DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication on September 25th, 2024.
Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
The present application is a 371 national stage entry of International Application no. PCT/CN2022/090487, filed on April 29th, 2022.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 12-16, 20, 22, and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims 3, 11, 19, 21, and 25, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 17-19, 21, 23-25, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yi et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2024/0032031, hereinafter Yi).
With respect to claims 1, 25, 28, and 30, Yi discloses a apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (paragraph [0051]), comprising:
a processor (paragraph [0054]);
memory coupled with the processor (paragraph [0054]); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (paragraph [0054)) to cause the apparatus to:
receive radio resource control signaling comprising (paragraph [0160], lines 1-4, RRC signaling) an indication of a transmission mode for a physical uplink shared channel (paragraph [0162]) and a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) configuration (paragraph [0160], lines 4-9, PT-RS may be configured);
receive downlink control information comprising an indication of an association between PT-RS ports and demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) ports based at least in part on the PT-RS configuration (paragraph [0160], lines 9-21, associated with one or more DCI parameters), wherein the downlink control information schedules a first codeword and a second codeword for an uplink transmission (paragraph [0051], lines 4-15, codewords scheduled by DCI may be configured as two);
select a codeword from the first codeword and the second codeword for the uplink transmission (paragraph [0221], lines 1-14, codewords to be transmitted); and
transmit, via the physical uplink shared channel according to the transmission mode, a PT-RS corresponding to a DM-RS port of a set of DM-RS ports associated with the selected codeword based at least in part on the association (paragraph [0245], lines 17-25).
With respect to claims 2 and 29, Yi discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 28, wherein the instructions to select the codeword are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
select the first codeword associated with a first modulation and coding scheme value, wherein the second codeword is associated with a second modulation and coding scheme value that is less than the first modulation and coding scheme value (paragraph [0300]).
With respect to claim 3, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
determine that the first codeword associated with the first modulation and coding scheme value is associated with at least two sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets (paragraph [0258], lines 1-6), at least two precoders (paragraph [0258], lines 6-9), or both based at least in part on the PT-RS configuration indicating at least two available ports for transmitting one or more PT-RSs, wherein the physical uplink shared channel is associated with a first set of transmission parameters and a second set of transmission parameters (paragraph [0258], lines 9-28).
With respect to claim 5, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to select the codeword are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
select the first codeword based at least in part on the first codeword being associated with at least two SRS resource sets, at least two precoders, or both (paragraph [0258], lines 1-9).
With respect to claim 6, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
determine that a second codeword is associated with at least two SRS resource sets, at least two precoders, or both (paragraph [0258], lines 1-9), wherein selecting the first codeword is further based at least in part on a modulation and coding scheme value of the first codeword, an index of the first codeword, or both (paragraph [0300]).
With respect to claim 7, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to select the codeword are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
select the first codeword associated with a first index and a first modulation and coding scheme value, wherein the second codeword is associated with a second index that is greater than the first index and a second modulation and coding scheme value that is equal to the first modulation and coding scheme value (paragraph [0300]).
With respect to claim 8, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the radio resource control signaling, or the downlink control information, or both comprises an indication of the first codeword or the second codeword (paragraph [0221], lines 1-14, codewords to be transmitted); and
selecting the codeword comprises:
selecting the indicated codeword (paragraph [0221], lines 1-14, codewords to be transmitted).
With respect to claim 9, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the PT-RS configuration indicates a single available port for transmitting a PT-RS and the transmission mode is codebook-based or non-codebook-based (paragraph [0244], lines 12-24).
With respect to claims 10 and 27, Yi discloses the apparatus of claims 9 and 25, wherein the indication of the association comprises two bits indicating a DM-RS port of the set of DM-RS ports associated with the selected codeword (paragraph [0163], lines 9-19).
With respect to claim 11, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the PT-RS configuration indicates a plurality of available ports for transmitting one or more PT-RSs (paragraph [0163], lines 9-19).
With respect to claim 18, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein:
the transmission mode is non-codebook-based (paragraph [0244], lines 12-24).
With respect to claim 19, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the downlink control information further comprises an SRS resource indicator that indicates a plurality of SRS resources, and the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
determine which of the plurality of available ports to use for transmitting the one or more PT-RSs based at least in part on the selected codeword and the SRS resource indicator, wherein each SRS resource is associated with one of the plurality of available ports for transmitting one or more PT-RSs (paragraph [0163], lines 9-19).
With respect to claim 21, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein:
the transmission mode is codebook-based (paragraph [0244], lines 12-24).
With respect to claim 24, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the physical uplink shared channel is associated with a first set of transmission parameters and a second set of transmission parameters (paragraph [0162]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gao Pat. Pub. 2025/0219785
Liu Pat. Pub. 2025/0048358
Liu Pat. Pub. 2024/0305422
Kim Pat. Pub. 2023/0232415
Xi Pat. Pub. 2021/0075570
Almquist Pat. Pub. 2022/0321383
Cheng Pat. Pub. 2022/0311647
Gao Pat. Pub. 2022/0312334
Lee Pat. Pub. 2022/0095350
Lee Pat. Pub. 2022/0078826
Frenne Pat. Pub. 2024/0322977
Frenne Pat. Pub. 2022/0385427
Zhu Pat. Pub. 2024/0072981
Zhu Pat. Pub. 2023/0276454
Liu Pat. Pub. 2022/00244415
Zhang Pat. Pub. 2019/0068268
Hu Pat. Pub. 2022/0166570
Yi Pat. Pub. 2022/0361202
Yi Pat. Pub. 2022/0225360
9/2/24
/BLAKE J RUBIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457