DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed 7/7/2026, Examiner issued a Restriction requiring Applicant to elect Group 1 (Claims 1-12 and 14-20) or Group 11 (Claim 13) for further examination.
This office action is in response to communication filed 9/8/2026, in which Applicant elected to have Group 1 (Claims 1-12 and 14-20) to be examined.
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits: This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/108372 07/27/2022.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application (PCT/CN2022/108372) must be submitted in reply to this action.
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application. It is noted that a Filing/Priority date of 8/8/2024 was established by EPO (Confirmation of effective date of early entry) on 8/20/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 9/5/2024, 10/2/2025, 6/23/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “A processor” for wireless communication, comprising: “at least one controller” coupled with “at least one memory” , as recited in claim 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered (as presented, seems to be new matter based on New claims 16-20).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the transceiver" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in claim 1.
Claims 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 12, 15-17 and 19-20 are objected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 1.
Claims 3-11, 14, and 18 are also objected to since they are dependent on the objected base independent claims 1 and 16 as set forth above.
Claim 16 recites “the UE" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in claim 16.
Claims 17-20 are also objected to since they are dependent on the objected base independent claim 16 as set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-12,14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP (3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; NR and NG-RAN Overall Description; Stage 2 (Release 17), 3GPP TS 38.300
V17.0.0 (2022-03)), and further in view of Wang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/370948).
As per claim 1, 3GPP disclose A user equipment (UE) ( see page 171: Fig. 16.12.6.1-1: "Remote UE"), comprising:
at least one processor (see page 171: Fig. 16.12.6.1-1: "Remote UE" with a CPU/a processor) configured to cause the UE to:
access a network node over a first indirect path associated with a source relay node (see page 171: Fig. 16.12.6.1-1: "O. UL/DL data"-> indirect path between remote UE and gNB via relay UE);
in response to reception of a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message for path switch via the transceiver from the network node (see page 171, section 16.12.6.1 :"3. The gNB sends RRCReconfiguration message to the L2 U2N Remote UE. The L2 U2N Remote UE stops UP and CP transmission via L2 U2N Relay UE after reception of RRCReconfiguration message with the path switch configuration from the gNB"),
perform a path switch procedure from the first indirect path to a target path, wherein the target path is a direct path between the UE and the network node or is a second indirect path between the UE and the network node associated with a target relay node (see page 171, section 16.12.6.1: "5. The UE (i.e., L2 U2N Remote UE in previous steps) sends the RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB via direct path, using the configuration provided in the RRCReconfiguration message. From this step the UE (i.e. L2 U2N Remote UE in previous steps) uses the RRC connection via the direct path to the gNB"); and
receive data via the transceiver from the source relay node over a source link between the UE and the source relay node during the path switch procedure (see page 171, section 16.12.6.1 : "8. The data path is switched from indirect path to direct path between the UE (i.e., previous L2 U2N Remote UE) and the gNB. The PDCP re-establishment or PDCP data recovery in Uplink is performed by the UE (i.e., previous L2 U2N Remote UE) for lossless delivery during path switch configured by gNB).
Although 3GPP disclose perform a path switch procedure from the first indirect path to a target path, wherein the target path is a direct path between the UE and the network node;
3GPP however does not explicitly disclose the “alternate” limitation wherein the target path is a second indirect path between the UE and the network node associated with a target relay node;
Wang however disclose A user equipment (UE) ( see Fig.1B, 2B, 3C, Fig.4a, 4E, Remote UE), comprising:
at least one memory (see Fig.4E,a memory 452 ); and
at least one processor (see Fig.4E, a processor 451) coupled with the at least one memory (see para. 0371-0372, the one or more memories 452 and the computer program codes 453 may be configured to, with the one or more processors 451) and perform a path switch procedure from the first indirect path to a target path, wherein a target path is a second indirect path between the UE and the network node associated with a target relay node (see para. 0272, according to various exemplary embodiments, a packet forwarding mechanism during path switch of a remote UE from an old path to a new path is introduced to avoid packet loss. Both the old path and the new path may be a direct or indirect path. Thus, the path switch may occur either between a direct path and an indirect path, or between two indirect paths, see also para. 0480)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of A user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to path switch to a target path, wherein the target path is a second indirect path between the UE and the network node associated with a target relay node , as taught by Wang, in the system of 3GPP, so as to enable a UE to access a network node over a first indirect path associated with a source relay node; in response to reception of a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message for path switch via the transceiver from the network node, perform a path switch procedure from the first indirect path to a target path, wherein the target path is a direct path between the UE and the network node or is a second indirect path between the UE and the network node associated with a target relay node; and receive data via the transceiver from the source relay node over a source link between the UE and the source relay node during the path switch procedure, see Wang, paragraphs 5-7.
As per claim 2, the combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose the UE of claim 1.
3GPP further disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to, in response to the reception of the RRC reconfiguration message for path switch, stop reception of at least one of user plane (UP) data or control plane (CP) data via the transceiver from the source relay node (see page 171, section 16.12.6.1 :"3. The gNB sends RRCReconfiguration message to the L2 U2N Remote UE. The L2 U2N Remote UE stops UP and CP transmission via L2 U2N Relay UE after reception of RCReconfiguration message with the path switch configuration from the gNB").
As per claim 5, the combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose the UE of claim 1.
3GPP further disclose wherein, in response to the path switch procedure being a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) path switch procedure, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform at least one of: receiving a second notification message via the transceiver from the target relay node; receiving a PC5 unicast link release indication, wherein the PC5 unicast link release indication is indicated by an upper layer of the UE or is received via the transceiver from the target relay node; or detecting a radio link failure (RLF) on a link between the UE and the target relay node (see page 77, section 9.2.3. DAPS handover, see also page 78: timer based handover failure procedure is supported in NR. RRC connection re-establishment procedure is used for recovering from handover failure except in certain CHO or DAPS handover scenarios: - When DAPS handover fails the UE falls back to the source cell configuration resumes the connection with the source cell, and reports DAPS handover failure via the source without triggering RRC connection re-establishment if the source link has not been released, see also page 85/86, section 9.2.3.3 "Re-establishment procedure a UE in RRC_CONNECTED may initiate the re-establishment procedure to continue the RRC connection when a failure condition occurs (e.g. radio link failure, reconfiguration failure. integrity check failure).
As per claim 6, the combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose the UE of claim 5.
3GPP further disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform at least one of: reverting to the source link in response to the source link being available; or transmitting failure related information via the transceiver to the network node (see page 77-78, 85-86, section 9.2.3.3 "Re-establishment procedure a UE in RRC_CONNECTED may initiate the re-establishment procedure to continue the RRC connection when a failure condition occurs (e.g. radio link failure, reconfiguration failure. integrity check failure).
As per claim 7, the combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose the UE of claim 5.
3GPP further disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: perform a reestablishment procedure in response to the source link being not available; after completing the reestablishment procedure, receive a request via the transceiver from the network node; and transmit a response including failure related information via the transceiver to the network node (see page 77-78, 85-86, section 9.2.3.3 "Re-establishment procedure a UE in RRC_CONNECTED may initiate the re-establishment procedure to continue the RRC connection when a failure condition occurs (e.g. radio link failure, reconfiguration failure. integrity check failure).
As per claim 8, the combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose the UE of claim 6.
3GPP further disclose wherein the failure related information indicates at least one of: reception of the second notification message from the target relay node; reception of the PC5 unicast link release indication; or detection of the RLF on the link between the UE and the target relay node (see page 77-78, 85-86, section 9.2.3.3 "Re-establishment procedure a UE in RRC_CONNECTED may initiate the re-establishment procedure to continue the RRC connection when a failure condition occurs (e.g. radio link failure, reconfiguration failure. integrity check failure).
As per claim 9, the combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose the UE of claim 1.
3GPP further disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive a PC5 unicast link release indication before the reception of the RRC reconfiguration message for path switch; and in response to a timer for RRC reestablishment request being not running and in response to the UE in an RRC connected state, perform a reestablishment procedure (see page 172, section 16.12.6.1.: "7. Either L2 U2N Relay UE or L2 U2N Remote UE's AS layer can release PC5-RRC connection and indicates upper layer to release PC5 unicast link after receiving RRCReconfiouration messaoe from the gNB. The timing to execute link release is up to UE implementation.").
As per claim 10, the combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose the UE of claim 1.
3GPP further disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive a PC5 unicast link release indication before the reception of the RRC reconfiguration message for path switch; and in response to a timer for RRC reestablishment request being running, perform at least one of: entering an RRC idle state; or stopping the timer for RRC reestablishment request (see page 172, section 16.12.6.1.: "7. Either L2 U2N Relay UE or L2 U2N Remote UE's AS layer can release PC5-RRC connection and indicates upper layer to release PC5 unicast link after receiving RRCReconfiouration messaoe from the gNB. The timing to execute link release is up to UE implementation).
As per claim 11, the combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose the UE of claim 10.
3GPP further disclose wherein, in response to the timer for RRC reestablishment request being running, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform actions upon entering the RRC idle state (see page 172, section 16.12.6.1.: "7. Either L2 U2N Relay UE or L2 U2N Remote UE's AS layer can release PC5-RRC connection and indicates upper layer to release PC5 unicast link after receiving RRCReconfiouration messaoe from the gNB).
As per claim 12, the combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose the UE of claim 9.
3GPP further disclose wherein the PC5 unicast link release indication is indicated by an upper layer of the UE or is received via the transceiver from the source relay node (see page 172, section 16.12.6.1.: "7. Either L2 U2N Relay UE or L2 U2N Remote UE's AS layer can release PC5-RRC connection and indicates upper layer to release PC5 unicast link after receiving RRCReconfiouration messaoe from the gNB).
As per claim 14, the combination of 3GPP, Wang and Wang387 disclose the UE of claim 3.
3GPP further disclose wherein at least one of the first notification message, the second notification message, or the third notification message is triggered by at least one of: an occurrence of a Uu RLF; reception of an RRC reconfiguration message including a configuration with synchronization; a cell reselection; an occurrence of an RRC connection failure; an RRC connection rejection; an expiry of a timer for RRC setup request; and an occurrence of an RRC resume failure (see page 77, section 9.2.3, page 78, 85-86, section 9.2.3.3, "Re-establishment procedure AUE in RRC_CONNECTED may initiate the re-establishment procedure to continue the RRC connection when a failure condition occurs (e.g. radio link failure, reconfiguration failure, integrity check failure... ).
As per claim 15, claim 15 (a relay node) is rejected the same way as claim 1. Wang also disclose A relay node (see para. 0008, 0272, 0276, 0303-0312, FIG. 4E an apparatus 450 / a relay node, see para. 0371), comprising: at least one memory (see Fig.4E, memory 452); and at least one processor (see Fig.4E, processor 451) coupled with the at least one memory (see para. 0371, the apparatus 450 comprises one or more processors such as processor 451 and one or more memories such as memory 452 storing computer program codes 453).
As per claim 16, 3GPP disclose A processor (see page 171: Fig. 16.12.6.1-1: "Remote UE" with a CPU/a processor) for wireless communication, configured to cause the processor to:
access a network node over a first indirect path associated with a source relay node (see page 171: Fig. 16.12.6.1-1: "O. UL/DL data"-> indirect path between remote UE and gNB via relay UE);
in response to reception of a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message for path switch via the transceiver from the network node (see page 171, section 16.12.6.1 :"3. The gNB sends RRCReconfiguration message to the L2 U2N Remote UE. The L2 U2N Remote UE stops UP and CP transmission via L2 U2N Relay UE after reception of RRCReconfiguration message with the path switch configuration from the gNB"),
perform a path switch procedure from the first indirect path to a target path, wherein the target path is a direct path between the UE and the network node or is a second indirect path between the UE and the network node associated with a target relay node (see page 171, section 16.12.6.1: "5. The UE (i.e., L2 U2N Remote UE in previous steps) sends the RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB via direct path, using the configuration provided in the RRCReconfiguration message. From this step the UE (i.e. L2 U2N Remote UE in previous steps) uses the RRC connection via the direct path to the gNB"); and
receive data via the transceiver from the source relay node over a source link between the UE and the source relay node during the path switch procedure see page 171, section 16.12.6.1 : "8. The data path is switched from indirect path to direct path between the UE (i.e., previous L2 U2N Remote UE) and the gNB. The PDCP re-establishment or PDCP data recovery in Uplink is performed by the UE (i.e., previous L2 U2N Remote UE) for lossless delivery during path switch if gNB configures it).
Although 3GPP disclose perform a path switch procedure from the first indirect path to a target path, wherein the target path is a direct path between the UE and the network node;
3GPP however does not explicitly disclose the “alternate” limitation wherein the target path is a second indirect path between the UE and the network node associated with a target relay node;
Wang however disclose A processor ( see Fig.1B, 2B, 3C, Fig.4a, 4E, Remote UE with a processor), comprising: for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller (see Fig.4E, a processor 451) coupled with at least one memory (see Fig.4E,a memory 452 ) and configured (memory (see para. 0371-0372, the one or more memories 452 and the computer program codes 453 may be configured to, with the one or more processors 451)) to cause the processor to: perform a path switch procedure from the first indirect path to a target path, wherein a target path is a second indirect path between the UE and the network node associated with a target relay node (see para. 0272, according to various exemplary embodiments, a packet forwarding mechanism during path switch of a remote UE from an old path to a new path is introduced to avoid packet loss. Both the old path and the new path may be a direct or indirect path. Thus, the path switch may occur either between a direct path and an indirect path, or between two indirect paths, see also para. 0480)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of A user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to path switch to a target path, wherein the target path is a second indirect path between the UE and the network node associated with a target relay node , as taught by Wang, in the system of 3GPP, so as to enable a UE to access a network node over a first indirect path associated with a source relay node; in response to reception of a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message for path switch via the transceiver from the network node, perform a path switch procedure from the first indirect path to a target path, wherein the target path is a direct path between the UE and the network node or is a second indirect path between the UE and the network node associated with a target relay node; and receive data via the transceiver from the source relay node over a source link between the UE and the source relay node during the path switch procedure, see Wang, paragraphs 5-7.
As per claim 17, the combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose the processor of claim 16.
3GPP further disclose wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the UE to, in response to the reception of the RRC reconfiguration message for path switch, stop reception of at least one of user plane (UP) data or control plane (CP) data via the transceiver from the source relay node (see page 171, section 16.12.6.1 :"3. The gNB sends RRCReconfiguration message to the L2 U2N Remote UE. The L2 U2N Remote UE stops UP and CP transmission via L2 U2N Relay UE after reception of RCReconfiguration message with the path switch configuration from the gNB").
As per claim 20, the combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose the processor of claim 16.
3GPP further disclose wherein, in response to the path switch procedure being a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) path switch procedure, the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to perform at least one of: receiving a second notification message via the transceiver from the target relay node; receiving a PC5 unicast link release indication, wherein the PC5 unicast link release indication is indicated by an upper layer of the UE or is received via the transceiver from the target relay node; or detecting a radio link failure (RLF) on a link between the UE and the target relay node (see page 77, section 9.2.3. DAPS handover, see also page 78: timer based handover failure procedure is supported in NR. RRC connection re-establishment procedure is used for recovering from handover failure except in certain CHO or DAPS handover scenarios: - When DAPS handover fails the UE falls back to the source cell configuration resumes the connection with the source cell, and reports DAPS handover failure via the source without triggering RRC connection re-establishment if the source link has not been released, see also page 85/86, section 9.2.3.3 "Re-establishment procedure a UE in RRC_CONNECTED may initiate the re-establishment procedure to continue the RRC connection when a failure condition occurs (e.g. radio link failure, reconfiguration failure. integrity check failure).
Claims 3-4 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP (3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; NR and NG-RAN Overall Description; Stage 2 (Release 17), 3GPP TS 38.300
V17.0.0 (2022-03)), in view of Wang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/370948) and further in view of Wang387 et al. (WO2022/136387).
As per claim 3, the combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose the UE of claim 1.
3GPP further disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive a first notification message or a PC5 unicast link release indication from the source relay node during the path switch procedure; in response to reception of the first notification message or the PC5 unicast link release indication and in response, perform at least one of: ignoring the first notification message or the PC5 unicast link release indication; stopping reception of at least one of UP data or CP data from the source relay node; or releasing the source link between the UE and the source relay node (see page 172, section 16.12.6.1.: "7. Either L2 U2N Relay UE or L2 U2N
Remote UE's AS layer releases PC5-RRC connection and indicates upper layer to release PC5
unicast link after receiving RRC Reconfiguration message from the gNB).
The combination of 3GPP and Wang however does not explicitly disclose to a timer for path switch being running;
Wang387 however disclose a timer for path switch being running (see page 38, lines 27-33, page 39 lines 1-2, a timer is started in the target network node when the target network
30 node receives a request message from the serving network node 902 indicating that the path
switch needs to be prepared, similarly, a timer is started at the serving network node when the
serving network node sends an RRC signaling to the remote WCD 906-RM indicating that the path switch is initiated. When the timer is expired, the pair relationship information is cleared. The timer is stopped when the remote WCD 906-RM completes the path switch successfully while the timer is running, see also page 38 lines 3-15)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a timer for path switch being running, as taught by Wang387, in the system of 3GPP and Wang, so as to use a timer for path switching, see Wang387, pages 38-39.
As per claim 4, the combination of 3GPP, Wang and Wang387 disclose the UE of claim 3.
3GPP further disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive the first notification message from the source relay node, and wherein the PC5 unicast link release indication is indicated by an upper layer of the UE or is received via the transceiver from the source relay node (see page 172, section 16.12.6.1.: "7. Either L2 U2N Relay UE or L2 U2N Remote UE's AS layer can release PC5-RRC connection and indicates upper layer to release PC5 unicast link after receiving RRCReconfiouration messaoe from the gNB).
As per claim 18, the combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose the processor of claim 16.
3GPP further disclose wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the UE to: receive a first notification message or a PC5 unicast link release indication from the source relay node during the path switch procedure; in response to reception of the first notification message or the PC5 unicast link release indication and perform at least one of: ignoring the first notification message or the PC5 unicast link release indication; stopping reception of at least one of UP data or CP data from the source relay node; or releasing the source link between the UE and the source relay node (see page 172, section 16.12.6.1.: "7. Either L2 U2N Relay UE or L2 U2N
Remote UE's AS layer can release PC5-RRC connection and indicates upper layer to release PC5
unicast link after receiving RRCReconfiouration messaoe from the gNB").
The combination of 3GPP and Wang however does not explicitly disclose to a timer for path switch being running;
Wang387 however disclose a timer for path switch being running (see page 38, lines 27-33, page 39 lines 1-2, a timer is started in the target network node when the target network
30 node receives a request message from the serving network node 902 indicating that the path
switch needs to be prepared, similarly, a timer is started at the serving network node when the
serving network node sends an RRC signaling to the remote WCD 906-RM indicating that the path switch is initiated. When the timer is expired, the pair relationship information is cleared. The timer is stopped when the remote WCD 906-RM completes the path switch successfully while the timer is running)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a timer for path switch being running, as taught by Wang387, in the system of 3GPP and Wang, so as to use a timer for path switching, see Wang387, pages 38-39.
As per claim 19, the combination of 3GPP, Wang and Wang387 disclose the processor of claim 18.
3GPP further disclose wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to receive the first notification message from the source relay node, and wherein the PC5 unicast link release indication is indicated by an upper layer of the UE or is received via the transceiver from the source relay node (see page 172, section 16.12.6.1.: "7. Either L2 U2N Relay UE or L2 U2N Remote UE's AS layer can release PC5-RRC connection and indicates upper layer to release PC5 unicast link after receiving RRCReconfiouration messaoe from the gNB).
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Second Rejection:
Claims 1, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burbidge (WO2017/014716A1), and further in view of Wang et al. (WO2022/136387A1).
As per claim 1, Burbidge disclose A user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: access a network node over a first indirect path associated with a source relay node; in response to reception of a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message for path switch via the transceiver from the network node, perform a path switch procedure from the first indirect path to a target path, wherein the target path is a direct path between the UE and the network node or is a second indirect path between the UE and the network node associated with a target relay node (D1 discloses a layer 2 relay protocols and mobility relay method (see description page 6 line 24 to
page 45 line 25, and figures 1-16): Figure 11 illustrates an example message sequence chart for
mobility related signaling between a remote UE 106, a first relay UE 104a, a second relay UE 104b
and an eNB 102 for remote UE directed mobility. Figure 11 illustrates the signaling involved as the
Remote UE 106 initially communicates via a direct path with the eNB 102, then changes to an
indirect path via Relay UE 1 104a, then to an indirect path via Relay UE 2 104b, and finally
returns to using the direct path with the eNB 102. The Remote UE 106 discovers that it is in
proximity of Relay UE 2 104b. The Remote UE 106 decides to switch communication path from the
indirect path with Relay UE 1 104a to an indirect path via Relay UE 2 104b(corresponding to "the
target path is a second indirect path between the UE and the network node associated with a target
relay node"). This decision may be made by the eNB 102 and then communicated to the Remote UE 106
in a message that is not shown in the sequence. The Remote UE 106 decides to switch communication
path from the indirect path with Relay UE 2 104b back to a direct path with the eNB 102(corresponding to "the target path is direct path between the UE and the network node"). The decision may be made by the eNB 102 and then communicated to the Remote UE 106 in a message that is not shown in the sequence. The eNB 102 sends a message (e.g. an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message) to the Remote UE 106. This message contain a command that the Remote UE should switch its traffic to a relay UE with the Relay UE ID indicated in the message. In embodiments, the transmit 1402 and/or receive logic 1406 may be elements or modules of transceiver logic, as shown. The application logic 1510 may include one or more single-core or multi-core processors).
Burbidge however does not explicitly disclose receive data via the transceiver from the source relay node over a source link between the UE and the source relay node during the path switch procedure.
Wang387 however disclose receive data via a transceiver from a source relay node over a source link between a UE and the source relay node during a path switch procedure (see Fig.3, pages 26, 27, at least one of the paths involved in the path switch is an indirect link through a relay WCD (e.g., a relay UE) using a sidelink between the remote WCD (e.g., remote UE) and the relay WCD, the relay WCD is a
10 Layer 2 relay UE (i.e., a Layer 2 UE-to-Network Relay UE) / receive data / data path from a source relay node over a source link between a UE and the source relay node during a path switch procedure , also, a failure monitoring and recovery procedure is proposed for a remote WCD (e.g., a remote UE), for example in case of path switch, the procedure is especially handing failures in cases in which the remote WCD performs a path switch to an indirect path from either a direct or indirect path).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of receive data via a transceiver from a source relay node over a source link between a UE and the source relay node during a path switch procedure, as taught by Wang387, in the system of Burbidge, so as to use a timer for path switching, see Wang387, pages 38-39.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lenovo, Motorola Mobility (Path switching in L2 U2N relay case – R2-220022 /R2-2110302, IDS 6/23/2026) – see page 3, “In the path switching from Uu link to relay link, there is no random access. It was agreed that one new timer (T304 alike) can be introduced for path switching from direct to indirect path. This new timer can be used to control the PCS link establishment for relay purpose. Therefore, UE starts the new timer when the remote UE receives the RRCReconfiguration for path switch. Then, remote UE transmits RRCReconfigurationSidelink message to the candidate relay. And the remote UE receives RRCReconfigurationCompleteSidelink message from the relay UE and stops the new timer. Finally, UE transmits the RRCReconfigurationComplete message to gNB via relay UE. Proposal 3: UE stops T304 when the remote UE receives RRCReconfigurationCompleteSidelink message”.
lnterDigital Inc. (Service Continuity for L2 UE to NW Relays, R2-2104872, IDS 6/23/2026) – see section 2.1, “Finally, as with normal Uu HO, the switch from direct to indirect and from indirect to direct should be controlled by a timer (similar to T304) so that the UE can recover from errors which may occur during the reconfiguration procedure. Since the direct to indirect transition requires additional steps (i.e. configuration of the relay UE, establishment of the unicast link) before it can successfully complete, this procedure may be expected to take longer in most cases. The remote UE should therefore be configured with different timers to use for each of these procedures. Proposal 8: Separate path switch timers (T304-like) are configured for direct to indirect switch and indirect to direct switch”.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469