DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an acquisition unit” “a decoding unit”, “a generation unit”, etc. in claims 1, 4, 5, 7 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Claims 4 and 14 recite “an information processing device” comprising “a generation unit”. The term “an information processing device” is recited in the preamble of claims 4 and 14, but is not a structural component of the claim.
Thus, the only potentially structural component of the claim is the “an information processing device”. However, “an information processing device” does not invoke a particular structure, in that the term “device” may be structural or non-structural and the term “device” does not have a well-defined meaning that would invoke a particular structural component. For example, software per se can be considered as a “device” of a computer, and “software” is not structural at all.
Therefore, given that claims 4 and 14 recite using the single, non-structural term “an information processing device”, which is modified by function and without further recitation of a structural modifier, the claim invokes 35 USC 112, 6th paragraph.
However, 35 USC 112, 6th paragraph is reserved for a “combination” of elements, not a single element, which raised two issue of undue breadth in the form of scope of enablement (In re Hyatt – MPEP 2164.08 – “where a means recitation does not appear in combination with another recited element of means, is subject to an undue breadth rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph”).
Furthermore, the possibility exists that the claim does NOT invoke 112, 6th paragraph because the claim is NOT to a “combination”. Therefore, if 112, 6th paragraph is not invoked, and “an information processing device” is a non-structural term, the claim is recited entirely functionally, which also raises the same issue of scope of enablement (Ex parte Kenichi Miyazaki; “precedential” BPAI Decision, and the Halliburton Rule).
Either way, the claim attempts to claim the invention via a single means, or entirely functionally, which raises the issue of undue breadth; i.e., the claiming of any and every means for performing the invention including those not yet known. The full scope of the claim is not enabled by the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claimed “a file generation unit that generates a scene description file” are non-structural per se, and the specification does not exclude the “a scene description file” from being software (see paragraphs [0027]-[0028]). Therefore, a reasonable interpretation in light of the specification leads to the conclusion that the claim encompasses pure software, which does not fall within the definition of a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US PgPub. No. 2025/0138639 by Galvane et al. (hereinafter ‘Galvane’).
In regards to claim 4, Galvane teaches an information processing device comprising: a file generation unit that generates a scene description file that specifies an accessor for storing dynamic haptics media associated with 3D data in a predetermined storage area. (See Galvane Figure 1, Galvane teaches a scene description generating system.)
In regards to claim 5, Galvane teaches wherein the file generation unit generates the scene description file that specifies the accessor in material. (See Galvane paragraph [0084]).
In regards to claim 6, Galvane teaches generating a scene description file that specifies an accessor for storing dynamic haptics media associated with 3D data in a predetermined storage area. (See Galvane Figure 1, Galvane teaches a scene description generating system.)
In regards to claim 7, Galvane teaches an information processing device comprising: an acquisition unit that acquires encoded data of interactive media associated with 3D data to be reproduced on the basis of a description regarding the interactive media included in a scene description file; and a decoding unit that decodes the acquired encoded data based on the description of the scene description file and generates data of the interactive media. (See Galvane Figure 1 and paragraphs [0032] and [0035], Galvane teaches acquiring a scene description file and rendering a 3D model.)
In regards to claim 8, Galvane teaches wherein the description regarding the interactive media includes a description indicating whether interactive processing executed when a predetermined condition is satisfied in a scene by a user operation is possible or not, and the acquisition unit acquires the encoded data when it is indicated that the interactive processing is possible. (See Galvane paragraph [0044]).
In regards to claim 9, Galvane teaches wherein the description regarding the interactive media includes a description indicating whether or not the interactive media can be selected according to a user operation or avatar attribute information, and the acquisition unit selects the interactive media according to the user operation or the avatar attribute information when it is indicated that the interactive media can be selected and selects the predetermined interactive media when it is indicated that the interactive media cannot be selected. (See Galvane paragraph [0044]).
In regards to claim 10, Galvane teaches wherein the description regarding the interactive media includes a description regarding acquisition of the encoded data, and the acquisition unit acquires the encoded data according to the description regarding the acquisition of the encoded data. (See Galvane Figure 1, element 100).
In regards to claim 11, Galvane teaches wherein the acquisition unit acquires the encoded data based on a description regarding the interactive media described as file information of the interactive media in material of the scene description file. (See Galvane Figure 1, element 190 and paragraph [0044]).
In regards to claim 12, Galvane teaches wherein the acquisition unit acquires the encoded data based on a description regarding the interactive media described as pre-processing information of the interactive media in material of the scene description file. (See Galvane paragraphs [0035] and [0044]).
In regards to claim 13, Galvane teaches acquiring encoded data of interactive media associated with 3D data to be reproduced on the basis of a description regarding the interactive media included in a scene description file; and decoding the acquired encoded data based on the description of the scene description file and generating data of the interactive media. (See Galvane Figure 1 and paragraphs [0032] and [0035], Galvane teaches acquiring a scene description file and rendering a 3D model.)
In regards to claim 14, Galvane teaches a file generation unit that generates a scene description file that includes a description regarding interactive media associated with 3D data. (See Galvane Figure 1, Galvane teaches a scene description generating system.)
In regards to claim 15, Galvane teaches wherein the description regarding the interactive media includes a description indicating whether interactive processing executed when a predetermined condition is satisfied in a scene by a user operation is possible or not. (See Galvane paragraph [0044]).
In regards to claim 16, Galvane teaches wherein the description regarding the interactive media includes a description indicating whether or not the interactive media can be selected according to a user operation or avatar attribute information. (See Galvane paragraph [0044]).
In regards to claim 17, Galvane teaches wherein the description regarding the interactive media includes a description regarding acquisition of the interactive media. (See Galvane Figure 1, element 100).
In regards to claim, Galvane teaches wherein the description regarding the interactive media is stored as file information in material of the scene description file. (See Galvane Figure 1, element 190 and paragraph [0044]).
In regards to claim 19, Galvane teaches wherein the description regarding the interactive media is stored as pre-processing information in material of the scene description file. (See Galvane paragraphs [0035] and [0044]).
In regards to claim 20, Galvane teaches generating a scene description file that includes a description regarding interactive media associated with 3D data. (See Galvane Figure 1, Galvane teaches a scene description generating system.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In regards to claims 1-3, the applied art does not teach or suggest “a storage unit that stores the data of the haptics media in a storage area corresponding to an accessor specified by the scene description file.” It is for these reasons claims 1-3 are allowed.
Conclusion
/UTPAL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668