Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
was made.
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (WO2023/149730 A1, hereinafter Lee) in view of Davydov et al. (WO 2018/226581 A1,hereinafter Davydov).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a method of reporting channel state information (CSI) by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving configuration information regarding a plurality of channel state information- reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (¶[0009],¶[0036], ¶[0038], ¶[0057]-¶[0060], figures 19-20 );
measuring the CSI based on at least one of the plurality of CSI-RS resources configured through the configuration information (¶[0036],¶[0038], fig 19),; and
transmitting a CSI report including a result of the CSI measurement,
wherein the CSI report includes a plurality of bitmaps related to the CSI measurement (¶[0036],¶[0038], fig.15, fig.19) and wherein a second bitmap among the plurality of bitmaps is a bitmap for reporting positions of non-zero coefficients among coefficients related to a CSI codebook for each of the selected at least one CSI-RS resource (¶[0009],¶[0036],¶[0038], figures 15-20).
Lee does not disclose wherein a first bitmap among the plurality of bitmaps is a bitmap for reporting at least one CSI-RS resource selected for the CSI measurement among the plurality of CSI-RS resources..
Davydov discloses wherein a first bitmap among the plurality of bitmaps is a bitmap for reporting at least one CSI-RS resource selected for the CSI measurement among the plurality of CSI-RS resources (¶[0026]-¶[0030],¶[0066]-¶[0071]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to incorporate the bitmap based CSI reporting of Davydov along with the CSI codebook reporting of Lee. The combination substitutes one known bitmap signaling techniques for another predictable CSI reporting implementation to obtain improved signaling efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses wherein among first part CSI and second part CSI related to the CSI report, the first bitmap is included in the first part CSI (¶[0035]-¶[0038], figure 19, figure 20).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses bitmap bits correspond to configured CSI-RS resource groups/ports used during CSI measurement (¶[0035]-¶[0038], figure 19, figure 20). Lee does not disclose wherein a plurality of bits in the first bitmap are associated with each of the plurality of CSI-RS resources. Davydov discloses wherein a plurality of bits in the first bitmap are associated with each of the plurality of CSI-RS resources (¶[0024]-¶[0030]). wherein a plurality of bits in the first bitmap are associated with each of the plurality of CSI-RS resources.
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses, wherein the first bitmap is configured as a single bitmap for an entirety of the plurality of CSI-RS resources, and wherein the second bitmap is configured individually for each of the at least one CSI- RS resource selected for the CSI measurement among the plurality of CSI-RS resources (¶[0035]-¶[0038], figures 15-20).
Regarding claim 5, Lee does not disclose wherein the second bitmap is provided only for CSI-RS resources associated with each bit having a binary value of '1' on the first bitmap.
Davydov discloses wherein the second bitmap is provided only for CSI-RS resources associated with each bit having a binary value of '1' on the first bitmap (¶[0024]-¶[0030], figures 6-11).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to generate the second bitmap only for CSI-RS resources selected in the first bitmap in order to reduce feedback overhead.
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses wherein the plurality of CSI-RS resources are
related to a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs) for coherent joint transmission (CJT) (¶[0035]-¶[0038], figures 19-20)
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses, wherein the CSI report includes precoding- related information determined based on an enhanced type II (eType-II) codebook in 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) wireless communication, and wherein the precoding-related information includes information regarding a spatial domain (SD) basis, information regarding a frequency domain (FD) basis, and information regarding a coefficient matrix for combining the SD basis and the FD basis (¶[0009],¶[0035],¶[0038], figures 19-20).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses wherein the SD basis is determined individually for each of the plurality of CSI-RS resources (¶[0009],¶[0035],¶[0038], figures 19-20).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses wherein the FD basis is determined individually for each of the plurality of CSI-RS resources (¶[0035]-¶[0038], fig.15-20).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses , wherein at least one of a number of SD basis vectors related to the SD basis and a number of FD basis vectors related to the FD basis is configured individually for each of the plurality of CSI-RS resources(¶[0035]-¶[0038], fig.15-20).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for performing the method of claim 1 (¶[0035]-¶[0038], fig.15-20).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses a device for wireless communication, the device comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to perform operations by executing the instructions, wherein the operations of the processor comprise (¶[0035]-¶[0038]): receiving configuration information regarding a plurality of channel state information- reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (¶[0035]-¶[0038], fig.15-20);
measuring channel state information (CSI) based on at least one of the plurality of CSI- RS resources configured through the configuration information (¶[0035]-¶[0038], fig.15-20); and transmitting a CSI report including a result of the CSI measurement (¶[0035]-¶[0038], fig.15-20), , wherein the CSI report includes a plurality of bitmaps related to the CSI measurement (¶[0036],¶[0038], fig.15, fig.19) and wherein a second bitmap among the plurality of bitmaps is a bitmap for reporting positions of non-zero coefficients among coefficients related to a CSI codebook for each of the selected at least one CSI-RS resource (¶[0009],¶[0036],¶[0038], figures 15-20).
Lee does not disclose wherein a first bitmap among the plurality of bitmaps is a bitmap for reporting at least one CSI-RS resource selected for the CSI measurement among the plurality of CSI-RS resources..
Davydov discloses wherein a first bitmap among the plurality of bitmaps is a bitmap for reporting at least one CSI-RS resource selected for the CSI measurement among the plurality of CSI-RS resources (¶[0026]-¶[0030],¶[0066]-¶[0071]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to incorporate the bitmap based CSI reporting of Davydov along with the CSI codebook reporting of Lee. The combination substitutes one known bitmap signaling techniques for another predictable CSI reporting implementation to obtain improved signaling efficiency.
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses transceiver configured to transmit or receive wireless signals under control of the processor, wherein the device is a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (¶[0035]-¶[0038]).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses a method of receiving a channel state information (CSI) report by a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting configuration information regarding a plurality of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (¶[0035]-¶[0038]); and
receiving the CSI report related to at least one of the plurality of CSI-RS resources configured through the configuration information (¶[0035]-¶[0038]),
wherein the CSI report includes a plurality of bitmaps related to the CSI measurement (¶[0036],¶[0038], fig.15, fig.19) and wherein a second bitmap among the plurality of bitmaps is a bitmap for reporting positions of non-zero coefficients among coefficients related to a CSI codebook for each of the selected at least one CSI-RS resource (¶[0009],¶[0036],¶[0038], figures 15-20).
Lee does not disclose wherein a first bitmap among the plurality of bitmaps is a bitmap for reporting at least one CSI-RS resource selected for the CSI measurement among the plurality of CSI-RS resources..
Davydov discloses wherein a first bitmap among the plurality of bitmaps is a bitmap for reporting at least one CSI-RS resource selected for the CSI measurement among the plurality of CSI-RS resources (¶[0026]-¶[0030],¶[0066]-¶[0071]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to incorporate the bitmap based CSI reporting of Davydov along with the CSI codebook reporting of Lee. The combination substitutes one known bitmap signaling techniques for another predictable CSI reporting implementation to obtain improved signaling efficiency.
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses a base station (BS) for wireless communication, the BS comprising: a transceiver; and a processor configured to control the transceiver to: transmit configuration information regarding a plurality of channel state information- reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (¶[0035]-¶[0038]); and receive a channel state information (CSI) report related to at least one of the plurality of CSI-RS resources configured through the configuration information (¶[0035]-¶[0038]), wherein the CSI report includes a plurality of bitmaps related to CSI measurement (¶[0035]-¶[0038]).
Lee does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to identify at least one CSI-RS resource selected for the CSI measurement among the plurality of CSI-RS resources based on a first bitmap among the plurality of bitmaps, and wherein the processor is configured to identify positions of non-zero coefficients among coefficients related to a CSI codebook for each of the selected at least one CSI-RS resource based on a second bitmap among the plurality of bitmaps.
Davydov discloses wherein the processor is configured to identify at least one CSI-RS resource selected for the CSI measurement among the plurality of CSI-RS resources based on a first bitmap among the plurality of bitmaps, and wherein the processor is configured to identify positions of non-zero coefficients among coefficients related to a CSI codebook for each of the selected at least one CSI-RS resource based on a second bitmap among the plurality of bitmaps (¶[0026]-¶[0030],¶[0066]-¶[0071]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to incorporate the bitmap based CSI reporting of Davydov along with the CSI codebook reporting of Lee. The combination substitutes one known bitmap signaling techniques for another predictable CSI reporting implementation to obtain improved signaling efficiency.
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412