DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, the method of preparing a plant-based food product and Species II protein source of wheat protein in the reply filed on August 7, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 8-9, 11, 14, and 30 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22 recites “combing the plant-based composition and water for about 2 minutes to form a hydrated plant-based composition”. Although it is clear that this refers to “the hydrated plant-based composition” recited in claim 1 lines 4-5, it is suggested that the claim be amended accordingly to reflect the antecedent basis.
Claim 22 recites “combi/streamer”. This appears to be a typographical error meant to recite “combi-steamer”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-7, 15, 21-23, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the plant-based food product maintains a commercial acceptable appearance, quality, and structure after hot holding….”. It is unclear as to what the metes and the bounds of the claimed limitation are because it is unclear as to what appearance, quality, and structure would and would not be “commercially acceptable”. It is unclear as to whom and/or to how such a determination can be made when what one consumer considers acceptable may be different from another consumer.
Claim 7 recites “mixed tocopherols as processing aids”. It is unclear as to if the function limits the type and/or amount of tocopherols recited in the claim, or if it merely defines a possible function inherent to tocopherol.
Claim 21 recites “serving size of about 18g (1/4 cup)”. It is unclear as to if the parenetical is defining what the 18g must be in terms of volume, if it is an optional limitation, or if it is an alternative option for measuring the serving size.
The term “minimal” in claims 28 and 29 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what degree of water leaching or ice crystal formation would and would not be considered “minimal”, thus the metes and bounds of the claims are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: “Plant-based” corresponds to a component or product that comprises ingredients derived only from land or marine based plants or fungi (see instant specification paragraph 42).
Claims 1-6, 15, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mellema et al (US 2022/0046949) in view of Schmidt et al (US 2020/0060310).
Mellema et al (Mellema) teaches a method of preparing a meat replacer, i.e. a plant-based food product comprising: hydrating a texturized plant protein and mixing it with a flavor component to form a hydrated plant-based composition, and then cooking or holding, i.e. heating at a temperature of at least 55C, including at least 75C to form the plant-based food product (paragraphs 2-3, 60, 62, 68-75, 92, 99, Examples 5-11, and claims 10 and 11). Mellema teaches that the composition comprises 20-65% textured vegetable protein (tvp) and 0.5-20% seasoning (herbs or spices) (paragraphs 68-75), and thus the method of Mellema encompasses using a ratio of tvp to seasoning of 130:1 (65:0.5) to 1:1 (20:20).
Regarding the plant-based food product as maintaining commercially acceptable appearance, quality, and structure after hot holding at a temperature of about 135-212F (about 57-100C) as recited in claim 1, as discussed above the claimed limitations are unclear. Regardless, as Mellema teaches of forming a plant-based food product with the same active ingredient, i.e. texturized wheat protein, as claimed and disclosed, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the product of the prior art be capable of having the same results from an intended use as claimed.
Regarding placing the food product in a container and maintaining the container at a temperature of about 135-212F (57-100C) for about 150 minutes or less as recited in claim 2, as discussed above, Mellema teaches holding, i.e. heating at a temperature of at least 55C, including at least 75C to form the plant-based food product (paragraph 92). Mellema further exemplifies in food as placed in a container, wherein the container is maintained within a temperature range of about 135-212F (57-100C) for about 150 minutes or less (Examples 5-11). Thus, the claimed limitations are encompassed by the teachings of the prior art.
Mellema is not specific to the process as generally including mixing a textured protein and seasoning to prepare a plant-based composition, and then hydrating with water as recited in claims 1 and 2.
Schmidt et al (Schmidt) teaches of forming texturized plant protein (tvp) food compositions including meat analogs, wherein seasonings can be added before or after the extruding and/or cooking and/or puffing steps and the tvp can be dried and then rehydrated for use in the finished food product (abstract and paragraphs 42 and 45), thus encompassing combining the tvp and seasoning in the extruded and dried product which is rehydrated for finished food manufacturing, such as in cooking.
Regarding mixing a textured protein and seasoning to prepare a plant-based composition, and then hydrating with water as recited in claims 1 and 2, to switch the order of performing process steps, i.e. the order of the addition of the ingredients into the final mixture, would be obvious absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary (MPEP 2144.04 [R-1]). “Selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results”. The position that the claimed limitation is obvious is further supported as Mellema exemplifies that the dry ingredients including the dry texturized protein and seasoning, can first be mixed and then combined with water, i.e. hydrated (Example 8, paragraphs 125-127), and as Schmidt teaches texturized plant protein food compositions including meat analogs, wherein seasonings can be added before or after the extruding and/or cooking and/or puffing steps and the tvp can be dried and then rehydrated for use in the finished food product, thus encompassing the texturized vegetable protein and seasoning as combined prior to hydration.
Regarding claim 3, Mellema teaches that the meat replacer dough can be heat treated in a steam pan, by simmering in a sauce or water close to boiling, oven steaming, or oven baking (paragraphs 127 and 129), and thus the teachings of Mellema would encompass the container as at least an oven.
Regarding claim 4, Mellema teaches that the seasoning is 0.5-20% of the plant-based composition (paragraph 75).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Mellema teaches the aforementioned protein, i.e. the texturized vegetable protein, is preferably selected from the group including wheat protein (gluten) (paragraphs 61 and 63 and claim 16).
Regarding the seasoning as barbacoa, chimichurri, tikka masala, stroganoff, pulled pork BBQ, or combinations thereof as recited in claim 15, Mellema is silent to the meat replacer as seasoned with one of the claimed flavors, however the examiner takes official notice that the claimed flavors were known meat flavors. To use a known meat seasoning, such as barbacoa or pulled pork BBQ, when producing a meat analog product would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to achieve the desired meat flavor.
Regarding claim 21, as discussed above, the claimed limitation is unclear. Regardless, Mellema teaches that the meat replacer product has 2-35% patatin (protein); 2-35% legume globulin (protein); 20-65% textured vegetable protein fibers which most preferably comprise 20-80% water and at least 80% plant protein by dry weight; 5-50% oil; 2-12% salt; 0-15% water; and 0.5-20% flavoring (paragraphs 4, 5, 61, and 68-75). Thus, the product of Mellema per 18gram serving would encompass one with an overlapping range of proteins and fats, including about 11g (66%) protein, such as from the patatin, legume globulin, and/or tvp, and about 1g (5.5%) fat. Mellema is not specific to the composition as including fiber, however, Schmidt teaches that the addition of about 0.1-10% dry weight fiber can effectively bind water during extrusion, as well as provide unique properties (paragraphs 32-34). It would have been obvious for the textured vegetable protein composition of the prior art to comprise about 0.1-10% dry weight fiber to provide unique properties and/or effectively bind water during extrusion in view of Schmidt. It is noted that the taught range when considered by total weight with 0-15% water in the composition and 20-80% water from the tvp encompasses about 1g of fiber (about 5.5%) per 18 grams. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to adjust the amount of fiber based on the desired amount of the effect.
Regarding 70 calories per 18 g serving as recited in claim 21, Mellema is silent to the claimed limitation, however, as discussed above, it would have been encompassed or obvious for the 18 grams of the prior art composition to comprise 11g of protein (44 calories of protein) plus 1 gram of fat (9 calories) and 1 gram of fiber (about 1 calorie). Schmidt teaches that textured vegetable protein compositions may comprise about 0.1-25% carbohydrates which are generally about 4 calories per gram, to help the formation of the product texture (paragraph 29-31). It would have been further obvious for the textured vegetable protein composition of the prior art to comprise about 0.1-25% carbohydrates (up to about 18 calories from carbohydrates per 18 gram serving) to help the formation of the product texture in view of Schmidt. Thus, for the composition of the prior art to have about 70 calories per 18 grams is considered obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
The prior art discloses overlapping ranges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that; "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05. Additionally, it is noted that the term “about” is not limited to only the recited value and encompasses numbers near or close to the recited value.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, as discussed above Mellema teaches of hydrating textured vegetable protein and then combining with seasoning and mixing, followed by cooking, wherein the switched order of first mixing the textured vegetable protein with seasoning and then hydrating would have been obvious. Mellema is not specific for a general range for treatment including mixing the textured protein and seasoning for about 1 minute and combining the seasoned textured protein composition with water for about 2 minutes to hydrate as recited in claims 22 and 23, and cooking for about 6 minutes in a combi steamer as recited in claim 22 or for about 20 minutes in a convection oven as recited in claim 23.
Regarding mixing the textured protein and seasoning for about 1 minute as recited in claims 22 and 23, although Mellema does not teach a general range for mixing, as the term “about” means near or close to and as Mellema exemplifies mixing with the textured vegetable protein and seasoning for 3 minutes (paragraph 120), the teachings of Mellema are considered to encompass or at least make obvious the protein and seasoning as mixed for “about 1 minute” as claimed. Alternatively, as Mellema teaches mixing a flavor into a food and mixing by definition is to combine materials together one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to adjust the time for mixing depending on the desired distribution and/or homogeneity of the seasoning in the product desired. Thus, the claimed step is considered at least obvious.
Regarding combining the seasoned textured protein composition with water for about 2 minutes to hydrate as recited in claims 22 and 23, although Mellema does not teach a time for hydrating as Mellema teaches of applying water to textured vegetable protein to achieve the same result of hydration, the claimed range is considered obvious over the prior art. In other words, application of the water taught by Mellema is taught and thus must be for some amount of time. As Mellema teaches the same result as claimed and disclosed, i.e. hydration, the time for performing the step is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding cooking for about 6 minutes in a combi steamer as recited in claim 22 or for about 20 minutes in a convection oven as recited in claim 23, although Mellema does not teach a general range for cooking, as the term about means near or close to and as Mellema exemplifies cooking with simmering in a water bath for 10 minutes (paragraph 120), pressure cooking for 20 minutes (paragraph 122), cooking by pan frying, deep frying, oven steaming, oven baking, including with oven steaming for 10-60 seconds (paragraph 127), frying for 1 minute and then 5 minutes and then steam panning for 10 minutes (paragraph 129), it would have been obvious for the meat analog of Mellema to be cooked for 1-20 minutes through known means including in a combi-steamer and/or oven. Using known cooking means and times to cook a product that is taught to cooked through a variety of means would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 21-23, it is further noted that generally, differences in concentration, time, or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such parameters are critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.").
Regarding claims 27-29, as discussed above, the claimed limitations are unclear. Regardless, Mellema is silent to the food product as having the claimed properties, however, as Mellema teaches of forming a plant-based food product with the same active ingredient, i.e. texturized wheat protein, as claimed and disclosed, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the product of the prior art be capable of having the same results from an intended use as claimed.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mellema et al (US 2022/0046949) in view of Schmidt et al (US 2020/0060310), further in view of Igoe et al (Dictionary of Food Ingredients 4th Edition Aspen Publication 2001, pages 37-38, 111, 128, and 145) and Modernist Pantry (“Textured Wheat Protein” pages 1-4 March 2, 2021, https://modernistpantry.com/products/textured-wheat-protein-twp.html date obtained from web.archive.org).
As discussed above, Mellema teaches a method of preparing a meat replacer, i.e. a plant-based food product comprising: hydrating a texturized plant protein selected from the group including wheat gluten. Mellema is silent to the method of forming the textured wheat protein as by extrusion of wheat gluten with wheat starch, tetra potassium pyrophosphate, caramel color, sodium carbonate, and mixed tocopherols as processing aids.
Schmidt teaches texturized plant protein (tvp) food compositions including meat analogs (abstract and paragraphs 22 and 45). Schmidt teaches that extrusion was a known means for producing textured vegetable proteins while controlling the functional properties (paragraphs 6, 22-23, and 48). Schmidt teaches that starch is an optional ingredient when forming tvps used to help the formation of the product texture and that wheat is a typical starch used (paragraphs 29-30 and 49). Schmidt teaches that other ingredients in the mixture for forming the tvp include pH modifiers and processing aids (paragraph 36), and flavors including sodium salts and vitamins including tocopherols (paragraphs 42, 124-126, and 131).
Modernist pantry shows that commercial textured wheat protein that can be used to mimic meat texture contains wheat gluten, wheat starch, tetra potassium pyrophosphate, sodium carbonate, and vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) (page 4 description and Ingredient list).
Igoe which is a dictionary of food ingredients teaches that tocopherols are vitamins and antioxidants that prevent deterioration and provide stability (page 145); that sodium carbonate is an antioxidant, curing agent, flavoring agent, processing aid, and pH control agent for use in foods (page 128); that colorings are substances used in foods to impart, preserve or enhance the color or shading (pages 37-38); and that polyphosphates including pyrophosphates can be used in food as sequestering, buffering, and/or chelating agents (page 111).
Regarding the method of forming the tvp as including extrusion as recited in claim 7, it would have been obvious for the tvp taught by Mellema to be formed through known means including extrusion as taught by Schmidt. It would have been further obvious to specifically use extrusion as Schmidt teaches that it was a known means for producing textured vegetable proteins while controlling the functional properties.
Regarding the tvp forming composition as comprising wheat gluten with wheat starch, as discussed above Mellema teaches that the tvp composition comprises wheat gluten. It would have been obvious for the tvp composition to also contain wheat starch as Schmidt teaches starch is an optional ingredient when forming tvps used to help the formation of the product texture and that wheat is a typical starch used.
Regarding the tvp forming composition as comprising tetra potassium pyrophosphate, it would have been obvious for the tvp forming composition to comprise known ingredients for wheat tvp, such and including tetra potassium pyrophosphate as shown by Modernist Pantry. It would have been further obvious to specifically include polyphosphates including pyrophosphates as sequestering, buffering, and/or chelating agents in view of Igoe.
Regarding the tvp forming composition as comprising caramel color, the examiner takes official notice that a brown or caramel coloring was known to be formed when cooking meats. It would have been obvious for the meat replacer tvp forming composition of Mellema to comprise a colorant to impart, preserve or enhance the color or shading of the food in view of Igoe. It would have been further obvious to use a caramel color to impart a brown meat color. Additional reference is made to Schmidt (paragraphs 112 and 113) which shows that meat was known to caramelize upon cooking.
Regarding the tvp forming composition as comprising sodium carbonate, it would have been obvious for the tvp forming composition to comprise known ingredients for wheat tvp, such and including sodium carbonate as shown by Modernist Pantry. It would have been further obvious to specifically include sodium carbonate for its known benefits to foods including antioxidant function, curing function, flavoring, processing aid, and/or pH control agent in view of Igoe.
Regarding the tvp forming composition as comprising mixed tocopherols as processing aids, as discussed above, the claimed limitation is unclear. It would have been obvious for the tvp forming composition to comprise known ingredients for wheat tvp, such and including mixed tocopherols as shown by Modernist Pantry. It would have been further obvious to specifically include mixed tocopherols to provide nutrition and/or antioxidant stability in view of Igoe.
Further regarding the claimed composition, it is noted that to use known ingredients would have been obvious and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mellema et al (US 2022/0046949) in view of Schmidt et al (US 2020/0060310), further in view of USDA (“Holiday or Party Buffets” May 2011 https://extension.usu.edu/sanpete/files/Holiday_or_Party_Buffet_Food_Safety.pdf pages 1-2).
As discussed above, Mellema teaches a method of preparing a meat replacer, i.e. a plant-based food product. Mellema teaches that the use of vegetable proteins as an alternative to animal proteins is the subject of growing interest (paragraph 3). Mellema is not specific to the plant-based food product as hot held in a container selected from a steam table or buffet line for about 2 hours at about 180F without deterioration of product quality as recited in claim 25.
USDA teaches that a popular way to celebrate the holidays or any party occasion is to invite friends and family to a buffet, however, safe handling of food is necessary in order to avoid food born illnesses (page 1, first two paragraphs). USDA teaches that hot foods should be held at 140F or warmer on a buffet table for no more than 2 hours and that keeping foods at 200-250F in an oven before hand keeps them warm (page 1, use shallow containers through keep hot foods hot and cold foods cold).
It would have been obvious for the meat analog of Mellema to be hot held in a buffet line to provide for a vegetable protein alternative and a popular means of serving during celebrations or other party occasions in view of Mellema and USDA. It would have been further obvious for the food to be held at 140F or warmer, which encompasses about 180F, for up to two hours in order to prevent food born illness in view of USDA, wherein a hotter temperature, such as above 140F and up to 200F, would provide for a hotter food for consumption. Thus, hot holding in a container buffet line for about 2 hours at about 180F would have been obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Regarding the product as able to be held without deterioration of product quality as recited in claim 25, Mellema is silent to the food product as having the claimed properties, however, as Mellema teaches of forming a plant-based food product with the same active ingredient, i.e. texturized wheat protein, as claimed and disclosed, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the product of the prior art would exhibit the same results from the method as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 3736148 teaches of mixing textured vegetable protein with flavor and water and allowing for hydration.
KELLY BEKKER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1792
/KELLY J BEKKER/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792