DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16, 33-35 and 37 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits: This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/080458 filed 03/11/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 9/5/2024, 6/15/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 34-35 and 37 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 34 recites “ … the processor is configured to load and execute executable instructions to implement the information transmission method according to claim 9 " in lines 4-5. For clarification, it is recommended to add the limitations of claim 9 into claim 34.
Claim 35 recites “… the executable program code is loaded and executed by a processor to implement the information transmission method according to claim 1" in lines 2-3. For clarification, it is recommended to add the limitations of claim 1 into claim 35.
Claim 37 recites “… the executable program code is loaded and executed by a processor to implement the information transmission method according to claim 9 " in lines 2-3. For clarification, it is recommended to add the limitations of claim 9 into claim 37.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 33-35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (CN111435862A), and further in view of Ma et al. (CN113330692B).
As per claim 1, Shi disclose An information transmission method executed by a terminal (see Fig.1, Terminal 11), the method comprising:
sending channel state information to a network device (see Fig.1, a base station 12), wherein the channel state information to at least two layers or to at least two subbands (see page 3, a channel state information (CSI) report is sent to a network device. The CSI report comprises a first part (part 1) and a second part (part 2), wherein part 1 has a fixed load magnitude, and specifically comprises a rank indication RI, a channel quality indication CQI, and a number indication of non-zero amplitude combination coefficients of each layer of bandwidth. The amplitude quantization of the combination coefficients may be configured as bandwidth quantization or bandwidth quantization and subband quantization, see also bottom of page 13 and page 14), and
indicates an amplitude coefficient of each layer or each subband (see page 3, step 21, page 5, the amplitude quantization of the combination coefficients may be configured as bandwidth quantization or bandwidth quantization and subband quantization, see also bottom of page 13 and page 14, see also page 12, page 13, in a case where each layer independently corresponds to an indication bitmap, indication information is used for indicating the number of quantization coefficients corresponding to each layer. The indication information is indicated by means of an indication bit mode, and the number of indication bits in the indication information is related to the strongest coefficient in a coefficient matrix. The coefficient matrix refers to a combination coefficient matrix of an orthogonal beam vector of a certain layer on a frequency domain granularity, see also page 16, page 29-30, at least two layers correspond to the same indication bitmap, the indication information is used to indicate the number of quantization coefficients corresponding to each indication bitmap. That is to say, if multiple layers share the same indicator bitmap, that is, the coefficient positions selected by the indicator bitmaps of the multiple layers are the same, only the number of quantization coefficients corresponding to the indicator bitmap needs to be fed back in the indicator information. Correspondingly, the network device considers all the number of quantization coefficients to be quantized is equal to the number of layers multiplied by the number of quantization coefficients of one layer).
Although recited in the alternative, Shi however does not explicitly disclose wherein the channel state information to at least two subbands.
Ma however disclose a user equipment (UE) sending channel state information to a network device, wherein the channel state information to at least two subbands (see page 3, UE sending channel state information to a network device, includes differential phase feedback for each SB of one or more subbands (SB) / at least two subbands) and indicates an amplitude coefficient of each subband (see page 11, page 12, Fig.7A, the UE 120 also generate a W2 matrix (e.g., a W2 linear combination) for the sub-band 706 based on the beams selected in the W1 matrix, the amplitude scaling is subband based on a previous configuration setting, the phase for the combined coefficients is only subbands and the set of sub-band amplitude values a 1 bit, which is used to select the sub-band amplitude of 1. or one of the above. The phase for combining coefficients may be independently selected for each beam, polarization, and layer, and the phase may be used only for subbands, the set of phase values may be: (for example, n is indicated by 2 bits) or/and (for example, n is indicated by 2 bits). (For example, n is indicated by 3 bits / an amplitude coefficient of each subband, see also claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the channel state information to at least two subbands, as taught by Ma, in the system of Shi, so that a user equipment (UE) transmit channel state information to a network device include differential phase feedback for each SB of one or more subbands (SB) associated with the at least one first pilot signal, see Ma, page 3.
As per claim 6, the combination of Shi and Ma disclose the method according to claim 1.
Shi further disclose wherein the channel state information comprises second bit information, and the amplitude coefficient of each layer in the at least two layers or the amplitude coefficient of each subband in the at least two subbands is indicated by the second bit information (see page 5-6, step 21, page 5, #2, the channel state information comprises second bit information, page 6, #2, second indication information indicating the number of orthogonal bases, where the second indication information specifically indicates: the number of selectable DFT bases after the codebook is compressed in the frequency domain. The orthonormal basis may include, but is not limited to, a DFT orthonormal basis and/or an IDFT orthonormal basis / the amplitude coefficient of each layer in the at least two layers or the amplitude coefficient of each subband in the at least two subbands is indicated by the second bit information).
As per claim 8, the combination of Shi and Ma disclose the method according to claim 3.
Shi further disclose wherein the channel state information further comprises third bit information, and wherein the third bit information indicates a channel quality indicator corresponding to each layer in the at least two layers or each subband of the at least two subbands (see page 6, #7, page 7, wherein the third bit information indicates a channel quality indicator corresponding to each layer in the at least two layers or each subband of the at least two subbands ).
As per claim 9, claim 9 (a method executed by a network device) is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 14, claim 14 is rejected the same way as claim 6.
As per claim 16, the combination of Shi and Ma disclose the method according to claim 3.
Shi further disclose wherein the channel state information further comprises third bit information, and wherein the third bit information indicates a channel quality indicator corresponding to each layer in the at least two layers or each subband of the at least two subbands (see page 6, #7, page 7, wherein the third bit information indicates a channel quality indicator corresponding to each layer in the at least two layers or each subband of the at least two subbands).
As per claim 33, claim 33 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Shi further disclose A terminal (see Fig.1, UE 11), comprising: a processor; and a transceiver coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to load and execute executable instructions to implement an information transmission (see page 4, the terminal includes a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored in the memory and running on the processor. When the computer program is executed by the processor, the channel state information CSI report is implemented).
As per claim 34, claim 34 is rejected the same way as claim 9. Shi further disclose A network device (see Fig.1, Base Station 12), comprising: a processor; and a transceiver coupled to the processor; wherein the processor is configured to load and execute executable instructions to implement the information transmission (see page 4, an embodiment of the present invention provides a network device. The network device includes a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored in the memory and running on the processor. The processor implements the channel state information CSI when executing the computer program).
As per claim 35, claim 35 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Shi further disclose A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, in which an executable program code is stored, and the executable program code is loaded and executed by a processor to implement the information transmission method (see page 4, an embodiment of the present invention provides a computer-readable storage medium, where a computer program is stored on the computer readable
storage medium, and when the computer program is executed by a processor, the method for transmitting a channel state information CSI report).
As per claim 37, claim 37 is rejected the same way as claim 9. Shi further disclose A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, in which an executable program code is stored, and the executable program code is loaded and executed by a processor to implement the information transmission method (see page 4, an embodiment of the present invention provides a computer-readable storage medium, where a computer program is stored on the computer readable storage medium, and when the computer program is executed by a processor, the method for transmitting a channel state information CSI report).
Claims 2-4 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (CN111435862A), in view of Ma et al. (CN113330692B) and further in view of Venkatesh et al. (US Pub. No.:2025/0357989).
As per claim 2, the combination of Shi and Ma disclose the method according to claim 1.
The combination of Shi and Ma however does not explicitly disclose wherein the channel state information comprises vector information corresponding to each layer or each subband, and wherein the vector information indicates the amplitude coefficient of the respective layer or the respective subband.
Venkatesh however disclose wherein a channel state information comprises vector information corresponding to each layer or each subband, and wherein the vector information indicates the amplitude coefficient of the respective layer or the respective subband (see Figs. 5-12, para. 0076, 0092, 0099, 0116, 0149, the UE is configured to partition the amplitudes b into at least two disjoint subsets possibly per layer, and each subset is assigned a single value for the quantization of the amplitudes. The amplitudes are partitioned into two sets where the first set contains the amplitudes corresponding to K selected combining coefficients and the second set contains the remaining amplitudes corresponding to the remaining coefficients. For example, the amplitudes of the first set may correspond to the K strongest combining coefficients (i.e., the combining coefficients having the highest amplitude/power over all combining coefficients) and the second set may contain the amplitudes corresponding to the set the remaining coefficients. The amplitudes b, of the first set may be quantized with N (N∈{1,2,3,4}) bits and reported, and the amplitudes of the second set with M=0 bits, i.e., they are not reported. In order to indicate the selected combining coefficients/amplitudes of the first set, the UE may report a bitmap, where each bit is associated with an amplitude b.sub.l,p,i,j. A “1” in the bitmap may indicate that the corresponding amplitude of the combining coefficient is reported and a “0” may indicate that the corresponding amplitude is not reported / wherein the vector information indicates the amplitude coefficient of the respective layer or the respective subband).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the channel state information to at least two subbands, as taught by Venkatesh, in the system of Shi and Ma, so that a user equipment (UE) transmit channel state information to a network device include differential phase feedback for each SB of one or more subbands (SB) associated with the at least one first pilot signal, see Venkatesh, page 3.
As per claim 3, the combination of Shi, Ma and Venkatesh disclose the method according to claim 2.
Venkatesh further disclose wherein the vector information comprises first bit information, and wherein the first bit information has a corresponding relationship with an element in the vector information ((see Figs. 5-12, para. 0076, 0092, 0099, 0116, 0149, the bitmap contains K or less than K “1”. The bitmap used for indicating the selected delay vectors per beam is identical with the bitmap used for reporting the amplitudes b, and hence it may not be reported. The higher layer parameter K may be known at the UE, configured by the gNB, or reported by the UE. The parameter K may be identical for a subset of the layers / the first bit information has a corresponding relationship with an element in the vector information, see also para. 0158-0164, 0224-0227, see also claim 1, UE reporting a Channel State Information feedback, wherein the Channel State Information feedback comprises a first portion and a second portion, wherein the first portion has a fixed payload and comprises at least one of an indication of the values (K.sub.1) of non-zero combining coefficients per layer, or a subset of layers, an indication of the number of non-zero reference polarization-specific amplitude values for the layers).
As per claim 4, the combination of Shi, Ma and Venkatesh disclose the method according to claim 3.
Venkatesh further disclose wherein the element in the vector information comprises an amplitude coefficient corresponding to at least one port or at least one beam (see para. 0076, 0081-0085, 0092, the UE is configured to report the indices of the selected delay vectors from the common set in a sorted way such that the gNB associates the selected delay vectors from the common set to each beam. The information on the sorting is either known or reported to the gNB. In one example, the UE may sort the delay indices with respect to the power/amplitude of the associated combining coefficients over the beams in a decreasing order. The first index in the report may then correspond to the strongest delay (i.e., the delay associated with the combining coefficients having the highest power/amplitude / an amplitude coefficient corresponding to at least one port or at least one beam, see also para. 0099, 0116, 0149, 0245).
As per claim 10, claim 10 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
As per claim 11, claim 11 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5. 7, 13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rahman et al (US Pub. No.:2021/0075487) – see para. 0099-0106, “In terms of UE configuration, a UE can be configured with at least one CSI reporting band. This configuration can be semi-static (via higher-layer signaling or RRC) or dynamic (via MAC CE or L1 DL control signaling). When configured with multiple (N) CSI reporting bands (e.g., via RRC signaling), a UE can report CSI associated with n≤N CSI reporting bands. For instance, >6 GHz, large system bandwidth may require multiple CSI reporting bands. The value of n can either be configured semi-statically (via higher-layer signaling or RRC) or dynamically (via MAC CE or L1 DL control signaling). Alternatively, the UE can report a recommended value of n via an UL channel. Therefore, CSI parameter frequency granularity can be defined per CSI reporting band as follows. A CSI parameter is configured with “single” reporting for the CSI reporting band with M.sub.n subbands when one CSI parameter for all the M.sub.n subbands within the CSI reporting band. A CSI parameter is configured with “subband” for the CSI reporting band with M.sub.n subbands when one CSI parameter is reported for each of the M.sub.n subbands within the CSI reporting band”.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469