DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed September 5, 2024. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
This application claims priority to
Drawings
The drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because the claim does not end in a period (see MPEP 608.01(m)). This objection may be overcome by inserting a period at the conclusion of Claim 39.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
35 U.S.C. § 101 requires that to be patent-eligible, an invention (1) must be directed to one of the four statutory categories, and (2) must not be wholly directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception. M.P.E.P. § 2106. Regarding judicial exceptions, “[p]henomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.” Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972); see also M.P.E.P. § 2106, part II.
Based upon consideration of the claims as a whole, as well as consideration of elements/steps recited in addition to the judicial exception, the present claims fail to meet the elements required for patent eligibility.
Question 1
The claimed invention is directed to a process that involves a natural principle and a judicial exception.
Question 2A Prong I
The claims are taken to be directed to an abstract idea, a law of nature and a natural phenomenon.
Claim 15 is directed to “a method of screening a subject having cancer for potential responsiveness to treatment with a PTPRD-targeted therapeutic and/or an immune checkpoint blockade”.
Claim 15 is directed to a process that involves the judicial exceptions of an abstract idea (i.e. the abstract steps of “identifying the subject having cancer as potentially responsive to treatment with a PTPRD-targeted therapeutic and/or an immune checkpoint blockade”) and a law of nature/natural phenomenon (i.e. the natural correlation between the structural variant and potentially responsive to treatment with a PTPRD-targeted therapeutic and/or an immune checkpoint blockade).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons that follow.
Herein, claims 15-20 involve the patent-ineligible concept of an abstract process. Claim 15 requires performing the step of conditionally “identifying the subject as potentially responsive to treatment with a PTPRD-targeted therapeutic and/or an immune checkpoint blockade”. Neither the specification nor the claims set forth a limiting definition for "identifying" and the claims do not set forth how “identifying” is accomplished. As broadly recited the identifying step may be accomplished mentally by thinking about a subject’s structural variant status and assessing whether the subject is potentially responsive to treatment with a PTPRD-targeted therapeutic and/or an immune checkpoint blockade. Thus, the determining step constitutes an abstract process idea.
A correlation that preexists in the human is an unpatentable phenomenon. The association between structural variant and potentially responsive to treatment with a PTPRD-targeted therapeutic and/or an immune checkpoint blockade is a law of nature/natural phenomenon. The "identiyfing" step which tells users of the process to predict responsive to treatment with a PTPRD-targeted therapeutic and/or an immune checkpoint blockade, amounts to no more than an "instruction to apply the natural law". This identifying step is no more than a mental step. Even if the step requires something more such as to verbalize the discovery of the natural law, this mere verbalization is not an application of the law of nature to a new and useful end. The " identifying" step does not require the process user to do anything in light of the correlation. The " identifying " step fails to provide the “practical assurance” sought by the Prometheus Court that the “process is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the law of nature itself.”
Question 2A Prong II
The exception is not integrated into a practical application of the exception. The claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. While the claim recites determining whether the subject comprises at least one structural variant in the genome of the subject, this is not an integration of the exception into a practical application. Instead, these elements are data gathering required to perform the method. Thus, the claim is “directed to” the exception.
Question 2B
The second step of Alice involves determining whether the remaining elements, either in isolation or combination with the other non patent ineligible elements, are sufficient to “’transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent eligible application” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1297).
The claims are not sufficiently defined to provide a method which is significantly more from a statement of a natural principle for at least these reasons:
The claims do not include applying the judicial exception, or by use of, a particular machine. The claims do not tie the steps to a “particular machine" and therefore do not meet the machine or transformation test on these grounds. The use of machines generally does not impose a meaningful limit on claim scope.
The claims also do not add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field. Determining whether the subject comprises a structural variant is mere data gathering step that amounts to extra solution activity to the judicial exception. It merely tells the users of the method to determine the biomarkers of a sample without further specification as to how the sample should be analyzed. The claim does not recite a new, innovative method for such determination. The determining step essentially tells users to determine the markers through whatever known processes they wish to use.
The step of determining a structural variant was well known in the art at the time the invention was made. The steps are recited at a high level of generality. The claim merely instructs a scientist to use any determinization method. The claim does not require the use of any particular non-conventional reagents. When recited at this high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation that distinguishes this step from well understood, routine and conventional activities engaged in by scientists prior to applicant’s invention and at the time the application was filed.
Additionally, the teachings in the specification demonstrate the well understood, routine, and conventional nature of additional elements because it teaches that the additional elements were well known. Specifically, the specification teaches the nucleic acid analysis may be performed using “any suitable process” (page 31, lines 30-35). The specification contemplates PCR, microarray, FISH, for example. The specification lists a page of sequencing platforms known in the art at the time the invention was made.
Further it is noted that the courts have recognized the following laboratory techniques as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
Analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants, Genetic Techs., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546;
Amplifying and sequencing nucleic acid sequences, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 764, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
For these reasons the claims are rejected under section 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-Description
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are broadly drawn to methods which comprise identifying any structurally undefined structural variant in the genome where the structural variant or a breakpoint of the structural variant is associated with or adjacent to at least one gene selected from PTPRD, CD274 and CD273 which possess the functionality of being associated with treating cancer, specially breast cancer or screening a subject for responsiveness to treatment with a PTPRD-targeted therapeutic.
Relevant to the lack of particular structural limitations in the rejected claims drawn to nucleic acids, MPEP 2163 states:
The claimed invention as a whole may not be adequately described if the claims require an essential or critical feature which is not adequately described in the specification and which is not conventional in the art or known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 94 USPQ 2d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 2010) recently re-affirmed the written description requirement. Ariad reiterates that “the hallmark of written description is disclosure" and “possession as shown in the disclosure” is a more complete formulation of the test for written description. Ariad considers situations of genus claims and states that the written description requirement ensure that "when a patent claims a genus by its function or result, the specification recites sufficient materials to accomplish that function."
In the case of the instant claims, the functionality of identifying structural variants or a breakpoint of the structural variant diagnostic of cancer is a critical feature of the claimed methods.
The specification teaches identifying a intergenic break in triple negative breast cancer.
However, it is not clear that all structural variants or breast points involving PTPRD, CD274, CD273 are associated with cancer. The specification does not describe which structural variants are associated with which cancers (see Claim 4, for example).
The specification defines “associated with” to mean that two features are connected in some regard (page 8, lines 24-30). The specification does not teach a representative number of structural variants “associated with” the recited genes.
The specification defines “adjacent” as a structural variant being outside of or adjacent to a gene such as PTPRD, CD274 and CD273 (page 8, lines 34- page 9). The specification teaches the structural variant can contain the gene, such as an inversion or the gene, an insertion of the gene, a duplication of the gene or can contain a portion of the gene (page 9, lines 1-5). The specification does not describe any particular structural variants.
Given the guidance in the specification and what was taught in the art prior to the invention, the skilled artisan would be unable to predictably correlate structural changes of a structural variant associated with or adjacent to at least one of PTPRD, CD274 or CD273. The specification does not provide an association with cancer or responsiveness to treatment of structural variants associated with or adjacent to at least one of PTPRD, CD274 or CD273, simply based on their existence.
In analyzing whether the written description requirement is met for a genus claim, it is first determined whether a representative number of species have been described by their complete structure. The single species provided in Table 9 is not representative of the enormous genus of structural variants claimed. There is substantial variability among the species of DNAs encompassed within the scope of the claims because SEQ ID NO: 29 is only a fragment of any full-length gene or cDNA species. The genus includes an enormous number of variants, polymorphisms and mutations including SNPs, insertions, deletions, breakpoints, translocations, inversions, duplications for which no written description is provided in the specification. No structural limitations or requirements which provide guidance on the identification of sequences which meet the functional limitations of diagnosing cancer or determining the subject is responsive to therapy is provided. The specification provides no correlation between the structure of the recited structural variants and the claimed function of such variants.. Therefore, the specification fails to teach how to distinguish members of the claimed genus of structural variants which possess the claimed functionality from non members.
The general knowledge and level of skill in the art do not supplement the omitted description because specific, not general guidance is what is needed. Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes or characteristics that identify members of the genus, and because the genus is highly variant, variants of PTPRD, CD274, CD273 gene alone is insufficient to describe the genus. The general knowledge in the art concerning variants does not provide any indication of how the structure of one allele is representative of unknown alleles. The nature of alleles is such that they are variant structures, and in the present state of the art the structure of one does not provide guidance to the structure of others. The common attributes are not described. The specification provides no correlation between structure of polymorphisms and the function of such polymorphisms. One of skill in the art would conclude that applicant was not in possession of the claimed genus because a description of only one member of this genus is not representative of the variants of the genus and is insufficient to support the claim.
Thus considering the breadth of the structural variants required by the claimed methods, their specific required functionalities, and the teachings of the instant specification, it is the conclusion that the specification does not provide an adequate written description of the broadly claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murugesan et al. (US 2024/0410016, provisional Oct 12, 2021).
Murugesan teaches CD274 rearrangements as predictors of response to immune checkpoint inhibitor therapy. Murugesan teaches methods of analyzing a subject for the presence or absence of a CD274 nucleic acid rearrangement listed in Table 1.
With respect to Claim 3, 10, 17, Murugesan teaches analyzing the sequences using sequencing which preserves spatial-proximal contiguity information. The sequencing may be MPS, WGS, whole exome sequencing, next generation sequencing, for example (para 59).
With respect to Claims 4-5,11-12, 18-19, Murugesan teaches the cancer is breast cancer (para 32, 33, 76).
With respect to Claims 6, 13, 20, Murugesan teaches the (a) the PD-1 inhibitor comprises one or more of nivolumab, pembrolizumab, cemiplimab, or dostarlimab; (b) the PD-L1-inhibitor comprises one or more of atezolizumab, avelumab, or durvalumab; (c) the CTLA-4 inhibitor comprises ipilimumab (para 94).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11-12, 14-16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dong (US 2017/0173030, June 22, 2017).
With respect to Claims 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, Dong teaches methods of treating a subject that has or is suspected of having cancer by analyzing the subject for a structural variant in CD274. Dong teaches analyzing B7-H1 (CD274) mRNA levels from cancer and administering a treatment. Dong teaches identifying an elevated level and treating the patients with a molecule that can interfere with the interaction between B7-H1 and DNA PKcs (para 29).
With respect to Claims 4-5, 11-12, 18-19, Dong teaches the cancer may be breast cancer (para 7).
With respect to Claims 7 and 14, Dong teaches administering an anti-B7-H1 blocking antibody ( a PD-1 receptor mediated pathway inhibitor)(para 7, 56, 78).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (US 2017/0173030, June 22, 2017) in view of Tracon Pharmaceuticals (WO2018/187158, October 11, 2018).
Dong teaches methods of treating a subject that has or is suspected of having cancer by analyzing the subject for a structural variant in CD274. Dong teaches analyzing B7-H1 (CD274) mRNA levels from cancer and administering a treatment. Dong teaches identifying an elevated level and treating the patients with a molecule that can interfere with the interaction between B7-H1 and DNA PKcs (para 29). Dong teaches the cancer may be breast cancer (para 7). Dong teaches administering an anti-B7-H1 blocking antibody (a PD-1 receptor mediated pathway inhibitor)(para 7, 56, 78).
Dong does not teach administering pembrolizumab, pidilizumab, BMS-936559.
However, Tracon Pharmaceuticals teaches administering anti-endoglin ab in combination with an anti-PD-1 antibody to treat cancers (abstract). Tracon teaches administering atezolizumab (para 222, 233), for example.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made to have administered both a PD-1 receptor medicated pathway inhibitor and an anti-endoglin ab such as atezolizumab to improve median overall survival (OS) versus single agent chemotherapy.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, 20 of copending Application No. 18/844,261 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because Claims 1-20 of the instant application is generic to all that is recited in claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, 20 of copending Application No. 18/844,261 (reference application). That is, claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/844,261 (reference application) falls entirely within the scope of Claims 1-20, or in other words, Claims 1-20 are anticipated by claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, 20 of copending Application No. 18/844,261 (reference application). Here, claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, 20 copending Application No. 18/844,261 (reference application) are directed to the analysis of CD274 and/or CD273. This is not a statutory rejection because the instant claims also encompass PTPRD.
Conclusion
No claims allowable.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schmitt (US 2025/0197942, June 19, 2025, provisional March 7, 2022) teaches methods of treating subjects with structural variants of CD274 with a PD-1 receptor mediated pathway inhibitor. It is noted that the inventive entity is the same.
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682
September 18, 2026