example, an SL-PRS may occupy all available time symbols],
wherein the first set of one or more PRS are frequency division multiplexed with the first set of symbols allocated to the PSCCH [Fig. 20 (Slot structure of SL-PRS with PSCCH interlacing (multiplex) mapped to Frequency and time), Sections 0186, 0190, 0199: Slot structure for SL-PRS with PSCCH mapped in an frequency division multiplexing (FDM). SL-PRS in the case of UE multiplexing, symbols of the slot carrying the PSCCH in the frequency domain interlaced such that the bandwidth occupied by the PSCCH matches that of SL-PRS. In multiplexing SL-PRS with data, the PSCCH symbols corresponds to an SL-PRS],
and a third set of symbols allocated to a second set of one or more PRS from a second sidelink device [i.e. Second UE/UE-108], wherein the second set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink slot bandwidth [Figs. 1, 10 (Depicts SL-PRSs locations with two UEs including symbols, and frequency/time resources), Sections 0109, 0203: The second SL-PRSs are used by a second UE in an SL-PRS symbol(s) based on resource pool configuration. The resource pool configured to allow multiple SL-PRS indices and span bandwidth by resource pool configuration in specific slots];
transmitting or measuring, via the at least one transceiver [Communication Module-2490], one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS; and transmitting or measuring, via the at least one transceiver, one or more PRS of the second set of one or more PRS [Sections 0132, 0166, 0167, 0208: The UE determines when and where to transmit the PRS with resource selection procedure on the SL-PRS resource pool. For SL positioning during the measurement of PRS at least 2 (or more) PRS resource sets and/or CSI-RS resource sets may be provided per UE. There may be at least two PRS/CSI-RS resource sets for SL positioning and UE measures the PRS/CSI-RS. The UE may perform measurements on the SL-PRSs].
As to Claim 35. The first sidelink device of claim 34, wherein: the transmitting or measuring the one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS comprises transmitting the one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS; and the transmitting or measuring the one or more PRS of the second set of one or more PRS comprises measuring the one or more PRS of the second set of one or more PRS [See Claim 11 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 36. The first sidelink device of claim 34, wherein the second set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to a bandwidth of: a carrier used by the first sidelink device; a bandwidth part (BWP) used by the first sidelink device; or a sidelink resource pool used by the first sidelink device [See Claim 12 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 37. The first sidelink device of claim 34, wherein the configured sidelink slot format further comprises: a fourth set of symbols allocated to a third set of one or more PRS, wherein the third set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink slot bandwidth [See Claim 13 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 38. The first sidelink device of claim 37, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: measure one or more PRS of the third set of one or more PRS [See Claim 14 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 39. The first sidelink device of claim 34, wherein: locations of the first set of one or more PRS and the second set of one or more PRS are based, at least in part, on destination identifiers of the first sidelink device and a second sidelink device associated with the second set of one or more PRS [See Claim 5 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 40. The first sidelink device of claim 34, wherein locations of the first set of one or more PRS are indicated in: a pre-configuration of the configured sidelink slot format at the first sidelink device; control information in the PSCCH; first-stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in the PSCCH; second-stage sidelink control information (SCI-2) in a PSSCH; a medium access control layer control element (MAC-CE); PC5 radio resource control (PC5-RRC) information; higher layer messaging; a radio transmission standard; or any combination thereof [See Claim 6 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 41. Zhou discloses a first sidelink device [i.e. First UE-106/First User Equipment-UE], comprising [Fig. 1, Sections 0006, 0045: Solutions are provided for SL-PRS (sidelink positioning reference signal) in a frequency/time domain pattern, and a UE procedure for transmitting and receiving the SL-PRS. FIG. 1 illustrate a communication system, a first UE 106, and a second UE 108 with SL (sidelink) between the first UE and the second UE]:
a memory; at least one transceiver [Communication Module-2490]; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to [Fig. 24, Sections 0211, 0213: The electronic device (i.e. UE see 0210) include a processor-2420, a memory-2430, and a communication module-2490. The processor load command or data received from the communication module 2490 in memory 2432]:
receive, via the at least one transceiver [Communication Module-2490], a sidelink transmission having a configured sidelink slot format [Section 0055, 0072: Time and frequency within slot and there may be different slot formats. The UE receives SCI (sidelink information) format in slot], wherein the configured sidelink slot format includes an allocated sidelink slot bandwidth spanning a set of one or more contiguous subchannels [Figs. 3-4 (Diagrams of Slot Formats), Sections 0009, 0081, 0197: UE receives positioning slot including resource pool spanning subcarriers bandwidth of the slot. The bandwidth of the PRS considered for SL positioning and in 3GPP Rel-16, SL resource pool consist of SL-NumSubchannel contiguous sub-channels. In resource pool configuration for SL-PRS and PSCCH, there are symbols in slot and the SCI is in slot and schedules (i.e. allocate/assign) the resources including subchannel],
a first set of symbols allocated to a first set of one or more positioning reference signals (PRS), a second set of symbols allocated to a second set of one or more PRS [Sections 0109, 0197, 0203: First SL-PRSs and second SL-PRSs uses symbols based on resource pool configuration associated with subchannels. In resource pool configuration for SL-PRS, there are symbols allocated/assigned in slot. The resource pool configured to allow multiple SL-PRS indices and span bandwidth by resource pool configuration in specific slots],
wherein the first set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink slot bandwidth, the second set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink slot bandwidth, or a combination thereof [Sections 0165, 0203: For SL PRS resource allocation the candidate resource set by UE should cover the available bandwidth or all the sub-channels for SL positioning. Additionally, the resource pool configured to allow multiple SL-PRS allowed to span the bandwidth by resource pool configuration in specific slots];
transmitting or measuring, via the at least one transceiver [Communication Module-2490], one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS; and transmitting or measuring, via the at least one transceiver [Communication Module-2490], one or more PRS of the second set of one or more PRS [Sections 0132, 0166, 0167, 0208: The UE determines when and where to transmit the PRS with resource selection procedure on the SL-PRS resource pool. For SL positioning during the measurement of PRS at least 2 (or more) PRS resource sets and/or CSI-RS resource sets may be provided per UE. There may be at least two PRS/CSI-RS resource sets for SL positioning and UE measures the PRS/CSI-RS. The UE may perform measurements on the SL-PRSs].
As to Claim 42. The first sidelink device of claim 41, wherein: the first set of one or more PRS are allocated to the first sidelink device; and the second set of one or more PRS are allocated to a second sidelink device [See Claim 18 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 43. The first sidelink device of claim 41, wherein the configured sidelink slot format further comprises: a third set of symbols allocated to a third set of one or more PRS, wherein the third set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to the allocated sidelink slot bandwidth [See Claim 19 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 44. The first sidelink device of claim 41, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit the one or more PRS of the first set of one or more PRS; and measure the one or more PRS of the second set of one or more PRS [See Claim 27 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 45. Zhou discloses the first sidelink device of claim 44, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to [Fig. 24, Sections 0211, 0213: The electronic device (i.e. UE see 0210) include a processor-2420, a memory-2430, and a communication module-2490. The processor load command or data received from the communication module 2490 in memory 2432]:
receive, via the at least one transceiver [Communication Module-2490, Fig. 24], a first measurement report including information corresponding to measurements made of the first set of one or more PRS by a second sidelink device; transmit, via the at least one transceiver [Communication Module-2490, Fig. 24], a measurement report including information corresponding to measurements made of the second set of one or more PRS; or a combination thereof [Sections 0090, 0166-0167: In SL communications, the Tx UE (i.e. first sidelink UE) configure aperiodic SL CSI (i.e. Channel State Info Measurement) reporting from the Rx UE (i.e. second sidelink UE) through the PSSCH transmission; CSI-RS in SL may also be used for positioning purposes. For SL positioning during the measurement of PRS at least 2 (or more) PRS resource sets and/or CSI-RS resource sets may be provided per UE. Accordingly, there may be at least two PRS/CSI-RS resource sets for SL positioning; the UE measures the QCL source PRS/CSI-RS resources].
As to Claim 46. The first sidelink device of claim 41, wherein locations of the first set of one or more PRS and the second set of one or more PRS are indicated in: a pre-configuration of the configured sidelink slot format at the first sidelink device; control information in a PSCCH of a prior sidelink slot; first-stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) in the PSCCH of the prior sidelink slot; second-stage sidelink control information (SCI-2) in a PSSCH; a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE); PC5 radio resource control (PC5-RRC) information of the prior sidelink slot; higher layer messaging; a radio transmission standard; or any combination thereof [See Claim 22 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 47. The first sidelink device of claim 41, wherein: locations of the first set of one or more PRS and the second set of one or more PRS are based, at least in part, on destination identifiers of the first sidelink device and a second sidelink device associated with the second set of one or more PRS [See Claim 5 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 48. The first sidelink device of claim 41, wherein the first set of one or more PRS are assigned a bandwidth at least equal to a bandwidth of: a carrier used by the first sidelink device; a bandwidth part (BWP) used by the first sidelink device; or a sidelink resource pool used by the first sidelink device [See Claim 9 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Park et al. US 20230300822 and BAEK et al. US 20230062805.
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
September 11, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477