DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 2020/0076537).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Sun discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (paragraph 140, lines 1-3: “a computer-readable storage medium is provided, where the computer-readable storage medium stores an instruction, and when the instruction is run on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform the method”), configured to cause the apparatus to:
select a time-domain density configuration for a reference signal based at least in part on a transmission frequency associated with the reference signal (paragraph 37, lines 7-10: “the terminal device may select, based on the indication of the first indication information, an element from the time domain density subset used by the terminal device or the network device, as the time domain density; and the determining, by the terminal device based on the first indication information, the frequency domain density in a frequency domain density subset used by the terminal device or the network device”); and
transmit an indication of the time-domain density configuration to a user equipment (UE) (paragraph 12, lines 2-3: “transmitting, by the network device, second indication information to the terminal device, where the second indication information is used to indicate a time domain density subset”).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Sun discloses that the transmission frequency is a first transmission frequency, wherein the time-domain density configuration is a first time-domain density configuration, wherein the indication is a first indication, and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to: select a second time-domain density configuration for the reference signal based at least in part on a second transmission frequency associated with the reference signal, and transmit an indication of the second time-domain density configuration to the UE, wherein the first transmission frequency is different from the second transmission frequency (paragraph 102, lines 3-7: “the third indication information may be used for narrowing a range of time domain densities and/or frequency domain densities that can be selected, and then a time domain density may be further determined in the time domain density subset, and a frequency domain density may be determined in the frequency domain density subset. This can improve efficiency of determining the time domain density and/or the frequency domain density.”).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Sun discloses that at least one of the first time-domain density configuration or the second time-domain density configuration indicate an antenna port associated with transmitting the reference signal (paragraph 192: “frequency domain density are/is used by the terminal device to transmit the PTRS to avoid interference between ports for transmitting PTRSs by a plurality of terminal devices and between a port for transmitting a PTRS and a port for transmitting data”).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Sun discloses that the second transmission frequency is higher than the first transmission frequency, wherein the first time-domain density configuration is based at least in part on a first number of time units, wherein the second time-domain density configuration is based at least in part on a second number of time units, and wherein the second number is larger than the first number (paragraph 70: “a highest frequency domain density used for transmitting a PTRS by the terminal device or the network device”).
Regarding claim 5, Sun discloses that a time unit is at least one of: a symbol, a time slot, a mini-slot, or a time duration (paragraph 10: “the time domain density may be a ratio of a quantity of OFDM symbols”).
Regarding claims 6 and 21, Sun discloses that the time-domain density configuration indicates a time-domain density that is based at least in part on a frequency unit of at least one of: a bandwidth part (BWP), a sub-band, or a physical resource block (PRB) (paragraph 60: “the time domain density on the sampling point level is associated with at least one of a scheduled bandwidth value”).
Regarding claims 7 and 22, Sun discloses that the reference signal is: a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a tracking reference signal (TRS), a downlink demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or an uplink DMRS (paragraph 70: PTRS is a tracking reference signal).
Regarding claims 8 and 23, Sun discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit or receive the reference signal based at least in part on the time-domain density configuration (Abstract: “transmitting, by a terminal device, a PTRS to a network device based on a time domain density”).
Regarding claim 9, Sun discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (paragraph 140, lines 1-3: “a computer-readable storage medium is provided, where the computer-readable storage medium stores an instruction, and when the instruction is run on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform the method”), configured to cause the apparatus to:
obtain an indication of a time-domain density configuration associated with a reference signal (paragraph 37, lines 7-10: “the terminal device may select, based on the indication of the first indication information, an element from the time domain density subset used by the terminal device or the network device, as the time domain density; and the determining, by the terminal device based on the first indication information, the frequency domain density in a frequency domain density subset used by the terminal device or the network device”); and
transmit or receiving the reference signal based at least in part on a transmission frequency associated with the reference signal and the time-domain density configuration (paragraph 12, lines 2-3: “transmitting, by the network device, second indication information to the terminal device, where the second indication information is used to indicate a time domain density subset”).
Claim 10 incorporates the limitations of claims 2 and 9, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claims 2 and 9.
Claim 11 incorporates the limitations of claims 3 and 9, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claims 3 and 9.
Claim 12 incorporates the limitations of claims 4 and 9, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claims 4 and 9.
Claim 13 incorporates the limitations of claims 5 and 9, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claims 5 and 9.
Claim 14 incorporates the limitations of claims 6 and 9, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claims 6 and 9.
Claim 15 incorporates the limitations of claims 7 and 9, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claims 7 and 9.
Claim 16 incorporates the limitations of claims 8 and 9, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claims 8 and 9.
Claims 24-30 correspond to claims 9-13, 15 and 16, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (US 2021/0320766) discloses determining a target reference signal time domain density to be transmitted according to a target carrier frequency information.
/SAM BHATTACHARYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646