Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/05/2024 and 07/30/2025 have been received and considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of an undue length of 203 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 10, line 2 “an spring” should be “[[an]] a spring”
In claim 15, line 8 “when the second cleaner is coupled to the housing;;” should be “when the second cleaner is coupled to the housing;[[;]]”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hackert (US Pub. No. 2020/0329933) in view of Lee (US Pub. No. 2010/0251504).
Regarding claim 1, Hackert discloses: a cleaner station (Figure 1 element 10 and see also paragraph 0037) comprising:
a housing (elements 40/50) configured to be coupled to or uncoupled from each of a first cleaner (element 30) and a second cleaner (element 20);
a first cleaner flow path (element 50F) disposed in the housing (see figure 1) and connected to a dust bin (element 30C) of the first cleaner when the first cleaner is coupled to the housing (see figure 1);
a second cleaner flow path (element 40F) disposed in the housing (see figure 1) and connected to a dust bin (element 20C) of the second cleaner when the second cleaner is coupled to the housing (see figure 1); and
a flow path switch (element 10E) configured to connect a dust collector (element 50G), which is disposed in the housing (see figure 1), selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see figure 1 and see also paragraph 0108).
Furthermore, Hackert discloses utilizing a different means of the flow path switch in the form of “a shut-off flap or a (butterfly) valve” (see paragraph 0108) being operably connected to the dust collector of the housing and first/second flow paths (see figure 1). However, Hackert appears to be silent wherein the flow path switch comprises: a casing having a space therein and having a first cleaner flow path connection opening connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second cleaner flow path connection opening connected to the second cleaner flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the connection hose being selectively coupled to one of the first cleaner flow path connection opening or the second cleaner flow path connection opening based on movement of the inlet ;a first link rotatably coupled to the casing and having an end coupled to first side of the connection hose; and a second link rotatably coupled to the casing and having an end coupled to a second side of the connection hose.
Lee is also concerned in providing a cleaner having a flow path switch (Figures 1-5 and see also paragraph 0044) that may be adapted in a variety of different apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths (see paragraph 0101), the cleaner comprising a first cleaner flow path (element 210), a second flow path (element 220), and a flow path switch (element 201a/201b/230/250/260/270/271/275/280) the selectively connect a third flow path (element 112) to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see paragraphs 0062/0063). Lee further teaches wherein the flow path switch comprises:
a casing (element 201a/201b/230) having a space (see figure 2 annotated below Detail A) therein and having a first cleaner flow path connection opening (element 212) connected to the first cleaner flow path (see figure 1-2), and a second cleaner flow path connection opening (element 222) connected to the second cleaner flow path (see figure 1-2);
a connection hose (element 270) having an inlet (element 271 and see also figures 4-5 annotated below Detail B) configured to move along an inner peripheral surface (see figures 4-5 annotated below Detail C) of the casing, the connection hose being selectively coupled to one of the first cleaner flow path connection opening (see figure 5 annotated below showing the connection hose (element 270) being fluidly coupled (see arrow) to the first cleaner flow path (element 210) which would necessarily have the connection hose be coupled to the first cleaner flow path connection opening (see figure 2 element 212) in order for a flow to pass) or the second cleaner flow path connection opening based on movement of the inlet (see figure 4 annotated below showing the connection hose (element 270) being fluidly coupled (see arrow) to the second cleaner flow path (element 220) which would necessarily have the connection hose be coupled to the second cleaner flow path connection opening (see figure 2 element 222) in order for a flow to pass);
a first link (elements 250/260/280) rotatably coupled to the casing (see figures 4-5 showing portions (elements 250/260) being rotatably coupled to the casing via element 203 and see also paragraph 0064) and having an end coupled to first side of the connection hose (see figure 2 showing a top end of element 250 being coupled to a bottom side (first side) of the connection hose (element 270)); and
a second link (element 275) rotatably coupled to the casing (see figures 4-5 showing the second link being rotatably coupled to the casing via elements 234/235 and see also paragraph 0055) and having an end coupled to a second side of the connection hose (see figures 4-5 showing an end of the of element 275 being operably coupled to a top side (second side) of the connection hose (element 270)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the flow path switch that connects a path selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path of Hackert with the flow path switch that connects a path selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path of Lee in order to provide wherein the flow path switch comprises: a casing having a space therein and having a first cleaner flow path connection opening connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second cleaner flow path connection opening connected to the second cleaner flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the connection hose being selectively coupled to one of the first cleaner flow path connection opening or the second cleaner flow path connection opening based on movement of the inlet ;a first link rotatably coupled to the casing and having an end coupled to first side of the connection hose; and a second link rotatably coupled to the casing and having an end coupled to a second side of the connection hose, since simple substitution of known elements for another to obtain a predictable results of coupling two different parts. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known flow path switch with the claimed structure would necessarily allow the cleaner station to continue to operate as intended in order to control the air flow by connecting selectively the first or second fluid path to the dust collector. Additionally, it would also provide added feature of having the path selecting unit isolates different paths from each other, decrease of fluid pressure during path diversion may be reduced and the path selecting unit is easy to maintain, since it is possible to repair the path selecting unit by separating the casing cover on one side as disclosed by Lee (see paragraphs 0103/0105) (See MPEP 2143.1(B)).
Regarding claim 2, Hackert modified discloses: the cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the connection hose is spaced apart from the inner peripheral surface of the casing while the connection hose moves between the first cleaner flow path connection opening or the second cleaner flow path connection opening (see figure 1 of prior art Lee, showing the connection hose (element 270) bottom end being directly connected to element 250, thus as best shown in figure 4 and 5 annotated above, the connection hose (element 270) is spaced apart from the inner peripheral surface (Detail C) of the casing while the connection hose moves between the first cleaner flow path connection opening (element 212) and the second cleaner flow path connection opening (element 222)).
Regarding claim 3, Hackert modified discloses: the cleaner station of claim 1, one of a rotary shaft (see figure 5 annotated below of prior art Lee, element 282) of the first link or a rotary shaft of the second link is disposed to be spaced apart from a central axis of the casing (see figure 5 annotated below of prior art Lee, showing the rotary shaft (element 282) of the first link spaced apart from a central axis (Detail A) of the casing).
Regarding claim 4, Hackert modified discloses: the cleaner station of claim 1, wherein a first trajectory (see figures 4-5 annotated below of prior art Lee showing the arrow that shows a portion (element 260) of the first link swinging left to right (figure 4) and right to left (figure 5), thus the combination of those swinging motions define a first trajectory), which corresponds to a movement of an end (see figures 4-5 annotated below of prior art Lee, Detail A) of the first link, intersects, at least twice, an imaginary reference circle that is concentric with the inner peripheral surface of the casing (see figures 4-5 annotated below of prior art Lee showing a portion (element 260) of the first link having different portions intersecting an imaginary reference circle (Detail B) at different movement positions (first movement position in figure 4 and second movement position in figure 5), thus the first link would necessarily intersect the imaginary reference circle at least twice).
Regarding claim 5, Hackert modified discloses: the cleaner station of claim 1, wherein a second trajectory (see figures 4-5 annotated below of prior art Lee showing the arrow that shows a portion of the second link (element 275), which corresponds to a movement of an end (see figures 4-5 annotated below of prior art Lee, Detail A) of the second link, intersects, at least twice, an imaginary reference circle that is concentric with the inner peripheral surface of the casing (see figures 4-5 annotated below of prior art Lee showing a different portions of the second link (element 275) intersecting an imaginary reference circle (Detail B) at different movement positions (first movement position in figure 4 and second movement position in figure 5), thus the second link would necessarily intersect the imaginary reference circle at least twice).
Regarding claim 6, Hackert modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein a radius of curvature of the inner peripheral surface of the casing is smaller than a radius of curvature defined by a trajectory of the inlet of the connection hose.
However, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hackert to provide wherein a radius of curvature of the inner peripheral surface of the casing is smaller than a radius of curvature defined by a trajectory of the inlet of the connection hose, since such modification would involve a mere change in the size of the component. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known flow path switch with the claimed structure would necessarily allow the cleaner station to continue to operate as intended in order to control the air flow by connecting selectively the first or second fluid path to the dust collector while also providing a more compact device (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(A)). Furthermore, the applicant has failed to place any criticality on the claimed radius of curvature of the inner peripheral surface being smaller than the radius of curvature defined by the trajectory of the inlet provides any unexpected result, indicating simply that radius of curvature “may be” smaller and also offers other acceptable radius of curvatures that may be larger (see paragraph 0219 of the specification).
Regarding claim 7, Hackert modified discloses: the cleaner station of claim 1, wherein a connection region (see figure 5 annotated below of prior art Lee, Detail A) between the first link and the casing is disposed opposite to a connection region (see figure 5 annotated below of prior art Lee, Detail A) between the first link and the connection hose based on an imaginary line (see figure 5 annotated below of prior art Lee, X-X Line) extending in a longitudinal direction of the connection hose (see figure 5 annotated below of prior art Lee, showing the connection region of Detail A above and the connection region of Detail B below based on the imaginary line (X-X Line), thus being disposed opposite of each other).
Regarding claim 8, Hackert modified discloses: the cleaner station of claim 1, wherein a length of the first link is greater than a length of the second link (see figure 5 annotated below of prior art Lee, showing a length (Detail A) of a portion of the first link being greater than a length (Detail B) of the second link).
Regarding claim 9, Hackert modified discloses: the cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the first link intersects the second link when the flow path switch is viewed from one side see figure 5 annotated below of prior art Lee, showing the first link having a hook portion that a portion of the second link hooks on (see box labeled intersect portion), thus a portion of the first link intersects a portion of the second link when the flow path switch is viewed from one side).
Regarding claim 15, Hackert discloses: a cleaner station (Figure 1 element 10 and see also paragraph 0037) comprising:
a housing (elements 40/50) configured to be coupled to or uncoupled from each of a first cleaner (element 30) and a second cleaner (element 20);
a first cleaner flow path (element 50F) disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin (element 30C) of the first cleaner when the first cleaner is coupled to the housing (see figure 1);
a second cleaner flow path (element 40F) disposed in the housing (see figure 1) and connected to a dust bin (element 20C) of the second cleaner when the second cleaner is coupled to the housing (see figure 1); and
a flow path switch (element 10E) configured to connect a dust collector (element 50G), which is disposed in the housing (see figure 1), selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see figure 1 and see also paragraph 0108).
Furthermore, Hackert discloses utilizing a different means of the flow path switch in the form of “a shut-off flap or a (butterfly) valve” (see paragraph 0108) being operably connected to the dust collector of the housing and first/second flow paths (see figure 1). However, Hackert appears to be silent wherein the flow path switch comprises: a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection opening connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second cleaner flow path connection opening connected to the second cleaner flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the inlet of the connection hose being selectively coupled to one of the first cleaner flow path connection opening or the second cleaner flow path connection opening, and wherein the connection hose is spaced apart from the inner peripheral surface of the casing while the connection hose moves between the first cleaner flow path connection opening and the second cleaner flow path connection opening.
Lee is also concerned in providing a cleaner having a flow path switch (Figures 1-5 and see also paragraph 0044) that may be adapted in a variety of different apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths (see paragraph 0101), the cleaner comprising a first cleaner flow path (element 210), a second flow path (element 220), and a flow path switch (elements 201a/201b/230/250/260/270/271/275/280) the selectively connect a third flow path (element 112) to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see paragraphs 0062/0063). Lee further teaches wherein the flow path switch comprises:
a casing (element 201a/201b/230) having a first cleaner flow path connection opening (element 212) connected to the first cleaner flow path (see figure 1-2), and a second cleaner flow path connection opening (element 222) connected to the second cleaner flow path (see figure 1-2);
a connection hose (element 270) having an inlet (element 271 and see also figures 4-5 annotated below Detail B) configured to move along an inner peripheral surface (see figures 4-5 annotated below Detail C) of the casing, the inlet of the connection hose being selectively coupled to one of the first cleaner flow path connection opening (see figure 5 annotated below showing the connection hose (element 270) which comprises the inlet (Detail B) being fluidly coupled (see arrow) to the first cleaner flow path (element 210) which would necessarily have the inlet of the connection hose be coupled to the first cleaner flow path connection opening (see figure 2 element 212) in order for a flow to pass) or the second cleaner flow path connection opening (see figure 4 annotated below showing the connection hose (element 270) which comprises the inlet (Detail B), being fluidly coupled (see arrow) to the second cleaner flow path (element 220) which would necessarily have the inlet of the connection hose be coupled to the second cleaner flow path connection opening (see figure 2 element 222) in order for a flow to pass), and
wherein the connection hose is spaced apart from the inner peripheral surface of the casing while the connection hose moves between the first cleaner flow path connection opening and the second cleaner flow path connection opening (see figure 1 of prior art Lee, showing the connection hose (element 270) bottom end being directly connected to element 250, thus as best shown in figure 4 and 5 annotated above, the connection hose (element 270) is spaced apart from the inner peripheral surface (Detail C) of the casing while the connection hose moves between the first cleaner flow path connection opening (element 212) and the second cleaner flow path connection opening (element 222)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the flow path switch that connects a path selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path of Hackert with the flow path switch that connects a path selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path of Lee in order to provide wherein the flow path switch comprises: a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection opening connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second cleaner flow path connection opening connected to the second cleaner flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the inlet of the connection hose being selectively coupled to one of the first cleaner flow path connection opening or the second cleaner flow path connection opening, and wherein the connection hose is spaced apart from the inner peripheral surface of the casing while the connection hose moves between the first cleaner flow path connection opening and the second cleaner flow path connection opening, since simple substitution of known elements for another to obtain a predictable results of coupling two different parts. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known flow path switch with the claimed structure would necessarily allow the cleaner station to continue to operate as intended in order to control the air flow by connecting selectively the first or second fluid path to the dust collector. Additionally, it would also provide added feature of having the path selecting unit isolates different paths from each other, decrease of fluid pressure during path diversion may be reduced and the path selecting unit is easy to maintain, since it is possible to repair the path selecting unit by separating the casing cover on one side as disclosed by Lee (see paragraphs 0103/0105) (See MPEP 2143.1(B)).
Regarding claim 16, Hackert modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein the flow path switch comprises a plurality of links rotatably coupled to the casing, and each having an end coupled to the connection hose.
Lee is also concerned in providing a cleaner having a flow path switch (Figures 1-5 and see also paragraph 0044) that may be adapted in a variety of different apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths (see paragraph 0101), the cleaner comprising a first cleaner flow path (element 210), a second flow path (element 220), and a flow path switch (elements 201a/201b/230/250/260/270/271/275/280) the selectively connect a third flow path (element 112) to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see paragraphs 0062/0063). Lee further teaches wherein the flow path switch comprises a plurality of links (elements 250/260/275/280) rotatably coupled to the casing (see figures 4-5 showing portions (elements 250/260) of the first link being rotatably coupled to the casing via element 203 and see also paragraph 0064, see figures 4-5 showing the second link being rotatably coupled to the casing via elements 234/235 and see also paragraph 0055), and each having an end coupled to the connection hose (see figure 2 showing a top end of element 250 (portion of link) being coupled to a bottom side of the connection hose (element 270) and an end of the of element 275 (link) being operably coupled to a top side (second side) of the connection hose (element 270)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hackert to incorporate the teachings of Lee to provide wherein the flow path switch comprises a plurality of links rotatably coupled to the casing, and each having an end coupled to the connection hose. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a known linkage connection means coupling the casing and connection hose would necessarily provide rigid links in order to transform and transmit motion or force without the need of complex electronics.
Regarding claim 17, Hackert modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 16, but appears to be silent wherein one of the plurality of links is configured such that a radius of curvature of a trajectory along which the end of the one of the plurality of links moves is larger than a radius of curvature of the inner peripheral surface of the casing.
However, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hackert to provide wherein one of the plurality of links is configured such that a radius of curvature of a trajectory along which the end of the one of the plurality of links moves is larger than a radius of curvature of the inner peripheral surface of the casing. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known flow path switch with the claimed structure would necessarily allow the cleaner station to continue to operate as intended in order to control the air flow by connecting selectively the first or second fluid path to the dust collector while also providing a more compact device (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(A)). Furthermore, the applicant has failed to place any criticality on the claimed radius of curvature of a trajectory along which the end of the one of the plurality of links moves is larger than a radius of curvature of the inner peripheral surface of the casing inlet provides any unexpected result, indicating simply that radius of curvature “may be” larger (see paragraph 0222 of the specification).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hackert (US Pub. No. 2020/0329933) in view of Lee (US Pub. No. 2010/0251504) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Loveless (US Patent No. 3,762,664).
Regarding claim 11, Hackert modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein the flow path switch comprises: a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power to move the connection hose; and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power generated by the switching motor to the first link.
Loveless is also concerned in providing a flow path switch (Figures 1-12 and see also col. 3, ll. 41-18) used for apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths, wherein the flow path switch comprises a casing (element 8) having a first flow path connection opening (element 18) connected to a first flow path (element 6), a second flow path connection opening (element 19) connected to a second flow path (element 7), a connection hose (element 29) having an inlet (opening of element 32) being selectively coupled to the first flow path connection opening and the second flow path connection opening (see figures 10-12), and a first link (elements 51/52/59). Loveless further teaches wherein the flow path switch comprises: a switching motor (element 75 and see also col. 5, ll. 56 where the prior art discloses element 75 as “a motor”) disposed at one side of the casing (see figure 5 showing element 75 (switching motor) disposed at a side of the casing (element 8) and configured to generate power to move the connection hose (see col. 6, ll. 14-29); and a driving cam (element 79) coupled to the switching motor (see col. 6, ll. 27-29 where the prior art discloses element 75 (switching motor) is coupled to element 79 (driving cam) via element 77) and configured to transmit the power generated by the switching motor to the first link (see figures 10-12 and see also col. 6, ll. 24-62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hackert to incorporate the teachings of Loveless to provide wherein the flow path switch comprises: a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power to move the connection hose; and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power generated by the switching motor to the first link. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a known driving means would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing the connection hose to move in an automated/control manner in order to automatically couple the hose to one of the first cleaner flow path connection opening or second cleaner flow path connection opening during operations, thus increasing efficiency.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hackert (US Pub. No. 2020/0329933) in view of Lee (US Pub. No. 2010/0251504) and Loveless (US Patent No. 3,762,664).
Regarding claim 18, Hackert discloses: a cleaner station (Figure 1 element 10 and see also paragraph 0037) comprising:
a housing (elements 40/50) configured to be coupled to and uncoupled from each of a first cleaner (element 30) and a second cleaner (element 20);
a dust collector (element 50G) provided in the housing (see figure 1);
a hose (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) including a first end (see figure 1 annotated below Detail B) connected to the dust collector (see figure 1 annotated below), and a second end (see figure 1 annotated below Detail C) that is connected to a first cleaner flow path (element 50F) to the first cleaner (see figure 1 annotated below), and is connected a second cleaner flow path (element 40F) to the second cleaner (see figure 1 annotated below).
Furthermore, Hackert discloses utilizing a different means of operably connecting to the dust collector of the housing and to the first and second cleaners including a stationer hose and utilizing “a shut-off flap or a (butterfly) valve” (see paragraph 0108) in combination with first/second flow paths (see figure 1). However, Hackert appears to be silent wherein the cleaner station comprises a flexible hose including a second end that is movable between a first position at which the second end is connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second position at which the second end is connected the second cleaner flow path; a first link and second link coupled to the flexible hose, the first and second links having respective different lengths and having respective rotary shafts provided at different locations; and a switching motor configured to provide a force to the first link to move the second end of the flexible hose between the first and second positions.
Lee is also concerned in providing a cleaner having a flow path switch (Figures 1-5 and see also paragraph 0044) that may be adapted in a variety of different apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths (see paragraph 0101), the cleaner comprising a first cleaner flow path (element 210), a second flow path (element 220), and a dust collector (element 111). Lee further teaches wherein cleaner station comprises a flexible hose (element 270) including a first end (end of element 272 as best shown in figure 2) connected to the dust collector (see paragraphs 0053/0063/0064), and a second end (see figures 4-5 annotated below Detail A) that is movable between a first position (see figure 5) at which the second end is connected to a first cleaner flow path (element 210), and a second position (see figure 4) at which the second end is connected a second cleaner flow path (element 220); a first link (elements 250/260/280) and second link (element 275) coupled to the flexible hose (see figure 2 showing a top end of element 250 (portion of the first link) being coupled to a bottom side of the flexible hose (element 270) and see figures 4-5 showing an end of the of element 275 being operably coupled to a top side of the flexible hose (element 270)), the first and second links having respective different lengths (see figure 5 annotated 2 below showing the first link length (Detail B) being different from the second link length (Detail C)) and having respective rotary shafts (elements 234/235/282) provided at different locations (see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the means of operably connecting to the dust collector of the housing and to the first and second cleaners of Hackert with the connection means of Lee in order to provide wherein the cleaner station comprises a flexible hose including a second end that is movable between a first position at which the second end is connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second position at which the second end is connected the second cleaner flow path; a first link and second link coupled to the flexible hose, the first and second links having respective different lengths and having respective rotary shafts provided at different locations, since simple substitution of known elements for another to obtain a predictable results of coupling two different parts. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known connection means with the claimed structure would necessarily allow the cleaner station to continue to operate as intended in order to control the air flow by connecting selectively the first or second fluid path to the dust collector. Additionally, it would also provide added feature of having the path selecting unit isolates different paths from each other, decrease of fluid pressure during path diversion may be reduced and the path selecting unit is easy to maintain, since it is possible to repair the path selecting unit by separating the casing cover on one side as disclosed by Lee (see paragraphs 0103/0105) (See MPEP 2143.1(B)).
However, Hackert modified appears to be silent wherein the cleaner station comprises a switching motor configured to provide a force to the first link to move the second end of the flexible hose between the first and second positions.
Loveless is also concerned in providing a station (Figures 1-12 and see also col. 3, ll. 41-18) used for apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths, the station comprising a first flow path connection opening (element 18) connected to a first flow path (element 6), a second flow path connection opening (element 19) connected to a second flow path (element 7), a flexible hose (element 29) having an inlet (opening of element 32) being selectively coupled to the first flow path connection opening and the second flow path connection opening (see figures 10-12), and a first link (elements 51/5295). Loveless further teaches wherein the station comprises a switching motor (element 75 and see also col. 5, ll. 56 where the prior art discloses element 75 as “a motor”) configured to provide a force to the first link to move the second end of the flexible hose between the first and second positions (see figures 10-12 and see also col. 6, ll. 24-62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hackert to incorporate the teachings of Loveless to provide wherein the cleaner station comprises a switching motor configured to provide a force to the first link to move the second end of the flexible hose between the first and second positions. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a known driving means would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing the connection hose to move in an automated/control manner in order to automatically couple the hose to one of the first cleaner flow path connection opening or second cleaner flow path connection opening during operations, thus increasing efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 12-14, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 10 recites limitation related to the cleaner station, specifically wherein the flow path switch comprises a spring having a first side connected to the casing, and a second side connected to the second link.
The prior art of Lee discloses a cleaner having a flow path switch (Figures 1-5 and see also paragraph 0044) comprising a second link (element 275) rotatably coupled to the casing (see figures 4-5) and having an end coupled to a second side of the connection hose (see figures 4-5). However, the prior does not disclose having an additional spring having a first side connected to the casing, and a second side connected to the second link.
Claim 12 recites limitation related to the cleaner station, specifically the first link comprises one or more gear teeth formed at an end thereof, and wherein the driving cam comprises gear teeth connected to the gear teeth of the first link.
The prior art of Loveless discloses a flow path switch (Figures 1-12 and see also col. 3, ll. 41-18) comprising a switching motor (element 75 and see also col. 5, ll. 56 where the prior art discloses element 75 as “a motor”) disposed at one side of the casing (see figure 5 showing element 75 (switching motor) disposed at a side of the casing (element 8) and configured to generate power to move the connection hose (see col. 6, ll. 14-29); and a driving cam (element 79) coupled to the switching motor (see col. 6, ll. 27-29 where the prior art discloses element 75 (switching motor) is coupled to element 79 (driving cam) via element 77) and configured to transmit the power generated by the switching motor to a first link (elements 51/52/59). However, the prior art links do not comprise one or more gear teeth formed at an end thereof, and wherein the driving cam comprises gear teeth connected to the gear teeth of the first link.
Claim 13 (claim 14 depends on claim 13) recites limitation related to the cleaner station, specifically wherein the driving cam comprises a sensing extension protruding outward in a radial direction of a shaft of the switching motor, and wherein the flow path switch comprises a position sensor disposed at one side of the sensing extension and configured to be turned on or off by the sensing extension and to detect a position of the connection hose.
The prior art of Loveless discloses a flow path switch (Figures 1-12 and see also col. 3, ll. 41-18) comprising a driving cam (element 79) coupled to the switching motor (see col. 6, ll. 27-29 where the prior art discloses element 75 (switching motor) is coupled to element 79 (driving cam) via element 77) and configured to transmit the power generated by the switching motor to a first link (elements 51/52/59). However, the prior does not disclose wherein the driving cam comprises a sensing extension protruding outward in a radial direction of a shaft of the switching motor, and wherein the flow path switch comprises a position sensor disposed at one side of the sensing extension and configured to be turned on or off by the sensing extension and to detect a position of the connection hose.
Claim 19 (claim 20 depends on claim 13) recites limitation related to the cleaner station, specifically wherein: a first end of the first link is coupled to the flexible hose, and a second end of the first link includes gear teeth; and a cam that is coupled to the switching motor and includes gear teeth that engage the gear teeth of the first link to transfer the force of the switching motor to rotate the first link around the rotary shaft of the first link.
The prior art of Loveless discloses a flow path switch (Figures 1-12 and see also col. 3, ll. 41-18) comprising a switching motor (element 75 and see also col. 5, ll. 56 where the prior art discloses element 75 as “a motor”) disposed at one side of the casing (see figure 5 showing element 75 (switching motor) disposed at a side of the casing (element 8) and configured to generate power to move the connection hose (see col. 6, ll. 14-29); and a driving cam (element 79) coupled to the switching motor (see col. 6, ll. 27-29 where the prior art discloses element 75 (switching motor) is coupled to element 79 (driving cam) via element 77) and configured to transmit the power generated by the switching motor to a first link (elements 51/52/59). However, the prior art does not disclose wherein: a first end of the first link is coupled to the flexible hose, and a second end of the first link includes gear teeth; and a cam that is coupled to the switching motor and includes gear teeth that engage the gear teeth of the first link to transfer the force of the switching motor to rotate the first link around the rotary shaft of the first link.
Conclusion
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723