DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7, 9-20, and 24 have been examined and are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-18, 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duan et al. (USPGPub 2021/0112498).
As per claim 1, Duan teaches a method for determining sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration information, performed by a network device, (Duan, see paragraph [0008], determining of the antenna switching capability my include determining a number of transmit (TX) chains of the UE switchably coupled to two or more of the RX antenna ports, where the number of SRS resource sets scheduled for the UE is based on the number of TX chains and the number of RX antenna ports in excess of four) comprising:
determining that an antenna switching configuration corresponding to a terminal comprises at least one of: 6 transmitting chains and 8 receiving chains or 8 transmitting chains and 8 receiving chains, wherein the terminal has 8 transmitting antenna ports (Duan, see paragraph [0090], a UE having 8 RX antenna ports and 8 TX chains (T=R) may sound all 8 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 8 SRS ports). Similarly, a UE having 6 RX antenna ports and 6 TX chains also may sound all 6 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 6 SRS ports))
determining SRS resource configuration information corresponding to the terminal according to the antenna switching configuration (Duan, see paragraph [0097], determine the antenna switching capabilities of the UE based on the included report. The base station 702 may then schedule SRS resource sets for the UE 704 based on the determined antenna switching capabilities) and sending the SRS resource configuration information to the terminal (Duan, see paragraph [0098], provide the schedule of SRS resource sets to the UE 704 via one or more RRC messages).
As per claim 2, Duan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the SRS resource configuration information comprises at most one non-periodic SRS resource set; or the SRS resource configuration information comprises at most two SRS resource sets, wherein an SRS resource set is a periodic SRS resource set or a semi-persistent SRS resource set; or a maximum number of SRS resource sets supported by the terminal is 3, (Duan, see paragraph [0008], the number of TX chains may be determined to be equal to 1 and the number of SRS resource sets scheduled for the UE may be greater than 2. In some other aspects, the number of TX chains may be determined to be greater than 1 and the number of SRS resource sets scheduled for the UE may be greater than or equal to 1.) and the SRS resource configuration information comprises at most three SRS resource sets, wherein an SRS resource set is a periodic SRS resource set or a semi-persistent SRS resource set; wherein the antenna switching configuration corresponding to the terminal comprises 8 transmitting chains and 8 receiving chains (Duan, see paragraph [0090], a UE having 8 RX antenna ports and 8 TX chains (T=R) may sound all 8 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 8 SRS ports). Similarly, a UE having 6 RX antenna ports and 6 TX chains also may sound all 6 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 6 SRS ports)).
As per claim 3, Duan teaches the method of claim 2, wherein one SRS resource set comprises one SRS resource, and one SRS resource comprises 8 antenna ports. (Duan, see paragraph [0090], a UE having 8 RX antenna ports and 8 TX chains (T=R) may sound all 8 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 8 SRS ports). Similarly, a UE having 6 RX antenna ports and 6 TX chains also may sound all 6 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 6 SRS ports)).
As per claim 4,
[Rejection rational for claim 2 is applicable].
As per claim 5, Duan teaches the method of claim 4, wherein one SRS resource set comprises 2 SRS resources, and one SRS resource comprises 4 antenna ports; or one SRS resource set comprises 4 SRS resources, and one SRS resource comprises 2 antenna ports; or one SRS resource set comprises 4 SRS resources, and one SRS resource comprises 4 antenna ports; or one SRS resource set comprises 3 SRS resources, one SRS resource comprises 4 antenna ports, and each of the other two SRS resources comprises 2 antenna ports. (Duan, see paragraph [0074], a UE with 2 TX chains and 4 RX antenna ports (2T4R) may require only 2 SRS resources to sound all 4 antenna ports (with each SRS resource having two ports and each SRS port being associated with a different RX antenna port).)
As per claim 6, Duan teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a non-periodic SRS resource configuration comprised in the SRS resource configuration information according to an antenna structure type of the terminal, wherein the antenna switching configuration corresponding to the terminal comprises 6 transmitting chains and 8 receiving chains. (Duan, see paragraph [0090], a UE having 8 RX antenna ports and 8 TX chains (T=R) may sound all 8 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 8 SRS ports). Similarly, a UE having 6 RX antenna ports and 6 TX chains also may sound all 6 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 6 SRS ports)).
As per claim 7, Duan teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the antenna structure type is a first type, and the non-periodic SRS resource configuration comprises at most three non-periodic SRS resource sets; or the antenna structure type is a second type, and the non-periodic SRS resource configuration comprises at most two non-periodic SRS resource sets; or the antenna structure type is a second type, and the non-periodic SRS resource configuration comprises at most four non-periodic SRS resource sets (Duan, see paragraph [0081], a guard period is provided at the end of the SRS resource set (such as symbol 13) to allow time the UE to switch communications between adjacent slots (such as from UL traffic to DL traffic). As a result, an SRS resource set based on the slot configuration 400A may include, at most, two SRS resources (in any of the symbols 9-12).).
As per claim 10, Duan teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: determining the guard interval between the non-periodic SRS resources according to a protocol; or determining the guard interval between the non-periodic SRS resources according to a configuration of the network device; or determining the guard interval between the non-periodic SRS resources according to a capability of the terminal. (Duan, see paragraph [0081], a guard period is provided at the end of the SRS resource set (such as symbol 13) to allow time the UE to switch communications between adjacent slots (such as from UL traffic to DL traffic). As a result, an SRS resource set based on the slot configuration 400A may include, at most, two SRS resources (in any of the symbols 9-12).).
As per claim 11, Duan teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving indication information sent by the terminal, wherein the indication information is used to indicate antenna port information of the terminal and determining a number of transmitting antenna ports of the terminal according to the indication information (Duan, see paragraph [0096], may indicate a number of RX antenna ports available for DL communications and a number of TX chains switchably coupled to the RX antenna ports. More specifically, the report may include only the number of TX chains with antenna switching capabilities. In some implementations, the number of RX antenna ports included in the report may be greater than 4. In some other implementations, the number of TX chains included in the report may be greater than 4.).
As per claim 12, Duan teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the indication information comprises at least one of following: a maximum number of supported SRS resource sets; a supported antenna switching configuration or a combination of supported antenna switching configurations; an antenna structure type indicator; or a supported SRS resource configuration identifier. (Duan, see paragraph [0083], a UE having 6 RX antenna ports presents several unique scenarios for sounding all 6 antenna ports depending on the number (x) of TX chains switchably coupled to the RX antenna ports (xT6R) and the maximum number of SRS resources that can be scheduled in each SRS resource set (1, 2 or 3)).
As per claim 13, Duan teaches a method for determining sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration information, (Duan, see paragraph [0008], determining of the antenna switching capability my include determining a number of transmit (TX) chains of the UE switchably coupled to two or more of the RX antenna ports, where the number of SRS resource sets scheduled for the UE is based on the number of TX chains and the number of RX antenna ports in excess of four) performed by a terminal comprising:
receiving SRS resource configuration information sent by a network device, wherein an antenna switching configuration corresponding to the SRS resource configuration information comprises at least one of: 6 transmitting chains and 8 receiving chains or 8 transmitting chains and 8 receiving chains. (Duan, see paragraph [0090], a UE having 8 RX antenna ports and 8 TX chains (T=R) may sound all 8 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 8 SRS ports). Similarly, a UE having 6 RX antenna ports and 6 TX chains also may sound all 6 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 6 SRS ports)).
14. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 13, wherein the SRS resource configuration information comprises at most one non-periodic SRS resource set; or the SRS resource configuration information comprises at most two SRS resource sets, wherein an SRS resource set is a periodic SRS resource set or a semi-persistent SRS resource set; or a maximum number of SRS resource sets supported by the terminal is 3, (Duan, see paragraph [0008], the number of TX chains may be determined to be equal to 1 and the number of SRS resource sets scheduled for the UE may be greater than 2. In some other aspects, the number of TX chains may be determined to be greater than 1 and the number of SRS resource sets scheduled for the UE may be greater than or equal to 1.) and the SRS resource configuration information comprises at most three SRS resource sets, wherein an SRS resource set is a periodic SRS resource set or a semi-persistent SRS resource set; wherein the antenna switching configuration corresponding to the terminal comprises 8 transmitting chains and 8 receiving chains. (Duan, see paragraph [0090], a UE having 8 RX antenna ports and 8 TX chains (T=R) may sound all 8 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 8 SRS ports). Similarly, a UE having 6 RX antenna ports and 6 TX chains also may sound all 6 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 6 SRS ports)).
As per claim 15, Duan teaches the method of claim 14, wherein one SRS resource set comprises one SRS resource, and one SRS resource comprises 8 antenna ports. (Duan, see paragraph [0090], a UE having 8 RX antenna ports and 8 TX chains (T=R) may sound all 8 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 8 SRS ports). Similarly, a UE having 6 RX antenna ports and 6 TX chains also may sound all 6 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 6 SRS ports)).
As per claim 16,
[Rejection rational for claim 14 is applicable].
As per claim 17, Duan teaches the method of claim 16, wherein one SRS resource set comprises 2 SRS resources, and one SRS resource comprises 4 antenna ports; or one SRS resource set comprises 4 SRS resources, and one SRS resource comprises 2 antenna ports; or one SRS resource set comprises 4 SRS resources, and one SRS resource comprises 4 antenna ports; or one SRS resource set comprises 3 SRS resources, one SRS resource comprises 4 antenna ports, and each of the other two SRS resources comprises 2 antenna ports. (Duan, see paragraph [0074], a UE with 2 TX chains and 4 RX antenna ports (2T4R) may require only 2 SRS resources to sound all 4 antenna ports (with each SRS resource having two ports and each SRS port being associated with a different RX antenna port).)
As per claim 18, Duan teaches the method of claim 13, wherein an antenna structure type of the terminal is a first type, and the non-periodic SRS resource configuration comprises at most three non-periodic SRS resource sets; or an antenna structure type of the terminal device is a second type, and the non-periodic SRS resource configuration comprises at most two non-periodic SRS resource sets; or an antenna structure type of the terminal is a second type, and the non-periodic SRS resource configuration comprises at most four non-periodic SRS resource sets; wherein the antenna switching configuration corresponding to the terminal comprises 6 transmitting chains and 8 receiving chains. (Duan, see paragraph [0081], a guard period is provided at the end of the SRS resource set (such as symbol 13) to allow time the UE to switch communications between adjacent slots (such as from UL traffic to DL traffic). As a result, an SRS resource set based on the slot configuration 400A may include, at most, two SRS resources (in any of the symbols 9-12).).
As per claim 20, Duan teaches the method of claim 13 comprising sending indication information to the network device wherein the indication information is used to indicate antenna post information of the terminal (Duan, see paragraph [0096], may indicate a number of RX antenna ports available for DL communications and a number of TX chains switchably coupled to the RX antenna ports. More specifically, the report may include only the number of TX chains with antenna switching capabilities. In some implementations, the number of RX antenna ports included in the report may be greater than 4. In some other implementations, the number of TX chains included in the report may be greater than 4.).
As per claim 24 Duan teaches a communication apparatus comprising a processor and a memory, (Duan, see paragraph [0138], executable by a processor (such as the controller/processor 375)) wherein the memory stores computer programs, and the processor executes the computer programs stored in the memory to cause the apparatus to implement
determining that an antenna switching configuration corresponding to a terminal comprises at least one of: 6 transmitting chains and 8 receiving chains; or 8 transmitting chains and 8 receiving chains, wherein the terminal has 8 transmitting antenna ports; (Duan, see paragraph [0090], a UE having 8 RX antenna ports and 8 TX chains (T=R) may sound all 8 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 8 SRS ports). Similarly, a UE having 6 RX antenna ports and 6 TX chains also may sound all 6 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 6 SRS ports))
determining SRS resource configuration information corresponding to the terminal according to the antenna switching configuration; (Duan, see paragraph [0097], determine the antenna switching capabilities of the UE based on the included report. The base station 702 may then schedule SRS resource sets for the UE 704 based on the determined antenna switching capabilities) and sending the SRS resource configuration information to the terminal. (Duan, see paragraph [0098], provide the schedule of SRS resource sets to the UE 704 via one or more RRC messages).
Conclusion
/HERMON ASRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449