DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 9/23/2026. The amendment has been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. “Li” US 2021/0044412 (provided in Applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Li teaches a method and a repeater (Figure 8: 802) in a wireless communication system, comprising controller (Controller Paragraph 133) and a transceiver (transmitter/receiver can be co-located in a transceiver; Paragraph 139) configured to:
Receive, from a base station, control information, and receive, from the base station, a signal (Paragraph 78 teaches a base station sending repeating configurations to the repeater; 602 Figure 6A));
wherein the control information includes one or more beam indexes and one or more time resource information for transmissions or receptions between the repeater and a terminal, the one or more beam indexes being sequentially associated with the one or more time resource information with a one to one mapping (Paragraphs 7 and 89 teach the configuration information includes beamforming information. The repeater configuration indicates beamforming configurations (i.e. information associated with the beam/beam index). This is used during a time duration indicated in the repeater configuration as well (i.e. time resource) wherein the repeater applies the associated beam information with the base station and the UE for transmission of information between the base station and UE; Paragraph 89). The application of the beam and time is viewed as the mapping. The Examiner notes that the claim only requires one beam index and one time resource. As there is only one of each, the terms sequential and mapping do not really bear any meaning because there is only one of each item to be “mapped”).
wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the terminal, an amplified signal using a beam within a time resource, by amplifying the signal received from the base station (Paragraphs 89 and 95 teach the repeater relays information between the base station and the UE (including signals received from the base station). The repeater includes a gain component which is used to amplify a signal that is transmit during a time duration indicated in the repeater configuration; Paragraph 88.);
wherein the time resource is identified by one of the one or more time resource information and wherein the beam is identified by a beam index associated with the one of the one or more time resource information (Paragraph 89 teaches beamforming configuration information (i.e. beam index) and associated time duration (i.e. time resource) is in the repeater configuration information).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches a slot offset is identified based on each of the time resource information (the repeater configuration may specify a timing offset (i.e. slot offset); Paragraph 84. These parameters are with respect to beams; Paragraph 85).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches start symbol and duration; Paragraphs 83-84.
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches there are a plurality of beam indexes, each of beams indicated by the plurality of beam indexes corresponds to a different time resource(paragraphs 101-105 and Figures 6D and 6E teach there are a plurality of repeater configurations for one or more beams. Thus one can see there are multiple beams corresponding to different time resources as claimed).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the control information is scrambled by RNTI associated with the repeater (the base station scrambles repeater indication based on RNTI; Paragraph 80).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches configuring a minimum number of symbols between a start symbol of the amplified signal to be transmit and a last symbol for which the control information is received wherein the amplified signal to be transmitted to the terminal is transmit in a symbol after the minimum number of symbols from the last symbol (Figure 6C and paragraph 100 show a time gap Ts which is an amount of time/symbols between when the repeater configuration is received and the start of the transmission of the signal, see also paragraph 89).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Li teaches a method and a base station (Fig. 10) in a wireless communication system, comprising a controller and transceiver (Fig. 10) configured to:
Transmit, to a repeater, control information and a signal (Paragraph 78 teaches a base station sending repeating configurations to the repeater; 602 Figure 6A. Paragraphs 89 and 95 teach the repeater relays information between the base station and the UE (including signals received from the base station)); and
wherein the control information includes one or more beam indexes and one or more time resource information for transmission or receptions between the repeater and a terminal, the one or more beam indexes being sequentially associated with the one or more time resource information with a one to one mapping (Paragraphs 7 and 89 teach the configuration information includes beamforming information. The repeater configuration indicates beamforming configurations (i.e. information associated with the beam/beam index). This is used during a time duration indicated in the repeater configuration as well (i.e. time resource) wherein the repeater applies the associated beam information with the base station and the UE for transmission of information between the base station and UE; Paragraph 89). The application of the beam and time is viewed as the mapping. The Examiner notes that the claim only requires one beam index and one time resource. As there is only one of each, the terms sequential and mapping do not really bear any meaning because there is only one of each item to be “mapped”),
wherein the signal, which has been transmitted to the repeater, is amplified and delivered to the terminal through the repeater using a beam within a time resource (Paragraphs 89 and 95 teach the repeater relays information between the base station and the UE (including signals received from the base station). The repeater includes a gain component which is used to amplify a signal that is transmit during a time duration indicated in the repeater configuration; Paragraph 88),
wherein the time resource is identified by one of the one or more time resource information and wherein the beam is identified by a beam index associated with the one of the one or more time resource information (Paragraph 89 teaches beamforming configuration information (i.e. beam index) and associated time duration (i.e. time resource) is in the repeater configuration information).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches a slot offset identified based on the time resource information (the repeater configuration may specify a timing offset (i.e. slot offset); Paragraph 84. These parameters are with respect to beams; Paragraph 85); and
Wherein the slot offset is used to identify a start slot corresponding to the time resource in which the beam corresponding to the beam index is applied and the time resource information includes a start symbol and duration; (the repeater configuration information talks about slot offset and start slots with respect to when the beam is transmit Paragraphs 83-84).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches there are a plurality of beams with respect to different time durations (start and end); (paragraphs 101-105 and Figures 6D and 6E. Thus one can see there are multiple beams corresponding to different time resources as claimed); and
Wherein the control information is scrambled by RNTI associated with the repeater (the base station scrambles repeater indication based on RNTI; Paragraph 80).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches a slot offset identified based on the time resource information (the repeater configuration may specify a timing offset (i.e. slot offset); Paragraph 84. These parameters are with respect to beams; Paragraph 85); and
Wherein the slot offset is used to identify a start slot corresponding to the time resource in which the beam corresponding to the beam index is applied and the time resource includes a start symbol and duration; (the repeater configuration information talks about slot offset and start slots with respect to when the beam is transmit Paragraphs 83-84).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches there are a plurality of beams with respect to different time durations (start and end); (paragraphs 101-105 and Figures 6D and 6E. Thus one can see there are multiple beams corresponding to different time resources as claimed); and
Wherein the control information is scrambled by RNTI associated with the repeater (the base station scrambles repeater indication based on RNTI; Paragraph 80).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Mildh et al. “Mildh” US 2011/0268014.
Regarding claim 16, while Li teaches the use of RRC for configuring the repeater; Paragraphs 123 and 127, Li does not teach a time gap between resources and transmitting the amplified signal in the time gap based on a default beam; however, Mildh teaches that during subframe gaps (i.e. time gap between resources), the relay node transmits control signaling (amplified signal), in the first few symbols of the subframe and the rest is used for data transmission; Paragraph 31, see also Figures 3a and 3b. The signaling transmit during the gap is viewed as default signaling because no other signaling is allowed in this gap.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Li to include sending amplified signaling during identified gaps as taught by Mildh.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system knows what subframes can be properly transmit or not as taught by Mildh; Paragraph 31.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the amended claims, Applicant argues Li merely teaches a repeater configuration which indicates beamforming configurations for TX/RX settings applied for a time duration and thus Li fails to teach or suggest control information including one or more beam indexes and one or more time resource information wherein the indexes are sequentially associated with one or more time resources with a one to one mapping.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim language is written where all that is required is a single beam index associated with a single time resource. In other words, if there is only one time resource and one beam that’s all that is required. In the event there is only a single beam/index and time resource, then the one to one mapping and sequential terminology bears no real meaning. As Li teaches beamforming configurations with respect to one or more time durations with respect to TX/RX beam settings, this is all that is required. The Examiner suggests amending the claims to recite two or more beam indexes and two or more time resource instead of “one or more” for these terms. This would overcome the art of record and help to add more patentable weight to the terms one to one mapping and sequentially associated.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411