Claim Objections
Claims 9-28 are objected to because of the following informalities: the use of “contact partner” is not standard terminology. It is inaccurate to recite “at least one” contact spring since the invention would not function properly with only one contact spring. It is inaccurate to recite the springs as being “mounted” on the rings since they are unitarily formed together. It is inaccurate to recite the welding lugs as being “mounted” in the contact cage since they are unitarily formed together. It is unclear whether the springs recited in the dependent claims are the same as those recited in the independent claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the spring cutout must be shown (with reference numeral) or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Since the spring cutout is apparently not shown, and it is not understood exactly what it is, this limitation has not been considered in the prior art rejection below. No new matter should be entered.
35 USC 103 Rejections
Claim(s) 9-11, 14-23 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al 6254439 in view of Listing et al 2021/0273364.
Regarding claim 9, Endo et al (front page) substantially discloses the claimed invention, including a contact partner configured as a socket contact that can be plugged together with a pin contact to form a plug-in connection, wherein the socket contact is configured as a punched rolling part and comprising a contact area 10 and a crimp area 15, wherein the contact area is formed by a circumferential housing 10 and two rings 32 are provided within the circumferential housing, the two rings are spaced apart from one another and are connected to one another via at least one elongated contact spring 31, the at least one elongated contact spring including a rear collar 32 and a one-side spring cutout (unnumbered) at the rear collar, wherein the contact partner is configured such that contacting takes place via the at least one elongated contact spring to a main body 10. Listing et al (Figure 2) discloses contacting takes place via rigidly embossed contact domes 56 on an outer side radially of the rear collar 44 of the at least one elongated contact spring and also directly via a radial inner surface of the main body, and to provide Endo et al with such contact domes thus would have been obvious, for better electrical contact.
Regarding claim 10, Endo et al discloses a group of springs 31 is non- detachably mounted on the two rings 32.
Regarding claim 11, Endo et al discloses a group of springs 31 together with the two rings 32 form a one-piece component.
Regarding claim 14, Listing et al discloses one of the two rings 44 includes one or more welding lugs 74, and to provide Endo et al with same thus would have been obvious, for better securement to the main body.
Regarding claims 15-17, Listing et al discloses the one or more welding lugs comprise one or more initially protruding and/or curved welding lugs 74 on a front of a contact cage. It would have been an obvious matter of design to weld the lugs 74 of Endo et al to the main body 10 after being mounted in the contact cage, to prevent separation between the contact cage and the main body. Endo et al (as modified by Listing et al) discloses a front ring of the two rings includes one or more welding lugs.
Regarding claim 18, Endo et al discloses at least one spring 31 of the contact partner is configured as an elongated narrow spring plate.
Regarding claim 19, Endo et al discloses all springs 31 of the contact partner are configured as elongated narrow spring plates.
Regarding claim 20, Endo et al discloses the at least one elongated contact spring 31 comprises a second elongated contact spring that includes the one-side spring cutout at the rear collar 32.
Regarding claim 21, Endo et al discloses the contact partner is configured such that contact points takes place via the at least one elongated contact spring 31 to the main body.
Regarding claims 22, 23 and 26-28, the subject matter thereof has been dealt with above.
Claim(s) 12, 13, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al in view of Listing et al as applied to claims 9 and 22 above, and further in view of Szymura et al 10,784,609.
Regarding claims 12 and 24, Szymura et al (front page) discloses another group of springs is
mounted only on one ring of the two rings, and to form the springs of Endo et al in this way thus would have been obvious, for better electrical engagement with an inserted pin.
Regarding claims 13 and 25, Szymura et al (front page) discloses the ends of the another group of springs together with the one ring from which the another group of springs extends form a one-piece component, wherein the other end of each spring of the another group of springs is free and ends at a distance from the other one of the two rings, and to form the springs of Endo et al in this way thus would have been obvious, for better electrical engagement with an inserted pin.
/GARY F PAUMEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834