DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “adhesive part” (from claims 2-3 and 12-13) must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show hanging protrusion 102b as described in paragraph 00161 of the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 182a in Fig. 6 and 1851 in Figs. 8-9.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraphs 0010 and 0020 refer to a “trip tray” rather than a “drip tray.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 12 recite the limitation “an adhesive part located at one end.” This language is indefinite. At one end of what is the adhesive part located? Claims 3-8 are rejected based on their dependence to claim 2, and claims 13-15 are rejected based on their dependence to claim 12.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the other end of the drip tray” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the trip tray” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 13-15 are rejected based on their dependence to claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeyama (US 2012/0327617 A1) in view of Nakayama (US 2013/0178087 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Maeyama discloses an electronic device (display device 50), comprising:
a case of a metal material (metal frame 54);
a circuit board (circuit board 56) located on a surface of the case (see paragraph 0025);
a cable connector (connector 68) located on the circuit board (see paragraph 0027 and Figs. 2-3); and
a flexible cable (connector cable 64) having an end portion inserted into the cable connector to be connected to another component (see paragraph 0032 and Figs. 2-3), the flexible cable comprising:
a connection part having a signal line located therein (flat cable 66); and
a terminal part having an electrode located at each of both end portions of the connection part to be connected to the signal line (inherent in any functional cable).
Maeyama lacks a specific teaching that a drip tray is located on a surface of the flexible
cable’s connection part.
Nakayama discloses a cable (cable 5) having an end portion inserted into a cable connector (connector 2; see paragraph 0034 and Fig. 3). Nakayama further discloses a drip tray (drip-proof member 6) provided on the cable to prevent liquid droplets on the cable from reaching the connector (see paragraph 0035).
Maeyama and Nakayama are considered to be analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present application, to modify the device taught by Maeyama to include a drip tray located on one surface of the connection part. Doing so would prevent water droplets generated by condensation from running down the cable and entering the connector (see Nakayama, paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 2, Maeyama in view of Nakayama teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Nakayama further discloses that its drip tray comprises:
a cylinder part located at one end (7) to be attached to the cable (see paragraph 0037); and
a gutter (barb portion 8) extending from the cylinder part (7) to be concavely bent (see paragraph 0038 and Figs. 3-8 and 10-11).
Nakayama’s cylinder part 7 is structurally similar to the claimed “adhesive part” in that it
is attached to the cable and has a concavely bent gutter extending out therefrom. Nakayama however, does not explicitly disclose that its cylinder part 7 is attached to the cable via an adhesive.
Maeyama teaches the use of water-resistant adhesive to attach a water absorbing member (110) to a frame (62; see paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a water-resistant adhesive to attach Nakayama’s cylinder part 7 to the cable in order to arrive at the claimed “adhesive part.” Doing so would provide a strong, water-resistant attachment between the cylinder part and the cable.
Regarding claim 3, Maeyama in view of Nakayama teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 as stated above. Nakayama further teaches that its gutter comprises:
a first folding part bent in a direction spaced apart from the adhesive part (see annotated Fig. 5 below); and
a second folding part bent at the first folding part to form a U-shaped gutter with the first folding part (see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Nakayama does not explicitly disclose forming a V-shaped gutter. Instead, the gutter of
Nakayama bends gradually upward in order to achieve its concave U-shape.
It has been held that a mere change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to form the gutter in a V-shape in order to simplify the manufacturing process, as a simple sharp bend would be easier to manufacture than a smooth curve.
Regarding claim 4, Maeyama in view of Nakayama teaches all of the limitations of
claim 3 as stated above. Nakayama does not explicitly state that an angle between the first folding part and the second folding part is twice greater than that formed between the first folding part and the flexible cable. However, as can be seen in Fig. 5, an angle between the first folding part and the second folding part is greater than an angle formed between the first folding part and the cable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make an angle between the first folding part and the second folding part twice greater than that formed between the first folding part and the flexible cable, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, Maeyama in view of Nakayama teaches all of the limitations of
claim 2 as stated above. Maeyama in view of Nakayama further teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the terminal part comprises:
a first terminal part located at a lower end portion of the flexible cable (Maeyama: part of connector cable 64 that connects to connector 70; see Fig. 3; Nakayama: part of cable 5 that connects to connector 2; see Fig. 3); and
a second terminal part located at an upper end portion of the flexible cable (Maeyama: part of connector cable 64 that connects to connector 68),
wherein the gutter (Nakayama: 8) has a shape protruding toward the first terminal part (Nakayama: see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Maeyama in view of Nakayama teaches all of the limitations of
claim 5 as stated above. Maeyama in view of Nakayama further teaches the electronic device of claim 5, wherein the drip tray is located adjacent to the first terminal part (Nakayama: see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Maeyama in view of Nakayama teaches all of the limitations of
claim 6 as stated above. Maeyama in view of Nakayama further teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein one surface of the connection part faces the case (Maeyama: see Fig. 3 showing the left side of flat cable 66 facing metal frame 54).
Regarding claim 8, Maeyama in view of Nakayama teaches all of the limitations of
claim 7 as stated above. Nakayama lacks a specific teaching that the other end of its drip tray is in contact with a case.
Maeyama teaches positioning a water absorbing member (110) and a counter member (112) on opposite sides the flexible cable (64) in order to fill a gap between a board cover (58) and a mold frame (62). The water absorbing member (110) contacts the mold frame (62) and the counter member (112) contacts the board cover (58), thus preventing water from running down between the flexible cable and the mold frame and between the flexible cable and the board cover (see paragraph 0036).
Given this configuration, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to position an end of the drip tray to be in contact with the case so that there is no space between the case and the drip tray for water to penetrate.
Regarding claim 9, Maeyama in view of Nakayama teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Nakayama further teaches that its drip tray is waterproof and suggests that it has at least some amount of rigidity (see paragraph 0038 and Figs. 7A-B). Drip-proof member 6 is designed to collect water droplets in barb portion 8, therefore it must 1) be somewhat impermeable to water and 2) have at least enough rigidity to not collapse while holding that collected water.
Nakayama states that the material used to form drip-proof member 6 is not limited (see paragraph 0039). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form the drip tray from a waterproof and rigid material since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 11, Maeyama discloses a flexible cable (64), comprising:
a connection part having a signal line located therein (66); and
a terminal part located at each of both end portions of the connection part and having an electrode connected to the signal line (inherent in any functional cable).
Maeyama lacks a specific teaching that a drip tray is located on a surface of the flexible
cable’s connection part.
Nakayama discloses a cable (5) having an end portion inserted into a cable connector (2; see paragraph 0034 and Fig. 3). Nakayama further discloses a drip tray (6) provided on the cable to prevent liquid droplets on the cable from reaching the connector (see paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present application, to modify the device taught by Maeyama to include a drip tray located on one surface of the connection part. Doing so would prevent water droplets generated by condensation from running down the cable and entering the connector (see Nakayama, paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 12, Maeyama in view of Nakayama teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 as stated above. Nakayama further discloses that its drip tray comprises:
a cylinder part located at one end (7) to be attached to the cable (see paragraph 0037); and
a gutter (8) extending from the cylinder part (7) to be concavely bent (see paragraph 0038 and Figs. 3-8 and 10-11).
Nakayama’s cylinder part 7 is structurally similar to the claimed “adhesive part” in that it
is attached to the cable and has a concavely bent gutter extending out therefrom. Nakayama however, does not explicitly disclose that its cylinder part 7 is attached to the cable via an adhesive.
Maeyama teaches the use of water-resistant adhesive to attach a water absorbing member (110) to a frame (62; see paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a water-resistant adhesive to attach Nakayama’s cylinder part 7 to the cable in order to arrive at the claimed “adhesive part.” Doing so would provide a strong, water-resistant attachment between the cylinder part and the cable.
Regarding claim 13, Maeyama in view of Nakayama teaches all of the limitations of claim 12 as stated above. Nakayama further teaches that its gutter comprises:
a first folding part bent in a direction spaced apart from the adhesive part (see annotated Fig. 5 above); and
a second folding part bent at the first folding part to form a U-shaped gutter with the first folding part (see annotated Fig. 5 above).
Nakayama does not explicitly disclose forming a V-shaped gutter. Instead, the gutter of Nakayama bends gradually upward in order to achieve its concave U-shape.
It has been held that a mere change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to form the gutter in a V-shape in order to simplify the manufacturing process, as a simple sharp bend would be easier to manufacture than a smooth curve.
Regarding claim 14, Maeyama in view of Nakayama teaches all of the limitations of
claim 13 as stated above. Nakayama does not explicitly state that an angle between the first folding part and the second folding part is twice greater than that formed between the first folding part and the flexible cable. However, as can be seen in Fig. 5, an angle between the first folding part and the second folding part is greater than an angle formed between the first folding part and the cable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make an angle between the first folding part and the second folding part twice greater than that formed between the first folding part and the flexible cable, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 15, Maeyama in view of Nakayama teaches all of the limitations of
claim 12 as stated above. Maeyama in view of Nakayama further teaches the flexible cable of claim 12, wherein the terminal part comprises:
a first terminal part located at a lower end portion of the flexible cable (Maeyama: part of connector cable 64 that connects to connector 70; see Fig. 3; Nakayama: part of cable 5 that connects to connector 2; see Fig. 3); and
a second terminal part located at an upper end portion of the flexible cable (Maeyama: part of connector cable 64 that connects to connector 68),
wherein the gutter (Nakayama: 8) has a shape protruding toward the first terminal part (Nakayama: see Fig. 3).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeyama in view of Nakayama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yokota (WO 2013/073101 A1).
Maeyama in view of Nakayama teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Maeyama in view of Nakayama lacks a specific teaching that the device further comprises a drip cover attached adjacent to the terminal part of the other surface of the flexible cable to cover the terminal part, wherein the drip cover covers the cable connector when the flexible cable couples to the cable connector.
Yokota discloses an electronic device (electronic device 3400) comprising a flexible cable (flexible cable 3402) having a terminal part (end portion of 3402) connected to a cable connector (connector 3404). Yokota teaches attaching a drip cover (laminated sheet 3100) adjacent to the terminal part of a surface of the flexible cable (3402) to cover the terminal part and the cable connector (see Figs. 56 and 57).
Yokota is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present application, to include a drip cover attached adjacent to the terminal part of the other surface of the flexible cable to cover the terminal part, wherein the drip cover covers the cable connector when the flexible cable couples to the cable connector. Doing so would further protect the cable connector from any water that manages to flow around the drip tray.
Conclusion
/R.T.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841