DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed September 5, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-13 are now pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 5, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 16, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirabayashi et al. (US 20220056993 A1, herafter referred to as Hirabayashi) in view of Eda et al. (US 6044723 A, hereafter referred to as Eda).
Regarding Claim 1, Hirabayashi discloses (see Figures 4d, and 15-16) a rotating device (1, ¶ [0034]), comprising:
a motor (3, ¶ [0035]);
a gear (6, ¶ [0035]);
a first member (341, ¶ [0067]); a first non-molded member (4a, ¶ [0073]) formed of an elastic resin (¶ [0072]: “resin member 4 having elasticity”); and
a housing (2, ¶ [0035]), wherein
the motor (3, ¶ [0035]) includes a rotation shaft (31, ¶ [0036]) and a frame (30, ¶ [0065]),
the housing includes a first inner surface (261, ¶ [0073]) in a rotation shaft (31, ¶ [0036]) direction of the motor (3, ¶ [0035]),
the frame (30, ¶ [0065]) includes:
a tube (32, ¶ [0065]) including two opening portions (34/35, ¶ [0065]) in the rotation shaft (31, ¶ [0036]) direction; and
a first part (34, ¶ [0065]) covering one of the two opening portions (34/35, ¶ [0065]),
the first part (34, ¶ [0065]) of the frame (30, ¶ [0065]) connects to the first inner surface (261, ¶ [0073]) of the housing (2, ¶ [0035]) opposing the first part (34, ¶ [0065]) of the frame (30, ¶ [0065]) via the first non-molded (4a, ¶ [0073]) member in the rotation shaft (31, ¶ [0036]) direction of the motor (3, ¶ [0035]), and
the frame (30, ¶ [0065]) is supported by the housing (2, ¶ [0035]) via the first member (341, ¶ [0067]).
Hirabayashi does not disclose a first molded member is formed of an elastic resin, and that the frame is supported by the housing via the first molded member.
However, Eda, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 10a) a first molded member (803, C9L50) formed of an elastic resin (C13L61-62: “an O-ring 48L' made of rubber or resin”), and that the frame (30a, C15L5) is supported by the housing (1, C4L39) via the first molded member (803, C9L50).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating device disclosed by Hirabayashi such that a first molded member is formed of an elastic resin, and that the frame is supported by the housing via the first molded member, as disclosed by Eda, in order to reduce rattling noise during operation (C1L9-13: “The present invention relates to an electric power assisting steering apparatus, and more particularly, to an electric power assisting steering apparatus which is capable of reducing a noise of a gear.”).
Regarding Claim 7/1, Hirabayashi in view of Eda has been discussed above.
Additionally, Hirabayashi discloses (see Figure 14) that the frame (30, ¶ [0065]) includes a second part (35, ¶ [0066]) covering the other opening portion of the tube (32, ¶ [0065]) in the rotation shaft (31, ¶ [0036]) direction of the motor (3, ¶ [0035]), the housing (2, ¶ [0035]) includes a second inner surface (262, ¶ [0069]) opposing the second part (35, ¶ [0066]) of the frame (30, ¶ [0065]) in the rotation shaft (31, ¶ [0036]) direction of the motor (3, ¶ [0035]), and a first gap (301, ¶ [0076]) is provided one of between the first inner surface (261, ¶ [0073]) and the first part (34, ¶ [0065]) of the frame (30, ¶ [0065]), and between the second inner surface (262, ¶ [0069]) of the housing (2, ¶ [0035]) and the second part (35, ¶ [0066]) of the frame (30, ¶ [0065]).
Regarding Claim 8/7/1, Hirabayashi in view of Eda has been discussed above.
Additionally, Hirabayashi discloses (see Figure 15) that the first non-molded member (4a, ¶ [0073]) is provided within the first gap (301, ¶ [0076]).
Regarding Claim 9/8/7/1, Hirabayashi in view of Eda has been discussed above.
Additionally, Hirabayashi discloses (see Figure 16) a second non-molded member (4b, ¶ [0073]), wherein a second gap (302, ¶ [0076]) is provided the other of between the first inner surface (261, ¶ [0073]) and the first part (34, ¶ [0065]) of the frame (30, ¶ [0065]), and between the second inner surface (262, ¶ [0069]) and the second part (35, ¶ [0066]) of the frame (30, ¶ [0065]), and the second non-molded member (4b, ¶ [0073]) is provided within the second gap (302, ¶ [0076]).
Regarding Claim 10/7/1, Hirabayashi in view of Eda has been discussed above.
Additionally, Hirabayashi discloses wherein the frame (30, ¶ [0065]) includes, in the rotation shaft direction of the motor, a first end part (341, ¶ [0067]) on the first part (34, ¶ [0065]) side and a second end part (351, ¶ [0067]) on the second part (35, ¶ [0066]) side, the housing includes a first support part (26a, ¶ [0070]) and a second support part (26b, ¶ [0070]), and the first support part (26a, ¶ [0070]) or the second support part (26b, ¶ [0070]) supports the first end part (341, ¶ [0067]) or the second end part (351, ¶ [0067]).
Hirabayashi does not disclose that the first molded member has an annular shape, the first molded member surrounds the first end part or the second end part, and the first support part or the second support part supports the first end part or the second end part via the first molded member.
However, Eda further discloses (see Figure 10a above) that the first molded member (803, C9L50) has an annular shape (C9L41-43), the first molded member (803, C9L50) surrounds the first end part (8a, C9L45) or the second end part (8b, C9L46), and the first support part (830c, C9L50-51) or the second support part (830d, C9L52) supports the first end part (8a, C9L45) or the second end (8b, C9L46) part via the first molded member (803, C9L50).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the modify the rotating device disclosed by Hirabayashi such that the first molded member has an annular shape, the first molded member surrounds the first end part or the second end part, and the first support part or the second support part supports the first end part or the second end part via the first molded member, as further disclosed by Eda, in order to reduce rattling noise during operation (C1L9-13: “The present invention relates to an electric power assisting steering apparatus, and more particularly, to an electric power assisting steering apparatus which is capable of reducing a noise of a gear.”).
Regarding Claim 11/10/7/1, Hirabayashi in view of Eda has been discussed above.
Additionally, Hirabayashi discloses (see Figure 15 above) that the first support part (26a, ¶ [0070]) is disposed, in an axial direction, apart from the first part (34, ¶ [0065]) of the frame (30, ¶ [0065]), and the second support part (26b, ¶ [0070]) is disposed, in the axial direction, apart from the second part (35, ¶ [0066]) of the frame (30, ¶ [0065]).
Hirabayashi does not disclose a second molded member having an annular shape, wherein the first molded member surrounds the first end part, the second molded member surrounds the second end part, the first support part supports the first end part via the first molded member, the second support part supports the second end part via the second molded member.
However, Eda further discloses (see Figure 10a above) a second molded member (804, C9L51) having an annular shape (C9L41-43), wherein the first molded member (803, C9L50) surrounds the first end part (8a, C9L45), the second molded member (804, C9L51) surrounds the second end part (8b, C9L46), the first support part (830c, C9L50-51) supports the first end part (8a, C9L45) via the first molded member (803, C9L50), the second support part (830d, C9L52) supports the second end part (8b, C9L46) via the second molded member (804, C9L51).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating device disclosed by Hirabayashi such that a second molded member has an annular shape, wherein the first molded member surrounds the first end part, the second molded member surrounds the second end part, the first support part supports the first end part via the first molded member, the second support part supports the second end part via the second molded member, as further disclosed by Eda, in order to reduce rattling noise during operation (C1L9-13: “The present invention relates to an electric power assisting steering apparatus, and more particularly, to an electric power assisting steering apparatus which is capable of reducing a noise of a gear.”).
Regarding Claim 12/7/1, Hirabayashi in view of Eda has been discussed above.
Additionally, Hayabashira discloses (see Figures 15 and 16 above) that the first non-molded member (4a, ¶ [0073]) has a shape transferred from a shape of the first inner surface (261, ¶ [0073]) and the first part (34, ¶ [0065]) of the frame (30, ¶ [0065]) or from a shape of the second inner surface (262, ¶ [0069]) and the second part (35, ¶ [0066]) of the frame (30, ¶ [0065]).
Regarding Claim 13/1, Hirabayashi in view of Eda has been discussed above.
Additionally, Hayabashira discloses that the elastic resin is a rubber-based resin material, a silicon-based resin material, a modified silicon-based resin material, a urethane-based resin material, or an epoxy-based resin material (¶ [0074]: “More specifically, at least one of a known rubber-based adhesive, a silicone-based adhesive, a modified silicone-based adhesive, a urethane-based adhesive, or an epoxy-based adhesive may be suitably used as the adhesive 4 having elasticity, and the adhesive has a predetermined elasticity even after being hardened.”).
Claims 2-5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirabayashi in view of Eda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ymker et al. (DE 102004058935 A1, herafter referred to as Ymker).
Regarding Claim 2/1, Hirabayashi in view of Eda has been discussed above.
Hirabayashi in view of Eda does not explicitly disclose that an internal loss of the first non-molded member is greater than an internal loss of the first molded member in a predetermined frequency band.
However, Ymker, in the same field of technology, teaches (see Figure 2) a non-molded member (33, Page 5, ¶ 1) with a high internal loss (Page 5, ¶ 2: “In general, when choosing the appropriate material in addition to the desired damping properties of the finished actuator of the sliding module of the respective material, its general damping characteristics (Loss factor and friction factor), its shear strength, its adhesion or adhesive properties to metal, its temperature range and / or also its long-term properties are taken into account.”), and a molded member (40, Page 5, ¶ 6) with firmer characteristics (Page 5, ¶ 6: “If the elastomeric material used is to be protected against external influences, as shown in FIG 2 in the gap between the two pipes 31 and 32 at the object to be moved 1 facing end of an O-ring 40 be provided, which on an annular fastener 41 such that it sits on the outer peripheral surface of the inner tube 32 with such a pressure that on the one hand by the elastomeric material 33 conditional movements between the two tubes 31 and 32 not hindered and on the other hand prevents the penetration of substances and thereby the elastomeric material 33 protects.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating device disclosed by Hirabayashi in view of Eda such that an internal loss of the first non-molded member is greater than an internal loss of the first molded member in a predetermined frequency band, as taught by Ymker, in order to reduce noise during operation (Page 2, ¶ 5: “One fundamental Problem of the invention electrical Linear actuators lies in the unwanted generation of noise and in particular of vibrations;”).
Regarding Claim 3/1, Hirabayashi in view of Eda has been discussed above.
Hirabayashi in view of Eda does not explicitly disclose that an elastic modulus of the first non-molded member is smaller than an elastic modulus of the first molded member in a predetermined frequency band.
However, Ymker, in the same field of technology, teaches (see Figure 2 above) that an elastic modulus of the first non-molded member (33, Page 5, ¶ 1) is smaller than an elastic modulus of the first molded member (40, Page 5, ¶ 6) in a predetermined frequency band (Page 5, ¶ 6: “If the elastomeric material used is to be protected against external influences, as shown in FIG 2 in the gap between the two pipes 31 and 32 at the object to be moved 1 facing end of an O-ring 40 be provided, which on an annular fastener 41 such that it sits on the outer peripheral surface of the inner tube 32 with such a pressure that on the one hand by the elastomeric material 33 conditional movements between the two tubes 31 and 32 not hindered and on the other hand prevents the penetration of substances and thereby the elastomeric material 33 protects.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating device disclosed by Hirabayashi in view of Eda such that an elastic modulus of the first non-molded member is smaller than an elastic modulus of the first molded member in a predetermined frequency band, as taught by Ymker, in order to reduce noise during operation (Page 2, ¶ 5: “One fundamental Problem of the invention electrical Linear actuators lies in the unwanted generation of noise and in particular of vibrations;”).
Regarding Claim 4/1, Hirabayashi in view of Eda has been discussed above.
Hirabayashi in view of Eda does not explicitly disclose that the first non-molded member has a higher adhesive force than the first molded member.
However, Ymker, in the same field of technology, teaches (see Figure 2 above) the first non-molded member with adhesive properties, and the first molded member without adhesive properties. (Page 5, ¶ 6: “The elastomeric material may for example be made of natural rubber, silicone rubber, Ethylene-propylene-diene terpolymer (EPDM) or polyurethane. In general, when choosing the appropriate material in addition to the desired damping properties of the finished actuator of the sliding module of the respective material, its general damping characteristics (Loss factor and friction factor), its shear strength, its adhesion or adhesive properties to metal, its temperature range and / or also its long-term properties are taken into account”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating device disclosed by Hirabayashi in view of Eda such that the first non-molded member has a higher adhesive force than the first molded member, as taught by Ymker, in order to reduce noise during operation (Page 2, ¶ 5: “One fundamental Problem of the invention electrical Linear actuators lies in the unwanted generation of noise and in particular of vibrations;”).
Regarding Claim 5/1, Hirabayashi in view of Eda has been discussed above.
Hirabayashi in view of Eda does not explicitly disclose that a force required to remove the first molded member from the housing is smaller than a force required to remove the first non-molded member from the housing.
However, Ymker, in the same field of technology, teaches (see Figure 2 above) the first non-molded member with adhesive properties, and the first molded member without adhesive properties. (Page 5, ¶ 6: “The elastomeric material may for example be made of natural rubber, silicone rubber, Ethylene-propylene-diene terpolymer (EPDM) or polyurethane. In general, when choosing the appropriate material in addition to the desired damping properties of the finished actuator of the sliding module of the respective material, its general damping characteristics (Loss factor and friction factor), its shear strength, its adhesion or adhesive properties to metal, its temperature range and / or also its long-term properties are taken into account”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating device disclosed by Hirabayashi in view of Eda such that a force required to remove the first molded member from the housing is smaller than a force required to remove the first non-molded member from the housing, as taught by Ymker, in order to reduce noise during operation (Page 2, ¶ 5: “One fundamental Problem of the invention electrical Linear actuators lies in the unwanted generation of noise and in particular of vibrations;”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirabayashi in view of Eda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krais et al. (US 20200036248 A1, hereafter referred to as Krais).
Regarding Claim 6/1, Hirabayashi in view of Eda has been discussed above.
Hirabayashi in view of Eda does not explicitly disclose that an uneven shape is formed at a part of the first inner surface in a direction intersecting the rotation shaft direction of the motor, and the first non-molded member covers the part of the first inner surface.
However, Krais, in the same field of technology, teaches (see Figure 1) a first non-molded member covering an uneven shape formed on a surface (¶ [0077]: “Moreover, a surface 47 of the closure element 42 extending in the circumferential direction is roughened and provided with a third sealing means 48 in the form of an adhesive layer, so that the second sealing means 45 and the third sealing means 48 seal the closure element 42 with respect to the shaft 4.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating device disclosed by Hirabayashi in view of Eda such that an uneven shape is formed at a part of the first inner surface in a direction intersecting the rotation shaft direction of the motor, and the first non-molded member covers the part of the first inner surface, as taught by Krais, in order to provide a secure adhesion surface (¶ [0077]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aso et al. (WO 2021171556 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-18.
Conclusion
/C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834