DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claim rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends that Tawara does not disclose determining possibility of gripping by searching the gripping position and posture using the priority gripping position and posture as a starting point. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Tawara in para. 210 discloses when there is determined to be interference with the hand with a surrounding object then keeping the holding position the same and changing at least either the position or orientation of the hand before performing another interference determination. This is equivalent to the claimed using the priority gripping position and posture as a start point based on a predetermined rule as it keeps the holding the position the same and changes just the position or orientation of the hand.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to provisional double patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. The provisional double patenting has been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: storing unit, matching unit, model positioning unit, and grip determining unit in claim 1; obstacle information generating unit in claim 6; and release determining unit in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tawara (US 2022/0016784).
As per claim 1, Tawara discloses a workpiece pick-up system comprising:
a three-dimensional measuring instrument configured to measure a shape of a workpiece (see at least ¶102 for acquiring three-dimensional shape data of each of the workpieces WK from image captured by sensor 2);
a robot including a hand for gripping the workpiece (see at least ¶90-91 for robot RBT with hand HND for holding workpiece WK); and
a control device configured to control the robot to pick up the workpiece based on a measurement result of the three-dimensional measuring instrument (see at least ¶97 for robot controller 6 for controlling robot), the control device comprising:
a storing unit configured to store a workpiece model obtained by modeling a three- dimensional shape of the workpiece and a hand model obtained by modeling a three- dimensional shape of the hand (see at least ¶119-122 for workpiece model input part 302 for inputting a workpiece model and registration part 302 for registering a hand model and storage in storage part 320);
a matching unit configured to identify a position and a posture of the workpiece by performing a matching process between the measurement result of the three-dimensional measuring instrument and the workpiece model (see at least ¶201-204 for determining position and orientation of workpiece using three-dimensional measurement of the workspace and workpiece model);
a model positioning unit configured to position the workpiece model in a virtual space in the position and the posture identified by the matching unit (see at least ¶204-207 for identifying position and orientation of workpiece model based on three-dimensional search and determining whether the hand model interferes with surrounding objects at a particular holding position); and
a grip determining unit configured to position the hand model in the virtual space and determine a gripping position and posture that are a position and a posture of the hand when the hand grips the workpiece, based on a relationship between the hand model and the workpiece model that are positioned in the virtual space (see at least ¶138 for setting the holding position and orientation of the hand model while adjusting the position of the hand model with respect to the workpiece model), wherein
the storing unit stores a priority gripping position and posture set as a prioritized relative position and posture of the hand model with respect to the workpiece model (see at least ¶137-138 for selecting the surface of the workpiece model to be held and registering the position and orientation of the hand when holding the selected surface), and
in a case where the grip determining unit, in determining possibility of gripping in the priority gripping position and pose, determines that gripping is impossible, the grip determining unit determines possibility of gripping in a position and a posture modified from the priority gripping position and posture by searching for the gripping position and posture using the priority gripping position and posture as a starting point based on a predetermined rule (see at least ¶208-210 for when interference of a position and orientation of a hand at a holding position is determined with a surrounding object then keep the holding position the same and change the position or orientation of the hand before rechecking interference; wherein the predetermined rule is implied by keeping the holding position the same and changing the position or orientation of the hand).
As per claim 5, Tawara further discloses wherein the model positioning unit positions the workpiece model of the workpiece as a pick-up target and a workpiece model of a workpiece other than the pick-up target in the virtual space, and the grip determining unit determines the gripping position and posture such that the hand model does not interfere with the workpiece model of the workpiece other than the pick-up target (see at least ¶207 for determining whether or not the hand model interferes with a surrounding object including workpiece WK other than an object to be held).
As per claim 6, Tawara further discloses wherein the control device further comprises an obstacle information generating unit configured to generate obstacle information excluding information corresponding to the grippable area from the measurement result of the three-dimensional measuring instrument (see at least ¶102 for determining three-dimensional shape of container BX), and the grip determining unit determines the gripping position and posture such that the hand model does not interfere with a shape indicated by the obstacle information (see at least ¶207 for determining whether or not the hand model interferes with a surrounding object including container BX).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tawara in view of Nakao (Applicant submitted machine translation of JP2021091056).
As per claim 7, Tawara is silent regarding, but Nakao teaches wherein the control device further comprises a release determining unit configured to determine a release position and posture that are a position and a posture of the hand when the hand releases the workpiece picked up, based on the gripping position and posture determined by the grip determining unit (see at least para. 111-113 for generating place position and orientation corresponding to grip candidate position and posture).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Tawara with the features of Nakao in order to reduce the burden on a user by automatically determining a place position for placing the workpiece in a unique position and orientation for each of a plurality of gripping solutions.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tawara in view of Endo (“Virtual Grasping Assessment using 3D Digital Hand Model”).
As per claim 8, Tawara is silent regarding wherein the grip determining unit determines the gripping position and posture based on a size of a contact area between the workpiece model and the hand model.
However, Endo teaches a solution to semi-automatically grasp a virtual object with a virtual hand model by generating a grasp to maximize the contract between the hand and the object (see at least section 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Tawara with the features of Endo because maximizing the contact area provides for a more stable grasp.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT T NGUYEN/PRIMARY EXAMINER, Art Unit 3619