Detailed Action
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the brightness enhancement layer”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations. For the purpose of the examination, the limitation “the first threshold” is interpreted as “a brightness enhancement layer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YOON (US 20160223739 A1).
Regarding claim 1, YOON discloses a display module (e.g., Fig. 8; display device 400), comprising: a display panel, comprising a liquid crystal cell (liquid crystal panel 20) and a quantum dot composite film (quantum dot composite film comprising quantum dot layer 50), wherein the quantum dot composite film is arranged on a main surface of the liquid crystal cell (quantum dot composite film comprising quantum dot layer 50 is arranged on a bottom surface of the liquid crystal panel 20); and a middle frame (middle frame 93), arranged on a side of the quantum dot composite film away from the liquid crystal cell (e.g., Fig. 8), wherein a sealing structure (sealing structure 100) is arranged on an edge of the quantum dot composite film (e.g., Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 2, YOON (e.g., Fig. 8) discloses the display module according to claim 1, wherein the quantum dot composite film comprises a function layer and a quantum dot film layer which are stacked (quantum dot composite film includes a quantum dot layer 50 and an optical function layer comprising a diffusion layer 610).
7. Claims 1-2 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PARK (US 20200050046 A1).
Regarding claim 1, PARK discloses a display module (e.g., Fig. 13; display device), comprising: a display panel, comprising a liquid crystal cell (liquid crystal panel 5000; [0052]) and a quantum dot composite film (quantum dot composite film comprising quantum dot layer 6300; [0131]), wherein the quantum dot composite film is arranged on a main surface of the liquid crystal cell (quantum dot composite film comprising quantum dot layer 6300 is arranged on a bottom surface of the liquid crystal panel 5000); and a middle frame (middle frame 1200b), arranged on a side of the quantum dot composite film away from the liquid crystal cell (e.g., Fig. 13), wherein a sealing structure (sealing structure 1410) is arranged on an edge of the quantum dot composite film (e.g., Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 2, PARK (Fig. 13) discloses the display module according to claim 1, wherein the quantum dot composite film comprises a function layer and a quantum dot film layer which are stacked (e.g., Fig. 13; quantum dot composite film includes a quantum dot layer 6300 and an optical function layer comprising a diffusion layer 6100; [0131]).
Regarding claim 16, PARK (Figs. 13-14) discloses the display module according to claim 1, wherein a distance between the sealing structure and an edge of the liquid crystal cell located in a same side as the sealing structure is from 0 to 0.2 mm (Figs. 13-14 and [0140]; sealing structure 1410 is in contact with an edge of the liquid crystal panel 5000, corresponding to a distance of zero).
Regarding claim 17, PARK (Figs. 13-14) discloses the display module according to claim 1, wherein in a direction perpendicular to the main surface of the display panel, a thickness of the sealing structure (Figs. 13-14; sealing structure 1410) is equal to or substantially equal to a thickness of the quantum dot composite film (quantum dot composite film comprising layers 6100-6300), and the sealing structure (sealing structure 1410) covers an edge of the quantum dot composite film (quantum dot composite film comprising layers 6100-6300).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 3-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over YOON (US 20160223739 A1) in view of TAKATORI (US 20220350202 A1).
Regarding claim 3, YOON (Fig. 8) discloses the display module according to claim 2, wherein the function layer at least comprises a first brightness enhancement layer (brightness enhancement layer 62) and a haze adjustment layer (light diffusion layer 61), the first brightness enhancement layer (brightness enhancement layer 62; [0072]) is configured to increase brightness of the display module, and the haze adjustment layer (light diffusion layer 61; [0072]) is configured to adjust haze of the display module. YOON does not disclose the quantum dot film layer is sandwiched between the first brightness enhancement layer and the haze adjustment layer. However, TAKATORI discloses a display device comprising a quantum dot composite film (e.g., Fig. 3 and [0057], [0116]; optical composite film 140), comprising a first brightness enhancement layer (brightness enhancement layer 143, 144, or 145) and a haze adjustment layer (light diffusion layer 141), the quantum dot film layer (quantum dot layer 142) is sandwiched between the first brightness enhancement layer (brightness enhancement layer 143, 144, or 145) and the haze adjustment layer (light diffusion layer 141), Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from TAKATORI to the quantum dot composite film of YOON. The combination/motivation would be to provide a quantum dot composite film to improve display performance with a higher brightness and a wider color gamut.
Regarding claim 4, YOON in view of TAKATORI discloses the display module according to claim 3, YOON (Fig. 8) discloses wherein the first brightness enhancement layer (brightness enhancement layer 62) is arranged on a side of the haze adjustment layer (light diffusion layer 61) close to the liquid crystal cell (liquid crystal panel 20).
Regarding claim 6, YOON in view of TAKATORI discloses the display module according to claim 3, TAKATORI (e.g., Fig. 3) discloses wherein the function layer further comprises a second brightness enhancement layer arranged on a side of the first brightness enhancement layer away from the quantum dot film layer, and the second brightness enhancement layer is configured to increase the brightness of the display module (e.g., Fig. 3 and [0057]; first brightness enhancement layer comprising prism sheet 143 and/or 144 and a second brightness enhancement film145, prism sheet for concentrating the light to enhance brightness of display panel).
10. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over YOON (US 20160223739 A1) in view of TAKATORI (US 20220350202 A1) and further in view of CHOI (US 20210302782 A1).
Regarding claim 5, YOON in view of TAKATORI discloses the display module according to claim 4, but does not disclose the features in claim 5. However, CHOI (e.g., Fig. 2) discloses a display device, wherein in a direction from the quantum dot composite film (optical film 320) to the liquid crystal cell (LCD panel 100), the brightness enhancement layer comprises a brightness enhancement film, a diffusion film, and a prism film stacked sequentially (Fig. 2 and [0060]-[0063]; in a direction from the quantum dot layer of the optical film 320 to the LCD panel 100, a dual brightness enhancement film, a diffusion sheet, and a prism sheet sequentially stacked). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHOI to the quantum dot composite film of YOON in view of TAKATORI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a quantum dot composite film to improve display performance with a higher brightness and a wider color gamut.
11. Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over YOON (US 20160223739 A1) in view of TAKATORI (US 20220350202 A1) and further in view of IWAMOTO (US 20210271135 A1).
Regarding claim 7, YOON in view of TAKATORI discloses the display module according to claim 3, but does not disclose wherein the quantum dot composite film is attached to the main surface of the liquid crystal cell by a first adhesive. However, IWAMOTO discloses a display device (Figs. 1-2 and 5), wherein the quantum dot composite film (composite film comprising quantum dot film 24/30) is attached to the main surface of the liquid crystal cell (liquid crystal display panel 10) by a first adhesive (adhesive 40c). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from IWAMOTO to attach the quantum dot composite film to the display panel of YOON in view of TAKATORI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a quantum dot composite film to improve display performance with a higher brightness and a wider color gamut.
Regarding claim 8, YOON in view of TAKATORI and further in view of IWAMOTO discloses the display module according to claim 7, IWAMOTO discloses wherein the haze adjustment layer is entirely adhered to a side of the quantum dot film layer away from the display panel by a second adhesive (Figs. 1-2 and 5; adhesive 40b), and the first brightness enhancement layer is entirely attached to a side of the quantum dot film layer close to the display panel by a third adhesive (Figs. 1-2 and 5; adhesive 40a or 40R). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from IWAMOTO to attach the quantum dot composite film to the display panel of YOON in view of TAKATORI for the same reason above.
11. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over YOON (US 20160223739 A1) in view of TAKATORI (US 20220350202 A1) and IWAMOTO (US 20210271135 A1) and further in view of LIU (US 20210215858 A1).
Regarding claim 9, YOON in view of TAKATORI and further in view of IWAMOTO discloses the display module according to claim 8, but does not disclose wherein the first adhesive, the second adhesive and the third adhesive comprise at least one of hot meld adhesive and UV curing adhesive respectively. However, LIU discloses a quantum dot composite film, wherein the first adhesive, the second adhesive and the third adhesive comprise at least one of hot meld adhesive and UV curing adhesive respectively (Fig. 3, UV curing adhesive 204). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LIU and IWAMOTO to attach the quantum dot composite film to the display panel of YOON in view of TAKATORI. The UV curing adhesive would offer instant curing and precise control without requiring heat.
12. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over YOON (US 20160223739 A1) in view of TAKATORI (US 20220350202 A1) and further in view of LIU (US 20190243187 A1).
Regarding claim 10, YOON in view of TAKATORI discloses the display module according to claim 3, but does not disclose wherein a haze of the haze adjustment layer is from about 50% to 95%. However, LIU discloses a display device comprising a quantum dot composite film, wherein a haze of the haze adjustment layer is from about 50% to 95% ([0027]; haze value is less than 85% or is between 85% to 95%). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LIU to the light diffusion film of YOON in view of TAKATORI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a quantum dot composite film to improve display performance with a higher brightness and a wider color gamut.
13. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over YOON (US 20160223739 A1) in view of TAKATORI (US 20220350202 A1) and further in view of SUZUKI (US 20220299682 A1).
Regarding claim 11, YOON in view of TAKATORI discloses the display module according to claim 3, but does not disclose wherein the haze adjustment layer is made of polyethylene terephthalate, a surface of the haze adjustment layer comprises diffusion particles and an average particle diameter of the diffusion particles is from 3 um to 50 um. However, SUZUKI discloses wherein the haze adjustment layer (e.g., Figs. 1-4; light diffusion film 1) is made of polyethylene terephthalate ([0044]; base film 2 is made of polyethylene terephthalate), a surface of the haze adjustment layer comprises diffusion particles and an average particle diameter of the diffusion particles is from 3 um to 50 um (Figs. 1-4 and [0082] <13> and <14>; diffusing layer 3 contains light diffusing particles 31 with an average particle diameter of 1.5um-30um). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LIU to the light diffusion film of YOON in view of TAKATORI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a quantum dot composite film to improve display performance with a higher brightness and a wider color gamut.
14. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over YOON (US 20160223739 A1) in view of NAKAO (US 20190317267 A1).
Regarding claim 12, YOON discloses the display module according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a side surface of the display panel and a side surface of the middle frame are provided with a light shielding tape. However, NAKAO discloses a display device, wherein a side surface of the display panel and a side surface of the middle frame are provided with a light shielding tape (Fig. 1 and [0016]; light-shielding tape 16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the light-shielding tape as taught from NAKAO to the display device of YOON to prevent external light from entering the display device.
15. Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over YOON (US 20160223739 A1) in view of WATANABE (US 20170293067 A1).
Regarding claim 13, YOON discloses the display module according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the display panel is connected with the middle frame by a fourth adhesive. However, WATANABE (Figs. 2-3) discloses a display device, wherein the display panel (display panel 11) is connected with the middle frame (frame 27) by a fourth adhesive (adhesive tape 28; [0078]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from WANATABE to the display device of YOON to attach and fix the display panel with the housing frame structure.
Regarding claim 15, YOON discloses the display module according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a width of the middle frame close to a surface of the display panel is from 0.2 mm to 0.5 mm. However, WATANABE (Figs. 2-3) discloses a display device, wherein a width of the middle frame close to a surface of the display panel is from 0.2 mm to 0.5 mm (Figs. 2-3 and [0079]; frame 27 has a width of 0.5mm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from WANATABE to the display device of YOON, which would provide a housing frame structure to support and fix the display panel.
16. Claim 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over YOON (US 20160223739 A1) in view of WATANABE (US 20170293067 A1) and further in view of SHEN (US 20170293167 A1).
Regarding claim 14, YOON in view of WANATABE discloses the display module according to claim 13, WANATABE discloses a length of the fourth adhesive in a direction parallel to the main surface of the display panel is from 0.5 mm to 1 mm (Figs. 2-3 and [0078]-[0079]; adhesive tape has a length same as the length of frame 27, which is 0.5mm). but does not disclose wherein a thickness of the fourth adhesive in a direction perpendicular to the main surface of the display panel is from 0.2 mm to 0.5 mm. However, SHEN discloses a display device, wherein a thickness of the fourth adhesive in a direction perpendicular to the main surface of the display panel is from 0.2 mm to 0.5 mm (Fig. 3 and [0062]; adhesive tape 302 has a thickness of 0.2 mm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from WANATABE and SHEN to the display device of YOON, which would provide a housing frame structure to support and fix the display panel.
16. Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over YOON (US 20160223739 A1) in view of LIU (US 20190243187 A1).
Regarding claim 18, YOON discloses the display module according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the display panel further comprises a first polarizer as claimed. However, LIU discloses wherein the display panel (Figs. 1 and 3; display panel 100 or 200) further comprises a first polarizer (polarizer 160; [0026]) provided on a side of the liquid crystal cell close to the quantum dot composite film (optical film 180 comprising a quantum dot film; [0028]), and the quantum dot composite film is adhered to the first polarizer by a first adhesive ([0028]; adhesive tape). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the polarizer as taught from LIU to the display device of YOON to improve the performance of the display device.
Regarding claim 19, YOON in view of LIU in view of LIU discloses the display module according to claim 18, LIU discloses wherein the display panel (Figs. 1 and 3; display panel 100 or 200) further comprises a second polarizer (polarizer 150; [0026]) provided on a side of the liquid crystal cell away from the quantum dot composite film. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the polarizer as taught from LIU to the display device of YOON to improve the performance of the display device.
17. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over YOON (US 20160223739 A1) in view of ZHENG (US 20240019727 A1).
Regarding claim 24, YOON discloses the display module according to claim 1, but does not disclose a display device, comprising a splicing screen formed by a plurality of display modules. However, ZHENG discloses a display device, comprising a splicing screen formed by a plurality of display modules (Figs. 1-2 and 7; a display device comprising a splicing screen). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the polarizer as taught from ZHENG to the display device of YOON to provide a large display system by joining multiple individual LCD panels together to form a continuous viewing surface.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623