DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 25-26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because:
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 25 and 26, recites “A non-temporary computer-readable storage medium, having executable instructions stored thereon,", the examiner would like to point out the language "a non-temporary computer readable medium".
At the time of the invention one of ordinary skill could interpret a “a non-temporary computer readable medium”, as a signal. Signals being natural phenomenon, do not fit into one of the 4 statutory categories of invention, and therefore claims 25-26 for the recitation of a "a non-temporary computer readable medium" without the recitation, that said medium is “non-transitory” causes the claim to be rejected. The applicant can overcome the rejection by reciting that the medium is "non-transitory", thereby eliminating the possibility that one could interpret the aforesaid medium as a signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9, 11-12, 19, 23-24, and 25-26, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (US 2021/0219284 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 23, and 25, Hwang discloses:
a user equipment (fig.11 element 1120), comprising:
a processor (fig.11 element 1121); and
a memory (fig.11 element 1124) configured to store executable instructions for the processor;
wherein the processor is configured to:
perform a method for determining a wake up signal cycle (WUS) cycle (par.[0008] which describes reception of a first time offset and a second time offset for a specific signal. Par.[0020] describes the specific signal as a physical signal, and the par.[0021] describes the physical signal can be a wake-up signal), performed by a user equipment (fig.1 element UE), comprising:
in response to the user equipment receiving N kind of indication information (par.[0008] describes the time offsets which are signaled to the UE, par.[0013] describes the time offsets being signaling in the RRC signaling), determining a cycle in which the user equipment detects a WUS based on of the N kinds of indication information (par.[0374 - 0377] wherein the UE may determine a time position for the specific signal (e.g., signal-A) based on one of the plurality of time offsets signaled to the User Equipment (UE). The selected WUS cycle (e.g. offset) is determined by the UE capability which is sent to the network);
wherein the N kinds of indication information are all used for indicating WUS cycles, where N is a positive integer greater than 1 (par.[0008] describes the time offsets being sent via RRC signaling. The at least two time offsets being N types WUS cycles).
Regarding claim 2, Hwang discloses:
wherein determining the cycle in which the user equipment detects the WUS based on one of the N kinds of indication information comprises:
determining that the cycle in which the WUS is detected is a maximum value in the WUS cycles indicated by the N kinds of indication information (par.[0008] describes the use of a second WUS cycle (e.g. second time offset) which is the greatest in the signaled WUS cycles).
Regarding claim 3, Hwang discloses:
wherein determining the cycle in which the user equipment detects the WUS based on one of the N kinds of indication information comprises:
determining that the cycle in which the WUS is detected is a minimum value in the WUS cycles indicated by the N kinds of indication information (par.[0008] describes the use of a first WUS cycle (e.g. first time offset) which is the least in the signaled WUS cycles).
Regarding claim 11, 24, and 26, Selvaganapathy discloses:
a network side device (fig.11 element 1110), comprising:
a processor (fig.11 element 1111); and
a memory (fig.11 element 1114) configured to store executable instructions for the processor;
wherein the processor is configured to execute the executable instructions in the memory, to implement:
a method for determining a wake-up signal (WUS) cycle (par.[0008] which describes reception of a first time offset and a second time offset for a specific signal. Par.[0020] describes the specific signal as a physical signal, and the par.[0021] describes the physical signal can be a wake-up signal), performed by a network device (fig.1 depicts a base station element 20), comprising:
in response to N kinds of indication information being sent to a user equipment (par.[0008] describes the time offsets which are signaled to the UE, par.[0013] describes the time offsets being signaling in the RRC signaling) determining a cycle in which the user equipment detects a WUS based on one of the N kinds of indication information (par.[0374 - 0377] wherein the UE may determine a time position for the specific signal (e.g., signal-A) based on one of the plurality of time offsets signaled to the User Equipment (UE). The selected WUS cycle (e.g. offset) is determined by the UE capability which is sent to the network);
wherein the N kinds of indication information all used for indicating the WUS cycles, wherien N is a positive integer greater than 1 (par.[0008] describes the time offsets being sent via RRC signaling. The at least two time offsets being N types WUS cycles).
Regarding claim 5, Hwang discloses:
sending capability information of the user equipment to a network device, wherein the capability information comprises a cycle which is recommended by the user equipment and in which the WUS is detected (par.[0008] which recites, in part, “and monitoring the specific signal at a time position determined based on one offset information of the first time offset information and the second time offset information, wherein the one offset information may be determined based on a capability of the user equipment.”).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang discloses:
determining that the cycle in which the WUS is detected is the cycle which is recommended by the user equipment in response to the cycle which is recommended by the user equipment being comprised in the WUS cycles indicated by the N kinds of indication information (par.[0008] describes the UE sending capability information to the network which allows the network to configure the WUS periodicities or offset, such that the N kinds of information comprise the suggested WUS periodicity therein. Thus, the cycle which are recommends correspond to the capability information with the recommendation).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Hwang discloses:
wherein the N kinds of indication information comprise at least two kinds of (par.[0008] which describe the at least two kinds of indication information (e.g. the two offsets) which are indicated by the network):
indication information transmitted by a network device through a system broadcast message and used for configured WUS cycles (par.[0011] which describes system information used to transmit the offsets);
indication information transmitted by a network device through a user equipment specific signaling and used for configured WUS cycles (par.[0013] describes the RRC signaling which can user equipment specific signaling); or
indication information used for WUS cycles configured by a core network.
Regarding claim 12, Hwang discloses:
wherein determining the cycle in which the user equipment detects the WUS based on one of the N kinds of indication information comprises one of:
determining that the cycle in which the WUS is detected is a maximum value in the WUS cycles indicated by the N kinds of indication information (par.[0008] describes the use of a second WUS cycle (e.g. second time offset) which is the greatest in the signaled WUS cycles);
determining that the cycle in which the WUS is detected is a minimum value in the WUS cycles indicated by the N kinds of indication information (par.[0008] describes the use of a first WUS cycle (e.g. first time offset) which is the least in the signaled WUS cycles); or
determining the cycle in which the WUS is detected based on first indication information in the N kinds of indication information, wherein the first indication information is indication information having a highest priority in the N kinds of indication information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4, 7-8, 10, 15-16, and 20, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Seo et al. (US 2022/0132425A1) “Monitoring of Power Saving Signal and Physical Downlink Control Channel”, par.[0208], which recites, in part:
“a wake-up signal monitoring period is configured by a network based on a data transmission/reception pattern and/or assistance information (for example, a service type (e.g., gaming, streaming, etc.), speed, detected cell information, etc.) from a UE.”
Shan et al. (US 2020/0374780 A1) “Information Processing Method and Apparatus”
JAMAAL HENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411