DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is responsive to the claims filed 9 April 2026.
Claims 1 and 3-35 are currently pending and being examined.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7, 9-11, 13-17, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boinais (US 2010/0078531) in view of Serrano (US 2006/0213049).
Claim 1: Boinais teaches a holding jig (10-fig.1) comprising a holder (200-fig.1) having a through hole (210-fig.2) formed in a vertical direction (see fig.2; ¶[0043]-[0044]), through which a holding target is to be inserted (¶[0002]), the holder being formed to bring the holding target into contact with an upper end edge portion of the through hole (a cup is capable of held with an upper edge portion of 314), wherein the holder includes a plurality of displacement elements (314-1,314-2,314-3-fig.1) forming at least a part of the through hole (¶[0044]),
in at least some of the displacement elements, an exposed region (314-1C,314-2C,314-3C-fig.1) of each of the displacement elements exposed on a circumferential surface portion of the through hole varies as the displacement element is displaced in a displacement direction defined for the displacement element (¶[0043]; fig.3), and
when the displacement element moves to make the exposed region larger, stress is applied to the displacement element for positioning the displacement element at a position at which the exposed region is smaller (figs.2-3; ¶[0035],[0042]-[0043]),
the displacement elements (314-1,314-2,314-3-fig.1) that are adjacent to each other slide against each other along the displacement direction defined for each of the displacement elements (¶[0041],[0044]).
Boinais does not expressly teach the holder includes an elastic member that biases at least one of the displacement elements by expanding and contracting along a front-rear direction of the holding jig so as to displace the at least one of the displacement elements along the displacement direction.
However, Serrano teaches the displacement elements (12-fig.5) that are adjacent to each other slide against each other along the displacement direction defined for each of the displacement elements (see figs.4-6 showing 12 sliding against each other in a forward rear direction; ¶[0040]-[0043]) and the holder includes an elastic member (50-fig.4) that biases at least one of the displacement elements by expanding and contracting along a front-rear direction of the holding jig (22-fig.5) so as to displace the at least one of the displacement elements along the displacement direction (see figs.4-6 showing the spring biasing the blades 12 in a front-rear direction as defined by the dowel pin 28; ¶[0045]-[0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Boinais, by having compression springs move the displacement elements, as taught by Serrano, as a well-known alternative and equivalent biasing member used to move panels in a iris pattern and using a compression spring is known to be able to support more axial load, therefore having the added benefit of holding larger items.
Boinais as modified by Serrano further teaches:
Claim 3: The holding jig according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of displacement elements form the through hole (Boinais: 210-figs.2-3;¶[0044]).
Claim 4: The holding jig according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of displacement elements are arranged in an annular shape (Boinais: see figs.2-3 showing 314 having arranged in an annular shape) .
Claim 7: The holding jig according to claim 1, wherein the holder includes a regulating wall portion (Boinais: 106-fig.6a) that regulates a displacement distance of at least one of the displacement elements (Boinais: ¶[0056]-[0058]), and
the regulating wall portion contacts the displacement element (Boinais: 316-fig.6A) when the displacement element is displaced to a predetermined position (Boinais: ¶[0056]-[0058]).
Claim 9: The holding jig according to claim 1, wherein the displacement elements adjacent to each other are in contact with each other on side surfaces of the displacement elements (Boinais: see figs.1-3 showing side surfaces are in contact at 314).
Claim 10: The holding jig according to claim 1, wherein the displacement elements adjacent to each other are prevented from overlapping each other in the vertical direction (Boinais: see figs. 1-9 showing that elements 314 do not overlap).
Claim 11: The holding jig according to claim 1, wherein positions of upper surfaces of the displacement elements adjacent to each other are aligned at the upper end edge portion of the through hole (Boinais: see figs. 1-9 showing that elements 314 upper surface is aligned with each other).
Claim 13: The holding jig according to claim 1, wherein an extension extending along the circumferential surface portion of the through hole is formed on a lower surface of the displacement element (Boinais: 400-1,400-2,400-3-fig.1; ¶[0027]).
Claim 14: The holding jig according to claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the displacement element corresponding to the exposed region forms an inclined surface that is inclined downward toward an inside of the through hole as going downward from the upper end edge portion of the through hole (Boinais: 400-fig.4; see fig.4 showing the open and closed position and in between those positions 400 will be inclined downward).
Claim 15: The holding jig according to claim 1, further comprising a protective plate, wherein the protective plate covers (Boinais: 12-fig.9) at least a part of the displacement element (Boinais: ¶[0065]).
Claim 16: The holding jig according to claim 15, wherein a fixing member for fixing a position of the protective plate (Boinais: 12-fig.9) is removably attached to the protective plate (Boinais: ¶[0065]), and
wherein the protective plate is configured to be displaceable in a planar direction normal to a thickness direction of the protective plate when the fixing member removed (Boinais: ¶[0063]-[0065]).
Claim 17: The holding jig according to claim 1, wherein the holding target includes a first holding target (Boinais: 310-1-fig.3) to be in contact with the through hole and a second holding target (Boinais: 400-2) to be mounted on the first holding target (Boinais: at least ¶[0034],[0027]), and
wherein a plane direction of a plane normal to the vertical direction is a planar direction, a positioning structure (Boinais: 400-2-fig.) that defines at least a position of the second holding target in the planar direction relative to the first holding target is provided on an upper surface side of the holder (Boinais: ¶[0034; figs.1-3).
Claim 19: The holding jig according to claim 1, wherein the holding target includes at least a container having a body and a flange extending outward from an upper end of the body, and the flange is configured to contact the upper end edge portion of the through hole (Boinais: Examiner notes that this claim limitation is attempting to claim what the holding jig holds and does not impart any physical structure of the holding jig. Therefore, the jig just needs to be capable of holding a container.; 10-fig.1 is capable of holding a container).
Claim 20: The holding jig according to claim 1, wherein the holder includes an elastic member (Boinais: 312-1,312-2,312-3-fig.1) that biases at least one of the displacement elements (Boinais: ¶[0030]), and
in a state where the displacement element has moved to make the exposed region larger, the elastic member applies stress to the displacement element for positioning the displacement element at a position at which the exposed region is smaller (Boinais: ¶[0030],[0034]).
Claim 21: The holding jig according to claim 1, further comprising an outer peripheral portion (Boinais: 12-fig.9), wherein a covering material with cushioning properties is provided to surround the outer peripheral portion (Boinais: ¶[0065]).
Claim 22: The holding jig according to claim 1, wherein a displacement guide structure (Boinais: 310-1,310-2,310-3-fig.2) that regulates the displacement direction of the displacement element is provided on a lower surface side of the displacement element.
Claim(s) 5-6, 8, 12, and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boinais (US 2010/0078531) in view of Serrano (US 2006/0213049), further in view of JP 2017-132032 (hereinafter “JP ‘032”), reference made to the copy provided by Applicant with the IDS dated 29 October 2024.
Claim 5: Boinais as modified by Serrano teaches the holding jig according to claim 1, wherein
Boinais as modified by Serrano does not teach the holder includes a regulating structure that regulates the displacement direction of each of at least some of the displacement elements, the regulating structure includes a guide that is provided corresponding to each of the displacement elements for guiding the displacement element in a predetermined direction, and the displacement direction of the displacement element is a direction along the guide corresponding to the displacement element.
However, JP ‘032 teaches the holder (92-fig.2) includes a regulating structure (921 to 929-fig.2) that regulates the displacement direction of each of at least some of the displacement elements (¶[0014]),
the regulating structure includes a guide that is provided corresponding to each of the displacement elements for guiding the displacement element in a predetermined direction (¶[0014]), and
the displacement direction of the displacement element is a direction along the guide corresponding to the displacement element (¶[0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Boinais as modified by Serrano, by having a guide groove, as taught by JP ‘032, to ensure smooth and stable opening and closing of the displacement elements. (JP ‘032: ¶[0004])
Claim 6: Boinais as modified by Serrano and JP ‘032 teaches the holding jig according to claim 5, wherein when one of the displacement elements adjacent to each other moves along the guide corresponding to the one of the displacement elements, a pressing force is applied to the other of the displacement elements, and the other of the displacement elements moves along the guide corresponding to the other of the displacement elements based on the pressing force (JP ‘032: ¶[0014]).
Claim 8: Boinais as modified by Serrano teaches the holding jig according to claim 7.
Boinais as modified by Serrano does not teach the holder has a first groove portion in the regulating wall portion, a second groove portion is formed at a position corresponding to the first groove portion in the displacement element in contact with the regulating wall portion, and the holing jig is provided with a regulating rod that is common to the first groove portion and the second groove portion and is embedded in the first groove portion and the second groove portion.
However, JP ‘032 teaches the holder (92-fig.2) has a first groove portion (A-annotated fig.2) in the regulating wall portion (92-fig.2),
a second groove portion (B-annotated fig.2) is formed at a position corresponding to the first groove portion in the displacement element in contact with the regulating wall portion (see fig.2 showing A and B are in connection with each other), and
the holing jig is provided with a regulating rod (931b to 939b-fig.2) that is common to the first groove portion and the second groove portion and is embedded in the first groove portion and the second groove portion (see fig.2 showing they are embedded; ¶[0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Boinais as modified by Serrano, by having a guide groove, as taught by JP ‘032, to ensure smooth and stable opening and closing of the displacement elements. (JP ‘032: ¶[0004])
Claim 12: Boinais as modified by Serrano teaches the holding jig according to claim 1.
Boinais as modified by Serrano does not teach a base plate, wherein the displacement elements are disposed on a plate upper surface of the base plate, and the displacement elements move and rub on the plate upper surface of the base plate.
However, JP ‘032 teaches a base plate (92-fig.2), wherein the displacement elements (931 to 939-fig.2) are disposed on a plate upper surface of the base plate (see fig.3 showing 931 to 939 are on a upper surface of 92), and
the displacement elements move and rub on the plate upper surface of the base plate (¶[0013]-[0014]; see fig.3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Boinais as modified by Serrano, by having a base plate, as taught by JP ‘032, to protect the underside of the displacement elements from damage and debris.
Claim 23: Boinais as modified by Serrano teaches the holding jig according to claim 1.
Boinais as modified by Serrano does not teach a groove is formed on an upper surface of the displacement element.
However, JP ‘032 teaches a groove (931a to 939a-fig.2) is formed on an upper surface of the displacement element (¶[0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Boinais as modified by Serrano, by having a guide groove, as taught by JP ‘032, to ensure smooth and stable opening and closing of the displacement elements. (JP ‘032: ¶[0004])
Claim 24: Boinais as modified by Serrano and JP ‘032 teaches the holding jig according to claim 23, wherein the groove (JP ‘032: 931a to 939a-fig.2) on the upper surface of the displacement element extends along the displacement direction of the displacement element (JP ‘032: see figs.2-3 showing the groove is in the displacement direction; ¶[0014]).
Claim 25: Boinais as modified by Serrano teaches the holding jig according to claim 1.
Boinais as modified by Serrano does not teach a groove is formed in at least one of side surfaces of the displacement element excluding a surface that forms the through hole.
However, JP ‘032 teaches a groove (931a to 939a-fig.2) is formed in at least one of side surfaces of the displacement element excluding a surface that forms the through hole (see fig.2 showing 931a to 939a on the top side of elements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Boinais as modified by Serrano, by having a guide groove, as taught by JP ‘032, to ensure smooth and stable opening and closing of the displacement elements. (JP ‘032: ¶[0004])
Claim 26: Boinais as modified by Serrano teaches the holding jig according to claim 1.
Boinais as modified by Serrano does not teach a step is formed on an upper surface of the displacement element.
JP ‘032 teaches a step (931a to 939a-fig.2) is formed on an upper surface of the displacement element (¶[0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Boinais as modified by Serrano, by having a guide groove, as taught by JP ‘032, to ensure smooth and stable opening and closing of the displacement elements. (JP ‘032: ¶[0004])
Claim(s) 27-31 and 33-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakker (US 5,993,942) in view of Boinais (US 2010/0078531) and Serrano (US 2006/0213049).
Claim 27: Bakker teaches a sealing device (fig.5; 1:11-15) comprising:
a holding jig (at least 42,44,46,61,55-figs. 7-8); and a presser (at least 72,80,86-fig.6) for applying a pressing force to the holding target from an upper side of the holding target (12-fig.6; at least 4:66-5:21), wherein
in a case where the pressing force is applied to the holding target while the holding target is placed on the holding jig (at least 4:66-5:21; see figs. 5-8 showing the movement of the presser and holding jig moving), at least one of the presser and the holding jib moves from an initial position where the presser and the holding jig are separated by a predetermined distance to a position where the holding target is pressed (at least 4:66-5:21; see figs. 5-8 showing the movement of the presser and holding jig moving), the presser exist above the holding target (see fig. 5 showing, and the pressing force is applied to the holding target from an upper side of the holding target (see fig.5 showing 72 above 12).
Bakker does not teach a holding jig according to claim 1.
However, Boinais as modified by Serrano teaches a holding jig according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Bakker, by using the holding jig, as taught by Boinais and Serrano, as an equivalent holding jig used for the same purpose, to hold something. Boinais holds a cup which is of the same shape as the container of Bakker.
Bakker as modified by Boinais and Serrano further teaches:
Claim 28: The sealing device according to claim 27, wherein the holding jig (Bakker: at least 42,44,46,61,55-figs. 7-8) moves toward the presser (Bakker: 3:33-45; 42,44,46 are capable of moving towards and away the presser by spring 61).
Claim 29: The sealing device according to claim 27, wherein the presser (Bakker: at least 72,80,86-fig.6) moves toward the holding jig (Bakker: at least 4:66-5:21; see fig. 5-6 showing the presser moving towards and aways from the holding jig).
Claim 30: The sealing device according to claim 27, wherein the presser has a pressing surface (Bakker: at least 13 and 72-fig.6), and
the pressing surface is an uneven surface (Bakker: see fig. 6 showing uneven surface between 13 and 72; 4:7-54).
Claim 31: The sealing device according to claim 27, further comprising a heating mechanism (Bakker: at least 68 and 70-fig.6) capable of heating the presser (Bakker: 4:7-21).
Claim 33: The sealing device according to claim 27, wherein the holding target includes at least a container having a body with an opening formed on an upper side and a flange extending outward at an upper end of the body (Examiner notes that the claims are drawn to a sealing device, therefore the structure of the holding target has no bearing on the claims. Bakker: does teach container 12 has this configuration).
Claim 34: The sealing device according to claim 33, which joins a lid to the container at a position of the flange of the container in a state where the lid is disposed on the container to cover the opening on the upper side of the body and the flange and the container and the lid are interposed between the presser and the holding jig (Bakker: at least 2:66-3:24).
Claim 35: A sealing method using the sealing device according to claim 33, the sealing method comprising joining a lid to the container at a position of the flange of the container in a state where the container and the lid are interposed between the presser and the holding jig (Bakker: at least 1:11-15; 2:66-3:24; fig.2).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakker (US 5,993,942) in view of Boinais (US 2010/0078531) and Serrano (US 2006/0213049), further in view of Matsuzawa (US 4,750,318).
Claim 32: Bakker as modified by Boinais and Serrano teaches the sealing device according to claim 27.
Bakker as modified by Boinais and Serrano does not teach a fluoroplastic sheet is provided between the presser and the holding jig.
However, Matsuzawa teaches a fluoroplastic sheet (53-figs.3-4) is provided between the presser and the holding jig (4:42-56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Bakker, Boinais, and Serrano, by having fluroplastic between the presser and holdiner, as taught by Matsuzama, because fluroplastic has “a small thermal conductance so as to minimize a difference in the blister thicknesses at various portions of the blister 80”. (Matsuzawa 4:42-56).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATIE L GERTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/SHELLEY M SELF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3731