DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “its printing position” and “the effective range of the printing unit” lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Further, “at least substantially in the vertical direction, preferably in the vertical direction” is improper.
Moreover, “respective ones of the locking means” could be ambiguous. Call out the first and third locking means when referring to the first holding means, and call out the second and fourth locking means when referring to the second holding means.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (2007/0146415) in view of Terada et al. (2005/0002005).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches a base body 102/all housing components, a printing unit 10, a second holding means 60 for transporting material web into a printing zone movable along parallel guide rails 150/120 extending under an angle of 10 to 35 degrees into and out of a printing position, the second holding means having guide elements 61, see fig. 9, a first holding means 90 also movable into and out of proximity with the printing unit, wherein each of the first and second holding means can be in rest positions and printing positions, locking means for fixing each of the first and second holding means constituted by any number of transmission parts that, when not moving, lock the first and second holding members at their current positions the first holding means is movable in a substantially vertical direction by a motorized lifting system (see fig. 3, [0038]), the first holding means is an ink catching device 90.
Jung does not teach wherein the platen 60 is a suction table. Terada teaches a platen suction table (Terada, [0091]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the first and second holding member architecture of Jung to the suction platen printer disclosed by Terada because doing so would allow for maintenance of the printhead by the first holding member when the second holding member of Terada was at a rest position.
Regarding claim 2, Jung in view of Terada teaches the printing system according to claim 1, the first holding means in the printing position can be blocked against movement by first locking means attached to the support frame, which are designed to engage third locking means attached to the first holding means, and that the second holding means in the printing position can be blocked against movement by second locking means attached to the support frame, which are designed to engage fourth locking means attached to the second holding means (Jung, see figs. 1-9, rejection of claim 1. Again, note that “block movement” has not been defined. Here, the holding means are both blocked from movement when they are stationary by all of the other components that would otherwise be driving their movements).
Regarding claim 4, Jung in view of Terada teaches the printing system according to claim 3, the guide rails extend horizontally in or against the transport direction of the material web at least in the effective range of the printing unit (see figs. 1-9).
Regarding claim 5, Jung in view of Terada teaches the printing system according to claim 3, the guide elements comprise wheels mounted on the second holding means (Jung, see figs. 1-9).
Regarding claim 7, Jung in view of Terada teaches the printing system according to claim 1, the ink catching device comprises an endless conveyor belt running between two deflection rollers for catching and removing ink drops passing through a mesh-like material web during printing, as well as two guide edges arranged transversely to the transport direction of the material web and on opposite sides of the conveyor belt, such that the mesh-like material web can be guided in the transport direction of the material web at a distance greater than zero from the section of the conveyor belt facing the mesh-like material web when the mesh-like material web is under tension in the transport direction, wherein the conveyor belt can be driven at least by one of the two deflection rollers, which is connected to a motor (Jung, see figs. 1-9, rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Jung in view of Terada teaches the printing system according to claim 7, the ink catching device comprises a cleaning unit for removing ink from the conveyor belt (Jung, see figs. 1-, rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Jung in view of Terada teaches the printing system according to claim 8, the cleaning unit comprises a blade with a cutting edge, wherein the cleaning unit is arranged at one of the deflection rollers such that when the conveyor belt runs over at least one deflection roller and ink drops collected on the conveyor belt harden or dry, the cutting edge can scrape off hardened or dried ink drops from the conveyor belt (Jung, see figs. 1-9, rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Jung in view of Terada teaches the printing system according to claim 1, the base body comprises at least one plate facing the printing unit in the inlet and/or outlet area of the printing unit, which at least partially encloses the effective range of the printing unit and forms an upper side of the base body, wherein the plate comprises a flap in the inlet or outlet area that can be opened away from the effective range of the printing unit, which can be moved between a closed position and an opened position, such that in the opened position access to the second rest position under the flap is provided to the second holding means, and in the closed position access to the second rest position is blocked by the flap (Jung, see figs. 1-9, rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Jung in view of Terada teaches the printing system according to claim 7, the mesh-like material web is a mesh material web (Jung, see figs. 1-9, rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Jung in view of Terada teaches the printing system according to claim 1, the guide edges of the ink catching device or the surface of the suction table subjected to negative pressure, when the ink catching device or the suction table is brought into the printing position, are arranged higher than the surface of the plate facing the preferably printing unit (Jung, see figs. 1-9, rejection of claim 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853