DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
The preliminary amendments filed 09/05/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1-10 and 12-14 have been amended. Claim 11 has been canceled. Claims 15-21 have been added. Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “as claimed in claim 1” should be “as claimed in claim 5.” Claim 9 recites “the digital cryptoasset or one of the digital cryptoasset wallets.” Claim 5 introduces “a digital cryptoasset wallet or with digital cryptoasset wallets.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim interpretation
Claim 12 recites “a device allowing rights associated with an object to be managed, the device comprising hardware and/or software elements…” A “device” shall be interpreted to be a computer, and therefore provides a particular structure or physical/tangible form to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 1-10 and 12-21 fall into at least one of the four categories of statutory subject matter. The eligibility analysis proceeds to Step 2A.1.
Step 2A.1:
The limitations of independent claim 1 have been denoted with letters by the Examiner for easy reference. The judicial exceptions recited in claim 1 are identified in bold below:
A method for managing rights associated with an object, the method comprising:
creating a first digital token associated with a first right to the object, the first digital token being stored and authenticated by virtue of a first blockchain protocol,
creating a second digital token associated with a second right associated with the object, the second digital token being stored and authenticated by virtue of a second blockchain protocol,
creating a smart contract linking the rights on the first and second digital tokens so that the ownership right on one of the first and second digital tokens cannot be transferred without the ownership right on the other of the first and second digital tokens.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, bolded recitations in A-D recite limitations that are reasonably categorized under certain methods of organizing human activity and mental processes. Creating and associating digital tokens with rights to an object and linking the tokens such that they cannot be transferred without the other can be grouped under commercial or legal interactions in the form of agreements in the form of contracts because the process is analogous to creating a contractual relationship between the tokens/rights. Authenticating the tokens by a protocol can be grouped under mental processes, such as judgment, because it can be practically performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper.
Claim 1 recites at least one abstract idea. The eligibility analysis proceeds to Step 2A.2.
Step 2A.2:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the additional element(s) not in bold above.
The recitations directed to the tokens being stored in B-C are considered insignificant extra-solution activities because they do not impose any meaningful limits on how the token(s) are created.
The “blockchain” in B-C has been generically recited and amounts to no more than general usage of a data structure.
Reciting “smart” in D is generically linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use MPEP 2106.05(h). Limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
When the additional elements are considered individually and as an ordered combination with the abstract idea(s), claim 1 as a whole amounts to no more than mere steps to implement an abstract idea on a data structure. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 1 does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The eligibility analysis proceeds to Step 2B.
Step 2B:
The additional elements, both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the outcome of the considerations at Step 2B will be the same when considerations from Step 2A.2 are re-evaluated. Furthermore, storing information (limitations B-C) is considered by the courts to be well-understood, routine, and conventional activity (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “storing and retrieving information in memory,” Versata).
Claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims
Claims 2, 5-10, 15-17, 19-21 merely provide further context for the blockchain protocols, the tokens, the digital cryptoasset wallet, the public/private key or code associated with the public/private key, the object, and/or the rights without reciting any new additional elements. When the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claim from which they depend, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 3 recites creating a third digital token, the third digital token comprising information contained in the first and second digital token, and claim 18 provides further context on such information. The limitations elaborate on the abstract idea(s) without reciting any new additional elements. When the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claim from which the depend, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 4 recites process steps of transferring the ownership right(s). The claim introduces a new abstract idea: sales activities under commercial or legal interactions (certain methods of organizing human activity). Transferring ownership rights is analogous to selling the ownership rights, i.e. a sales activity. The claim does not recite any new additional elements. When the limitation is considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claim from which it depends, the claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 12-14 recite additional elements of “A device…the device comprising hardware and/or software elements,” “A non-transitory computer program product comprising program code instructions recorded on a computer-readable medium…when program is run on a computer,” and “a computer-readable data recording medium on which is recorded a computer program comprising the program code instructions.” These additional elements have been recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than generic computing components. Therefore, when the additional elements are considered individually and as an ordered combination with the abstract idea(s), the claims amount to no more than mere software instructions to implement an abstract idea(s) on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
In summary, the dependent claims considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea(s) into a patent eligible application such that the abstract idea amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims do not recite an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, claims 1-10 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yantis et al. U.S. 20210248594 (herein as “Yantis”) in view of Stoyanov et al. U.S. 20220270150 (herein as “Stoyanov”).
Re Claim 1, Yantis discloses a method for managing rights associated with an object:
creating a first digital token associated with a first right to the object [0838] – “generating a set of tokens based on the virtual representation of the item,” [0955] – “In the case of a non-fungible token, the first user to transact for the token is the owner of the token,” i.e. “a first right to the object,” the first digital token being stored and authenticated by virtue of a first blockchain protocol [0838] – “storing the tokens and associated metadata in a cryptographically secure distributed ledger,” [0844] – “the distributed ledger is a blockchain,” “by storing tokens on a distributed ledger, the status of that token can be verified at any time by querying the ledger and trust that it is correct,”
creating a second digital token associated with a second right associated with the object, the second digital token being stored and authenticated by virtue of a second blockchain protocol [0708] – “a set of tokens that respectively correspond to a respective instance of the item,” thereby suggesting an item, i.e. “object,” is associated with more than one token, [0838] – “storing the tokens and associated metadata in a cryptographically secure distributed ledger,” [0844] – “the distributed ledger is a blockchain,”
[…] linking the rights on the first and second digital tokens […] [0749] – “a linking system configured to generate a one-to-at-least-one link between the second digital token…and the first digital token.”
However, Yantis does not expressly disclose the following limitations in italics
creating a smart contract linking the rights on the first and second digital tokens so that the ownership right on one of the first and second digital tokens cannot be transferred without the ownership right on the other of the first and second digital tokens.
Examiner notes that “so that the ownership right on one of the first and second digital tokens cannot be transferred without the ownership right on the other of the first and second digital tokens” is an intended result. An intended result of a process step positively recited cannot be given patentable weight since this claim language suggests but does not require step(s) to be performed MPEP 2111.04. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided below.
Stoyanov discloses systems and methods to support custom bundling of virtual items within an online game. Specifically, Stoyanov discloses
creating a smart contract [0043] – “asset Ax may be created through a function of smart contract 51. Asset Ax may represent ownership rights of a particular custom item bundle” linking the rights on the first and second digital tokens so that the ownership right on one of the first and second digital tokens cannot be transferred without the ownership right on the other of the first and second digital tokens [0030] – “Bundling component 114 may be configured to bundle virtual items into custom item bundles,” i.e. “linking,” “a particular custom item bundle may include ownership rights of the virtual items that are included, such that exchanging the particular custom item bundle to another user implies that the included virtual items are also exchanged.”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yantis’ linking the rights on the first and second digital tokens with the teachings of creating a smart contract linking the rights on the first and second digital tokens so that the ownership right on one of the first and second digital tokens cannot be transferred without the ownership right on the other of the first and second digital tokens in Stoyanov. One would be motivated to make this combination because 1) smart contracts are known in the blockchain art to allow for predefining of conditions to facilitate automated execution of transactions, thereby improving transaction speed and efficiency and to 2) allow users to customize bundling of certain items to unlock further value in the custom bundle Stoyanov, [0028].
Re Claim 2, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 1, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach wherein
the first blockchain protocol and second blockchain protocol are of a same type, or
the first blockchain protocol and second blockchain protocol are a same blockchain protocol Yantis, [0844].
Re Claim 3, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 1, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach wherein the smart contract involves creating, by virtue of a blockchain protocol, a third digital token Yantis, [0838] – “generating a set of tokens based on the virtual representation of the item” including information comprising:
at least one piece of information contained in the first digital token Yantis, [0838] – “The virtual representation of the item may include information that identifies the item…information relating to the item…” and
at least one piece of information contained in the second digital token Yantis, [0838] – the virtual representation of the item may also include “code that may be used to facilitate or verify transactions involving the item.”
Re Claim 4, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 1, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach wherein the smart contract is configured so that:
transferring the ownership right on the first digital token involves transferring the ownership right on the second digital token Stoyanov, [0030] – “Bundling component 114 may be configured to bundle virtual items into custom item bundles,” “a particular custom item bundle may include ownership rights of the virtual items that are included, such that exchanging the particular custom item bundle to another user implies that the included virtual items are also exchanged” and/or transferring the ownership right on the third digital token, and/or
transferring the ownership right on the second digital token involves transferring the ownership right on the first digital token and/or transferring the ownership right on the third digital token, and/or
transferring the ownership right on the third digital token involves transferring the ownership right on the first digital token and/or transferring the ownership right on the second digital token.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yantis’ tokenization platform with the teachings of transferring the ownership right on the first digital token involves transferring the ownership right on the second digital token in Stoyanov. One would be motivated to make this combination to allow users to customize bundling of certain items to unlock further value in the custom bundle Stoyanov, [0028].
Under the broadest, most reasonable interpretation, “and/or” is interpreted to not require the “and.” Therefore, the recited process steps are merely alternative options.
Re Claim 5, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 1, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach wherein the first digital token and/or second digital token are associated with a digital cryptoasset wallet or with digital cryptoasset wallets Yantis, [0841].
Re Claim 6, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 5, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach wherein the digital cryptoasset wallet or one of the digital cryptoasset wallets is associated with:
a public key Yantis, [0846] – “Each account may be assigned a public key,” or
a code associated with the public key,
the public key or code being written:
on the object, or
on a tangible medium sold with the object Yantis, [0850], or
in a digital document.
Re Claim 7, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 6, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach wherein the public key or the code associated with the public key is written by printing or by engraving or by adhesively bonding a label Yantis, [0850] – “the public key…may also be provided in the physical media.”
Re Claim 8, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 6, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach wherein the code associated with the public key is a machine-readable code Yantis, [0850] – “the token may be encoded into a QR-code or barcode…the public key of the party used to digitally sign the token…may also be provided in the physical media,” therefore, the QR-code is associated with the public key.
Re Claim 9, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 1, Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach wherein the digital cryptoasset wallet or one of the digital cryptoasset wallets is associated with:
a private key Yantis, [0846], or
a code associated with the private key,
the private key or code associated with the private key being written:
on a tangible medium annexed to the object, and/or
in a digital document Yantis, [0846] – “Each account may be assigned…a private key…the address of an account…may be stored in the distributed ledger.” The address of the account is analogous to a code associated with the private key since the account is associated with the private key. Storing in a distributed ledger is analogous to writing in a digital document.
Re Claim 10, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 9, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach wherein the code associated with the private key is a machine-readable code Yantis, [0846] – the address of an account “may be verified as corresponding to valid accounts using the distributed ledger,” therefore, it is capable of being processed by a machine, or computer.
Re Claim 12, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach a device allowing rights associated with an object to be managed, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach the device comprising hardware and/or software elements implementing the method as claimed in claim 1 Yantis, Fig. 1. See claim 1 above.
Re Claim 13, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach a non-transitory computer program product comprising program code instructions recorded on a computer-readable medium for implementing the method as claimed in claim 1 when the program is run on a computer Yantis, [0992]. See claim 1 above.
Re Claim 14, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the non-transitory computer program product as claimed in claim 13, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach which includes a computer-readable data recording medium on which is recorded a computer program comprising the program code instructions Yantis, [0992]. See claim 1 above.
Re Claim 15, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 1, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach wherein the object is a timepiece or an item of jewelry Yantis, [0943].
Re Claim 16, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 1, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach wherein the first right is an ownership right to the object Yantis, [0837] and the second right is a right of access to digital content Yantis, [0838].
Re Claim 17, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 1, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach wherein the second digital token is a non-fungible digital token Yantis, [0212].
Re Claim 18, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 3, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further wherein
the at least one piece of information contained in the first digital token is information on the object and/or a serial number of the object Yantis, [0838] – “a serial number” and/or an identifier of the transaction that created the first digital token and/or a date of activation of the certificate of authenticity and/or a date of sale of the product and/or an identifier of the first digital token, and
the at least one piece of information contained in the second digital token is an identifier of the second digital token Yantis, [0884] – “a unique identifier for each respective token corresponding to the virtual representation.”
Re Claim 19, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 5, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach wherein the first digital token and/or second digital token are associated with a same digital cryptoasset wallet Yantis, [0841].
Re Claim 20, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 6, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach wherein the object is a timepiece Yantis, [0950] – “watches” and the public key or code is written on a barrel or a ratchet of a barrel of the timepiece Yantis, [0850] – “public key…may also be provided in the physical media.”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Yantis’ physical media with a barrel or a ratchet of a barrel of the timepiece. The modification is a simple substitution of one known element, i.e. barrel or a ratchet of a barrel of the timepiece, for another, i.e. physical media, to obtain predictable results.
Re Claim 21, Yantis in view of Stoyanov teach the managing method as claimed in claim 6, and Yantis in view of Stoyanov further teach wherein the public key or code is written in a digital document which is a computer file or a message Yantis, [0954] – “the player may scan the ticket (e.g., the QR-code)…the ticket may appear in the player’s digital wallet,” i.e. code is written in a digital document.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chalkley et al. U.S. 2023/0088936 directed to physical storage vault for physical items of digital twin NFTs. See at least [0030] and [0096].
/CHRISTINE DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3698