DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, “the system” should perhaps read --the interruption system--.
Regarding claims 1-9 and 11-16, recitations of “characterised in that” should read --wherein--.
Regarding claims 4, 13, 14, and 16, “the control optical signal” should read --the control signal--.
Regarding claim 7, “with a margin a margin” should read --with a margin--.
Regarding claim 9, “the control signal” should read --the respective control signal--.
Regarding claim 9, “the semiconductor optical amplifier” should read --the corresponding semiconductor optical amplifier--.
Regarding claim 10, “characterized in that” should read --wherein--.
Regarding claim 13, “polarisations” should read --polarizations--.
Regarding claim 15, “the optical control signal” should read --the control signal--.
Claims 2-16 are further objected to by virtue of dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 3 be found allowable, claim 2 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-12 of copending Application No. 18/844,413 (reference application), published as US 20250184007 A1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claimed systems would have been obvious variations of the inventions defined by the claims of the reference application, for the reasons set forth below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 18/844,051
(Application claims 1-3, 5-9, 12)
Co-pending Application 18/844,413
(Reference claims 2-3, 6-12)
1. An interruption system configured to control transmission of an optical signal, the system including a semiconductor optical amplifier configured to receive:
2. “The modulation system according to claim 1, characterized in that the optical modulator is a semiconductor optical amplifier”1. “Modulation system configured to control modulation of a signal, the system comprising: an optical modulator configured to receive:”
an input optical signal, and
1. “an input signal formed by a carrier, and”Claim 2 identifies the receiving optical modulator as a semiconductor optical amplifier.
a control signal configured to control the semiconductor optical amplifier,
1. “a modulation signal,”Supporting paragraphs [0104]-[0107] describe carrier control, amplifier power and gain. Claim 2 identifies the receiving optical modulator as a semiconductor optical amplifier.
characterised in that the interruption system further comprises a cooling device configured to cool the semiconductor optical amplifier to a temperature greater than or equal to 10 K, and to cool the optical modulator to a temperature less than or equal to 90 K.
1. “a cooling device configured to cool the optical modulator to a temperature greater than or equal to 10 K to cool the optical modulator to a temperature less than or equal to 90 K.”Claim 2 identifies the optical modulator as a semiconductor optical amplifier.
2. The interruption system according to claim 1, characterised in that the control signal is an electrical signal.3. The interruption system according to claim 1, characterised in that the control signal is an electrical signal.
3. “The modulation system according to claim 2, characterized in that the modulation signal is an electrical signal.”
5. The interruption system according to claim 1, characterised in that the cooling device is direct.
6. “The modulation system according to claim 1, characterized in that the cooling device is direct.”
6. The interruption system according to claim 1, characterised in that the cooling device is indirect.
7. “The modulation system according to claim 1, characterized in that the cooling device is indirect.”
7. The interruption system according to claim 1, characterised in that the cooling device includes a temperature regulator, the temperature regulator being configured to maintain the semiconductor optical amplifier at a target temperature with a margin a margin less than or equal to 500 mK and greater than or equal to -500 mK.
8. “The modulation system according to claim 2, characterized in that the cooling device comprises a temperature regulator, the temperature regulator being configured to maintain the semiconductor optical amplifier at a target temperature with a margin of ±500 mK.”
8. The interruption system according to claim 1, characterised in that the semiconductor optical amplifier forms part of an integrated photonic circuit.
9. “The modulation system according claim 4, characterized in that the semiconductor optical amplifier is mounted on an integrated component.”10. “The modulation system according to claim 9, characterized in that the integrated component is a photonic integrated component.”
9. The interruption system according to claim 1, characterised in that the interruption system includes a plurality of semiconductor optical amplifiers each configured to receive:a respective input optical signal, anda respective control signal, the control signal being configured to control the semiconductor optical amplifier.
11. “The modulation system according to claim 4, characterized in that the modulation system comprises a plurality of semiconductor optical amplifiers or a plurality of reflective semiconductor optical amplifiers.”
12. The interruption system according to claim 9, characterised in that the same cooling device is configured to cool at least two semiconductor optical amplifiers.
12. “The modulation system according to claim 11, characterized in that the same cooling device is configured to cool at least two semiconductor optical amplifiers.”
Regarding application claim 1, the principal differences are the express requirements for controlling transmission of an optical signal and for “a control signal configured to control the semiconductor optical amplifier.” Reference claim 2, incorporating reference claim 1, expressly identifies a “semiconductor optical amplifier” as an optical modulator configured to receive “an input signal formed by a carrier” and “a modulation signal,” with the same temperature limits of 10 K and 90 K. It would have been obvious to configure the received modulation signal to control the response of the semiconductor optical amplifier to the input signal formed by a carrier because this enables the amplifier to perform the modulation function assigned to it by the reference claims. Accordingly, application claim 1 would have been an obvious variation of reference claim 2, and is not patentably distinct.
Regarding application claims 2 and 3, reference claim 4 recites the same limitations as claims 2 and 3 of the instant application, and therefore not patentably distinct.
Regarding application claim 5, the additional limitation requires that “the cooling device is direct.” Reference claim 6 expressly recites the same limitation but depends on reference claim 1 rather than reference claim 2. It would have been obvious to select the “semiconductor optical amplifier” identified in reference claim 2 as the “optical modulator” of reference claim 6 in order to implement a direct cooling arrangement for the amplifier implementation of the modulation system having the same signal inputs and temperature limits. Accordingly, application claim 5 is not patentably distinct from reference claim 6 in view of the semiconductor optical amplifier alternative provided for in reference claim 2.
Regarding application claim 6, the additional limitation requires that “the cooling device is indirect.” Reference claim 7 expressly recites the same limitation and depends on reference claim 1. It would have been obvious to select the “semiconductor optical amplifier” identified in reference claim 2 as the “optical modulator” of reference claim 7 in order to implement an indirect cooling arrangement for the amplifier implementation of the modulation system having the same signal inputs and temperature limits. Accordingly, application claim 6 would have been an obvious variation of reference claim 7, in view of the amplifier implementation identified in reference claim 2, and is not patentably distinct.
Regarding application claim 7, reference claim 8 recites the same limitations as claim 7 of the instant application, and is therefore not patentably distinct.
Regarding application claim 8, reference claims 9-10 recite the same limitations as claim 8 of the instant application, and is therefore not patentably distinct.
Regarding application claim 9, the principal difference is that the claimed plurality of semiconductor optical amplifiers is “each configured to receive” both “a respective input optical signal” and “a respective control signal,” with the control signal configured to control the semiconductor optical amplifier. Reference claim 11 expressly recites “a plurality of semiconductor optical amplifiers” and incorporates reference claims 4 and 1. It does not expressly assign “an input signal formed by a carrier” and “a modulation signal” to each amplifier. However, it would have been obvious to configure each amplifier as the optical modulator identified in reference claim 2 and provide each with the respective signals in order to enable each amplifier to perform the modulation function required by reference claim 1. Applying the control configuration to each amplifier as previously analyzed in application claim 1 would predictably provide the respective modulation signal to control the corresponding semiconductor optical amplifier. Accordingly, application claim 9 would have been an obvious variation of reference claim 11, in view of the amplifier implementation identified in reference claim 2, and is not patentably distinct.
Regarding application claim 12, reference claim 12 recites the same limitations as claim 12 of the instant application, and is therefore not patentably distinct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) as indefinite because “the optical modulator” lacks a clear antecedent, leaving uncertain whether the component subject to the 90 K upper temperature limit is the previously recited semiconductor optical amplifier or a separate component. For purposes of examination, “the optical modulator” is understood to read “the semiconductor optical amplifier” in accordance with Spec. p. 6, ll. 11-13 and p. 8, ll. 7-10. Applicant may overcome the indefiniteness by amending “the optical modulator” to recite --the semiconductor optical amplifier--.
Claims 2-16 are rejected as being dependent on and failing to cure the deficiencies of rejected claim 1.
Claims 4 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) as indefinite because each of the claims recites “the control optical signal” or “the optical control signal,” while incorporating the requirement of claim 3 that the control signal is an electrical signal. It is unclear whether the optical control signal is an additional signal or the same control signal that claim 3 requires to be electrical. Consequently, the identity and type of the signal subject to the limitations concerning direction of propagation (claim 4), polarization (claim 13), wavelength comparison (claim 14), power range (claim 15), and power comparison (claim 16) are unclear. For purposes of examination, claim 3 is understood to recite that the control signal is an optical signal, in accordance with Spec. p. 3, l. 11 and p. 6, l. 5, where the disclosure further identifies an optical control signal as having propagation in the opposite direction from the input optical signal (claim 4; Spec. p. 7, ll. 12-14), a polarization different from that of the input optical signal (claim 13; Spec. p. 4, l. 1), the specified wavelength difference (claim 14; Spec. p. 4, ll. 2-5), the specified power range (claim 15; Spec. p. 4, ll. 6-8), and the relative power relationship (claim 16; Spec. p. 4, ll. 9-10). Applicant may overcome the indefiniteness of claims 4 and 13-16 by amending “the control signal is an electrical signal” of claim 3 to recite “the control signal is an optical signal.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Borri (“Measurement of the ultrafast gain recovery in InGaAs/GaAs quantum dots: beyond a mean-field description,” published 2010)1.
Regarding claim 1, Borri discloses an interruption system configured to control transmission of an optical signal (Fig. 1; p. 2, § III, “the pump pulse ... induces a gain depletion” where the “resulting gain compression and recovery dynamics is monitored by the probe pulse”),
the system including a semiconductor optical amplifier (Fig. 1, “InGaAs QDs”; p. 1, § II, “ridge waveguide structure” and “gain coefficient ... of the amplifier”) configured to receive:
an input optical signal (p. 2, § II, “Prepump, pump, and probe beams ... coupled into the transverse electric waveguide mode”; “transmitted probe”), and
a control signal configured to control the semiconductor optical amplifier (p. 1, § II, the gain coefficient “was controlled by the injection current” for the electrical branch; p. 2, § III, “the pump pulse ... induces a gain depletion” for the optical branch),
wherein the interruption system further comprises a cooling device configured to cool the semiconductor optical amplifier to a temperature greater than or equal to 10 K, and to cool the semiconductor optical amplifier to a temperature less than or equal to 90 K. (p. 1, § II, “The device temperature was adjusted between 15 and 300 K in a cold-finger cryostat”; Fig. 1 caption, “at 40 mA injection current at 15 K”).
Regarding claim 2, Borri discloses the interruption system of claim 1, and further discloses: wherein the control signal is an electrical signal (p. 1, § II, “the gain coefficient ... of the amplifier ... was controlled by the injection current”; Fig. 1 caption, “at 40 mA injection current”).
Regarding claim 3, Borri discloses the interruption system of claim 1, and further discloses: wherein the control signal is an optical signal (Fig. 1 caption, “pump and probe optical pulses”; p. 2, § III, “the pump pulse ... induces a gain depletion”).
Regarding claim 15, Borri discloses the interruption system of claim 3, and further discloses: wherein the power of the optical control signal is greater than or equal to -30 dBm and less than or equal to +10 dBm (p. 2, § III, “the pump pulse of smaller energy ∼0.05 pJ” and § II, “at 76 MHz repetition rate” there by providing average power of 0.05 pJ × 76 MHz = 3.8 μW ≈ -24.2 dBm).
Regarding claim 16, Borri discloses the interruption system of claim 3, and further discloses: wherein the power of the input optical signal is less than the power of the control optical signal by at least 5 dB. (p. 2, § III, “probe pulse of even smaller energy ∼0.01 pJ” and § II, “at 76 MHz repetition rate” thereby providing average power of 0.01 pJ × 76 MHz = 0.76 μW ≈ 6.99 dB).
Claims 1-2, 9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kao (“Amplifiers of free-space terahertz radiation,” published 2017)2.
Regarding claim 1, Kao discloses an interruption system configured to control transmission of an optical signal (Fig. 4(a), amplifier assembly, with its gain response further detailed in Fig. 5(c); p. 716, Col. 1:5, “QCL material gain changes with the amplifier bias”),
the system including a semiconductor optical amplifier (p. 715, Col. 1:21-23, E1; p. 713, OCIS codes, “Semiconductor optical amplifiers”) configured to receive:
an input optical signal (Fig. 4(a), seed radiation directed toward the amplifier, with the illuminated upper right quadrant further identified in Fig. 4(e); p. 713, Col. 2:29-30, “Each active element only amplifies part of the total input signal,” providing the respective spatial portion received by E1), and
a control signal configured to control the semiconductor optical amplifier (p. 715, Col. 1:13-15, “current is provided to each element through a network of metal contacts that all connect to a large bonding pad near the edge of the amplifier” distributing the bias to E1; p. 716, Col. 1:5, “QCL material gain changes with the amplifier bias”),
wherein the interruption system further comprises a cooling device (p. 715, Col. 1:27-29, CryoMech refrigerator containing E1) configured to cool the semiconductor optical amplifier to a temperature greater than or equal to 10 K, and to cool the semiconductor optical amplifier to a temperature less than or equal to 90 K (p. 716, Col. 1:34-35, “amplifier is DC biased at 16 K” using CryoMech refrigerator).
Regarding claim 2, Kao discloses the interruption system of claim 1, and further discloses: wherein the control signal is an electrical signal (p. 716, Col. 1:34-35, “the amplifier is DC biased at 16 K”; p. 715, Col. 1:13-15, the metal contact network distributes that electrical bias to E1).
Regarding claim 9, Kao discloses the interruption system of claim 1, and further discloses: wherein the interruption system includes a plurality of semiconductor optical amplifiers (p. 715, Col. 1:7-8, the array contains approximately 120 DFB elements; Fig. 4(e), upper right quadrant contains plurality E1 and E2) each configured to receive:
a respective input optical signal (p. 713, Col. 2:29-30, “Each active element only amplifies part of the total input signal”; Fig. 4(a), as further detailed in Fig. 4(e), E1 and E2 are configured to receive respective spatial portions of the seed radiation), and
a respective control signal, the control signal being configured to control the semiconductor optical amplifier (p. 715, Col. 1:13-15, “The current is provided to each element through a network of metal contacts,” distributing the common quadrant bias to each of E1 and E2; p. 716, Col. 1:5, “The QCL material gain changes with the amplifier bias”).
Regarding claim 11, Kao discloses the interruption system of claim 9, and further discloses: wherein the control signal is a shared control signal for each of the semiconductor optical amplifiers (p. 715, Col. 1:13-15, the metal contacts “all connect to a large bonding pad near the edge of the amplifier”; p. 715, Col. 1:5-6, the grid is “electronically separated into four quadrants” wherein the shared signal is the same applied bias distributed to E1 and E2 within the identified quadrant).
Regarding claim 12, Kao discloses the interruption system of claim 9, and further discloses: wherein the same cooling device is configured to cool at least two semiconductor optical amplifiers (p. 715, Col. 1:27-29, the same CryoMech refrigerator contains the array, including E1 and E2; p. 716, Col. 1:34-35, “the amplifier is DC biased at 16 K”).
Claims 1, 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Klimov (US 20010046244 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Klimov discloses an interruption system configured to control transmission of an optical signal (¶ 54; Fig. 5 as further detailed in Figs. 6A and 6B, pump excitation changes the absorption and gain of the nanocrystal semiconductor amplifier for the 615 nm component of the probe, thereby controlling transmission),
the system including a semiconductor optical amplifier (¶ 54; Fig. 5, “gain medium of CdSe semiconductor nanocrystals” having “Optical gain (amplification of light)”) configured to receive:
an input optical signal (¶ 54; Fig. 5 as further detailed in Fig. 6B, “Probe @ 615 nm”), and
a control signal configured to control the semiconductor optical amplifier (¶ 54; Fig. 5, pump excites the nanocrystal to create population inversion; “the gain medium was excited at 3 eV” resulting in changes of absorption and gain as further detailed in Figs. 6A and 6B),
wherein the interruption system further comprises a cooling device configured to cool the semiconductor optical amplifier to a temperature greater than or equal to 10 K, and to cool the semiconductor optical amplifier to a temperature less than or equal to 90 K (¶ 54, “gain medium was cooled down to liquid nitrogen temperature (T=77K)” wherein a person of ordinary skill would understand the reported cooling as implicitly disclosing a cooling device acting on that gain medium to perform said cooling).
Regarding claim 3, Klimov discloses an interruption system of claim 1, and further discloses: wherein the control signal is an optical signal (¶ 54; Fig. 5, the pump comprises optical pulses from an amplified titanium sapphire laser).
Regarding claim 14, Klimov discloses an interruption system of claim 3, and further discloses: wherein the wavelength of the input optical signal differs from the wavelength of the control optical signal by at least 0.05 nm (Fig. 5 as further detailed in Fig. 6B; ¶ 54, probe at 615 nm, and pump at 3 eV corresponding to 413.3 nm, well exceeding a 0.05 nm difference).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borri in view of Pahlavan (“Modeling and analysis of co and counter propagation of picosecond pulses in QD-SOA,” published 2013)3.
Regarding claim 4, Borri discloses the interruption system according to claim 3, however does not disclose: wherein the semiconductor optical amplifier is a bi-directional component configured to receive the input optical signal and the control optical signal in opposite directions. Pahlavan teaches the limitation in p. 6, § IV.C, “apply two counter propagating optical pulses”; Fig. 16 caption, “a 40 mW pulse (signal1)” and “a 40 mW counter propagating optical pulse (signal2)” where signal1 corresponds to the input probe, and signal2 corresponds to the pump. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified modify the system of Borri with the teachings of Pahlavan, since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations in design in either the same field or a different field based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (KSR Rationale F). The difference is merely a known variation of pulse propagation direction, and an artisan skilled in optical amplifier systems would have recognized that adopting opposite propagation of input and control pulses, as taught by Pahlavan, would confer the advantages of suppressing unwanted trailing optical energy (Pahlavan, p. 6, § IV.C), thereby yielding a system with reduced interference between successive pulses and improved signaling fidelity. This update represents a known improvement and would have been pursued by the skilled artisan with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borri in view of Van Der Linden (“A compact and versatile dynamic flow cryostat for photon science,” published 2016)4.
Regarding claim 5, Borri discloses the interruption system according to claim 1, however does not disclose: wherein the cooling device is direct. Van Der Linden teaches the limitation in p. 3, § I, “sample is directly cooled”; p. 5, § II.A.2, coolant “is guided to pass by the sample”; Fig. 1(f), the inner chamber, as further detailed in Fig. 3, the coolant flow at sample position (k). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Borri with the teachings of van der Linden with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve thermal coupling and sample cooling, thereby yielding a system with more effective cryogenic thermal management (van der Linden, p. 2, § I, “more efficient sample cooling can be obtained”; p. 2, abstract, “Very efficient sample cooling is achieved”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borri in view of Srinivasan (US 20080089367 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Borri discloses the interruption system according to claim 1, however does not disclose: wherein the cooling device is indirect. Srinivasan teaches the limitation in ¶ 48, “thermally conductive pathway between the sample and the cold finger is provided by copper braids that connect the top sample mount to the cold finger”; Fig. 4, thermal braids 403 and sample mount 431. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Borri and implement the thermal connection between the amplifier and cold finger using the copper braids and sample mount as taught by Srinivasan, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a conductive path that brings the semiconductor device to the required cryogenic temperature (Srinivasan, ¶ 48).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borri in view of Nagendran (“On the design and implementation of a novel impedance chamber based variable temperature regulator at liquid helium temperatures,” published 2010)5.
Regarding claim 7, Borri discloses the interruption system according to claim 1, however does not disclose: wherein the cooling device includes a temperature regulator, the temperature regulator being configured to maintain the semiconductor optical amplifier at a target temperature with a margin a margin less than or equal to 500 mK and greater than or equal to -500 mK. Nagendran teaches: wherein the cooling device includes a temperature regulator (p. 3, § IV, “a cryogenic temperature controller”; p. 2, § II, “A thermometer is also mounted in the same OFHC copper block to sense and control the sample temperature”; Fig. 1, the temperature controller connected through Loop1 to thermometer and heater 3, as further detailed in Fig. 2, thermometer 16 and heater 6), the temperature regulator being configured to maintain the semiconductor optical amplifier at a target temperature with a margin less than or equal to 500 mK and greater than or equal to -500 mK (p. 5, § IV, “the temperature of the sample region can be maintained constant to any desired temperature” and “temperature stability better than ±2 mK” between 4.2 to 100 K). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Borri with the teachings of Nagendran with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce temperature fluctuations that can alter the optical response of the amplifier, thereby yielding a system with more stable and reproducible optical signal control (Nagendran, p. 1, § I; p. 5, § IV; Fig. 5).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borri in view of Aw (“Dynamic Range Studied of a Monolithic 2x2 Quantum Dot Switch,” published 2007)6.
Regarding claim 8, Borri discloses the interruption system according to claim 1, however does not disclose: wherein the semiconductor optical amplifier forms part of an integrated photonic circuit. Aw teaches the limitation in Fig. 1(b), SOA gate section 4 within the monolithic circuit; pp. 1-2, § 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Borri with the teachings of Aw, since applying a known technique to improve similar semiconductor optical amplifiers in the same way would have yielded predictable results (KSR Rationale C). The difference is the use of a known monolithic integration technique, and an artisan skilled in optical amplifier systems would have recognized that incorporating the semiconductor optical amplifier into a photonic circuit with integrated optical routing components, as taught by Aw, would confer the advantage of reduced spatial requirements, thereby yielding a compact system providing amplification and signal routing on a common chip (Aw, pp. 1-2, § 2). This update applies a known integration technique to a comparable semiconductor optical amplifier and would have been pursued by the skilled artisan with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao in view of Wallenstein (DE 19700720 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kao discloses the interruption system according to claim 9, however does not disclose: wherein at least two semiconductor optical amplifiers are at a different temperature. Wallenstein teaches at least two semiconductor optical amplifiers (¶¶ 60-61, “optical semiconductor amplifiers”) are at a different temperature (¶ 43, individual temperature adjustment of each amplifier). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kao with the teachings of Wallenstein with a reasonable expectation of success in order to tailor the optical characteristics of the respective amplified beams, thereby yielding a system that delivers increased optical power with improved beam quality and profile (Wallenstein, ¶¶ 43-44, 96).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klimov in view of Geuchies (“Quantitative electrochemical control over optical gain in quantum-dot solids,” published 2021)7.
Regarding claim 13, Klimov discloses the interruption system according to claim 3, however does not disclose: wherein the control optical signal and the input optical signal have different polarizations. Geuchies teaches the limitation in p. 384, Col. 1:28-29, “the pump and probe beam have orthogonal polarizations (i.e., one of them is vertically polarized, the other horizontally).” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klimov with the teachings of Geuchies with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce the influence of scattered control light on detection of the input optical signal through employing orthogonal polarizations, thereby yielding a system with reduced optical background noise and more reliable measurement of the transmitted input optical signal (Geuchies, p. 384, Col. 1:28-30).
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include: Abedi (“Sub-Nanosecond Phase Recovery in Quantum-Dot Semiconductor Optical Amplifiers,” published 2013)8 which discloses optically pumped quantum dot semiconductor optical amplifiers at 77 K.
/ZHENGQING QI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
1 Borri et al. “Measurement of the ultrafast gain recovery in InGaAs/GaAs quantum dots: beyond a mean-field description.” Physical Review B-Condensed Matter and Materials Physics 82, no. 11 (2010): 115326.
2 Kao et al. “Amplifiers of free-space terahertz radiation.” Optica 4, no. 7 (2017): 713-716.
3 Pahlavan et al. “Modeling and analysis of co and counter propagation of picosecond pulses in QD-SOA.” IEEE Journal of Quantum Electronics 49, no. 11 (2013): 982-989.
4 Van Der Linden et al. “A compact and versatile dynamic flow cryostat for photon science.” Review of Scientific Instruments 87, no. 11 (2016).
5 Nagendran et al. “On the design and implementation of a novel impedance chamber based variable temperature regulator at liquid helium temperatures.” Review of Scientific Instruments 81, no. 4 (2010).
6 Aw et al. “Dynamic Range Studied of a Monolithic 2x2 Quantum Dot Switch.” In Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics, p. CTuII2. Optica Publishing Group, 2007.
7 Geuchies et al., “Quantitative electrochemical control over optical gain in quantum-dot solids.” ACS nano 15, no. 1 (2021): 377-386.
8 Abedi et al. "Sub-Nanosecond Phase Recovery in Quantum-Dot Semiconductor Optical Amplifiers." ACTA PHYSICA POLONICA A, Vol. 123, No. 2, (2013):407-410.