DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: reception section that receives..., control section that determines...control section that determines..., transmission section that transmits... in claims 6-12 respectively.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification (see repeater 13 at par [0018], base station 12 at par [0017], and radio communication system 1 at par [0015]) as performing the claimed functions, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2023/0199466 A1) and in further view of Ali et al. (US 2023/0170962 A1).
Regarding Claim 6. Wang teaches a repeater, comprising:
a reception section that receives first resource information related to a periodic resource and second resource information related to a semi-persistent resource (the SL-repeater 904 to initiate the sidelink discovery procedure to identify SL-nodes in the proximity of the SL-repeater 904 and to report the sidelink identifiers (SL-IDs) of the SL-nodes back to the base station. The base station 902 may trigger the discovery procedure in an a periodic, semi-persistent, or periodic manner. The base station 902 may provide PUSCH resources that may be used to report the discovered SL-nodes, par [0170]. Also, par [0008] teaches a transceiver to receive/transmit signals).
Wang does not teach a control section that determines a resource for a first signal to be forwarded, based on the first resource information, and determines a resource for a second signal to be forwarded, based on the second resource information.
However, Ali in a similar field of endeavor discloses a control section that determines a resource for a first signal to be forwarded, based on the first resource information, and determines a resource for a second signal to be forwarded, based on the second resource information (Configuring the smart repeater to measure and report CSI-RS for baseband capable repeaters and configure the smart repeater to map received CSI-RS beams to the transmitted/forwarded CSI-RS, pars [0116-0118] and one smart repeater can be associated with ports on a given symbol with CDM1 (e.g., first CDM code or orthogonal code), while another smart repeater can be associated with ports on the same symbol on same REs, but with a different CDM2 (e.g., second CDM code or orthogonal code). This may effectively allow the same CSI-RS patterns from a gNB and UE perspective, par [0145] and par [0168] teaches receiving feedback from the repeater node that indicates reception of one or more of the initial setup configuration and the initial access configuration (control section)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Ali in the teachings of Wang to determine the resources for forwarding different signals. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Wang/Ali to reduce overhead in signaling.
Regarding Claim 7. The combined teachings of Wang/Ali teach the repeater according to claim 6, wherein the control section determines a periodic resource for forwarding the first signal, based on the first resource information including first time-resource information and first beam information, and the control section determines a semi-persistent resource for forwarding the second signal, based on the second resource information including second time-resource information and second beam information (Ali: CSI-RS resource configured as periodic or semi- persistent by the higher-layer parameter resourceType or configured by the higher-layer parameter CSI-RS-CellMobility, the UE shall assume that the CSI-RS is transmitted in slots satisfying, par [0012], which includes time slots, par [0124] and Ali: Configuring the smart repeater to measure and report CSI-RS for baseband capable repeaters and configure the smart repeater to map received CSI-RS beams to the transmitted/forwarded CSI-RS, pars [0115-0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Ali in the teachings of Wang to determine the resources for forwarding different signals. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Wang/Ali to reduce overhead in signaling.
Regarding Claim 8. The combined teachings of Wang/Ali teach the repeater according to claim 6, wherein the reception section receives the first resource information and the second resource information via an information element for radio resource control, and the control section determines whether to use or not use a resource based on the second resource information, according to a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) (Wang: par [0067] discloses Medium Access layer which would include MAC CE).
Regarding Claim 9. The combined teachings of Wang/Ali teach the repeater according to claim 6, wherein the control section determines one resource among a plurality of resources included in a first resource set, based on the first resource information, and the control section determines one resource among a plurality of resources included in a second resource set, based on the second resource information (Wang: scheduling/allocating resources, pars [0040-0041]).
Regarding Claim 10. The combined teachings of Wang/Ali teach the repeater according to claim 6, wherein the control section determines the resource for the first signal that is a reference signal, based on the first resource information, and determines the resource for the second signal that is a reference signal, based on the second resource information (Ali: one smart repeater can be associated with ports on a given symbol with CDM1 (e.g., first CDM code or orthogonal code), while another smart repeater can be associated with ports on the same symbol on same REs, but with a different CDM2 (e.g., second CDM code or orthogonal code). This may effectively allow the same CSI-RS patterns from a gNB and UE perspective, par [0145]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Ali in the teachings of Wang to determine the resources for forwarding different signals. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Wang/Ali to reduce overhead in signaling.
Regarding Claim 11, this apparatus (base station) claim comprises limitations(s) substantially the same, as those discussed in claim 1 above, same rationale of rejection is applicable. The combined teachings of Wang/Ali teach a base station (Wang: par [0007]).
Regarding Claim 12, this system (radio system) claim comprises limitations(s) substantially the same, as those discussed in claims 1 and 11 above, same rationale of rejection is applicable. The combined teachings of Wang/Ali teach a system (Wang: par [0028]).
Regarding Claim 13, this method claim comprises limitations(s) substantially the same, as those discussed in claim 1 above, same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY MEJIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451