DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 06/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/01/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 recites “The Vickers hardness” in line 4. It is suggested the claim is amended to recite “the Vickers hardness”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann et al. (US 2021/0002179).
Regarding claim 1, Lehmann et al. teaches copper-ceramic substrate comprising: a ceramic carrier, and at least one copper layer bonded to a surface of the ceramic carrier, wherein the copper layer has a Vickers hardness of 40 to 100 (paragraph [0053]), wherein the copper layer has a proportion of the elements Bi, Se, Sn, Te of, in each case, at most 0-2 ppm, Ni of at most 0-10 ppm (paragraphs [0032] and [0041]). Given Lehmann et al. is silent with respect to a magnesium content, the amount of magnesium may be 0 ppm. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, the claimed limitation is a process limitation. It is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that Lehmann et al. meets the requirements of the claimed copper sheet, Lehmann et al. clearly meets the requirements of present claims.
Regarding claim 3, Lehmann et al. teaches wherein the copper layer can preferably have a proportion of at most 25 ppm Ag (paragraphs [0026]- [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Lehmann et al. teaches wherein the copper layer has a proportion of preferably at least 99.99% Cu (paragraphs [00204]-[0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Lehmann et al. teaches the copper layer can have a proportion of preferably at most 5 ppm O (paragraphs [0028]-[0029]).
Regarding claim 6, Lehmann et al. teaches copper layer and ceramic substrates can be bonded by either DCB (direct copper bonding) or AMB (active metal brazing) (paragraph [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to use a bonding method including AMB and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787