DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the threshing units" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears this claim was intended to depend from claim 12, rather than claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Mackin et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0120127).
In reference to claim 1, Mackin discloses a support system for supporting a concave 116 beneath a threshing unit 114 of a combine harvester 102, the support system comprising:
an adjustment shaft 126 (Fig. 2);
a suspension system 122 for setting a depth of the concave 126 beneath the threshing unit 114 (Fig. 2),
a force or torque sensor 134a for sensing a force applied to the adjustment shaft 126 (par. 0038); and
an output system 144 for reporting the force (par. 0040).
In reference to claim 7, Mackin discloses a memory (par. 0040, “memory circuit”) for storing the force together with associated position data indicating the position of the combine harvester 102 (par. 0040, “data processed by the ALU”, including force data (par. 0038) and position data (par. 0037)).
In reference to claim 11, Mackin discloses a threshing system for a combine harvester 102, comprising:
a threshing unit 114;
a concave 116 beneath the threshing unit 114;
the support system of one of claim 1 (see above), for supporting the concave 116 beneath the threshing unit 114 (Figs. 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackin et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0120127) in view of Baumgarten et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0226275).
In reference to claim 3, Mackin fails to disclose that the output system is adapted to generate a speed recommendation for presentation to a user.
Baumgarten discloses an output system is adapted to generate a speed recommendation for presentation to a user (par. 0042, “a message is displayed to the driver of the combine to reduce the speed of the combine and in this manner, to limit the flow rate of the crops”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to generate a speed recommendation for presentation to a user with a reasonable expectation of success so that a user can adjust a speed based on the recommendation.
In reference to claim 4, Mackin fails to disclose that the output system is adapted to generate a speed control signal for delivery to a vehicle speed controller.
Baumgarten discloses that an output system is adapted to generate a speed control signal for delivery to a vehicle speed controller (par. 0017, “automatically control the speed of the crop machine with reference to the detected useable material portion”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to generate a speed control signal for delivery to a vehicle speed controller with a reasonable expectation of success “in order release the driver of the machine from this responsibility” (par. 0017).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackin et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0120127).
In reference to claim 5, Mackin fails to disclose that the force sensor 134a comprises an arrangement of one or more strain gauges. However, Mackin also discloses the use of strain gauges in other parts of the invention to determine forces (par. 0038, “strain gauges to provide a signal indicative of the shear load”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a strain gauge to measure the force with a reasonable expectation of success as it amounts to a substitution of equivalents to perform the same function, which is in this case to measure a force.
In reference to claim 6, the examiner takes Official Notice that electric and optical strain gauges are known in the art. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an electric or optical strain gauge with a reasonable expectation of success as it amounts to a substitution of equivalents to perform the same function, which is in this case to function as a strain gauge.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackin et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0120127) in view of Van Hullebusch et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0164560).
In reference to claim 12, Mackin fails to disclose two or more threshing units.
Van Hullebusch discloses two threshing units 5 (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include two threshing units with a reasonable expectation of success to increase the total threshing capacity. In combination, this would result in two threshing units, wherein each threshing unit has a respective associated concave and a respective support system as set forth in claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
In reference to claim 13, Van Hullebusch discloses that the threshing units 5 comprise axial threshing cylinders (Figs. 1 and 2).
In reference to claim 14, Mackin discloses a combine harvester 102 comprising:
a crop cutting head 104;
the threshing system of claim 11 (see above).
Mackin fails to disclose a grain cleaning system for receiving the cut and threshed crop material.
Van Hullebusch discloses a grain cleaning system 8/9/10 (par. 0016) for receiving the cut and threshed crop material (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a grain cleaning system with a reasonable expectation of success so that the threshed crop material can be cleaned.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 8-10 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kemmerer (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0254233) discloses a rotary shaft 212 for adjusting a concave 130 (Fig. 3); Bergkamp (WIPO Publication No. WO 2013/082236) discloses a means for adjusting a concave 40 (Fig. 2), and Yanke et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0233663) discloses adjusting concaves 26 (Figs. 3 and 4).
/BRAD HARCOURT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
6/08/26